DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: eye movement learning part; eye movement output part; computation part; head movement output part; information generating part; object segmentation model generation module; eyeblink identification module; sight-tracking model generation module; graph output module; in claim 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 and 18 recite “the method of claim 1”. Examiner notes that Claim 1 is a device claim. The scope of these claims is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) calculate an eye movement speed and a head movement speed, and calculate a gain. The abstract idea is part of the Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Process group(s) identified in the Ninth Edition, Revision 10.2019 (revised June 2020) of the Manual of Patent Examination Procedure (MPEP). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer; data-gathering steps do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity; there is no improvement to a computer or other technology; does not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition; does not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine. The additional elements are identified as follows: a processor. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional computer and data-gathering elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer and data-gathering functions that do not add meaningful limitations to practicing the abstract idea.
Those in the relevant field of art would recognize the above-identified additional elements as being well-understood, routine, and conventional means for data-gathering and computing, as demonstrated by Parker et al. Eye and Head Movement Recordings Using Smartphones for Telemedicine Applications: Measurements of Accuracy and Precision; Front. Neurol. 13:789581. doi: 10.3389/fneur.2022.789581. Thus, the claimed additional elements “are so well-known that they do not need to be described in detail in a patent application to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).” Berkheimer Memorandum, III. A. 3.
When considered in combination, the additional elements (generic computer functions and conventional equipment/steps) do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The Federal Circuit has held that combining additional elements for data-gathering with abstract ideas does not make a claim patent-eligible. Looking at the claim limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Regarding the dependent claims, the dependent claims are directed to either 1) steps that are also abstract or 2) additional data gathering that is well-understood, routine and previously known to the industry. Although the dependent claims are further limiting, they do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea. A narrow abstract idea is still an abstract idea and an abstract idea with additional well-known data-gathering equipment/functions is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 17-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 17-18 recite “computer-readable recording medium” which can be transitory in nature. Examiner suggests the use of “non-transitory” computer-readable recording medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 9, 12, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uchiumi et al. (JP 2016087093 A – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Uchiumi.
Regarding Claims 1, 9, 17, and 18, Uchiumi teaches: A device, related method, computer readable medium and computer program (paragraph 0070; figure 6) for generating information on vertigo, comprising:
an eye movement learning part configured to identify an eye portion in an eye video of a patient's eye, extract an eye image from each frame, recognize a pupil center in the eye image, calculate coordinates of the pupil center, and learn movement of the eye (paragraph 0053-0055; 0061; figure 5);
an eye movement output part configured to receive information learned by the eye movement learning part and output information on eye movement from a video of the patient (figure 2; figures 5; 9-11);
a head movement output part configured to output information on head movement from the video of the patient (paragraph 0058);
a computation part configured to receive the information on the eye movement and the information on the head movement from the eye movement output part and the head movement output part, calculate an eye movement speed and a head movement speed, and calculate a gain (paragraph 0064; 0067; 0099-0105); and
an information generating part configured to receive the calculated gain from the computation part and generate the information on vertigo (paragraph 0108-0110).
Regarding Claim 4 and 12, Uchiumi teaches: The device of claim 1, and method of claim 9 wherein the eye movement learning part further comprises a graph output module configured to output information on the pupil center on graph for three types of movements (horizontal, vertical, and rotational) (paragraph 0063).
Regarding Claim 8 and 16, Uchiumi teaches: The device of claim 1, and method of claim 9 wherein the information generating part generate information on whether a vestibular function is abnormal using the eye movement output from the eye movement output part and the gain (paragraph 0079-0083; 0108-0110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchiuma in view of Krueger (US 2022/0133212 A1).
Regarding Claim 2 and 10, Uchiuma teaches: The device of claim 1, and method of claim 9 but does not mention wherein the eye movement learning part comprises:
an object segmentation model generation module configured to segment the eye image extracted from each frame into sclera, iris, and pupil regions and generate an object segmentation model;
an eyeblink identification module configured to receive information on an intermediate layer in the generation of the object segmentation model, learn an anatomical structure of a vicinity of the eye, identify eye blinking, and generate an eyeblink classification model; and
a sight-tracking model generation module configured to receive the information on the intermediate layer in the generation of the object segmentation model and generate a model for a direction of sight.
Krueger teaches an object segmentation model generation module configured to segment the eye image extracted from each frame into sclera, iris, and pupil regions and generate an object segmentation model (abstract; 0108; 0110; 0181-0193);
an eyeblink identification module configured to receive information on an intermediate layer in the generation of the object segmentation model, learn an anatomical structure of a vicinity of the eye, identify eye blinking, and generate an eyeblink classification model (table 2; paragraph 0014; 0470-0475); and
a sight-tracking model generation module configured to receive the information on the intermediate layer in the generation of the object segmentation model and generate a model for a direction of sight (paragraph 0110; 0181-0193).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the device to include wherein the eye movement learning part comprises:
an object segmentation model generation module configured to segment the eye image extracted from each frame into sclera, iris, and pupil regions and generate an object segmentation model;
an eyeblink identification module configured to receive information on an intermediate layer in the generation of the object segmentation model, learn an anatomical structure of a vicinity of the eye, identify eye blinking, and generate an eyeblink classification model; and
a sight-tracking model generation module configured to receive the information on the intermediate layer in the generation of the object segmentation model and generate a model for a direction of sight for a more accurate eye tracking.
Conclusion
JAY SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JAY B SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791