DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by AU2014101295 Nie, et al.
Regarding claim 1, Nie, et al. teaches a push rod mechanism 20, comprising:
a lower push rod 22 and an upper push rod 21 relatively telescopic (Figure 4) to each other; and
a telescopic control assembly 10 sleeved at a joint position (Figure 2) between the lower push rod 22 and the upper push rod 21;
wherein the lower push rod 22 defines a through hole 22a/c passing through a side wall (the wall of 22) of the lower push rod 22;
the telescopic control assembly 10 comprises a limiting member 12b at least partially
accommodated in the through hole (Figure 5), the limiting member 12b abuts against a
side wall (inside port 21a) of the upper push rod 21 and has a position-limiting state
(Figure 5) that restricts (via engagement of 12b into the ports 22a/c and 21a) stretch
and retraction of the upper push rod 21 relative to the lower push rod 22; and
wherein the telescopic control assembly 10 further comprises an operating member 13 capable of pressing against the limiting member 12b (via the spring force), and an operating handle 12c (wherein 12c is considered an operating handle since it’s tabbed end can be engaged by an operator and can be used as a lever to rotate 12 into
position, and wherein 12c provides a friction portion to engage the joint as shown in
Figure 5 as described at least in ¶0024 “ the other end of the operating lever 12
opposite to the locking member 12a is provided with a friction portion 12c, and when the
operating lever 12 is rotated to the locking position, the friction portion 12c is tightly
engaged with the outer wall 10a of the base 10”) configured to control movement of the
operating member 12;
the operating member and the limiting member are two mutually independent components (as they exist at different locations from each other, and are not part of the same part);
the operating handle 12c defines a first position (Figure 5) and a second position
(Figure 4) and is able to move between the first position and the second position;
in response to the operating handle 12c being in the first position, the operating member
12 presses against the limiting member 12b to keep the limiting member 12b in the
position-limiting state (Figure 5); and
in response to the operating handle 12c being in the second position (Figure 4), the operating member 13 gives way to the limiting member 12b to allow the limiting member 12b to exit the position-limiting state (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Nie, et al. teaches that the operating handle 12c rotates (via
pivoting shown in Figures 4 vs 5) between the first position and the second position
around a pivot shaft 11, the operating handle 12c is connected to the pivot shaft 11, and
the operating member 13 is connected to the pivot shaft 11.
Regarding claim 3, Nie, et al. teaches that both the upper push rod 21 and the
lower push rod 22 are hollow tubular members (Figure 3);
the through hole comprises a positioning hole 22a/c passing through the side wall
(wherein 22a/c is through the wall of 22) of the lower push rod 22, the upper push rod
21 is provided with a limiting hole 21a passing through the side wall (wherein 21a is
shown through the wall of 21) of the upper push rod 21 and coincident with the
positioning hole 22a/c (when aligned as shown in Figures 4-5);
the limiting member 12b comprises a first limiting member 12b, and the first limiting
member 12b is configured to enter the limiting hole 21a to limit stretch and retraction
of the upper pushing rod relative to the 12 lower pushing rod (as shown in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Nie, et al. teaches a lawnmower 200 (Figure 9),
comprising: a housing (the outside of 200, see Figure A below, annotated from Figure
9), a grass collection bag (below 100, see Figure A below) located behind the housing,
and a push rod mechanism 100 located on two sides (left and right) of the housing;
wherein the push rod mechanism is located above the grass collection bag (as shown in
Figure 9); wherein the push rod mechanism as described above.
Figure A: annotated Figure 9.
The telescopic control assembly comprises an elastic member (spring 13) and a limiting member 12b (as described above); the limiting member abuts against the above described side wall of the upper push rod under an elastic force (the spring force of 13) of the elastic member 13.
Regarding claim 12, Nie, et al. teaches that the operating handle 12c rotates
(via pivoting shown in Figures 4 vs 5) between the first position and the second position
around a pivot shaft 11, the operating handle 12c is connected to the pivot shaft 11, and
the operating member 13 is connected to the pivot shaft 11 (wherein the pivot shaft is held within the operating member 13).
Regarding claim 13, Nie, et al. teaches that both the upper push rod 21 and the
lower push rod 22 are hollow tubular members;
the through hole comprises a positioning hole 22a/c passing through the side wall of the
lower push rod 22, the upper push rod 21 is provided with a limiting hole 21a passing
through the side wall of the upper push rod 21 and coincident with the positioning hole
22a/c;
the limiting member 12b comprises a first limiting member 12b, and the first limiting
member 12b has a tendency to enter the limiting hole 21a to limit stretch and retraction
of the upper pushing rod relative to the lower pushing rod (as shown in Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nie, et al. in view of Baker US2014/0260157 and Burns, et al.
EP38618473.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Nie, et al. teaches the claim, as described above, but
does not teach a start switch and a safety switch connected to the start switch, wherein
the safety switch is arranged in the telescopic control assembly 10; in response to the
operating handle 12c being in the second position, the safety switch is triggered and the
start switch is restricted to start; in response to the operating handle 12c being in the
first position, the safety switch is not triggered and the start switch is allowed to start.
Baker teaches a lawnmower with a start/starter switch ¶0025 is notoriously well
known in the art to enable starting the lawnmower 10.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify
Nie, et al.’s lawnmower to include Baker’s start switch, since start switches are
notoriously well-known for an operator to selectively operate a lawnmower.
Burns, et al. teaches a lawnmower with a safety switch ¶0016 (the pin 150 not
contacting the position sensor 180), wherein the safety switch is arranged in the
telescopic control assembly 80; in response to the operating handle being in the second
position, the safety switch is triggered and the mower is restricted to start/operate ¶0016
(“The telescoping handle 45 can then move from the retracted position (FIGS. 1 and 6)
to the extended position (FIGS. 2 and 7) such that the pin 150 aligns with the lower
aperture 190 of the inner tube 70 and the position sensor 180. As the pin 150 still does
not contact the position sensor 180 when the locking mechanism 80 is in the unlocked
position (FIG. 7), the control processor 35 continues to disable operation of the
lawnmower 10”, wherein the claimed “triggered” is the same as the described disable
operation); in response to the operating handle being in the first position, the safety
switch is not triggered (¶0017 “The pin 150 also moves to actuate the position sensor
180 by engaging the plunger 195”) and the mower is allowed to start/operate ¶0022
(“the control assembly 375 detects the telescoping handle 45 is locked in the extended
position to enable operation of the lawnmower 10 once the bail 75 is actuated”. When
the control assembly does not detect the telescoping handle 45 is locked, the
lawnmower is not allowed to operate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify
Nie, et al.’s lawnmower such that Burns, et al.’s safety switch is connected to Baker’s
star switch, such that the lawnmower combination cannot start unless the telescoping
handle is secured, thus improving safety for the operator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim amendments, see remarks, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claims 10 and 20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the above changed reference interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to the objection to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHLEEN R HUTCHINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672 8/10/2026