DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736).
Regarding claim 20, Komatsu teaches a human-powered vehicle control system comprising: a human-powered vehicle component comprising first wireless communicator circuitry and first electronic controller circuitry (Paragraphs 0007-0010….transmission controller), the first wireless communicator circuitry being configured to wirelessly receive a pairing trigger signal (Paragraph 0081…pairing signal) generated in response to a user trigger input of a trigger input device, the first electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle (Fig. 1) component to enter a first pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal (Paragraphs 0081 and 0082…….As seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24. The first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the first wireless signal WS11 including the identification information ID11 and a shift command (e.g., upshift)); and
an additional human-powered vehicle component comprising second wireless communicator circuitry and second electronic controller circuitry, the second wireless communicator circuitry being configured to wirelessly receive the pairing trigger signal (Paragraphs 0090-0093, especially paragraph 0091…… The second function switch 26D is configured to receive a user input IP26 from the user. The second function switch 26D is electrically connected to the second operating controller 26B to set the second operating controller 26B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the second operating controller 26B wirelessly transmits a pairing signal including the identification information ID12 of the second operating device 26 in response to the user input IP26. The second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the second wireless signal WS12 including the identification information ID12 and a shift command (e.g., downshift)),
the second electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the additional human-powered vehicle component to enter a second pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal (Paragraphs 0090-0093, especially paragraph 0092….. the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14. The second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to decode the wireless signal to recognize information wirelessly transmitted from the bicycle electric device 14. The second wireless communicator 26B3 may decrypt the encrypted wireless signal using the cryptographic key).
Regarding claim 26, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle control system according to claim 20, wherein the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the first pairing mode, wireless communication between the human-powered vehicle component (See Fig. 4, operating device 24; Paragraph [0081]) and another human- powered vehicle component (Fig 4, other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14; (Paragraph [0082]) different from the trigger input device (Paragraphs 0081-0082).
Regarding claim 27, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle control system according to claim 26, wherein the another human-powered vehicle component is the additional human-powered vehicle component (Fig. 4, ….. paragraph [0082]…….other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 17-19, 23- 25, and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736) in view of Ohara et al. (US 2024/0025374).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Komatsu teaches a human-powered vehicle (See Fig. 1) component comprising: first wireless communicator circuitry configured to wirelessly receive a pairing trigger signal (pairing signal) generated in response to a user trigger input of a trigger input device, the trigger input device (Paragraph 0081…….As seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24. The first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the first wireless signal WS11 including the identification information ID11 and a shift command (e.g., upshift)); and
first electronic controller circuitry configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to enter a first pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal (Paragraph 0082 …….. the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14), but does not specifically teach a display.
However, in related art, Ohara teaches a display (Paragraph 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ohara’s teaching about a display with Komatsu’s invention in order to input information from the input equipment.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the trigger input device has a function other than a function relating to the human-powered vehicle (Paragraph 0081….. as seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24…Paragraph [0082]…. the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. Based on Fig. 4, trigger input device 26 has a function other than a function relating to the human-powered vehicle (Paragraph 0082…other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the trigger input device is provided separately from at least one of the first remote component and the first input device (Paragraph 0081….. as seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24…Paragraph [0082]…. the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. Based on Fig. 4, trigger input device 26 is provided separately from at least one of the first remote component 14 and the first input device 26).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the trigger input device includes at least one of the first remote component (Fig. 4, item 14 and the first input device 26; Paragraph 0081….. as seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24…Paragraph [0082]…. the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 7. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 7, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to receive a first pairing signal from the first remote component, and the first pairing signal is generated in response to the first pairing response signal (Paragraph 0081…….As seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24. The first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the first wireless signal WS11 including the identification information ID11 and a shift command (e.g., upshift). Paragraph [0082]…… the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 17. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle control system according to claim 17, further comprising: an additional human-powered vehicle component comprising: second wireless communicator circuitry configured to wirelessly receive the pairing trigger signal generated in response to the user trigger input (Paragraphs 0090-0093, especially paragraph 0091…… The second function switch 26D is configured to receive a user input IP26 from the user. The second function switch 26D is electrically connected to the second operating controller 26B to set the second operating controller 26B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the second operating controller 26B wirelessly transmits a pairing signal including the identification information ID12 of the second operating device 26 in response to the user input IP26. The second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the second wireless signal WS12 including the identification information ID12 and a shift command (e.g., downshift)); and
second electronic controller circuitry configured to cause the additional human-powered vehicle component to enter a second pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal (Paragraphs 0090-0093, especially paragraph 0092….. the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14. The second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to decode the wireless signal to recognize information wirelessly transmitted from the bicycle electric device 14. The second wireless communicator 26B3 may decrypt the encrypted wireless signal using the cryptographic key).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 18. In addition, Komatsu teaches human-powered vehicle control system according to claim 18, wherein the trigger input device is configured to transmit the pairing trigger signal in response to the user trigger input to the human-powered vehicle component and the additional human-powered vehicle component (Paragraphs 0090-0093, especially paragraph 0092….. the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14. The second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to decode the wireless signal to recognize information wirelessly transmitted from the bicycle electric device 14. The second wireless communicator 26B3 may decrypt the encrypted wireless signal using the cryptographic key).
Regarding claim 23, Komatsu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program for causing a trigger input device to execute a method comprising: receiving a user trigger input (Paragraph 0081…….As seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24. The first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the first wireless signal WS11 including the identification information ID11 and a shift command (e.g., upshift)); and
transmitting wirelessly, in response to the user trigger input, a pairing trigger signal to cause a human-powered vehicle component to enter a first pairing mode (Paragraph 0082 …….. the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14), but does not specifically teach a display.
However, in related art, Ohara teaches a display (Paragraph 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ohara’s teaching about display with Komatsu’s invention in order to input information from the input equipment.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed element in claim 23. In addition, Komatsu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 23, wherein the display configured to receive the user trigger input, and the receiving the user trigger input includes receiving the user trigger input (Paragraph 0081…….As seen in FIG. 4, the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user (inherently has display). The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24), but does not specifically teach display includes a touch panel.
However, in related art, Ohara teaches display includes a touch panel (Paragraph 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ohara’s teaching about display includes a touch panel with Komatsu’s invention in order to input information from the input equipment.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the first pairing mode, wireless communication between the human-powered vehicle component (See Fig. 4, operating device 24) and a first remote component (Fig 4, the bicycle electric device 14) different from the trigger input device.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Komatsu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 23, wherein in the first pairing mode, wireless communication is established between the human- powered vehicle component (See Fig. 4, operating device 24) and a first remote component (Fig 4, the bicycle electric device 14) different from the trigger input device.
Claims 2, 6, 7, 9, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736) in view of Ohara et al. (US 2024/0025374), and further in view of Peng et al. (US 2022/0030403).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara fail to teach the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, in the first pairing mode, a first pairing request signal generated in response to a first user input of a first input device, and the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the first pairing mode, wireless communication between the human-powered vehicle component and a first remote component that sent the first pairing request signal.
However, in related art, Peng teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, in the first pairing mode, a first pairing request signal generated in response to a first user input of a first input device, and the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the first pairing mode, wireless communication between the human-powered vehicle component and a first remote component that sent the first pairing request signal (Paragraph 0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Peng’s teaching about wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, in the first pairing mode, a first pairing request signal generated in response to a first user input of a first input device, and the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the first pairing mode, wireless communication between the human-powered vehicle component and a first remote component that sent the first pairing request signal with Komatsu’s and Ohara’s invention in order to establishing, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a BLE connection to the second terminal after verification on the pairing code succeeds.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara fail to teach the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the pairing trigger signal is distinguishable from a first pairing request signal.
However, in related art, Peng teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the pairing trigger signal is distinguishable from a first pairing request signal (Paragraph 0014….. detecting, by a second terminal, the first BLE pairing advertisement message, and when determining that the fixed advertisement address carried in the first BLE pairing advertisement message is not locally stored, sending a pairing request, and storing the received fixed advertisement address; receiving, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, the pairing request from the second terminal; displaying, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing window in response to the received pairing request; receiving, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing code entered by the user in the pairing window; sending, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing response to the second terminal, where the pairing response includes the pairing code (pairing trigger signal different from pairing request signal) entered by the user; and establishing, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a BLE connection to the second terminal after verification on the pairing code succeeds). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Peng’s teaching about wherein the pairing trigger signal is distinguishable from a first pairing request signal with Komatsu’s and Ohara’s invention in order to establishing, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a BLE connection to the second terminal after verification on the pairing code succeeds.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara fail to teach the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly transmit a first pairing response signal in response to a first pairing request signal.
However, in related art, Peng teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly transmit a first pairing response signal in response to a first pairing request signal (Paragraph 0014….. detecting, by a second terminal, the first BLE pairing advertisement message, and when determining that the fixed advertisement address carried in the first BLE pairing advertisement message is not locally stored, sending a pairing request, and storing the received fixed advertisement address; receiving, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, the pairing request from the second terminal; displaying, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing window in response to the received pairing request; receiving, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing code entered by the user in the pairing window; sending, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing response to the second terminal, where the pairing response includes the pairing code entered by the user; and establishing, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a BLE connection to the second terminal after verification on the pairing code succeeds). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Peng’s teaching about wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly transmit a first pairing response signal in response to a first pairing request signal with Komatsu’s and Ohara’s invention in order to establishing, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a BLE connection to the second terminal after verification on the pairing code succeeds.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Komatsu, Ohara, and Peng teach all the claimed elements in claim 7. In addition, Peng teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 7, further comprising: a user interface configured to receive a user operation, the first wireless communicator circuitry being configured to transmit the first pairing response signal in response to the user operation in a state where the first wireless communicator circuitry receives the first pairing request signal (Paragraph 0014….. detecting, by a second terminal, the first BLE pairing advertisement message, and when determining that the fixed advertisement address carried in the first BLE pairing advertisement message is not locally stored, sending a pairing request, and storing the received fixed advertisement address; receiving, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, the pairing request from the second terminal; displaying, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing window in response to the received pairing request; receiving, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing code entered by the user in the pairing window; sending, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a pairing response to the second terminal, where the pairing response includes the pairing code entered by the user; and establishing, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a BLE connection to the second terminal after verification on the pairing code succeeds).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara fail to teach the human-powered vehicle control system according to claim 18, wherein the second wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, in the second pairing mode, a second pairing request signal generated in response to a second user input of a second input device, and the second electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the second pairing mode, wireless communication between the additional human-powered vehicle component and a second remote component that sent the second pairing request signal.
However, in related art, Peng teaches the human-powered vehicle control system according to claim 18, wherein the second wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, in the second pairing mode, a second pairing request signal generated in response to a second user input of a second input device, and the second electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the second pairing mode, wireless communication between the additional human-powered vehicle component and a second remote component that sent the second pairing request signal (Paragraph 0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Peng’s teaching about wherein the second wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, in the second pairing mode, a second pairing request signal generated in response to a second user input of a second input device, and the second electronic controller circuitry is configured to establish, in the second pairing mode, wireless communication between the additional human-powered vehicle component and a second remote component that sent the second pairing request signal with Komatsu’s and Ohara’s invention in order to establishing, by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, a BLE connection to the second terminal after verification on the pairing code succeeds.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736) in view of Ohara et al. (US 2024/0025374), and further in view of Murayama et al. (US 2016/0366715).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara fail to teach the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 7, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to automatically transmit the first pairing response signal in response to the first pairing request signal.
However, in related art, Murayama teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 7, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to automatically transmit the first pairing response signal in response to the first pairing request signal (Paragraph [0106]…… the information transmission device 100 transmits the pairing information for starting bidirectional communication using a unidirectional transmission function. The portable terminal 200 transmits a pairing request signal in response to reception of the transmitted pairing information, and automatically performs a pairing between devices (between the information transmission device 100 and the portable terminal 200) based on the pairing request signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Murayama’s teaching about wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to automatically transmit the first pairing response signal in response to the first pairing request signal with Komatsu’s and Ohara’s invention in order to bidirectional communication between a portable terminal and the information transmission device.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736) in view of Ohara et al. (US 2024/0025374), and further in view of Robin et al. (US 2023/0007493).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara fail to teach the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the human-powered vehicle component has a wireless signal listening mode in which the first electronic controller circuitry detects the pairing trigger signal via the first wireless communicator circuitry, and the wireless signal listening mode is different from the first pairing mode.
However, Robin teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the human-powered vehicle component has a wireless signal listening mode in which the first electronic controller circuitry detects the pairing trigger signal via the first wireless communicator circuitry, and the wireless signal listening mode is different from the first pairing mode (Paragraph 0006….. The method 10 is implemented by an operator located in the vicinity of the sensor 202 and provided with a human-machine interface 204 capable of communicating with the concentrator 201 via a communication mode such as Wi-Fi, 3G or 4G. During a first step 11, the operator presses a button to place the sensor 202 in pairing mode. During a second step 12, the sensor 202 emits a pairing request, a light-emitting diode 2020 of the sensor 202 blinks to indicate that it is in pairing mode. During a third step 13, the concentrator 201, in a continuous listening mode, receives the pairing request, carries out the pairing and sends a pairing confirmation to the sensor 201. During a fourth step 14, the concentrator 201 sends a pairing confirmation notification to the operator via the human-machine interface 204. The operator optionally provides data concerning the sensor 202 to the concentrator 201. The concentrator 201 and the sensor 202 are then paired. During a fifth step 15, the concentrator 201 and the sensor 202 exchange data. So listening mode is different from the first pairing mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Robin’s teaching about wherein the human-powered vehicle component has a wireless signal listening mode in which the first electronic controller circuitry detects the pairing trigger signal via the first wireless communicator circuitry, and the wireless signal listening mode is different from the first pairing mode with Komatsu’s and Ohara’s invention in order to pairing and exchanging information between the sensor and the concentrator.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Komatsu, Ohara, and Robin teach all the claimed element in claim 11. In addition, Robin teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 11, wherein the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to enter the first pairing mode in a case where the first electronic controller circuitry detects the pairing trigger signal via the first wireless communicator circuitry in the wireless signal listening mode (Paragraph [0006]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736) in view of Ohara et al. (US 2024/0025374) in view of Robin et al. (US 2023/0007493), and further Le Roux (US 2022/0217796).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Komatsu, Ohara, and Robin teach all the claimed element in claim 11. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 11, wherein the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive, in the first pairing mode, a first pairing request signal generated in response to a first user input of a first input device (Paragraphs 0081 and 0082), but does not specifically teach the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to ignore or not detect the first pairing request signal in the wireless signal listening mode.
However, in related art, Le Roux teaches the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to ignore or not detect the first pairing request signal in the wireless signal listening mode (Paragraph 0124). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Le Roux’s teaching about the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to ignore or not detect the first pairing request signal in the wireless signal listening mode with Komatsu’s, Ohara’s, and Robin’s invention in order to not to disrupt other devices which might initiate a conventional WPS session nearby.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736) in view of Ohara et al. (US 2024/0025374) in view of Robin et al. (US 2023/0007493), and further Halioris et al. (US 2019/0034855).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Komatsu, Ohara, and Robin fail to teach the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 11, wherein the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to cause, in response to a trigger, the human-powered vehicle component to enter the wireless signal listening mode.
However, in related art, Halioris teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 11, wherein the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to cause, in response to a trigger, the human-powered vehicle component to enter the wireless signal listening mode (Paragraph 0095…… the container beacon 155 may enter into the listening mode upon receiving a trigger signal transmitted from a device (or other appropriate computing entity) affixed to a plane, local to the corresponding plane location, or remotely located). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Halioris’s teaching about the wherein the first electronic controller circuitry is configured to cause, in response to a trigger, the human-powered vehicle component to enter the wireless signal listening mode with Komatsu’s, Ohara’s, and Robin’s invention in order to determining the occurrence of one or more configurable triggers/events (Paragraph 0095).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Komatsu, Ohara, Robin, and Halioris teach all the claimed element in claim 14. In addition, Komatsu teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 14, wherein the trigger includes at least one of:
providing electrical power to the human-powered vehicle component (Paragraphs 0152, 0183, 0185);
connecting an electrical power source to the human-powered vehicle component;
connecting an electrical cable connected to an additional human-powered vehicle component;
operating an additional control device configured to control the additional human-powered vehicle component; and
providing an output from a sensor to the human-powered vehicle component.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 2018/0257736) in view of Ohara et al. (US 2024/0025374), and further in view of Heemstra (US 2019/0347913).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Komatsu and Ohara fail to teach the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the trigger input device includes at least one of a smartphone, a tablet computer, a personal computer, a wearable device, and a cycle computer, and the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive the pairing trigger signal generated in response to the user trigger input received by the at least one of the smartphone, the tablet computer, the personal computer, the wearable device, and the cycle computer.
However, in related art, Heemstra teaches the human-powered vehicle component according to claim 1, wherein the trigger input device includes at least one of a smartphone, a tablet computer, a personal computer, a wearable device, and a cycle computer, and the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive the pairing trigger signal generated in response to the user trigger input received by the at least one of the smartphone, the tablet computer, the personal computer, the wearable device, and the cycle computer (Paragraphs 0043, 0061, and 0102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Heemstra’s teaching about wherein the trigger input device includes at least one of a smartphone, a tablet computer, a personal computer, a wearable device, and a cycle computer, and the first wireless communicator circuitry is configured to wirelessly receive the pairing trigger signal generated in response to the user trigger input received by the at least one of the smartphone, the tablet computer, the personal computer, the wearable device, and the cycle computer with Komatsu’s and Ohara’s invention in order to pairing d exchanging information between the smartphone and bicycle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 20, Applicant argues that Komatsu fails to first wireless communicator circuitry and first electronic controller circuitry, the first wireless communicator circuitry being configured to wirelessly receive a pairing trigger signal generated in response to a user trigger input of a trigger input device, the first electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to enter a first pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal and an additional human-powered vehicle component comprising second wireless communicator circuitry and second electronic controller circuitry, the second wireless communicator circuitry being configured to wirelessly receive the pairing trigger signal, the second electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the additional human-powered vehicle component to enter a second pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Applicant’s admitted specification, paragraph [0127] states, “[0127] As seen in FIG. 7, the human-powered vehicle B includes a trigger input device TG. The trigger input device TG is configured to receive a user trigger input UT. The trigger input device TG is configured to generate a pairing trigger signal TS in response to the user trigger input UT. The trigger input device TG is configured to transmit the pairing trigger signal TS in response to the user trigger input UT to another component such as the human-powered vehicle component BC1 and the additional human-powered vehicle component BC2”.
Basically, above claim stated, “in response to a user trigger input of a trigger input device, a first wireless communicator circuitry being configured to wirelessly receive a pairing trigger signal generated”. Then claim further stated, “the first electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to enter a first pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal’. In paragraphs [0081], Komatsu teaches the first function switch 24D is configured to receive a user input IP24 from the user. The first function switch 24D is electrically connected to the first operating controller 24B to set the first operating controller 24B to a pairing signal transmission mode (same as a paring trigger signal generated) in which the first operating controller 24B wirelessly transmits a paring signal including the identification information ID11 of the first operating device 24 in response to the user input IP24. The first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the first wireless signal WS11 including the identification information ID11 and a shift command (e.g., upshift)). Paragraph [0082] teaches Further, the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14. The first wireless communicator 24B3 is configured to decode the wireless signal to recognize information wirelessly transmitted from the bicycle electric device 14 which covered the limitation “the first electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the human-powered vehicle component to enter a first pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal”. Further, claim 20 stated, “the second wireless communicator circuitry being configured to wirelessly receive the pairing trigger signal”. Paragraph [0091], Komatsu teaches the second function switch 26D is configured to receive a user input IP26 from the user. The second function switch 26D is electrically connected to the second operating controller 26B to set the second operating controller 26B to a pairing signal transmission mode in which the second operating controller 26B wirelessly transmits a pairing signal including the identification information ID12 of the second operating device 26 in response to the user input IP26. The second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to wirelessly transmit the second wireless signal WS12 including the identification information ID12 and a shift command (e.g., downshift)) which teach the above limitations fully. Moreover, claim 20 stated, “the second electronic controller circuitry being configured to cause the additional human-powered vehicle component to enter a second pairing mode in response to the pairing trigger signal”. Komatsu in paragraph [0092] teaches the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a wireless signal from other bicycle components such as the bicycle electric device 14. In this embodiment, the second wireless communicator 26B3 is configured to receive a pairing completion signal from the bicycle electric device 14. Regarding claims 1 and 17, claimed limitations are similar to claim 20 (see first part). Therefore, they are rejected in same reason.
Therefore, the examiner contends that the rejection to claims 1-28 is proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132