DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 line 2, “a graphic user interface” should change to “graphical user interface (GUI)”. To be consistent with specification par.21.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALMURAYH (US-20170134564-A1) in view of Cook (US-20110053572-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, ALMURAYH discloses a mobile device comprising:
a transceiver configured to: wirelessly receive a short-range signal (paragraph [0021], Fig.1, "The smart mobile device in the quiet zone 105, such as a silent device 120…The smart mobile device can receive a signal from the quiet zone transceivers 110 when the smart mobile device moves into the quiet zone 105." and paragraph [0034], Fig.4:452, “The radio-based positioning system can receive signals, via the communication circuitry 452, from different base stations in a wireless network, such as a wireless local area network (WLAN) or a wireless cellular network.” And paragraph [0059], "The wireless network can also be WiFi, Bluetooth, or any other wireless form of communication that is known. The quiet zone transceiver 110 can communicate to one or more remote computers, such as a server computer, a router, a personal computer, portable computer, microprocessor-based entertainment appliance, a peer device or other common network node." (i.e., The transceiver 110 can communicate with mobile devices such as WiFi, Bluetooth.));
memory (Fig.4:453, memory, paragraph [0047]) configured to:
store application settings comprising silent area information that identifies a geographic location (par.24, classroom) where a silent area (Fig.1:105, quiet zone) is established (paragraph [0021], “It should also be appreciated that the quiet zone 105 can be a plurality of quiet zones 105,” and paragraph [0023], Fig.1:105, "The remote device 305 can be the smart mobile device containing a downloaded smart phone application and/or an embedded system" and paragraph [0024], "In an exemplary embodiment, the quiet zone 105 can be a classroom, for example. The quiet zone 105 can include one or more quiet zone transceivers 110. One of the smart mobile devices moved into the quiet zone 105 can be the remote device 305." and paragraph [0025], "The remote device 305 can be a smart mobile device of a user wishing to create a quiet zone with a predetermined perimeter, thereby acting as a quiet zone transceiver 110, as shown in FIG. 3. Additionally, the remote device 305 can be an independent quiet zone transceiver 110," (i.e., The remote device 305 is one of the smart mobile devices 120, and it has an application to store settings on silent area.))
and control circuitry (Fig.4:451, processor, paragraph [0047]) configured to:
process, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in a location other than the quiet zone, the silent area information and the short-range signal to determine whether or not the mobile device is in the silent area (paragraph [0024], Fig. 1:105, “As the smart mobile device of each user is moved into the quiet zone 105, the initial alert setting of each smart mobile device is changed to the silent alert setting… The signal can be sent directly to the remote device 305 or via the quiet zone transceiver 110. The signal can contain user information including the name of the user of the smart mobile device, the MAC address of the smart mobile device, the current location of the smart mobile device, and the like. The signal can also contain a message explaining the reason for attempting to override the silent alert setting in the quiet zone 105. For example, the message could explain that the user of the smart mobile device is expecting an important call and needs to override the silent alert setting.” (i.e., the mobile device receiving signal from the quiet zone transceiver 110 that contain information the area is a “silent area”. “A location other than the quiet zone” is reading on “a silent area”, the applicant “quiet zone” will become apparent with a different prior art.)).
However, ALMURAYH does not explicitly disclose a position sensor configured to: wirelessly receive a navigation signal; and quiet zone information that identifies a geographic location where a quiet zone is established; process, when the position sensor receives the navigation signal, the quiet zone information and the navigation signal to determine whether or not the mobile device is in the quiet zone.
Cook discloses a position sensor configured to: wirelessly receive a navigation signal (paragraph [0029], "Referring to FIG. 2, disclosed is a functional block diagram of a typical cell phone 102 as depicted in FIG. 1." and paragraph [0036], Fig.2:236, "In one embodiment, a navigation module 236 is coupled to the processor 220. The navigation module comprises a variety of components configured to enable the cell phone 102 to determine and to display its present geographical location by communicating with a one or more location determination networks, such as, for example, a global navigation satellite system like the NAVSTAR Global Positioning System (GPS)." (i.e., communicating with GPS.));
quiet zone information (par.42, a plurality of quiet mode conditions for various…location) that identifies a geographic location where a quiet zone (par.38, quiet location or quiet zone) is established (paragraph [0035], Fig.2:234 "A quiet mode controller 234 is also coupled to the processor 220. The quiet mode controller 234 provides the functional capability to allow a user to designate specific dates and times as "quiet times." When so designated, the quiet mode controller 234 will automatically change the notification mode of operation of the cell phone 102 to a quiet mode of operation. The quiet mode controller 234 also provides the functional capability for the user to define or customize the actions the cell phone 102 will automatically take when the cell phone 102 enters into a "quiet mode" of operation." and paragraph [0038], "…the quiet mode controller 234 provides the functional capability to allow a physical location to identify itself as a "quiet location" or a "quiet zone."" and (Cook, paragraph [0042], “the quiet mode controller 234 may be configured to identify a plurality of quiet mode conditions to permit the user to quickly set the desired conditions for various scheduled or location-based events the user might encounter…” (i.e., The mobile device has a controller to store settings and obtains signal such as GPS to determine the location is a quiet zone. Examiner reading “quiet zone” is the same as “silent area” as disclosed in applicant specification par.24 and 27, and the difference is quiet zone is determined by navigation signal, and silent area is determined by short-range signals.));
process, when the position sensor receives the navigation signal, the quiet zone information and the navigation signal to determine whether or not the mobile device is in the quiet zone (paragraph [0038], “When the cell phone 102 receives the quiet zone notification, the quiet mode controller 234 automatically changes the notification mode of operation of the cell phone 102 to a quiet mode of operation.” and paragraph [0048], Fig.3, "The cell phone will then receive notification, or alternatively, determine based on its geographical coordinates, that it is located in the quiet zone location 302 directly by the signal the cell phone 102 receives from global navigation satellite system 308 as an additional piece of information that is transmitted to the cell phone 102 when the cell phone enters or exits a quiet zone location 302." and paragraph [0050], Fig.3, "In another embodiment, the proprietor of the quiet zone location 302 registers the quiet zone location 302 with the operator of the global navigation satellite system 308, whereby notice that the cell phone 102 has entered into the quiet zone location 302 is provided to the cell phone 102 from the global navigation satellite system 308." (i.e., the user devices communicate with the global navigation satellite system 308 to process whether or not the cell phone 102 is in the quiet zone and its process since it would change the notification mode.)), and
ALMURAYH and Cook are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ALMURAYH to implement GPS as it provides flexibility to quiet mode in any location based on the geographical location received from a GPS (Cook, paragraph [0042], “the quiet mode controller 234 may be configured to identify a plurality of quiet mode conditions to permit the user to quickly set the desired conditions for various scheduled or location-based events the user might encounter. For example, the quiet mode controller 234 may be configured to recognize an airplane quiet mode profile, a meeting quiet mode profile, a night time quiet mode profile, a concert quiet mode profile, a religious services quiet mode, a hospital quiet mode profile, a moving car quiet mode profile, etc. Each profile may be custom tailored by the user of the cell phone 102 to take the appropriate action based on the circumstances.”).
Regarding Claim 2, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 1.
Cook further discloses further comprising: a speaker configured to emit audible sounds (paragraph [0031], Fig.2:226, "An audio device 226 is coupled to the processor 220. The audio device typically comprises a speaker, an earpiece jack, a headset jack and/or an audio controller." (i.e., ALMURAYH implies the mobile device has a speaker since its silencing the mobile device when entering a quiet zone. Cook explicitly discloses there is a speaker in a mobile device.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 3, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 2.
ALMURAYH further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: inhibit, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in the silent area, the speaker from emitting the audible sounds (paragraph [0002], “The smart phone user may forget to manually set the smart phone to silent, or the user may ignore the warnings and reminders to prevent the smart phone from making noise.” and paragraph [0022], “the quiet zone transceiver 110 can prevent the smart mobile device from activating any alert setting other than the silent alert setting,” and paragraph [0024], "As the smart mobile device of each user is moved into the quiet zone 105, the initial alert setting of each smart mobile device is changed to the silent alert setting, thereby setting each mobile device to be a silent device 120." (i.e., discloses changing the mobile device to a silent device to prevent the mobile device from making noise.)).
Regarding Claim 4, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 3.
ALMURAYH further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: permit, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in the location other than the quiet zone, the speaker to emit the audible sounds (paragraph [0075], Fig.8:S825, "If it is determined that the smart mobile device has not been moved into the quiet zone 105, then it can be determined in S825 if the current alert setting of the mobile device is the same as the initial alert setting." and paragraph [0076], Fig.8:S825, "If, in S825, it is determined that the current alert setting is the same as the initial alert setting stored in S805, the process can end. However, if the current alert setting is determined to be different than the initial alert setting stored in S805, then the initial alert setting can be restored in S830." and paragraph [0077], "the current alert setting is the silent alert setting, and the silent alert setting can be changed to the initial alert setting stored in S805 (the loud alert setting) when the smart mobile device is moved out of the quiet zone 105." (i.e., Examiner points to Fig.8 wherein the user is not located in the quiet zone S810 to S825 the user device alert setting is kept on the user preference such as letting the speaker to emit sounds.)).
Regarding Claim 5, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 3.
Cook further discloses permit, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in a location other than the silent area, the speaker to emit the audible sounds (paragraph [0035], “When so designated, the quiet mode controller 234 will automatically change the notification mode of operation of the cell phone 102 to a quiet mode of operation… For example, the user may desire to have the cell phone completely silenced while operating in quiet mode.” and paragraph [0044], “…the quiet mode controller 234 will automatically configure the cell phone 102 to operate in the quiet mode (upon entering the quiet zone) or to operate in normal mode (upon exiting the quiet zone).” (i.e., Examiner reading par.44 normal mode allows the user device to notification sounds e.g., audible sounds.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 6, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 2.
Cook further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: inhibit, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in the quiet zone, the speaker from emitting the audible sounds (paragraph [0035], " The quiet mode controller 234 also provides the functional capability for the user to define or customize the actions the cell phone 102 will automatically take when the cell phone 102 enters into a "quiet mode" of operation. For example, the user may desire to have the cell phone completely silenced while operating in quiet mode." and paragraph [0039], “the cell phone 102 is configured to identify the cell phone's 102 physical location by use of a global navigation satellite system like the NAVSTAR Global Positioning System (GPS) or by use of method of triangulation of cell towers to determine the cell phone's 102 geographical location. In this embodiment, the quiet mode controller 234 is configured to recognize specific locations (metes and bounds) that are designated as quiet zones, and when the cell phone is physically within such a designated location it will automatically switch into a quiet mode of operation” (i.e., Changing to a mobile device mode of operation to quiet mode to silence the phone.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 7, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 6.
Cook further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: permit, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in a location other than the silent area, the speaker to emit the audible sounds (paragraph [0044], Fig.3, “a signal is transmitted at all entrances and exits of a particular location. The cell phone 102 is configured to receive and recognize the signal as an indication that the cell phone 102 is either entering into or exiting out of a quiet zone, upon which the quiet mode controller 234 will automatically configure the cell phone 102 to operate in the quiet mode (upon entering the quiet zone) or to operate in normal mode (upon exiting the quiet zone).” (i.e., when the cell phone 102 is not in the quiet zone, the user device will operate in normal mode wherein notifications are allowed e.g., the speaker to emit the audible sounds.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 8, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 6.
ALMURAYH further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: permit, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in a location other than the quiet zone, the speaker to emit the audible sounds (paragraph [0075], Fig.8:S825, "If it is determined that the smart mobile device has not been moved into the quiet zone 105, then it can be determined in S825 if the current alert setting of the mobile device is the same as the initial alert setting." and paragraph [0076], Fig.8:S825, "If, in S825, it is determined that the current alert setting is the same as the initial alert setting stored in S805, the process can end. However, if the current alert setting is determined to be different than the initial alert setting stored in S805, then the initial alert setting can be restored in S830." (i.e., either restoring user settings to permit the user to emit the audible sounds or notifications.)).
Regarding Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 16 (which is similar in scope to claim 1.).
ALMURAYH further discloses inhibiting, by the control circuitry when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in either (paragraph [0002], “The smart phone user may forget to manually set the smart phone to silent, or the user may ignore the warnings and reminders to prevent the smart phone from making noise.” and paragraph [0022], “the quiet zone transceiver 110 can prevent the smart mobile device from activating any alert setting other than the silent alert setting,” and paragraph [0024], "As the smart mobile device of each user is moved into the quiet zone 105, the initial alert setting of each smart mobile device is changed to the silent alert setting, thereby setting each mobile device to be a silent device 120." (i.e., discloses changing the mobile device to a silent device to prevent the mobile device from making noise.)).
Cook further discloses the quiet zone (paragraph [0035], " The quiet mode controller 234 also provides the functional capability for the user to define or customize the actions the cell phone 102 will automatically take when the cell phone 102 enters into a "quiet mode" of operation. For example, the user may desire to have the cell phone completely silenced while operating in quiet mode." and paragraph [0039], “the cell phone 102 is configured to identify the cell phone's 102 physical location by use of a global navigation satellite system like the NAVSTAR Global Positioning System (GPS) or by use of method of triangulation of cell towers to determine the cell phone's 102 geographical location. In this embodiment, the quiet mode controller 234 is configured to recognize specific locations (metes and bounds) that are designated as quiet zones, and when the cell phone is physically within such a designated location it will automatically switch into a quiet mode of operation” (i.e., Changing to a mobile device mode of operation to quiet mode to silence the phone.)).
Regarding Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claim 4 or claim 7, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 19 (which is similar in scope to claim 1.).
ALMURAYH further discloses on which is stored instructions that when executed by a processor, further cause the processor to: control, when the control circuitry determines that the mobile device is in either (paragraph [0002], “The smart phone user may forget to manually set the smart phone to silent, or the user may ignore the warnings and reminders to prevent the smart phone from making noise.” and paragraph [0022], “the quiet zone transceiver 110 can prevent the smart mobile device from activating any alert setting other than the silent alert setting,” and paragraph [0024], "As the smart mobile device of each user is moved into the quiet zone 105, the initial alert setting of each smart mobile device is changed to the silent alert setting, thereby setting each mobile device to be a silent device 120." (i.e., discloses changing the mobile device to a silent device to prevent the mobile device from making noise.)).
Cook further discloses the silent area, a speaker to inhibit audible sound emissions from the speaker (paragraph [0035], " The quiet mode controller 234 also provides the functional capability for the user to define or customize the actions the cell phone 102 will automatically take when the cell phone 102 enters into a "quiet mode" of operation. For example, the user may desire to have the cell phone completely silenced while operating in quiet mode." and paragraph [0039], “the cell phone 102 is configured to identify the cell phone's 102 physical location by use of a global navigation satellite system like the NAVSTAR Global Positioning System (GPS) or by use of method of triangulation of cell towers to determine the cell phone's 102 geographical location. In this embodiment, the quiet mode controller 234 is configured to recognize specific locations (metes and bounds) that are designated as quiet zones, and when the cell phone is physically within such a designated location it will automatically switch into a quiet mode of operation” (i.e., Changing to a mobile device mode of operation to quiet mode to silence the phone.)).
Claim(s) 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALMURAYH (US-20170134564-A1) in view of Cook (US-20110053572-A1) in further view of Westerinen (US-20100317371-A1).
Regarding Claim 9, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 1.
However, ALMURAYH in view of Cook do not disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to: compare, when processing the quiet zone information and the navigation signal, the quiet zone information with position information that identifies a geographic position of the mobile device.
Westerinen discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: compare, when processing the quiet zone information (par.98, location are looked up) and the navigation signal (par.98, GPS), the quiet zone information with position information that identifies a geographic position of the mobile device (paragraph [0082], “the ringer can be automatically silenced several minutes before the meeting start time.” and paragraph [0098], Fig.11, “For GPS and GSM applications, the signal may include identifying information of the satellite or antenna and its location, in addition to timing information. If an EM signal is sensed at decision step 1104, an identifier is obtained and/or a location is determined from the sensed signal…At step 1120, user interface (UI) settings based on location are looked up, and at step 1122, the UI settings are automatically implemented.” (i.e., the UE receives the signal from the GPS obtains position information and compares with quiet zone information or in this case UI settings of the location.)).
ALMURAYH in view of Cook and Westerinen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ALMURAYH to implement the method of Westerinen as that would enable the user device to adjust any UI setting depending on the location and the settings can be automatically adjusted based on the user habit thus makes it convenient for the user (Cook, paragraph [0035], “After learning the user's habits, the mobile device can automatically modify its settings based on a user profile, time of day, and location, for instance. This allows the mobile device to automatically change its behavior throughout the day at different locations, without user intervention.” and paragraph [0110], Fig.14d, “FIG. 14d depicts a UI of a mobile device which informs a user of details of a current UI profile. The screen 1410 provides details of the "home" profile, including ring tone: personal, ringer on, vibrate off and forwarding off. The user may decide that one or more of the UI settings should be changed and can make such a change using appropriate UI menus.”).
Regarding Claim 10, ALMURAYH in view of Cook in further view of Westerinen discloses all the limitations as claim 9.
Westerinen further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: obtain, when the position sensor receives the navigation signal, the position information from the navigation signal (paragraph [0098], Fig.11, “For GPS and GSM applications, the signal may include identifying information of the satellite or antenna and its location, in addition to timing information. If an EM signal is sensed at decision step 1104, an identifier is obtained and/or a location is determined from the sensed signal…” (i.e., the UE obtains location from the EM signal from GPS.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 11, ALMURAYH in view of Cook in further view of Westerinen discloses all the limitations as claim 9.
Westerinen further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine, when the quiet zone information comprises the position information, that the mobile device is in the quiet zone (paragraph [0098], Fig.11, “If an EM signal is sensed at decision step 1104, an identifier is obtained and/or a location is determined from the sensed signal…At step 1120, user interface (UI) settings based on location are looked up, and at step 1122, the UI settings are automatically implemented.” (i.e., The quiet zone information is a list of location with UI settings and when the location matches with the one that is calculated from the EM signal then it would apply the UI settings and in combination with ALMURAYH in view of Cook that setting could be muting notification because it’s a quiet zone.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 12, ALMURAYH in view of Cook discloses all the limitations as claim 1.
However, ALMURAYH in view of Cook do not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to: compare, when processing the silent area information and the short-range signal, the silent area information with an identifier that uniquely identifies the short-range signal.
Westerinen discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: compare, when processing the silent area information and the short-range signal, the silent area information (par.98, location are looked up) with an identifier (par.98, SSID) that uniquely identifies the short-range signal (paragraph [0091], “For example, Wi-Fi signal identifier can be an SSID, in one possible implementation.” and paragraph [0098], Fig.11, "If a signal is present, the signal can be decoded to obtain identifying information such as an SSID…If an EM signal is sensed at decision step 1104, an identifier is obtained and/or a location is determined from the sensed signal…At step 1120, user interface (UI) settings based on location are looked up, and at step 1122, the UI settings are automatically implemented." and paragraph [0003], "For example, when the user visits the coffee shop a subsequent time, the mobile device can automatically configure itself with the ringer in the silent mode." (i.e., User device is receiving a signal and decoding the signal to determine the location is associated particular signal and causing the UE to change user setting such as silencing the user device.)).
ALMURAYH in view of Cook and Westerinen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ALMURAYH to implement the method of Westerinen as that would enable the user device to adjust any UI setting depending on the location and the settings can be automatically adjusted based on the user habit thus makes it convenient for the user (Cook, paragraph [0035], “After learning the user's habits, the mobile device can automatically modify its settings based on a user profile, time of day, and location, for instance. This allows the mobile device to automatically change its behavior throughout the day at different locations, without user intervention.” and paragraph [0110], Fig.14d, “FIG. 14d depicts a UI of a mobile device which informs a user of details of a current UI profile. The screen 1410 provides details of the "home" profile, including ring tone: personal, ringer on, vibrate off and forwarding off. The user may decide that one or more of the UI settings should be changed and can make such a change using appropriate UI menus.”).
Regarding Claim 13, ALMURAYH in view of Cook in further view of Westerinen discloses all the limitations as claim 12.
Westerinen further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: extract, when the transceiver receives the short-range signal, the identifier from the short-range signal (paragraph [0091], “For example, when a POS terminal at a retail store communicates an IRDA signal, the signal will include an identifier of the retail store, such as "Sears, store #100, Chicago, Ill." An RF beacon is a surveyed device and will similarly include an identifier which is cross referenced to a location in a database by an administrator who configures the beacon and assigns the location. An example database entry is: Beacon_ID=12345, location=office conference room.” and paragraph [0098], Fig.11, "If a signal is present, the signal can be decoded to obtain identifying information such as an SSID…If an EM signal is sensed at decision step 1104, an identifier is obtained and/or a location is determined from the sensed signal…At step 1120, user interface (UI) settings based on location are looked up, and at step 1122, the UI settings are automatically implemented." (i.e., The UE extracts the SSID from the transceiver.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 14, ALMURAYH in view of Cook in further view of Westerinen discloses all the limitations as claim 12.
Westerinen further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to: determine, when the silent area information comprises the identifier, that the mobile device is in the silent area (paragraph [0091], “For example, when a POS terminal at a retail store communicates an IRDA signal, the signal will include an identifier of the retail store, such as "Sears, store #100, Chicago, Ill." An RF beacon is a surveyed device and will similarly include an identifier which is cross referenced to a location in a database by an administrator who configures the beacon and assigns the location. An example database entry is: Beacon_ID=12345, location=office conference room.” and paragraph [0098], Fig.11, "At decision step 1106, location-identifying information is obtained from the sensed signal…At step 1120, user interface (UI) settings based on location are looked up, and at step 1122, the UI settings are automatically implemented." (i.e., In combination with ALMURAYH in view of Cook in further view of McClelland discloses the user device to silent the mobile terminal when the identifier of the signal matches the location such as the silent area information.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 15, ALMURAYH in view of Cook in further view of Westerinen discloses all the limitations as claim 12.
However, ALMURAYH in view of Cook do not explicitly disclose further comprising: a graphic user interface to receive, manually from a user of the mobile device, the application settings.
Westerinen further discloses further comprising: a graphic user interface to receive, manually from a user of the mobile device, the application settings (paragraph [0109], Fig.14c, "FIG. 14c depicts a UI of a mobile device which informs a user of a current UI profile. As mentioned, it can be helpful to inform the user which location is currently sensed to serve as a confirmation to the user that appropriate UI settings are being automatically implemented based on the location, to allow the user to override the automatic UI settings, or to manually correct the label." and paragraph [0110], Fig.14d, "FIG. 14d depicts a UI of a mobile device which informs a user of details of a current UI profile. The screen 1410 provides details of the "home" profile, including ring tone: personal, ringer on, vibrate off and forwarding off. The user may decide that one or more of the UI settings should be changed and can make such a change using appropriate UI menus." (i.e., A UI that the user can change the application settings.)).
ALMURAYH in view of Cook and Westerinen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ALMURAYH to implement the GUI as that would enable the user device to adjust any UI setting depending on the location and the settings can be automatically adjusted based on the user habit thus makes it convenient for the user (Cook, paragraph [0035], “After learning the user's habits, the mobile device can automatically modify its settings based on a user profile, time of day, and location, for instance. This allows the mobile device to automatically change its behavior throughout the day at different locations, without user intervention.” and paragraph [0110], Fig.14d, “FIG. 14d depicts a UI of a mobile device which informs a user of details of a current UI profile. The screen 1410 provides details of the "home" profile, including ring tone: personal, ringer on, vibrate off and forwarding off. The user may decide that one or more of the UI settings should be changed and can make such a change using appropriate UI menus.”).
Conclusion
ERKIN S. ABDULLAEV
Examiner
Art Unit 2648
/ERKIN ABDULLAEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648