DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: para 0061 mention elements 11 and 12 in fig.3 but fig.3 doesn’t show them; para 0061 might be referring to fig 4, applicant may amend the specifications or drawing for consistency. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 Regarding term “and/or":
The phrase "and/or" is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass each listed alternative individually as well as their combination. Accordingly, it broadens the claim to include any of the recited alternatives but does not render the claim indefinite or otherwise alter the scope beyond those expressly recited alternatives.
Claim 2 Regarding "preferably":
The term "preferably" expresses an optional or preferred implementation rather than a mandatory claim limitation. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it does not narrow or expand the metes and bounds of the claim, and the claim scope is determined by the remaining affirmative limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz et al. (US 2022/0285784 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0131230 A1) further in view Berardi (US 8,291,941 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Lorenz teaches a battery arrangement for a motor vehicle [see (Abstract); Fig. 1, items 10, 12, 16; para. 0001 and para. 0035; Lorenz expressly teaches battery arrangement (10) including battery (12) and degassing device (16), which corresponds to the claimed battery arrangement for a vehicle]; a battery pack including a housing and a plurality of cells received in the housing [see (Fig. 1, items 12 and 14); para. 0002, para. 0010, para. 0035 and para. 0036; Lorenz teaches battery (12) including housing (14) containing a plurality of battery cells arranged as battery modules. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, battery (12) and housing (14) correspond to the claimed battery pack including a housing and a plurality of cells received therein]; the housing having at least one exhaust port through which gases emitted by the cells can flow out of the housing in case of a failure such as a thermal runaway [see (Abstract); Fig. 1, items 12, 16, 18, 20 and 22; para. 0002, para. 0003, para. 0007, para. 0012, para. 0013 and para. 0037; Lorenz teaches battery cells having releasable degassing openings, an internal degassing duct, coupling point (20), exhaust gas duct (18), and outlet opening (22) that together provide a fluid path for gases generated during thermal runaway to exit the battery. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the releasable degassing openings together with the internal degassing duct, coupling point (20), exhaust gas duct (18), and outlet opening (22) correspond to the claimed "exhaust port through which gases emitted by the cells can flow out of the housing in case of a failure such as a thermal runaway."].
However, Lorenz does not expressly teach "a sensor configured to enable detecting the failure of the battery pack."
In an analogous art, Song teaches first sensing unit (240), second sensing unit (250), and controller (280) configured to monitor battery pack conditions including internal pressure, venting gas, venting conditions, and sealing conditions associated with abnormal battery operation [see (Figs. 5-7, items 240, 250, 270 and 280); para. 0011-0019 and para. 0032-0060; Song explains that the sensing units provide information regarding abnormal battery conditions associated with battery venting and operation of the venting device. Although Song does not literally describe "detecting failure of the battery pack," one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood monitoring abnormal pressure, venting gas, and venting conditions indicative of thermal runaway to correspond to the claimed "sensor configured to enable detecting the failure of the battery pack."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery arrangement of Lorenz to incorporate the battery monitoring arrangement of Song in order to detect abnormal battery conditions associated with thermal runaway and initiate an appropriate battery safety response, thereby improving battery safety and system reliability with predictable results.
Lorenz further teaches structures corresponding to a safety system comprising: a pipe having open ends, a first end which is secured to the battery pack so as to collect the gases emitted through the exhaust port, and a second end [see (Fig. 1, items 16, 18, 20 and 22); para. 0007, para. 0012, para. 0013 and para. 0037; Lorenz teaches degassing device (16) including exhaust gas duct (18) coupled to the battery through coupling point (20), wherein gases released from the battery are collected and discharged through outlet opening (22). Lorenz further explains that exhaust gas duct (18) may be designed as a pipe or a metal hose. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed exhaust gas duct corresponds to the claimed pipe having a first end secured to the battery pack for collecting gases and a second end for discharging the gases].
However, the combination of Lorenz and Song does not expressly teach "wherein the pipe can be in an inactive state in which it is collapsed so as to occupy a small space, or in an active state in which it is extended so that the gases can flow through the pipe and exit it at the second end then located away from the first end;"
In an analogous art, Berardi teaches a hose configured to transition between a contracted configuration occupying minimal space and an expanded configuration for conveying fluid; [See (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3); col. 3, lines 17-34; col. 5, lines 9-55.] Berardi teaches a hose serving as a fluid conduit that automatically expands longitudinally when subjected to internal fluid pressure and contracts when pressure is removed. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed hose corresponds to a pipe-like conduit capable of occupying a compact inactive state and an extended active state while maintaining fluid communication].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the exhaust gas duct of Lorenz, as modified by Song, to incorporate the expandable hose structure taught by Berardi in order to minimize packaging space during normal vehicle operation while providing an extended discharge conduit during battery venting, thereby safely directing hazardous gases away from the battery with predictable results.
Regarding “an extension causing device configured to place the pipe in the active state upon detection of the failure." Berardi teaches a pressure-responsive hose structure that automatically transitions from the contracted configuration to the expanded configuration when subjected to internal fluid pressure; Song further teaches detecting abnormal battery conditions associated with battery failure using first sensing unit (240), second sensing unit (250), and controller (280).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the battery venting system of Lorenz such that, following battery failure detection as taught by Song, vent gases are directed into the pressure-responsive hose of Berardi. The resulting pressurization causes the hose to expand from its contracted configuration to its expanded configuration. Accordingly, in the modified battery venting system, the pressure-responsive hose structure serves as the claimed extension-causing device because, following battery failure detection and subsequent venting, it places the pipe in its active state by transitioning from the contracted configuration to the expanded configuration.
Regarding claim 15, Lorenz teaches performing a method corresponding to a method for securing a vehicle including at least one battery pack in case of a failure such as a thermal runaway of the battery pack, [see (Abstract); Fig. 1, items 10, 12, 16, 18, 20 and 22; para. 0001, para. 0002, para. 0007, para. 0024 and para. 0037; Lorenz teaches a battery arrangement for a motor vehicle including battery (12) and further teaches a method for discharging gases escaping from at least one battery cell by means of degassing device (16) when gases are generated during thermal runaway. Lorenz explains that gases released from battery cells are collected and conveyed through coupling point (20), exhaust gas duct (18), and outlet opening (22) to safely discharge the gases away from the battery arrangement. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed method for safely discharging gases generated during thermal runaway of a vehicle battery corresponds to the claimed method for securing a vehicle including at least one battery pack in case of a failure such as a thermal runaway of the battery pack]; a pipe having open ends, namely a first end which is secured to the battery pack so as to collect the gases emitted through an exhaust port of the battery pack, and a second end [see (Abstract); Fig. 1, items 12, 16, 18, 20 and 22; para. 0002, para. 0003, para. 0007, para. 0012, para. 0013 and para. 0037]. Lorenz teaches releasable degassing openings associated with the battery cells, an internal degassing duct, coupling point (20), exhaust gas duct (18), and outlet opening (22), wherein gases generated during thermal runaway are collected and conveyed away from the battery. Lorenz further teaches that exhaust gas duct (18) may be designed as a pipe or a metal hose. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed exhaust gas duct corresponds to the claimed pipe having a first end secured to the battery pack for collecting gases and a second end for discharging the gases].
However, Lorenz does not expressly teach "the pipe being in an inactive state in which it is collapsed so as to occupy a small space.
In an analogous art, Berardi teaches a hose configured to transition between a contracted configuration occupying minimal space and an expanded configuration for conveying fluid [see (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3; col. 3, lines 17-34; col. 5, lines 9-55)]. Berardi teaches a hose serving as a fluid conduit that automatically expands longitudinally when subjected to internal fluid pressure and contracts when pressure is removed. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed hose corresponds to the claimed pipe capable of occupying a collapsed inactive state and an expanded active state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the exhaust gas duct of Lorenz to incorporate the expandable hose structure taught by Berardi in order to reduce packaging space during normal vehicle operation while allowing the conduit to extend during battery venting, thereby safely directing hazardous gases away from the battery with predictable results.
The combination of Lorenz and Berardi does not expressly teach monitoring a parameter suitable for detecting the failure of the battery pack;
In an analogous art, Song teaches first sensing unit (240), second sensing unit (250), and controller (280) configured to monitor battery pack conditions including internal pressure, venting gas, venting conditions, and sealing conditions associated with abnormal battery operation [see (Figs. 5-7, items 240, 250, 270 and 280; para. 0011-0019 and para. 0032-0060); Song explains that the sensing units monitor battery conditions associated with venting events and operation of the venting device. Although Song does not literally describe monitoring a parameter suitable for detecting the failure of the battery pack, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood monitoring abnormal battery pressure, gas concentration, venting conditions, and other battery conditions indicative of thermal runaway to correspond to monitoring a parameter suitable for detecting battery pack failure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the battery venting system of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi, to incorporate the battery monitoring techniques of Song in order to detect abnormal battery conditions associated with thermal runaway and initiate appropriate battery safety measures before or during battery venting, thereby improving battery safety and system reliability with predictable results.
Regarding “upon detection of such a failure, allowing or provoking an extension causing device to place the pipe in an active state in which the pipe is extended so that the gases can flow through the pipe and exit it at the second end then located away from the first end."
Berardi teaches a pressure-responsive hose structure that automatically transitions from the contracted configuration to the expanded configuration when subjected to internal fluid pressure. Song teaches detecting abnormal battery conditions associated with battery failure using first sensing unit (240), second sensing unit (250), and controller (280). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the battery venting system of Lorenz such that, following battery failure detection as taught by Song, vent gases are directed into the pressure-responsive hose of Berardi. The resulting pressurization causes the hose to transition from its contracted configuration to its expanded configuration, thereby allowing the gases to flow through the conduit and exit at a location remote from the battery. Accordingly, in the modified battery venting system, the pressure-responsive hose structure serves as the claimed extension-causing device because, following battery failure detection and venting, it places the pipe in its active state by transitioning from the contracted configuration to the expanded configuration.
Re Claim 2, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. Berardi further teaches an expandable hose that automatically contracts to a compact configuration when internal fluid pressure is removed [see (Abstract); Figs. 1, 2, 6 and 8; col. 1, lines 42-53; col. 3, lines 17-34; col. 5, lines 9-55; Berardi teaches a hose serving as a fluid conduit that contracts to occupy minimal space when pressure is removed, and Figures 1 and 6 illustrate the hose in its compact contracted configuration]. the disclosed contracted hose corresponds to the claimed "wherein, in the inactive state, the second end of the pipe is substantially adjacent the first end and/or facing the first end of the pipe, with the pipe preferably being folded or rolled," because contraction of the hose shortens its effective length, placing the second end substantially adjacent the first end while occupying a compact stored configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the battery venting system of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi and Song, such that the expandable hose is stored in the compact contracted configuration taught by Berardi, thereby minimizing packaging space during normal vehicle operation while permitting automatic deployment during battery venting with predictable results.
Re Claim 4, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. Berardi further teaches an expandable and contractible hose including an elastic inner tube and a non-elastic outer tube, wherein the hose automatically expands upon application of fluid pressure and automatically contracts upon release of the fluid pressure while remaining capable of conveying fluid in both conditions [see (Abstract); Figs. 1-6; col. 1, lines 42-53; col. 8, lines 17-65; col. 9, lines 1-38]. Berardi teaches hose (10) having outer tube (12) surrounding elastic inner tube (14). In the contracted condition, the hose remains tubular with space (15) between the inner and outer tubes (Fig. 6), and in the expanded condition the hose likewise remains tubular while conveying pressurized fluid (Figs. 3-5). The disclosed hose corresponds to the claimed "wherein the pipe has a non-flattened cross-section which is substantially identical in the inactive state and in the active state," because Berardi teaches a resilient tubular hose that remains open and capable of conveying fluid in both the contracted and expanded configurations without collapsing into a flattened conduit. Although Berardi does not expressly describe the cross-section as being "substantially identical" in both states, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the disclosed resilient tubular construction maintains a non-flattened cross-section in both operating states corresponding to the claimed limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the expandable hose taught by Berardi as the vent conduit of Lorenz, as modified by Song, because Berardi teaches an expandable tubular conduit that remains capable of fluid transport in both contracted and expanded configurations while occupying minimal storage space when inactive. Incorporating Berardi's hose into the battery venting system of Lorenz would ensure a reliable vent flow path during battery thermal runaway while minimizing packaging space with predictable results.
Re Claim 6, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. Berardi further teaches an expandable hose including an elastic inner tube (14) and a non-elastic outer tube (12), wherein the hose automatically expands upon application of internal fluid pressure and automatically contracts upon release of the fluid pressure [see (Abstract); Figs. 1-6; col. 1, lines 42-53; col. 3, lines 17-34; col. 8, lines 17-65]. Berardi teaches that the structural constituents of hose (10), including elastic inner tube (14) and outer tube (12), cooperate to cause the hose to transition between contracted and expanded configurations in response to internal fluid pressure.
The disclosed hose structure corresponds to the claimed "wherein the extension causing device comprises at least part of the structural constituents of the pipe," because the hose expands by operation of its own structural constituents without requiring a separate deployment mechanism. The elastic inner tube and surrounding outer tube collectively provide the structure responsible for extending the hose when pressurized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the expandable hose taught by Berardi as the vent conduit of Lorenz, as modified by Song, because Berardi teaches that the hose expands through interaction of its own structural constituents. Incorporating Berardi's hose into the battery venting system of Lorenz results in an extension-causing device formed by at least part of the structural constituents of the pipe itself, thereby providing reliable automatic deployment during battery venting while minimizing component count and packaging space with predictable results.
Re Claim 9, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above; Song further teaches wherein the sensor is one of a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a gas sensor, a thermal runaway sensor [see Song (Abstract); Figs. 2, 5 and 6; para. 0011-0019 and para. 0032-0060; Song teaches first sensing unit (240) and second sensing unit (250), wherein the first sensing unit includes sensing elements for detecting abnormal pressure and venting gas associated with battery failure, and controller (280) receives signals from the sensing units to determine abnormal battery conditions and venting events].
The disclosed sensing units correspond to the claimed "sensor is one of a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a gas sensor, a thermal runaway sensor," because Song expressly teaches sensing battery pressure and venting gas to detect abnormal battery conditions. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed pressure sensing and gas sensing correspond to the claimed pressure sensor and gas sensor, respectively. The claim requires one of the recited sensor types, and Song expressly teaches two of the alternatively recited sensor types.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the pressure and gas sensing arrangement taught by Song into the battery venting system of Lorenz utilizing the expandable vent conduit of Berardi because Song teaches reliable detection of abnormal battery venting conditions that initiate protective venting actions, thereby improving battery safety and thermal runaway management with predictable results.
Re Claim 13, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. Song further teaches controller (280) operatively connected to first sensing unit (240) and second sensing unit (250) [see (Figs. 5-7, items 240, 250, 270 and 280); para. 0032-0060; Song teaches controller (280) that receives signals from first sensing unit (240) and second sensing unit (250) and controls operation of switch (270) responsive to abnormal battery conditions]; the disclosed controller (280) corresponds to the claimed "a controller which is operatively connected to the sensor," because controller (280) communicates with and receives detection signals from the sensing units to control operation of the battery venting system.
However, Song does not expressly teach "which, upon detection of the failure, is configured to allow or to provoke the extension causing device to place the pipe in the active state." Berardi teaches a pressure-responsive hose that transitions from a contracted configuration to an expanded configuration when subjected to internal pressure, while Lorenz teaches directing vent gases through the exhaust gas duct during thermal runaway.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure controller (280) of Song within the battery venting system of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi, such that, upon battery failure detection by the sensing units, the controller initiates battery venting, whereby vent gases are directed into Berardi's pressure-responsive hose causing the hose to transition from the contracted configuration to the expanded configuration, thereby allowing the extension-causing arrangement to place the pipe in its active state and safely discharge vent gases with predictable results.
Re Claim 14, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. Lorenz further teaches a motor vehicle including the disclosed battery arrangement [see (Abstract); Fig. 1, item 10; para. 0001 and para. 0035]. Lorenz teaches battery arrangement (10) configured for installation and use in a motor vehicle, including battery (12) and degassing device (16)]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the disclosed motor vehicle including battery arrangement (10) corresponds to the claimed "A vehicle comprising the battery arrangement of claim 1."
Claim(s) 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz et al. (US 2022/0285784 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0131230 A1), in view Berardi (US 8,291,941 B1) further in view of Whitworth (US 4,842,023).
Re Claim 3, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. However, the combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song does not expressly teach "wherein the pipe comprises spacers for keeping the cross-section of the pipe in a non-flattened state at least in the active state."
In an analogous art, Whitworth teaches a flexible hose including a reinforcing profiled strip wound helically around the hose wall, wherein the reinforcing strip supports the side walls of the convolutions, enhances resistance to radial forces, and imparts mechanical strength in the radial direction. [see Whitworth (Abstract); Claims 1-3; Figs. 1-4; col. 1, line 65 - col. 2, line 45; col. 2, lines 59-65; col. 3, lines 15-51].
The disclosed reinforcing profiled strip corresponds to the claimed "spacers for keeping the cross-section of the pipe in a non-flattened state at least in the active state," because Whitworth teaches structural support members that reinforce the hose wall, support the side walls of the convolutions, improve resistance to radial forces, and resist crushing, thereby maintaining the hose geometry during use. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed "spacers" encompass structural support members that maintain the pipe in a non-flattened condition while permitting flexibility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the reinforcing profiled strip taught by Whitworth into the expandable vent pipe of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi and Song, because Whitworth teaches reinforcing a flexible hose to resist radial deformation and maintain its flow passage while preserving flexibility, thereby improving reliable vent gas discharge with predictable results.
Re Claim 10, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. However, the combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song does not expressly teach "wherein the pipe comprises a cylindrical envelope made of a flexible material such as fabric, and a frame which, for example, comprises rings attached to the envelope and spaced apart from one another along the pipe axis."
In an analogous art, Whitworth teaches a flexible hose comprising a flexible helically convoluted plastics material tube wound helically with a reinforcing profiled strip, wherein the reinforcing profiled strip supports the tube wall, supports the side walls of the convolutions, improves resistance to radial forces, imparts mechanical strength in the radial direction, and is helically wound around the tube with adjacent windings spaced apart along the longitudinal axis of the hose [see (Abstract); Figs. 1-4; col. 1, line 65 - col. 2, line 45; col. 2, lines 59-65; col. 3, lines 15-51; Claims 1-3]. Whitworth teaches a reinforcing profiled strip that supports the tube wall, supports the side walls of the convolution, and imparts mechanical strength in the radial direction.
The disclosed flexible helically convoluted tube corresponds to the claimed "cylindrical envelope made of a flexible material," and the reinforcing profiled strip corresponds to the claimed "frame" because it is a structural reinforcing member attached to and supporting the flexible tube. Furthermore, the successive helical windings of the reinforcing profiled strip correspond to the claimed "rings attached to the envelope and spaced apart from one another along the pipe axis," because each helical winding extends circumferentially around the tube and adjacent windings are spaced apart along the longitudinal axis of the hose. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed "rings" encompass circumferential reinforcing members arranged along the pipe axis to support and reinforce the flexible envelope.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the reinforcing profiled strip taught by Whitworth into the expandable vent pipe of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi and Song, because Whitworth teaches reinforcing a flexible hose with circumferential support members that maintain the structural integrity and geometry of the hose while preserving flexibility, thereby improving reliable vent gas discharge with predictable results.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz et al. (US 2022/0285784 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0131230 A1), in view Berardi (US 8,291,941 B1) further in view of Hermann et al. (US 2012/0308859 A1).
Re Claim 5, The combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. The combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song does not expressly teach "wherein, in the mounted position on a vehicle and in the active state, the pipe extends at least partly vertically and downwards from its first end towards its second end."
In an analogous art Hermann teaches a battery pack mounted beneath a vehicle, wherein hot gas generated during a thermal runaway event is directed away from the battery pack and away from the passenger compartment through dedicated heat-resistant channels associated with the battery pack enclosure [see Hermann (Abstract); Figs. 1, 17, 20 and 21; para. 0008, 0034 and 0035; Hermann teaches battery pack (101) mounted underneath vehicle (100) and further teaches directing thermal runaway gases through dedicated vent channels to a remote discharge location outside the battery enclosure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to orient the expandable vent conduit taught by Berardi for use with the battery venting system of Lorenz, as deployed upon failure detection by Song, so that, in the mounted position on a vehicle, the vent conduit extends at least partly vertically and downward from the battery pack toward a remote discharge location because Hermann teaches an underbody-mounted battery pack and dedicated vent channels for directing thermal runaway gases away from the passenger compartment. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that routing the vent conduit generally downward from an underbody-mounted battery pack follows the available vehicle geometry, promotes gravity-assisted discharge of hot gases and particulates, and safely directs vented gases away from vehicle occupants with predictable results.
Re Claim 12, combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song teaches the invention set forth above. The combination of Lorenz, Berardi and Song does not expressly teach "further comprising an outer casing which receives the battery pack housing, wherein the pipe first end is secured to the outer casing."
In an analogous art Hermann teaches a battery pack enclosure comprising lower housing member (305) and upper housing member (307), wherein enclosure failure port assemblies are integrated into the battery pack enclosure and thermal runaway gases are discharged through dedicated vent structures [see Hermann (Abstract); Figs. 3, 17; para. 0008, 0037, 0038 and 0041; Hermann teaches battery pack enclosure (101) comprising lower housing member (305) and upper housing member (307), which receive the battery cells and incorporate thermal runaway vent structures, including enclosure failure ports integrated into the enclosure wall].
The disclosed battery pack enclosure corresponds to the claimed "outer casing which receives the battery pack housing, wherein the pipe first end is secured to the outer casing," because Hermann teaches an outer enclosure that receives the battery cells and integrates the thermal runaway vent structures into the enclosure wall. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the battery pack enclosure corresponds to the claimed outer casing, and the integrated vent structures correspond to securing the first end of the vent conduit to the outer casing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to secure the first end of the expandable vent conduit taught by Berardi to the outer battery enclosure of Lorenz as further illustrated by Hermann because Hermann teaches an outer battery enclosure incorporating dedicated thermal runaway vent structures for controlled discharge of hot gases. Securing the vent conduit to the outer enclosure provides a robust mounting arrangement that promotes controlled venting of thermal runaway gases while maintaining structural integrity of the battery enclosure and achieving predictable results.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz et al. (US 2022/0285784 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0131230 A1), in view Berardi (US 8,291,941 B1) further in view of Torres et al. (US 6,837,404 B2).
Re Claim 7, combination of Lorenz, Berardi, Song, and Whitworth teaches the invention set forth above. However, the combination of Lorenz, Berardi, Song, and Whitworth does not expressly teach "wherein the extension causing device comprises at least one weight that does not form part of the structural constituents of the pipe and that is attached to the pipe."
In an analogous art, Torres teaches a flexible tube liquid delivery system including a flexible tube and a weight attached to the distal end of the flexible tube, wherein the weight is secured to the tube by a bushing or tubular sleeve. Torres further teaches that the attached weight causes the flexible tube to move with gravity and seek the liquid regardless of the orientation of the container [see (Abstract); Figs. 1-6; col. 2, lines 50-65; col. 3, lines 1-58; Claim 1].
Torres teaches a weight attached to the end and a weight connected on the outside of said flaccid tube. The disclosed weight corresponds to the claimed "extension causing device comprises at least one weight that does not form part of the structural constituents of the pipe and that is attached to the pipe," because the weight is a separate component attached to the flexible tube rather than forming part of the tube itself, and its weight causes movement of the flexible tube during operation. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed extension-causing device encompasses an attached weight that causes deployment or movement of the flexible pipe by gravity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the attached weight taught by Torres into the expandable vent pipe of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi, Song, and Whitworth, because Torres teaches attaching a separate weight to a flexible tube to cause movement of the tube by gravity, thereby facilitating automatic deployment of the vent pipe toward its active position with predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz et al. (US 2022/0285784 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0131230 A1), in view Berardi (US 8,291,941 B1) further in view of Xu (US 2008/0066931 A1).
Re Claim 8, combination of Lorenz, Berardi, Song, Whitworth, and Torres teaches the invention set forth above. However, the combination of Lorenz, Berardi, Song, Whitworth, and Torres does not expressly teach "wherein the extension causing device comprises a pneumatic device which includes a gas release device and an actuator that is activated by the gas released by the gas release device."
In an analogous art, Xu teaches a gas activated actuator device including a gas releasing material that releases gas when activated, wherein the released gas builds pressure within a chamber and moves a piston forming part of an actuating member. Xu further teaches that upon contact with an activator fluid, gas is released from the gas releasing material, the gas pressure increases within the chamber, and the piston is moved to actuate the associated device [see (Abstract); paras. 0007-0016, 0025-0035, 0040-0042; Figs. 1-5]; Xu teaches that upon contact with the activator fluid, gas is released from the gas releasing material, which causes gas pressure to build up within the chamber sufficient to move the piston to cause the actuating member to actuate the downhole tool.
The disclosed gas releasing material corresponds to the claimed "gas release device," while the piston and actuating member correspond to the claimed "actuator that is activated by the gas released by the gas release device," because Xu teaches that the released gas itself provides the pneumatic force that moves the actuator. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Xu teaches a pneumatic device in which gas released by a gas release device activates an actuator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the pneumatic gas-actuated deployment mechanism taught by Xu into the battery venting system of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi, Song, Whitworth, and Torres, because Xu teaches using released gas to pneumatically actuate a movable member without relying solely on electrical actuation, thereby providing a reliable mechanism for automatically deploying the vent pipe upon detection of a battery failure with predictable results.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz et al. (US 2022/0285784 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0131230 A1), in view Berardi (US 8,291,941 B1) further in view of Matsch (US 2006/0266888 A1)
Re Claim 11, combination of Lorenz, Berardi, Song, Whitworth, Torres, and Xu teaches the invention set forth above, However, the combination of Lorenz, Berardi, Song, Whitworth, Torres, and Xu does not expressly teach "further comprising a lock for maintaining the pipe in the inactive state, wherein the lock can be unlocked upon detection of the failure, for allowing the pipe to be placed in the active state."
In an analogous art, Matsch teaches an inflatable evacuation slide stored in an undeployed condition within a compartment, wherein a cover panel is retained by a plurality of releasable pneumatic latches. Matsch further teaches that the releasable latches maintain the cover panel in its closed position until a pneumatic signal operates an actuator piston to release the latch mechanism, thereby allowing the cover panel to fall away and the evacuation slide to deploy [see (Abstract); paras. 0002-0004 and 0011-0016; Figs. 1-4; Claims 1 and 8; Matsch teaches that the cover panel is retained ... by means of a plurality of releasable latches, opening ... releases the releasable latches allowing the cover panel to fall away, and the emergency evacuation slide is inflated and extends to its deployed condition].
The disclosed releasable pneumatic latch corresponds to the claimed "lock for maintaining the pipe in the inactive state," because the latch mechanically retains the stored inflatable evacuation slide in its undeployed (inactive) state until a release signal is received. The disclosed release of the pneumatic latch corresponds to the claimed "the lock can be unlocked," because the actuator piston releases the latch mechanism to permit deployment of the inflatable evacuation slide. Although Matsch does not expressly teach unlocking "upon detection of the failure," Song teaches detecting a battery failure. It would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to use Song's battery failure detection signal as the activation signal for Matsch's releasable pneumatic latch, thereby unlocking the latch upon detection of the battery failure and allowing the vent pipe to move from the inactive state to the active state with predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the releasable pneumatic latch taught by Matsch into the battery venting system of Lorenz, as modified by Berardi, Song, Whitworth, Torres, and Xu, because Matsch teaches reliably maintaining a deployable structure in an inactive state until receipt of an activation signal, while Song teaches detecting a battery failure. Combining these teachings would have predictably provided a locking mechanism that maintains the vent pipe in its inactive state during normal operation and automatically releases the vent pipe upon detection of a battery failure for deployment to the active state.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836