Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 20230280468).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches:
A pattern projector comprising (#740 of Fig. 7, Depth camera assembly):
a laser source configured to emit a laser beam (#305 of Fig. 3, emitter array);
a metasurface disposed on a path of the laser beam (#320 of Fig. 3, beam shaping optics ) and configured to diffract the laser beam onto a projected surface [56], so as to form a pattern on the projected surface (#520 of Fig. 5B, projection pattern); and
a light sensor disposed beside the metasurface and configured to sense the pattern (#743 of Fig. 7, imaging device).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1, wherein the metasurface is configured to diffract the laser beam to form a plurality of pattern tiles arranged on the projected surface (#420 of Fig. 4B, tiled illumination), and adjacent pattern tiles overlap each other [63].
Regarding claim 4, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1, wherein the laser source comprising a plurality of emitting sections (#515A-D of Fig. 5B, [69]), the metasurface is configured to diffract laser sub-beams from the emitting sections to from a plurality of sets of pattern tiles ([61] states that the tiled illumination of 4B can be achieved using projector 300), and the sets of pattern tiles overlap each other [63].
Regarding claim 5, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 4, wherein the emitting sections are independently driven [61], so that the pattern on the projected surface comprises at least one set of pattern tiles (#420 of Fig. 4B Tiled Illumination).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1, wherein the pattern on the projected surface comprises a plurality of dots [73].
Regarding claim 8, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1, wherein the laser source, the metasurface, and the light sensor form a structured light sensor [91] or a time-of-flight sensor.
Regarding claim 9, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1, wherein the laser source is a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser or a photonic crystal surface-emitting laser [56].
Regarding claim 10, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1, the light sensor is a camera (#743 of Fig. 7, imaging device, [45]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Devlin et al. (US 20220385042).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1, wherein the metasurface is configured to diffract the laser beam to form a plurality of pattern tiles arranged on the projected surface (#420 of Fig. 4B, tiled illumination)
Zhu does not teach, but Devlin does teach:
a plurality of pattern tiles arranged on the projected surface without overlapping each other (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the projector of Zhu to use non overlapping patterns similar to Devlin with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the FOV of the system without requiring more lasers.
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1,
Zhu does not teach, but Devlin does teach:
wherein the metasurface comprises a plurality of nanopillars standing up on and distributed over a surface [69].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the metasurface of Zhu with pillars similar to Devlin with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the metasurface to manipulate the direction, amplitude, and phase of the emitted light. Zhu opens the door for a metasurface to be used, but does not specify how it is implemented. Devlin merely fills in the gaps.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu, as modified above, teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 12,
Zhu does not teach, but Devlin does teach:
wherein a height of the nanopillars is less than 800 nanometers [69].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the metasurface of Zhu with pillars similar to Devlin with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the metasurface to manipulate the direction, amplitude, and phase of the emitted light. Zhu opens the door for a metasurface to be used, but does not specify how it is implemented. Devlin merely fills in the gaps.
Regarding claim 14, Zhu, as modified above, teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 12,
Zhu does not teach, but Devlin does teach:
wherein a pitch of the nanopillars ranges from 300 nanometers to 800 nanometers (Fig. 9, [75]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the metasurface of Zhu with pillars similar to Devlin with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the metasurface to manipulate the direction, amplitude, and phase of the emitted light. Zhu opens the door for a metasurface to be used, but does not specify how it is implemented. Devlin merely fills in the gaps.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Zhou et al. (US 20180286063).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1,
Zhu does not teach, but Zhou does teach:
wherein the pattern on the projected surface comprises a plurality of lines (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute modify the depth camera assembly with a fringe pattern similar to Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the accuracy of the system for curved surfaces.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Della Pergola et al. (US 20240393551).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu teaches:
The pattern projector according to claim 1
Zhu does not teach, but Della does teach:
further comprising a lens disposed on a path of the laser beam and between the laser source and the metasurface (#422 of Fig. 4A, microlens array).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the emitter array of Zhu with a microlens array similar to Della with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of simplifying design by decoupling design of the emitter array from the design of the MOE (Della: [36]).
Conclusion
/A.D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645