DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on February 1, 2026. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 2, 3, 7, 8 and 15 are canceled. Claims 21-24 are newly added. Claims 1, 6, 11-14, 16, 17 and 19-24 are pending review in this action. The previous objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendment. The previous 35 U.S.C 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of the cancelation of claims 2, 3, 7, 8 and 15.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on February 1, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitations "the inner peripheral surface has a boundary position" (line 3) and “a radial dimension of the inner peripheral surface increases gradually from the boundary position to both ends of the inner peripheral surface” (lines 3-5).
Claim 14 depends on claim 1.
Claim 1 defines “an inner peripheral surface of the first position-limit portion” and “an inner peripheral surface of the convex portion”.
Thus, there is ambiguity as to the feature referred to in lines 3-5 of claim 14.
For the purposes of examination and in view of the specification, the limitation of line 3 is interpreted to have been intended to read: "the inner peripheral surface of the first position-limit portion has a boundary position".
Similarly, the limitation of lines 3-5 is interpreted to have been intended to read: “a radial dimension of the inner peripheral surface of the first position-limit portion increases gradually from the boundary position to both ends of the inner peripheral surface of the first position-limit portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0231345, hereinafter Hwangbo in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0271405, hereinafter Min, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0136664, hereinafter Jo and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2005/0048365, hereinafter Miyahisa.
Regarding claim 21, Hwangbo teaches a battery cell (1). The battery cell (1) comprises a can (20, “case”) having an open end. An electrode assembly (10) is accommodated in the can (20, “case”). A cap (30, “end cover”) covers the open end and is sealed and connected to the can (20, “case”) via a sealing gasket (90) (paragraph [0161] and figures 6 and 13).
A current collector (80) is accommodated in the can (20, “case”) and is located on the side of the electrode assembly (10) facing the cap (30, “end cover”) (paragraph [0161] and figure 13). The current collector (80) electrically connects the can (20, “case”) and the electrode assembly (10) (paragraph [0253] and figure 13).
The electrode assembly (10) comprises a positive electrode tab (11) and a negative electrode tab (12) (paragraphs [0164, 0166]). The positive electrode tab (11) and the negative electrode tab (12) are located at opposite ends of the electrode assembly (10) (paragraph [0167] and figure 6).
The can (20, “case”) is provided with an electrode terminal (40) at an end away from the cap (30, “end cover”) (paragraph [0161] and figure 6). The electrode terminal (40) is insulated from the can (20, “case”) via insulating gasket (50) and is electrically connected to the positive electrode tab (11) (paragraphs [0161, 0194] and figure 7).
The cap (30, “end cover”) and the can (20, “case”) are sealed and connected through sealing gasket (90) (paragraph [0189] and figure 13).
The cap (30, “end cover”) is not electrically connected to the can (20, “case”) (paragraph [0188]). The sealing gasket (90) is interposed between the cap (30, “end cover”) and the can (20, “case”) – therefore, it is understood to be configured to isolate and insulate the can (20, “case”) from the cap (30, “end cover”).
Hwangbo teaches a beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) protruding from an inner side surface of the can (20, “case”) (figure 13). The beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) is capable of limiting the cap (30, “end cover”) from moving in a direction facing the electrode assembly (10).
The current collector (80) comprises a portion directly connected to the electrode assembly (Figure 1 below). The portion directly connected to the electrode assembly is a “body part”.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Hwangbo's assembly.)]
The current collector (80) further comprises a connecting portion connected to the “body part”. The connecting portion is located on a side of the “body part” facing the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”). The connecting portion abuts an inner peripheral side of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) (Figure 1 above).
Hwangbo teaches that the current collector (80) is electrically connected to the can (20, “case”) (paragraph [0253] and figure 13).
Hwangbo fails to teach: 1) a welded portion between an inner peripheral surface of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) and the connecting portion; 2) that the “body part” abuts the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) against a side of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) facing the electrode assembly; and 3) that the extending portion is elastic.
Regarding 1), Min teaches an equivalent assembly having a battery can (51, “case”) with a beading portion (76, “first position-limit portion”). A current collector (78) includes a connecting portion welded to the beading portion (76, “first position-limit portion”) (paragraph [0191] and figure 7a).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a welded portion at the interface between the inner peripheral surface of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) and the connecting portion for the purpose of forming a stable and secure electrical connection.
In the combination of Hwangbo and Min, the welded portion would be capable of limiting the “body part” from leaving the case in a direction away from the electrode assembly in a thickness direction of the cap (30, “end cover”).
Regarding 2), Jo teaches an equivalent assembly having a current collector (30) including a body part (32) directly contacting an electrode assembly (10) and a first connecting portion (33) contacting a beaded portion (21) of a battery case (20) (paragraphs [0093, 0094] and figures 3 and 4). The body part (32) extends to cover the electrode assembly (10) such that the body part (32) is positioned between the beaded portion (21) and the electrode assembly (10) (figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend Hwangbo’s “body part” such that it extends to cover the electrode assembly and is positioned between the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) and the electrode assembly (10) for the purpose of increasing the surface of the current collector in contact with the electrode assembly and reducing resistance in the battery.
Regarding 3), Miyahisa teaches a current collector (27) positioned below an electrode assembly. The current collector (27) includes elastic sections (27a and 27b) whose ability to deform allows for variation in the height of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0075] and figure 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the extending portion has an elastic property for the purpose of allowing the current collector (80) to deform and thus allow for tolerance in the height of the electrode assembly (10) and the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”).
Regarding claim 22, Hwangbo teaches that the extending portion is in the shape of a leaf spring (figure 13). It is also connected to (“arranged on”) the “body part” and bent from the “body part”. Given that in the combination of Hwangbo and Miyahisa the extending portion is elastic it is a “leaf spring”.
Regarding claim 23, Hwangbo teaches a battery cell (1). The battery cell (1) comprises a can (20, “case”) having an open end. An electrode assembly (10) is accommodated in the can (20, “case”). A cap (30, “end cover”) covers the open end and is sealed and connected to the can (20, “case”) via a sealing gasket (90) (paragraph [0161] and figures 6 and 13).
A current collector (80) is accommodated in the can (20, “case”) and is located on the side of the electrode assembly (10) facing the cap (30, “end cover”) (paragraph [0161] and figure 13). The current collector (80) electrically connects the can (20, “case”) and the electrode assembly (10) (paragraph [0253] and figure 13).
The electrode assembly (10) comprises a positive electrode tab (11) and a negative electrode tab (12) (paragraphs [0164, 0166]). The positive electrode tab (11) and the negative electrode tab (12) are located at opposite ends of the electrode assembly (10) (paragraph [0167] and figure 6).
The can (20, “case”) is provided with an electrode terminal (40) at an end away from the cap (30, “end cover”) (paragraph [0161] and figure 6). The electrode terminal (40) is insulated from the can (20, “case”) via insulating gasket (50) and is electrically connected to the positive electrode tab (11) (paragraphs [0161, 0194] and figure 7).
The cap (30, “end cover”) and the can (20, “case”) are sealed and connected through sealing gasket (90) (paragraph [0189] and figure 13).
The cap (30, “end cover”) is not electrically connected to the can (20, “case”) (paragraph [0188]). The sealing gasket (90) is interposed between the cap (30, “end cover”) and the can (20, “case”) – therefore, it is understood to be configured to isolate and insulate the can (20, “case”) from the cap (30, “end cover”).
Hwangbo teaches a beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) protruding from an inner side surface of the can (20, “case”) (figure 13). The beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) is capable of limiting the cap (30, “end cover”) from moving in a direction facing the electrode assembly (10).
The current collector (80) comprises a portion directly connected to the electrode assembly (Figure 1 above). The portion directly connected to the electrode assembly is a “body part”.
The current collector (80) further comprises a plurality of connecting portions (83) connected to the “body part” (figure 15). The connecting portions are distributed on the “body part” at intervals in the circumferential direction of the “body part” (figure 15). The connecting portions are located on a side of the “body part” facing the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”). The connecting portions abut an inner peripheral side of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) (Figure 1 above).
Hwangbo teaches that the current collector (80) is electrically connected to the can (20, “case”) (paragraph [0253] and figure 13).
Hwangbo fails to teach: 1) a welded portion between an inner peripheral surface of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) and each of the connecting portions; 2) that the “body part” abuts the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) against a side of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) facing the electrode assembly; and 3) that the extending portions are elastic.
Regarding 1), Min teaches an equivalent assembly having a battery can (51, “case”) with a beading portion (76, “first position-limit portion”). A current collector (78) includes a connecting portion welded to the beading portion (76, “first position-limit portion”) (paragraph [0191] and figure 7a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a welded portion at the interface between the inner peripheral surface of the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) and each connecting portion for the purpose of forming a stable and secure electrical connection.
In the combination of Hwangbo and Min, the welded portion would be capable of limiting the “body part” from leaving the case in a direction away from the electrode assembly in a thickness direction of the cap (30, “end cover”).
Regarding 2), Jo teaches an equivalent assembly having a current collector (30) including a body part (32) directly contacting an electrode assembly (10) and a plurality of connecting portions (33) contacting a beaded portion (21) of a battery case (20) (paragraphs [0093, 0094] and figures 3 and 4). The body part (32) extends to cover the electrode assembly (10) such that the body part (32) is positioned between the beaded portion (21) and the electrode assembly (10) (figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend Hwangbo’s “body part” such that it extends to cover the electrode assembly and is positioned between the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”) and the electrode assembly (10) for the purpose of increasing the surface of the current collector in contact with the electrode assembly and reducing resistance in the battery.
Regarding 3), Miyahisa teaches a current collector (27) positioned below an electrode assembly. The current collector (27) includes elastic sections (27a and 27b) whose ability to deform allows for variation in the height of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0075] and figure 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the extending portions have an elastic property for the purpose of allowing the current collector (80) to deform and thus allow for tolerance in the height of the electrode assembly (10) and the beading portion (21, “first position-limit portion”).
Regarding claim 24, Hwangbo teaches that the extending portions are in the shape of a leaf spring (figure 13). They are also connected to (“arranged on”) the “body part” and bent from the “body part”. Given that in the combination of Hwangbo and Miyahisa the extending portions are elastic they are each a “leaf spring”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 6, 11-13, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are allowed.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented combination of the Hwangbo, Min, Jo and Miyahisa references was found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724