DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/11/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2-11 and 14-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2 recites the limitation “a controller programmed to: … using the rate of fluid removal, determine a volume of fluid removed from the wound over a duration of time” which was not described in the specification. The specification only discloses the controller configured to determine a volume or rate of fluid removed from the wound (¶0023 and 0030). There is no mention in the specification of using the rate of fluid removal to determine a volume of fluid removed from the wound over a duration of time and having the controller programmed.
Claim(s) 2-11 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 2 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim(s) 14 recites the limitation “using the rate of fluid removal, determine a volume of fluid removed from the wound over a duration of time” which was not described in the specification. The specification only discloses a controller programmed to determine a volume or rate of fluid removed from the wound (¶0023 and 0030). There is no mention in the specification of using the rate of fluid removal to determine a volume of fluid removed from the wound over a duration of time and having the controller programmed.
Claim(s) 14-21 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 14 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim Interpretation
In claims 2 and 14, the limitations “volume of fluid removed from the wound over a duration of time” and “rate of fluid removed” are interchangeable (in view of at least ¶0022 of Applicant’s published application). In addition, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood/recognized the “rate of fluid removed” is the same as the “volumed of fluid removed over a duration of time”.
Double Patenting
Claims 3-5 and 7-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28, 30, 33-34, and 37 of U.S. Patent No. 11395873.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 28, 30, 33-34, and 37 of the reference patent contain a wound therapy apparatus comprising a negative pressure source configured to provide negative pressure via a fluid flow path to a wound of a patient covered by a wound dressing and to remove fluid from the wound; and a controller configured to: monitor a rate of fluid removal from the wound during provision of negative pressure by the negative pressure source, determine the rate of fluid removal causes a volume of fluid being removed from the wound of the patient to meet or exceed a volume of fluid being provided to the patient and provide a notification that the volume of fluid being removed from the wound of the patient meets or exceeds the volume of fluid being provided to the patient. The scope of the claimed limitations in the reference patent encompasses the claimed limitations in the instant application.
Regarding instant claim 3, claim 28 of the reference patent discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 3.
Examiner notes that the scope of the claimed “fluid volume threshold” encompasses “volume of fluid being provided to the patient”. Thus, the disclosed “volume of fluid being provided to the patient” in the reference patent reads on the claimed “fluid volume threshold”.
Thus, instant claim 3 and claim 28 of the reference patent are coextensive in scope.
Regarding instant claim 4, claim 30 of the reference patent discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 4.
Regarding instant claim 5, claim 33 of the reference patent discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 5.
Regarding instant claim 7, claim 34 of the reference patent discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 7.
Regarding instant claim 8, claim 37 of the reference patent discloses all of the limitations of instant claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, 10-11, 14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (US PGPUB 20150051560) in view of Toth (US PGPUB 20170065751).
Regarding claim 2, Askem discloses a wound therapy apparatus (a reduced pressure wound treatment apparatus 100 comprising a pump assembly 104: ¶0032, 0044, and Fig. 1) comprising:
a negative pressure source (source of negative pressure 1090: ¶0045 and Fig. 3) configured to provide negative pressure via a fluid flow path to a wound of a patient covered by a wound dressing (a wound dressing 102: ¶0032 and 0041) and to remove fluid from the wound (¶0041); and
a controller programmed to (a controller 1160: ¶0030, 0044, and Fig. 3):
monitor a rate of fluid removal from the wound during provision of negative pressure by the negative pressure source (¶0030, 0047, and 0109),
using the rate of fluid removal, determine a volume of fluid removed from the wound over a duration of time (¶0024, 0030 and 0047: determine rate of flow of fluid aspirated from wound),
provide a notification (providing indication, alarms reflecting operating conditions to a user: ¶0031).
Askem does not disclose the controller programmed to determine that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies a fluid volume threshold and provide a notification responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, wound therapy apparatus, Toth discloses a wound therapy apparatus (a wound assessment system 14: Abstract, ¶0041, and Fig. 1) comprising a controller to analyze values of one or more physiological parameters and to provide an alert or an alarm to patient (¶0050, 0119, and Fig. 1C) for the benefits of obtaining an assessment of wound exudate and providing treatment guideline based on the assessment (a processor 15: ¶0006, 0040, 0050, and Fig. 1C). Tod further discloses the parameters are flow rate of wound exudates or volume (¶0079 and Claim 5). Thus, Tod implicity discloses the controller configured to determine that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies a fluid volume threshold and provide a notification responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Askem in view of Toth by programming the controller to determine that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies a fluid volume threshold and provide a notification responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold, in order to obtain an assessment of wound exudate and provide treatment guideline based on the assessment, as suggested in ¶0006 of Toth.
Regarding claim 4, Askem does not disclose the controller is further programmed to monitor the rate of fluid removal from a weight of fluid aspirated from the wound.
Toth further discloses the apparatus is configured to monitor and detect weight of exudate for the benefits of providing information for determining rate of exudate removal from wound site and monitoring wound progression (¶0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Askem/Toth in view of Toth by having the controller being programmed to monitor the rate of fluid removal from a weight of fluid aspirated from the wound, in order to provide information for determining rate of exudate removal from wound site and monitor wound progression, as suggested in ¶0067 of Toth.
Regarding claim 5, Askem further discloses a canister configured to store fluid removed from the wound (¶0032).
Askem does not disclose the controller is further programmed to monitor the rate of fluid removal based on a level of fluid in the canister.
Toth further discloses the apparatus is configured to monitor the rate of fluid removal based on a level of fluid in the canister for the benefits of providing information for determining rate of exudate removal from wound site and monitoring wound progression (¶0042-0044 and 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Askem/Toth in view of Toth by having the controller being programmed to monitor the rate of fluid removal based on a level of fluid in the canister, in order to provide information for determining rate of exudate removal from wound site and monitor wound progression, as suggested in ¶0067 of Toth.
Regarding claim 6, Askem further discloses a pressure sensor configured to monitor pressure in the fluid flow path (a pressure sensor 1070: ¶0045), wherein the controller is programmed to monitor the rate of fluid removal based on monitoring pressure variations in the fluid flow path using output of the pressure sensor (¶0030 and 0045).
Regarding claim 10, Askem further discloses the duration of time is part of a starting phase of treating the wound with negative pressure (¶0008-0009).
Regarding claim 11, Askem implicitly discloses the controller is further programmed to cause the negative pressure source to decrease a level of negative pressure provided by the negative pressure source responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold (monitoring duty cycle of source of negative pressure to indicate rate of flow through the system and reflect a level of activity of the source of negative pressure: ¶0024 and 0030).
Regarding claim 14, Askem discloses a method of operating a negative pressure wound therapy apparatus (¶0024), the method comprising:
monitor a rate of fluid removal from the wound during provision of negative pressure by the negative pressure source (¶0030, 0047, and 0109),
using the rate of fluid removal, determine a volume of fluid removed from the wound over a duration of time (¶0024, 0030 and 0047: determine rate of flow of fluid aspirated from wound),
provide a notification (providing indication, alarms reflecting operating conditions to a user: ¶0031).
wherein the method is performed by a controller (a controller 1160: ¶0030, 0044, and Fig. 3).
Askem does not disclose the method steps of determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies a fluid volume threshold and providing a notification responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, wound therapy apparatus, Toth discloses a wound therapy apparatus (a wound assessment system 14: Abstract, ¶0041, and Fig. 1) comprising a controller to analyze values of one or more physiological parameters and to provide an alert or an alarm to patient (¶0050, 0119, and Fig. 1C) for the benefits of obtaining an assessment of wound exudate and providing treatment guideline based on the assessment (a processor 15: ¶0006, 0040, 0050, and Fig. 1C). Tod further discloses the parameters are flow rate of wound exudates or volume (¶0079 and Claim 5). Thus, Tod implicity discloses the controller configured to determine that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies a fluid volume threshold and provide a notification responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Askem in view of Toth by programming the controller to determine that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies a fluid volume threshold and provide a notification responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold, in order to obtain an assessment of wound exudate and provide treatment guideline based on the assessment, as suggested in ¶0006 of Toth.
Regarding claim 16, Askem implicitly discloses decreasing a level of negative pressure provided by the negative pressure source responsive to determining that the volume of fluid removed from the wound over the duration of time satisfies the fluid volume threshold (monitoring duty cycle of source of negative pressure to indicate rate of flow through the system and reflect a level of activity of the source of negative pressure: ¶0024 and 0030).
Regarding claim 17, Askem does not disclose monitoring the rate of fluid removal comprising monitoring the rate of fluid removal from a weight of fluid aspirated from the wound.
Toth further discloses the apparatus is configured to monitor and detect weight of exudate for the benefits of providing information for determining rate of exudate removal from wound site and monitoring wound progression (¶0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Askem/Toth in view of Toth by having the controller being programmed to monitor the rate of fluid removal from a weight of fluid aspirated from the wound, in order to provide information for determining rate of exudate removal from wound site and monitor wound progression, as suggested in ¶0067 of Toth.
Regarding claim 18, Askem further discloses monitoring one or more characteristic of pressure in a fluid flow path configured to connect the negative pressure source to the wound (a pressure sensor 1070 is used to monitor characteristic of pressure in a fluid flow path: ¶0045 and Fig. 3), and wherein monitoring the rate of fluid removal is performed using the one or more characteristic of pressure (¶0030 and 0045).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (US PGPUB 20150051560) in view of Toth (US PGPUB 20170065751), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Jaecklein (US PGPUB 20160184496).
Regarding claims 7-8, Askem/Toth does not disclose the controller is further programmed to monitor the level of fluid in the canister using one or more characteristics of pressure in the fluid flow path and wherein the one or more characteristics of pressure comprises a magnitude of pressure signals, and the magnitude of pressure signals increases as the level of fluid in the canister increases.
In the same field of endeavor, negative pressure therapy apparatus, Jaecklein discloses a negative pressure wound therapy apparatus including a controller configured to determine a level of exudate in a canister (Abstract). Jaecklein further discloses the controller configured to monitor the level of fluid in the canister using one or more characteristics of pressure in the fluid flow path (¶0007-0008) and to monitor the level of fluid in the canister from an activity level of the negative pressure source (¶0011-0012) and the one or more characteristics of pressure comprises a magnitude of pressure signals, and the magnitude of pressure signals increases as the level of fluid in the canister increases (¶0006-0009) for the benefit of determining a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path (¶0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Askem/Toth in view of Jaecklein by having the controller being programmed as claimed, in order to determine a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path, as suggested in ¶0009 of Jaecklein.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (US PGPUB 20150051560) in view of Toth (US PGPUB 20170065751), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Jaecklein (US PGPUB 20160184496).
Regarding claim 9, Askem/Toth does not disclose the controller is programmed to monitor the level of fluid in the canister using an activity level of the negative pressure source, and wherein the negative pressure source comprises an actuator and the activity level of the negative pressure source corresponds to a speed of the actuator.
In the same field of endeavor, negative pressure wound therapy apparatus, Jaecklein discloses a negative pressure wound therapy apparatus includes a controller configured to determine a level of exudate in a canister based at least in part on one or more characteristics of pressure signals generated by a negative pressure source and monitored by a pressure sensor (Abstract). Jaecklein further discloses the controller configured to monitor the level of fluid in the canister using one or more characteristics of pressure in the fluid flow path (¶0004 and 0007) and to monitor the level of fluid in the canister from an activity level of the negative pressure source (¶0012) for the benefit of determining a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path (¶0007). Jaecklein also discloses the negative pressure source comprises an actuator and the activity level of the negative pressure source corresponds to a speed of the actuator (vacuum pump motor: ¶0059) for the benefit of measuring and/or monitoring activity of the negative pressure source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Askem/Toth in view of Jaecklein by configuring the processor to monitoring the level of fluid in the canister using an activity level of the negative pressure source and incorporating an actuator in the negative pressure source, in order to determine a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path and measuring and/or monitoring activity of the negative pressure source, as suggested in ¶0007 and 0059 of Jaecklein.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (US PGPUB 20150051560) in view of Toth (US PGPUB 20170065751), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hartwell (US PGPUB 20170007751).
Regarding claims 12-13, Askem further discloses the controller is programmed to monitor the rate of fluid removal based on monitoring pressure changes in the fluid flow path (¶0024, 0045, and 0047).
Askem/Toth does not disclose the wound dressing comprising a stabilizing structure configured to be inserted into the wound; collapse of the stabilizing structure as a result of provision of negative pressure causes one or more changes of pressure in the fluid flow path and the stabilizing structure is configured to collapse more in a horizontal plane than in a vertical plane perpendicular to the horizontal plane.
In the same field of endeavor, wound dressing system, Hartwell discloses a negative pressure wound treatment apparatus comprising a wound dressing (¶0023-0026 and Fig. 1). Hartwell further discloses the wound dressing comprising a stabilizing structure 1701 (¶0085 and Figs. 4A-D) to facilitate closure of the skin surrounding the wound (¶0083) and wherein the stabilizing structure configured to collapse more within a horizontal plane than within a vertical plane to apply a horizontal force to the skin surrounding the wound when the wound dressing is placed under negative pressure (¶0023-0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Askem/Toth in view of Hartwell by incorporating a stabilizing structure configured to collapse more in a horizontal plane than in a vertical plane perpendicular to the horizontal plane, in order to facilitate closure of the skin surrounding the wound and apply a horizontal force to the skin surrounding the wound when the wound dressing is placed under negative pressure, as suggested in ¶0023-0026 and 0083 of Hartwell.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askem (US PGPUB 20150051560) in view of Toth (US PGPUB 20170065751), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Jaecklein (US PGPUB 20160184496).
Regarding claims 19-20, Askem further discloses a canister configured to store fluid removed from the wound (¶0032).
Askem does not disclose monitoring the level of fluid in the canister using one or more characteristics of pressure in the fluid flow path and wherein the one or more characteristics of pressure comprises a magnitude of pressure signals, and the magnitude of pressure signals increases as the level of fluid in the canister increases.
Jaecklein further discloses the controller configured to monitor the level of fluid in the canister using one or more characteristics of pressure in the fluid flow path (¶0007-0008) and to monitor the level of fluid in the canister from an activity level of the negative pressure source (¶0011-0012) and the one or more characteristics of pressure comprises a magnitude of pressure signals, and the magnitude of pressure signals increases as the level of fluid in the canister increases (¶0006-0009) for the benefit of determining a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path (¶0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Askem/Toth in view of Jaecklein by having the controller being programmed as claimed, in order to determine a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path, as suggested in ¶0009 of Jaecklein.
Regarding claim 21, Askem does not disclose monitoring a level of fluid in the canister using an activity level of the negative pressure source, and wherein the negative pressure source comprises an actuator and the activity level of the negative pressure source corresponds to a speed of the actuator.
Jaecklein further discloses the controller configured to monitor the level of fluid in the canister using one or more characteristics of pressure in the fluid flow path (¶0004 and 0007) and to monitor the level of fluid in the canister from an activity level of the negative pressure source (¶0012) for the benefit of determining a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path (¶0007). Jaecklein also discloses the negative pressure source comprises an actuator and the activity level of the negative pressure source corresponds to a speed of the actuator (vacuum pump motor: ¶0059) for the benefit of measuring and/or monitoring activity of the negative pressure source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Askem/Toth in view of Jaecklein by configuring the processor to monitoring the level of fluid in the canister using an activity level of the negative pressure source and incorporating an actuator in the negative pressure source, in order to determine a level of exudate in the canister irrespective of an intensity of a leak present in a fluid flow path and measuring and/or monitoring activity of the negative pressure source, as suggested in ¶0007 and 0059 of Jaecklein.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts of record are Askem (US PGPUB 20150051560) and Toth (US PGPUB 20170065751).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Askem/Toth fails to disclose the fluid volume threshold being indicative of a volume of fluid being provided to the patient over the duration of time. There is not an apparent/obvious reason/motivation to choose the fluid volume threshold of Askem/Toth to be a volume of fluid being provided to the patient over the duration of time.
Conclusion
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781