DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/398,215. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 2-6, 8-13, 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions or species.
The applicant’s amendment filed May 19, 2026 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
A restriction requirement was sent to the Applicant on March 20, 2026. The Applicant was required to elect among several groups of inventions. The Applicant responded to the restriction requirement on May 19, 2026 and elected Group I, claims 1-18, including linking claims. The applicant further elected the species of formula (1-2) and formula (2-1) and formula (3-1), with traverse. Since there are several species of formula (1-2) and (2-1), the species in claim 7 will be examined. In traversing the restriction requirement, the applicant argues that species selections are incorrect because claim 1 requires a first compound and a second compound. The examiner notes that the applicant was able to elect both species despite the incorrectness of the species listing.
Accordingly, claims 2-6, 8-13, 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions or species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because the term “X” in formula (1-2) is not defined. For the purpose of examination, “X” is construed to include oxygen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al (US 2024/0140926) in view of Kudo et al (US 2025/0374749).
HE et al teaches a compound
(page 12). The above compound satisfies formula (1-2) in claim 7. The compound is included in a mixture with at least one second compound (par. 57). The second compound includes a host material (par. 57).
The second compound includes the compound
(par. 58). The above compound satisfies the organic functional material as claimed in formula (3-1) in claim 15.
HE et al does not teach that the second compound is a compound of claimed formula (2).
However, Kudo et al teaches a compound including the structure
(p. 252). X1 includes oxygen (par. 259). The R substituents include aryl groups having 6-20 ring carbons (par. 261). The aryl substituent includes naphthyl as shown in numerous examples (for example, p. 32). The above compound with naphthyl substituents at R115 and R120 satisfies formula (2-1) in claim 7. The compound is a host material in an emitting layer (par. 10). The compound provides improved luminous efficiency (par. 9).
He et al teaches a mixture including a host material (par. 57). Kudo et al teach a host material which provides improved luminous efficiency (par. 9). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the host compound of Kudo et al with the mixture of He et al in order to obtain improved luminous efficiency.
Examiner’s Information