DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges receipt of preliminary amendment filed 11/25/2024 and IDS filed 07/18/2024.
Claims 8 and 27 are amended.
Claims 1-31 are pending.
Priority
This application claims benefit of 63/435375 filed 12/27/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 07/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 13-15 recite the limitation "the bioceramic" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 depends on claim 1. Claim 8 depends on claim 1.’
Claim 1 does not recite “bioceramic.”
“Bioceramic” in claims 6 and 13-15 is the first occurrence in these claims.
Correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 13-18 and 22-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al., (US 20160199541 A1).
Yang discloses a composition comprising reaction product of citric acid, citrate, or ester of citric acid with a polyol and a monomer comprising one or more alkyne moieties and/or acid moieties; the reaction product in some embodiments is a polymer; in other aspect, the composition/product is in the form of medical implants/devices and/or scaffold/biphasic scaffold (see the whole document with emphasis the abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0016]-[0017]). The composition further comprises particulate inorganic material and the particulate material comprises hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, biphasic calcium phosphate, bioglass, ceramic, magnesium powder (paragraphs [0013], [0017], [0081], [0095]). The polyol includes butanediol, hexane diol and decanediol; the polyol is also polyethylene glycol or propylene glycol (paragraph [0046]). In some embodiment the polyol is glycerol and the polymer of the composition comprised polyglycerol sebacate (paragraph [0077]).
A construct given it broadest interpretation is a construct. Composition and scaffold and medical implant are all constructs or meets the limitation of the construct of claim 1.
Thus for claims 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, the composition of Yang, comprising citric acid, citrate, or ester of citric acid, butanediol, hexane diol or decanediol meeting the limitation of diol, glycerol and/or polyglycerol sebacate meeting the limitation of polyol, and hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, biphasic calcium phosphate, bioglass, or ceramic particulate inorganic material meeting the limitation of particulate inorganic material, teaches all the elements of claims 1-3 and 5.
For claim 7, the polymer formed from citrate and diol/polyol such as citrate based biodegradable poly(1,8-oactane diol citrate) and others (see paragraphs [0100]-0104]) meets the claims.
For claim 8, the scaffold construct meets the claim.
For claims 9 and 22, a single phase scaffold has a uniform porosity of 70% (paragraph [0149]); for a biphasic scaffold, the internal phase has a porosity of 70% and external phase has a porosity of 50% (paragraph [0152]) and a first porosity of between about 65% and about 75% is disclosed (paragraph [0091]) all of which are species points of the claimed range in claim 9 and the various porosity range, external and internal reads on gradient porous structure of claim 22.
For claims 10 and 11, the biodegradable porous scaffold comprising polymer network (paragraphs [0079], [0100], [0120], [0017], [0091], [0097], [0116], [0117], [0147]) meets claims 10 and 11.
For claim 13, “freeze-dried to produce a porous construct” is the process of making the construct. However, Yang’s scaffold is porous (see at least paragraph [0091]) and Yang also teaches that the product is freeze dried (paragraph [0135], [0142]-[0143]).
For claim 14, the particulate material, which is hydroxyapatite or bioceramic is present at between about 30% and about 50% (paragraph [0083]) and the about 30% to about 50% anticipated the claimed range.
For claim 15, Yang’s construct is formed into nanofibers (paragraph [0090])
For claim 16, the surface of the polymer network is functionalized with one or more peptide (paragraphs [0007], [0015], [0071]) and the scaffold is comprised of polymer network.
For claim 17, the citrate based scaffold is modified by cell binding peptide, growth factors (paragraphs [0007]), growth factor which is a bioactive species functionalizes the polymer (paragraph [0071]) and functionalization is absorption.
For claim 18, “for subchondrial bone regeneration” and “for cartilage regeneration” are the intended used of the claimed composition/construct. The body of the claim defines the claimed biphasic scaffold and the intended use does not limit the claimed scaffold. In the instant case, Yang teaches that its composition is a biphasic scaffold and provides bone regeneration (paragraphs [0008], [0091], [0097], [0098], [0160]).
For claims 23-25, the recitation that the scaffold conformable, can be cut in the operating room and can swell in liquids 500-1500% is the characteristic of the scaffold of claim 8. Yang teaches that scaffold of claim 8. Therefore, the scaffold of Yang would inherently have the claimed characteristic in claims 23-25.
For claim 26, Yang teaches its scaffold to degrade in 34 weeks (paragraph [0110]) which is 6 plus months meeting claim 26.
For claims 27 and 28, 30 and 31, Yang teaches medical implants/devices and/or scaffold/biphasic scaffold (abstract, paragraphs [0016], [0090]) with the implant comprising core-shell polymeric scaffold (paragraph [0017]) which is biphasic (paragraph [0091]-[0093]) having porous core (paragraph [0017]).
For claim 29, the particulate material, which is hydroxyapatite or bioceramic is present in Yang’s construct at between about 65 wt% (paragraph [0083])
Yang teaches all the elements of claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-18 and 22-31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., (US 20160199541 A1) in view of Hubbell et al. (US 20030220245 A1).
Claims 20 and 21 depend from claim 8. Claims 8 and 18 have been described above to be anticipated by Yang.
For claims 20 and 21, Yang does heparin binding peptide or growth factor mimicking peptide. However, Hubbell teaches medical device (paragraphs [0161], [0173]) in the form of a scaffold (paragraphs [0068]-[0069], [0174], [0179]) for bone regeneration (paragraphs [0411]-[0412]) comprising heparin-binding peptide moiety (paragraphs [0035], [0057], [0063], [0077]) and growth factor binding domains to enhance biomimetic nature of the biomaterials (paragraphs [0167]-[0168], [0020], [0053], [0061], [0095]).
Both Yang and Hubbell are concerned with bone regeneration. Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would include growth factors having growth factor binding domains and heparin binding peptides to the composition of Yang with the expectation of predictably enhancing biomimetics of the biomaterials.
Thus Yang in view of Hubel renders claims 20 and 21 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 12 and 19 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., (US 20160199541 A1) in view of Panitch et al., (US 20030190364 A1) and further in view of Zhai et al., “The application of hyaluronic acid in bone regeneration” in International Journal of Biological Macromolecules, Vol 151, 2020, 1224-1239.
Claim 12 depends on claim 8; claim 19 depends on claim 18 which depends on claim 8. Claims 8 and 18 have been described above to be anticipated by Yang.
For claims 12 and 19, Yang does not teach hyaluronic acid. However, Panitch teaches bone regeneration composition (paragraph [0090]) that comprises hyaluronic acid (paragraphs [0022], [0035], [0054], claims 5 and 15). Zhai teaches that hyaluronic acid promotes bone regeneration (see the whole document with emphasis on the abstract).
Both Yang and Hubbell are concerned with bone regeneration. Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would include hyaluronic acid to the composition of Yang with the expectation of predictably promoting bone regeneration (see the abstract of Zhai).
For claim 6, the scaffolds comprising the bioceramics or particulate inorganic materials in Yang are cylindrical (paragraph [0147]). Therefore, it would be reasonable to expect that the inorganic particulate materials of Yang are cylindrical and rods are cylindrical.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims1-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 and 14-29; 1-24; and 1-5 and 8-24 of co-pending Application Nos. 18736005; 18538772; and 18891944 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a) the composition of 18736005 as a biodegradable porous scaffold in a gradient structure comprising citrate component, polyol and anionic moiety and particulate inorganic material in the shape of a rod and protein mimicking peptide and growth factors teaches the claimed construct; b) 8538772 teaches a biodegradable porous, conformable scaffold in a gradient structure comprising citrate component, polyol and particulate inorganic material in the shape of a rod and peptide conjugated to the scaffold and which swells by 500-1500% and which degrades within 6-12 months teaches the claimed construct; and c) 18891944 biodegradable porous scaffold in a gradient structure comprising citrate component, polyol and charged moiety which is anionic moiety and particulate inorganic material in the shape of a rod and protein binding peptide conjugated to the surface of the composition and protein mimicking peptide and growth factors teaches the claimed construct.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
No claim is allowed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Conclusion
/BLESSING M FUBARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613