DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 03/21/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (US 2023/0336657 A1 herein Dai), and further in view of Agretti et al. (US 2012/0157092 A1 herein Agretti).
Regarding claim 1, Dai teaches a method for performing a call trace in a cloud-based communication network comprising a plurality of network functions (read as cellular network which can accommodate the cloud-based architecture which includes cellular networks) (Dai – Figure 1, [0020]), where each network function includes one or more pods (read as each network function can include multiple pods) (Dai – [0043]-[0044]), the method comprising:
receiving, using a call trace module, a region (read as cloud computing regions 210) (Dai – Figure 2, [0040]-[0041]) for a user equipment (UE) device and a subscriber number for the UE device (read subscriber management components 170; International Mobile Subscriber Identity) (Dai – [0033], [0036], [0056]);
identifying, using the call trace module, a set of the network functions associated with the region for the UE device from the plurality of network functions of the communication network (read as cloud platform drill engine 514 can identify all of the cellular network core NF instances and their respective identifiers within the specified cloud computing region or sub-region) (Dai – Figure 5, [0067]);
establishing, using the call trace module, a call trace for each network function in the set of network functions (read as a call trace is to be established at SBC 310 to capture all communication traffic received from CSCF 320) (Dai – Figure 4, [0054]);
collecting, using the call trace module, call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from one or more network functions in the set of network functions (read as background tracing refers to tracing that is established to execute indefinitely in the background and directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location) (Dai – [0064]);
storing, using the call trace module, the collected call trace data in a data storage device (read as directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location, possibly on the cloud-computing platform or on a separate computing system in communication with the cloud-computing platform) (Dai – [0064]).
However, Dai fails to teach generating, using the call trace module, a report with at least the collected call trace data.
In the related art, Agretti teaches generating, using the call trace module, a report with at least the collected call trace data (read as monitoring system has the capability to log call captured MAP signaling traffic as data records and to generated full protocol traces; it will provide a list of detected IMSI/MSISDN identities of the subscribers; this list can be used in protocol trace query tool and in a historical call trace application) (Agretti – [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporating the teachings of Agretti into the teachings of Dai for the purpose of generating detailed protocol traces for the user equipment and capture data records.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein establishing, using the call trace module, a call trace for each network function of the set of network functions further comprises establishing a call trace for at least one pod of each network function in the set of network functions (read as a call trace is to be established at SBC 310 to capture all communication traffic received from CSCF 320) (Dai – Figure 4, [0054]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein collecting, using the call trace module, call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from one or more network functions further comprises collecting call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from at least one pod in the one or more network functions (read as background tracing refers to tracing that is established to execute indefinitely in the background and directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location) (Dai – [0064]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the subscriber is a phone number (read as subscriber’s mobile phone) (Dai – Abstract, [0002]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the identified set of network functions associated with the region for the UE device includes one or more of an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a user plane function (UPF), and an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the call trace data comprises signaling messages (read as messages exchanged between functions) (Dai – [0047], [0050]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the region for a user equipment (UE) device is a region in which the UE device is physically located (read as functionality of such components can be co-located or located at disparate physical server systems; certain components of 5G core 139 may be co-located with components of CU 129) (Dai – [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Dai teaches a system for performing a call trace in a cloud-based communication network comprising a plurality of network functions (read as cellular network which can accommodate the cloud-based architecture which includes cellular networks) (Dai – Figure 1, [0020]), where each network function includes one or more pods (read as each network function can include multiple pods) (Dai – [0043]-[0044]), the system comprising:
a memory that stores one or more computer readable media that include instructions (read as non-transitory computer-readable medium such as storage medium) (Dai – [0005], [0016], [0085]); and
one or more processor devices that execute the instructions of the computer readable media to perform a process (read as one or more processors) (Dai – [0005]-[0006]) comprising:
receiving a region (read as cloud computing regions 210) (Dai – Figure 2, [0040]-[0041]) for a user equipment (UE) device and a subscriber number for the UE device (read subscriber management components 170; International Mobile Subscriber Identity) (Dai – [0033], [0036], [0056]);
identifying a set of the network functions associated with the region for the UE device from the plurality of network functions of the communication network (read as cloud platform drill engine 514 can identify all of the cellular network core NF instances and their respective identifiers within the specified cloud computing region or sub-region) (Dai – Figure 5, [0067]);
establishing a call trace for each network function in the set of network functions (read as a call trace is to be established at SBC 310 to capture all communication traffic received from CSCF 320) (Dai – Figure 4, [0054]);
collecting call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from one or more network functions in the set of network functions (read as background tracing refers to tracing that is established to execute indefinitely in the background and directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location) (Dai – [0064]);
storing the collected call trace data (read as directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location, possibly on the cloud-computing platform or on a separate computing system in communication with the cloud-computing platform) (Dai – [0064]).
However, Dai fails to teach generating a report with at least the collect call trace data.
In the related art, Agretti teaches generating a report with at least the collect call trace data (read as monitoring system has the capability to log call captured MAP signaling traffic as data records and to generated full protocol traces; it will provide a list of detected IMSI/MSISDN identities of the subscribers; this list can be used in protocol trace query tool and in a historical call trace application) (Agretti – [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporating the teachings of Agretti into the teachings of Dai for the purpose of generating detailed protocol traces for the user equipment and capture data records.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein establishing a call trace for each network function of the set of network functions further comprises establishing a call trace for at least one pod of each network function in the set of network functions (read as a call trace is to be established at SBC 310 to capture all communication traffic received from CSCF 320) (Dai – Figure 4, [0054]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 8, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein collecting call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from one or more network functions further comprises collecting call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from at least one pod in the one or more network functions (read as background tracing refers to tracing that is established to execute indefinitely in the background and directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location) (Dai – [0064]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 8, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the identified set of network functions associated with the region for the UE device includes one or more of an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a user plane function (UPF), and an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG) (Dai – [0037]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 18, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the call trace data comprises signaling messages (read as messages exchanged between functions) (Dai – [0047], [0050]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 8, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the region for a user equipment (UE) device is a region in which the UE device is physically located (read as functionality of such components can be co-located or located at disparate physical server systems; certain components of 5G core 139 may be co-located with components of CU 129) (Dai – [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Dai teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by an electronic processor, perform a set of functions, the set of functions comprising:
receiving, using a call trace module, a region (read as cloud computing regions 210) (Dai – Figure 2, [0040]-[0041]) for a user equipment (UE) device and a subscriber number for the UE device (read subscriber management components 170; International Mobile Subscriber Identity) (Dai – [0033], [0036], [0056]);
identifying, using the call trace module, a set of the network functions associated with the region for the UE device from a plurality of network functions of a communication network (read as cloud platform drill engine 514 can identify all of the cellular network core NF instances and their respective identifiers within the specified cloud computing region or sub-region) (Dai – Figure 5, [0067]);
establishing, using the call trace module, a call trace for each network function in the set of network functions (read as a call trace is to be established at SBC 310 to capture all communication traffic received from CSCF 320) (Dai – Figure 4, [0054]);
collecting, using the call trace module, call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from one or more network functions in the set of network functions (read as background tracing refers to tracing that is established to execute indefinitely in the background and directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location) (Dai – [0064]);
storing, using the call trace module, the collected call trace data in a data storage device (read as directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location, possibly on the cloud-computing platform or on a separate computing system in communication with the cloud-computing platform) (Dai – [0064]).
However, Dai fails to teach generating, using the call trace module, a report with at least the collect call trace data.
In the related art, Agretti teaches generating, using the call trace module, a report with at least the collect call trace data (read as monitoring system has the capability to log call captured MAP signaling traffic as data records and to generated full protocol traces; it will provide a list of detected IMSI/MSISDN identities of the subscribers; this list can be used in protocol trace query tool and in a historical call trace application) (Agretti – [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporating the teachings of Agretti into the teachings of Dai for the purpose of generating detailed protocol traces for the user equipment and capture data records.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 14, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein each network function of the plurality of network functions of the communication network includes one or more pods, and wherein establishing, using the call trace module, a call trace for each network function of the set of network functions further comprises establishing a call trace for at least one pod of each network function in the set of network functions (read as a call trace is to be established at SBC 310 to capture all communication traffic received from CSCF 320) (Dai – Figure 4, [0054]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 14, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein each network function of the plurality of network functions of the communication network includes one or more pods, and wherein collecting, using the call trace module, call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from one or more network functions further comprises collecting call trace data associated with the subscriber number for the UE device from at least one pod in the one or more network functions (read as background tracing refers to tracing that is established to execute indefinitely in the background and directs data collected by the traces to be stored in some location) (Dai – [0064]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 14, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the subscriber number is a phone number (read as subscriber’s mobile phone) (Dai – Abstract, [0002]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 14, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the identified set of network functions associated with the region for the UE device includes one or more of an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a user plane function (UPF), and an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG) (Dai – [0037]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 14, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the call trace data comprises signaling messages (read as messages exchanged between functions) (Dai – [0047], [0050]).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 14, Dai as modified by Agretti further teaches wherein the region for a user equipment (UE) device is a region in which the UE device is physically located (read as functionality of such components can be co-located or located at disparate physical server systems; certain components of 5G core 139 may be co-located with components of CU 129) (Dai – [0024]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648