DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/28/2023 are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 2/20/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1-5 are amended, Claim6 has been added, and Claims 1-6 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20180267304 A1) in view of Gohara (US 20200018998 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Sasaki discloses a head-up display device comprising:
an indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) configured to emit display light (Fig. 1-- element 20 emits light to form element 3; [0031]);
a mirror member (Fig. 1-- element 32, mirror; [0031]) rotatable about a rotation shaft (Fig. 1-- element 38, rotation shaft; [0031]) and configured to reflect the display light from the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) to project a display image (Fig. 1-- element 3, display light image; [0031]);
a controller (Fig. 1-- element 90, control unit; [0027]) configured to control the rotation ([0043]: element 90 controls the rotation of the motor that rotates the mirror) of the mirror member (Fig. 1-- element 32, mirror; [0031]); and
a temperature sensor (Fig. 1-- element 70, temperature sensor; [0027]) provided outside a path of the display light (Fig. 1—element 70 is located outside of the beam path) emitted from the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) and configured to output a signal corresponding to an ambient temperature ([0040]: element 70 detects an environmental temperature and outputs a temperature signal) around (Fig. 1—element 70 takes the ambient temperature of the same space occupied by element 20) the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]).
However, Sasaki does not explicitly disclose wherein an indicator dimmed by duty ratio control;
a controller configured to control the dimming of the indicator by the duty ratio control;
the controller is configured to:
determine a predicted temperature of the indicator, based on both of a duty ratio of the indicator and the signal from the temperature sensor, and
execute, as failure avoidance control, lowering control for lowering an upper limit of the duty ratio of the indicator or rotation control of the mirror member for reducing the amount of sunlight that enters the indicator through the mirror member when the predicted temperature of the indicator is greater than or equal to a threshold, and wherein
when the predicted temperature of the indicator is greater than or equal to the threshold, the controller is configured to lower the upper limit of the duty ratio of the indicator as the predicted temperature of the indicator increases ratio.
Sasaki and Gohara are related as both pertaining to the field of LCD devices. Gohara does disclose wherein an indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) dimmed by duty ratio control ([0035]: the LCD may be controlled by a PWM signal);
a controller (Fig. 1—element 92, microcomputer; [0036]) configured to control the dimming of the indicator by the duty ratio control ([0035]: the LCD may be controlled by a PWM signal and [0037]: element 92 can set the luminance of the backlight 26 to “low”);
the controller (Fig. 1—element 92, microcomputer; [0036]) is configured to:
determine a predicted temperature (Fig. 1—element 102, display quality-related temperature compensation characteristic storage circuit; [0036]) of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) based on ([0036]: A display quality-related temperature compensation characteristic storage circuit 102 stores characteristics for obtaining a predetermined display quality regardless of the temperature of the display device 20) both of duty ratio ([0006]: temperature compensation control is performed via altering the display luminance of device and [0037]: temperature compensation control may be transmittance correction control by adjusting the level of a driving signal of the monitor display device 20 corresponding to the display signal) of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) and the signal from the temperature sensor (Fig. 1—element 90, temperature detection circuit; [0037]), and
execute, as failure avoidance control, lowering control for lowering an upper limit of the duty ratio ([0037]: when the detected temperature exceeds the temperature determined to be in an overheated state, the luminance of the backlight 26 is set to “low”) of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) or rotation control of the mirror member for reducing the amount of sunlight that enters the indicator through the mirror member when the predicted temperature of the indicator is greater than or equal to a threshold, and wherein
when the predicted temperature of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) is greater than or equal to the threshold, the controller (Fig. 1—element 92, microcomputer; [0036]) is configured to lower the upper limit of the duty ratio of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) as the predicted temperature of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) increases ratio ([0037]: when the detected temperature exceeds the temperature determined to be in an overheated state, the luminance of the backlight 26 is set to “low”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the head-up display device of Sasaki with the temperature monitoring apparatus of Gohara in order to create a device which may obtain stable dimming performance by suppressing variation in transmittance of the liquid crystal optical element caused by the environmental temperature (Gohara, [0004]).
With respect to Claim 2, Sasaki and Gohara discloses the head-up display device according to claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) and wherein the controller (Fig. 1-- element 90, control unit; [0027]) is configured to rotate the mirror member (Fig. 1-- element 32, mirror; [0031]) to a first rotation angle ([0045]: element 92 controls the rotation of element 32 in response to the ambient temperature) at which the amount of sunlight that enters the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) through the mirror member (Fig. 1-- element 32, mirror; [0031]) is less than or equal to a predetermined amount of light ([0045]: element 92b stores programs in a memory to rotate the motor shaft of the mirror in response to the ambient temperature, including from heat from ambient light entering the window 14).
However, Sasaki does not further disclose wherein
when the predicted temperature of the is greater than or equal to a specified value exceeding the threshold, the controller is configured to lower the upper limit of the duty ratio of the indicator to zero to turn off the indicator, and rotate the mirror member to a first rotation angle at which the amount of sunlight that enters the indicator through the mirror member is less than or equal to a predetermined amount of light.
Sasaki and Gohara are related as both pertaining to the field of LCD devices. Gohara does disclose wherein
when the predicted temperature of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) is greater than or equal to a specified value exceeding the threshold, the controller (Fig. 1—element 92, microcomputer; [0036]) is configured to lower the upper limit of the duty ratio of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) to zero ([0036]: A monitor display control unit 104 performs on/off control and illuminance control (temperature control) of the monitor display device 20 and the temperature compensation control related to display quality, based on the control signal of the monitor display device 20 that is output from the microcomputer 92) to turn off the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the head-up display device of Sasaki with the temperature monitoring apparatus of Gohara in order to create a device which may obtain stable dimming performance by suppressing variation in transmittance of the liquid crystal optical element caused by the environmental temperature (Gohara, [0004]).
With respect to Claim 3, Sasaki and Gohara disclose the head-up display device according to claim 2, Sasaki further discloses the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]), the mirror member (Fig. 1-- element 32, mirror; [0031]) is rotated to the first rotation angle ([0045]: element 92 controls the rotation of element 32 in response to the ambient temperature), the controller (Fig. 1-- element 90, control unit; [0027]) is configured to execute restriction release control, which is lighting control for lighting ([0045]: element 92b stores programs in a memory to rotate the motor shaft of the mirror in response to the ambient temperature, including from heat from ambient light entering the window 14) the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) or return control for returning the mirror member (Fig. 1-- element 32, mirror; [0031]) to a second rotation angle before the first rotation angle is set.
However, Sasaki does not further disclose wherein when the predicted temperature of the indicator is less than the specified value from the state in which the predicted temperature of the indicator is greater than or equal to the specified value, and the indicator is turned off.
Sasaki and Gohara are related as both pertaining to the field of LCD devices. Gohara does disclose wherein when the predicted temperature of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) is less than the specified value from the state in which the predicted temperature of the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) is greater than or equal to the specified value, and the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) is turned off ([0037]: the backlight may be set to night mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the head-up display device of Sasaki with the temperature monitoring apparatus of Gohara in order to create a device which may obtain stable dimming performance by suppressing variation in transmittance of the liquid crystal optical element caused by the environmental temperature (Gohara, [0004]).
With respect to Claim 4, Sasaki and Gohara disclose the head-up display device according to claim 3, Sasaki further discloses the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]) and the controller (Fig. 1-- element 90, control unit; [0027]).
However, Sasaki does not explicitly disclose when the lighting control is executed, the controller in configured to increase the upper limit of the duty ratio of the indicator as the predicted temperature of the decreases.
Sasaki and Gohara are related as both pertaining to the field of LCD devices. Gohara does disclose wherein
when the lighting control is executed, the controller (Fig. 1—element 92, microcomputer; [0036]) is configured to increase the upper limit of the duty ratio ([0037]: the backlight is set to high when the temperature is low) of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) as the predicted temperature of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) decreases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the head-up display device of Sasaki with the temperature monitoring apparatus of Gohara in order to create a device which may obtain stable dimming performance by suppressing variation in transmittance of the liquid crystal optical element caused by the environmental temperature (Gohara, [0004]).
With respect to Claim 5, Sasaki and Gohara discloses the head-up display device according to claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses the controller (Fig. 1-- element 90, control unit; [0027]), the indicator (Fig. 1-- element 20, projector; [0029]), and the temperature sensor (Fig. 1-- element 70, temperature sensor; [0027]).
However, Sasaki does not further disclose wherein
the controller is configured to determine the predicted temperature of the indicator based on both of the ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor and a heat generation amount, the heat generation amount is based on both of the duty ratio and a lighting time of the indicator.
Sasaki and Gohara are related as both pertaining to the field of LCD devices. Gohara does disclose wherein
the controller (Fig. 1—element 92, microcomputer; [0036]) is configured to determine the predicted temperature of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]) based on both of the ambient temperature ([0026]: the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 30 becomes an environmental temperature around the monitor display device 20) detected by the temperature sensor (Fig. 1—element 90, temperature detection circuit; [0037]) and a heat generation amount ([0004]: heat generation from the LCD is detected), the heat generation amount ([0004]: heat generation from the LCD is detected) is based on both of the duty ratio ([0004]: the temperature of the liquid crystal panel is detected, and measures are taken to decrease the output of a backlight that is a heat source when the temperature exceeds a predetermined value) and a lighting time ([0037]: the luminance of the indicator is altered based on temperature data) of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the head-up display device of Sasaki with the temperature monitoring apparatus of Gohara in order to create a device which may obtain stable dimming performance by suppressing variation in transmittance of the liquid crystal optical element caused by the environmental temperature (Gohara, [0004]).
With respect to Claim 6, Sasaki and Gohara discloses the head-up display device according to claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses the controller (Fig. 1-- element 90, control unit; [0027]). However, Sasaki does not disclose
wherein the controller is configured to:
determine a temperature rise value based on the duty ratio of the indicator;
determine the predicted temperature by adding the temperature rise value to the ambient temperature.
Sasaki and Gohara are related as both pertaining to the field of LCD devices. Gohara does disclose wherein
the controller (Fig. 1—element 92, microcomputer; [0036]) is configured to: determine a temperature rise value ([0004]: the temperature of the LCD is detected based off the output of the LCD) based on the duty ratio ([0006]: temperature compensation control is performed via altering the display luminance of device and [0037]: temperature compensation control may be transmittance correction control by adjusting the level of a driving signal of the monitor display device 20 corresponding to the display signal) of the indicator (Fig. 3—element 26, backlight; [0037]);
determine the predicted temperature ([0036]: a temperature at which an overheated state is reached is determined) by adding the temperature rise value ([0004]: the temperature of the LCD is detected based off the output of the LCD) to the ambient temperature ([0026]: the temperature detected by the temperature sensor 30 becomes an environmental temperature around the monitor display device 20) ([0004]: the temperature of the LCD and the environment are detected and a temperature at which overheating occurs is determined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the head-up display device of Sasaki with the temperature monitoring apparatus of Gohara in order to create a device which may obtain stable dimming performance by suppressing variation in transmittance of the liquid crystal optical element caused by the environmental temperature (Gohara, [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 2, filed 2/20/2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claims 1-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of claims 1-5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Sasaki’s temperature sensor is outside the magnetic casing and therefore does not take temperature around the projector. Sasaki discloses in [0078] and [0093] that element 20 and element 70 may both be located outside of the magnetic casing 46. Therefore, element 70 is taking the ambient temperature of the same space that is occupied by element 20.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that both Sasaki and Gohara fail to disclose at least the feature "the controller is configured to determine a predicted temperature of the indicator based on both of a duty ratio of the indicator and the signal from the temperature sensor," as recited in claim 1.
Gohara discloses in [0004], “the temperature of the liquid crystal panel is detected, and measures are taken to decrease the output of a backlight that is a heat source when the temperature exceeds a predetermined value… the environmental temperature is detected, and the driving state of the liquid crystal panel driven by a display signal is adjusted according to the detected temperature (for example, adjust the level of the driving signal).“ Therefore, the duty ratio of the LCD panel and the signal from the temperature signal are both included in determining the threshold at which overheating occurs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872