DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/27/2023, 06/05/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 12/27/2023 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 12/27/2023. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2018/0138749 herein Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a power transmission apparatus (read as wireless power transmission apparatus) (Lee – Figure 20, [0381]) comprising:
a power transmission unit configured to wirelessly transmit power to a power reception apparatus (read as power supply 2001 may supply voltage to the frequency conversion unit 2002 and/or the power conversion unit 2004 under control of the transmitter controller 2040) (Lee – [0382]-[0383]) using an antenna (read as antenna 1930) (Lee – Figure 20, and [0381]);
a detection unit configured to, based on a measurement result of measuring at least either of a voltage and a current of the antenna at at least two or more times during a power transmission limitation period (read as separate independent link expiration timer by which the wireless power transmitter may connect to each wireless power receiver) (Lee – [0162]) when the power to be transmitted from the power transmission unit to the power reception apparatus is limited (read as intensity information on the monitored output voltage and current may be transmitted to the wireless power transmitter 100 through the communication unit 260; receiver state information transmitted from the wireless power receiver to the wireless power transmitter may include at least one of required power information, information on the voltage and/or current measured; the receiver state information may be transmitted with a predetermined periodicity or transmitted every time a specific event is generated) (Lee - [0106], [0168]), perform a detection process for detecting a foreign object (read as signal detection (ping) state; in the signal detection state 1220, the wireless power transmitter may perform a function to identify other devices that generate dark current or parasitic current such as a metal object) (Lee – [0266], [0270]); and
a communication unit configured to perform communication for determining the power transmission limitation period with the power reception apparatus (read as separate independent link expiration timer by which the wireless power transmitter may connect to each wireless power receiver may be driven, and the wireless power receiver may transmit a predetermined message for announcing its presence to the wireless power transmitter on a predetermined time cycle before the expiration timer expires) (Lee – [0162]),
wherein the communication unit, according to a state of at least either of the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus after a length of the power transmission limitation period is determined, transmits a predetermined signal for changing the determined length of the power transmission limitation period to the power reception apparatus (read as link expiration timer is reset each time the message is received; if the link expiration timer does not expire, the out-of-band communication link established between the wireless power receiver and the wireless power receiver may be maintained; if all the link expiration timers established between the wireless power transmitter and the at least one wireless power receiver have expired in the low power state 530 or the power transfer state 540, the wireless power transmitter may transition to the power save state 520) (Lee – [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein according to a change in the state of at least either of the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus after the length of the power transmission limitation period is determined, the communication unit transmits the predetermined signal (read as wireless power transmitter may transition from low power state 530 to the power save state 520; separate independent link expiration timer by which the wireless power transmitter may connect to each wireless power receive may be driven, and the wireless power receiver may transmit a predetermined message) (Lee – [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein the predetermined signal includes information indicating the length of the power transmission limitation period (read as receiver state information transmitted from the wireless power receiver to the wireless power transmitter may include at least one of required power information, information on the voltage and/or current measured, charge state information, information for notifying the overcurrent, and information indicating whether or not a means for cutting off or reducing power transferred to the load is activated; receiver state information may be transmitted with a predetermined periodicity or transmitted every time a specific event is generated) (Lee – [0168]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3, Lee further teaches wherein the predetermined signal includes information indicating the minimum length with which the detection unit can achieve the detection process, as the length of the power transmission limitation period (read as wireless power transmission apparatus 1010 may detect whether voltage change of the feedback power signal received through a specific operational frequency band is greater than or equal to a predetermined minimum signal modulation detection reference value to determine whether or not the data has been modulated in the power signal) (Lee – [0255]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein the predetermined signal includes information for requesting a negotiation for determining the length of the power transmission limitation period to be made with the power reception apparatus (read as wireless power transmitter 100 and wireless power receiver 200 may exchange characteristics and state information with each other, namely, power negotiation information via bidirectional communication) (Lee – [0092]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein in a case where a temperature of at least either of the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus is a temperature higher than a predetermined threshold, the predetermined signal is transmitted (read as wireless power transmitter may not accept a power transmission request of the wireless power receiver if the internal temperature thereof exceeds a reference value) (Lee – [0126], [0277], [0281]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein in a case where a temperature of at least either of the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus is a temperature lower than a predetermined threshold, the predetermined signal is transmitted (read as if transition to the end-of-charge state 1250 occurs due to the temperature of the wireless charging transmission apparatus, the wireless charging transmission apparatus may interrupt the power signal and monitor the temperature; if the temperature falls within a certain range or to a certain value, the wireless charging transmission apparatus may transition to the signal detection state 1220) (Lee – [0281]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein in a case where at least either of a value of the power to be transmitted from the power transmission unit and a value of power guaranteed to be output from the power reception apparatus to a load included in the power reception apparatus is a value smaller than a predetermined threshold, the predetermined signal is transmitted (read as (read as received measurement result may include information about a voltage level applied to a load of the wireless reception apparatus corresponding to at least one of the first signal and the second signal) (Lee – [0023], [0046]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein in a case where at least either of a value of the power to be transmitted from the power transmission unit and a value of power guaranteed to be output from the power reception apparatus to a load included in the power reception apparatus is a value greater than a predetermined threshold, the predetermined signal is transmitted (read as received measurement result may include information about a voltage level applied to a load of the wireless reception apparatus corresponding to at least one of the first signal and the second signal) (Lee – [0023], [0046]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein in a case where the communication unit receives a signal including information indicating a magnitude of power received by the power reception apparatus, the detection unit performs the detection process (read as voltage controller 1430 may adjust the magnitude of voltage or the amount of current of the DC signal input to the connected load 1490 in accordance with the voltage level required by the charging target and/or the current state of the charging target) (Lee – [0294]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a power reception apparatus (read as power reception apparatus 1020) (Lee – Figure 10, [0250]) comprising:
a power reception unit configured to wirelessly receive power from a power transmission apparatus (read as power supply 2001 may supply voltage to the frequency conversion unit 2002 and/or the power conversion unit 2004 under control of the transmitter controller 2040) (Lee – [0382]-[0383]) using an antenna (read as antenna 2030) (Lee – Figure 20, and [0381]);
a determination unit configured to determine a length of a power transmission limitation period when the power to be transmitted from the power transmission apparatus is limited (read as wireless power transmitter may determine whether it can provide power required by the wireless power receiver, based on the available point of the wireless power transmitter; the wireless charging transmission apparatus may interrupt transmission of the power signal and wait for a certain time, the certain time may vary depending on components such as the allowable limit of the charging operation, or the like) (Lee – [0245], [0280]); and
a communication unit configured to communicate with the power transmission apparatus (read as wireless power receiver may transmit a predetermined message for announcing its presence to the wireless power transmitter on a predetermined time cycle before the expiration timer expires) (Lee – [0162]),
wherein, in a case where the communication unit receives a predetermined signal after the communication unit transmits a signal including information indicating the length of the power transmission limitation period determined by the determination unit to the power transmission apparatus (read as separate independent link expiration timer by which the wireless power transmitter may connect to each wireless power receive may be driven, and the wireless power receiver may transmit a predetermined message) (Lee – [0162]), the communication unit performs communication for changing the length of the power transmission limitation period determined by the determination unit (read as link expiration timer is reset each time the message is received) (Lee – [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Lee further teaches wherein the predetermined signal includes the signal including the information indicating the length of the power transmission limitation period (read as receiver state information transmitted from the wireless power receiver to the wireless power transmitter may include at least one of required power information, information on the voltage and/or current measured, charge state information, information for notifying the overcurrent, and information indicating whether or not a means for cutting off or reducing power transferred to the load is activated; receiver state information may be transmitted with a predetermined periodicity or transmitted every time a specific event is generated) (Lee – [0168]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12, Lee further teaches wherein the length indicated by the predetermined signal is the minimum length that can be achieved by the power transmission apparatus as the length of the power transmission limitation period (read as wireless power transmission apparatus 1010 may detect whether voltage change of the feedback power signal received through a specific operational frequency band is greater than or equal to a predetermined minimum signal modulation detection reference value to determine whether or not the data has been modulated in the power signal) (Lee – [0255]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 11, Lee further teaches wherein the predetermined signal includes a signal for requesting a negotiation for determining the length of the power transmission limitation period to be made with the power transmission apparatus (read as wireless power transmitter 100 and wireless power receiver 200 may exchange characteristics and state information with each other, namely, power negotiation information via bidirectional communication) (Lee – [0092]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches a power reception apparatus comprising:
a power reception unit configured to wirelessly receive power from a power transmission apparatus (read as power supply 2001 may supply voltage to the frequency conversion unit 2002 and/or the power conversion unit 2004 under control of the transmitter controller 2040) (Lee – [0382]-[0383]) using an antenna (read as antenna 1930) (Lee – Figure 20, and [0381]);
a determination unit configured to determine a length of a power transmission limitation period when the power to be transmitted from the power transmission apparatus is limited (read as wireless power transmitter may determine whether it can provide power required by the wireless power receiver, based on the available point of the wireless power transmitter; the wireless charging transmission apparatus may interrupt transmission of the power signal and wait for a certain time, the certain time may vary depending on components such as the allowable limit of the charging operation, or the like) (Lee – [0245], [0280]); and
a communication unit configured to communicate with the power transmission apparatus (read as wireless power receiver may transmit a predetermined message for announcing its presence to the wireless power transmitter on a predetermined time cycle before the expiration timer expires) (Lee – [0162]),
wherein, according to a state of at least either of the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus, the communication unit transmits a predetermined signal for changing the length of the power transmission limitation period to the power transmission apparatus (read as link expiration timer is reset each time the message is received; if the link expiration timer does not expire, the out-of-band communication link established between the wireless power receiver and the wireless power receiver may be maintained; if all the link expiration timers established between the wireless power transmitter and the at least one wireless power receiver have expired in the low power state 530 or the power transfer state 540, the wireless power transmitter may transition to the power save state 520) (Lee – [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Lee further teaches wherein the communication unit transmits a signal for requesting information for determining the length of the power transmission limitation period from the power transmission apparatus to the power transmission apparatus after the communication unit transmits the predetermined signal to the power transmission apparatus (read as control signal requesting change may include information about the calculated charging efficiency corresponding to the currently selected wireless transmission system) (Lee – [0402]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Lee further teaches wherein the predetermined signal is a signal for requesting a negotiation for changing a setting regarding wireless power transmission between the power reception apparatus and the power transmission apparatus (read as wireless power transmitter 100 and wireless power receiver 200 may exchange characteristics and state information with each other, namely, power negotiation information via bidirectional communication) (Lee – [0092]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches a method for a power transmission apparatus, the method comprising:
based on a measurement result of measuring at least either of a voltage and a current of an antenna (read as antenna 1930) (Lee – Figure 20, and [0381]) at at least two or more times during a power transmission limitation period when power to be wirelessly transmitted from the power transmission apparatus to a power reception apparatus using the antenna is limited (read as intensity information on the monitored output voltage and current may be transmitted to the wireless power transmitter 100 through the communication unit 260; receiver state information transmitted from the wireless power receiver to the wireless power transmitter may include at least one of required power information, information on the voltage and/or current measured; the receiver state information may be transmitted with a predetermined periodicity or transmitted every time a specific event is generated) (Lee - [0106], [0168]), performing a detection process for detecting a foreign object (read as signal detection (ping) state; in the signal detection state 1220, the wireless power transmitter may perform a function to identify other devices that generate dark current or parasitic current such as a metal object) (Lee – [0266], [0270]);
based on communication performed between the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus, determining a length of the power transmission limitation period (read as wireless power transmitter may determine whether it can provide power required by the wireless power receiver, based on the available point of the wireless power transmitter; the wireless charging transmission apparatus may interrupt transmission of the power signal and wait for a certain time, the certain time may vary depending on components such as the allowable limit of the charging operation, or the like) (Lee – [0245], [0280]); and
according to a state of at least either of the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus after the length of the power transmission limitation period is determined in the determination, performing communication for changing the length of the power transmission limitation period determined in the determination (read as link expiration timer is reset each time the message is received; if the link expiration timer does not expire, the out-of-band communication link established between the wireless power receiver and the wireless power receiver may be maintained; if all the link expiration timers established between the wireless power transmitter and the at least one wireless power receiver have expired in the low power state 530 or the power transfer state 540, the wireless power transmitter may transition to the power save state 520) (Lee – [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches a method for a power reception apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a length of a power transmission limitation period when power to be transmitted from a power transmission apparatus is limited (read as wireless power transmitter may determine whether it can provide power required by the wireless power receiver, based on the available point of the wireless power transmitter; the wireless charging transmission apparatus may interrupt transmission of the power signal and wait for a certain time, the certain time may vary depending on components such as the allowable limit of the charging operation, or the like) (Lee – [0245], [0280]);
transmitting, to the power transmission apparatus, information indicating the determined length of the power transmission limitation period (read as receiver state information transmitted from the wireless power receiver to the wireless power transmitter may include at least one of required power information, information on the voltage and/or current measured, charge state information, information for notifying the overcurrent, and information indicating whether or not a means for cutting off or reducing power transferred to the load is activated; receiver state information may be transmitted with a predetermined periodicity or transmitted every time a specific event is generated) (Lee – [0168]);
receiving a predetermined signal after the information is transmitted (read as wireless power receiver may transmit a predetermined message for announcing its presence to the wireless power transmitter on a predetermined time cycle before the expiration timer expires) (Lee – [0162]); and
performing communication for changing the determined length of the power transmission limitation period after the predetermined signal is received (read as link expiration timer is reset each time the message is received; if all the link expiration timers established between the wireless power transmitter and the at least one wireless power receiver have expired in the low power state 530 or the power transfer state 540, the wireless power transmitter may transition to the power save state 520) (Lee – [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches a method for a power reception apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a length of a power transmission limitation period when power to be transmitted from a power transmission apparatus is limited (read as wireless power transmitter may determine whether it can provide power required by the wireless power receiver, based on the available point of the wireless power transmitter; the wireless charging transmission apparatus may interrupt transmission of the power signal and wait for a certain time, the certain time may vary depending on components such as the allowable limit of the charging operation, or the like) (Lee – [0245], [0280]); and
according to a state of at least either of the power transmission apparatus and the power reception apparatus, transmitting a predetermined signal for changing the determined length of the power transmission limitation period to the power transmission apparatus (read as link expiration timer is reset each time the message is received; if the link expiration timer does not expire, the out-of-band communication link established between the wireless power receiver and the wireless power receiver may be maintained; if all the link expiration timers established between the wireless power transmitter and the at least one wireless power receiver have expired in the low power state 530 or the power transfer state 540, the wireless power transmitter may transition to the power save state 520) (Lee – [0162]-[0163]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648