DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita US 2020/0039346 in view of Gold Petr et al WO 2022199727 (English translation provided and referred to).
Regarding claim 1, Morita discloses a shut-off device 1 for a front face assembly configured to be fitted in a vehicle (see FIG. 1), wherein the shut-off device is adapted to take up a first position in which the shut-off device allows the passage of an air flow through the front face assembly (FIG. 1-3) and a second position in which the shut-off device prevents the passage of the air flow through the front face assembly (FIG. 4-6), wherein the shut-off device extends mainly in a longitudinal direction L. See paragraphs [0020]-[0030].
Morita fails to explicitly disclose, but Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the shut-off device comprises: at least an opening 6; a light guide 8; and a light source 7, wherein the opening, light guide, and light source extend mainly in the longitudinal direction L, wherein the light guide is at least partially housed in the opening. See FIG. 1-4 and paragraphs [0023]-[0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the lighting as disclosed by Gold Petr et al in the system of Morita for safety reasons to provide extra light for a driver.
Regarding claim 2, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the light source comprises at least a printed circuit board and a series of light emitting diodes borne by the printed circuit board and aligned in the longitudinal direction L of the shut-off device. See paragraph [0030].
Regarding claim 3, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the shut-off device comprises at least a first shut-off portion and a second shut-off portion which border the opening and which extend in different parallel planes (see paragraph [0021]), and wherein the light guide comprises at least an entry face for the light rays emitted by the light source and an exit face for the light rays, wherein the exit face for the light rays extending extends between the first shut-off portion and the second shut-off portion. See FIG. 1-4 and paragraphs [0023]-[0036].
Regarding claim 4, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the exit face is curved, seen in cross section. See paragraphs [0027] and [0040].
Regarding claim 5, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the entry face for the light rays extends in a plane parallel to one or the other of the shut-off portions which border the opening. See paragraph [0021].
Regarding claim 6, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the light guide comprises: a retention base arranged between one of the shut-off portions which borders the opening L, and a cover H secured to the shut-off device. See paragraphs [0040]-[0045].
Regarding claim 7, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the shut-off device comprises two openings and two light guides arranged symmetrically about a median plane of the shut-off device, wherein each of the light guides being is at least partially housed in one of the openings. See FIG. 1-4 and paragraphs [0023]-[0036].
Regarding claim 8, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the two light guides bear against the same shut-off portion which borders two openings. See at least FIG. 1-3.
Regarding claim 9, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the front face assembly comprises: at least one frame 2 bearing the shut-off device, and comprising a light module borne by the frame and configured to emit light rays at least in the direction of the shut-off device. See FIG. 1-4 and paragraphs [0023]-[0036].
Regarding claim 10, Gold Petr et al discloses wherein the light module comprises at least a first strip light and a second strip light arranged on either side of the shut-off device. See paragraphs [0030]-[0040].
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747