DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 12/28/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucash, U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0132508 (“Lucash”), in view of Branton, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0143646 (“Branton”).
With regard to Claim 1, Lucash teaches a system for passing data between devices, the system comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 5), configured to:
transmit, to a first host device, a request for a web page to be loaded in a web browser ([0026] a client device sends a resource request to a first server for a web page);
receive, from the first host device, the web page in response to the request, wherein the web page includes code executable by the web browser and an inline content element having a source attribute ([0026]-[0027] describe that the client device receives the web page, along with instructions that execute at the client. [0028] describes that the instructions execute to create content item environments that can include an iFrame);
execute the code in an environment of the web browser ([0028] describes executing the code in the environment of the web browser);
modify, due to execution of the code, the source attribute of the inline content element to indicate a resource address appended with the user data, wherein the resource address indicates a resource ([0034] describes that the instructions populate the iFrame with an image hosted at a separate server, and append to the URL of the image demographic data that has been specified and supplied by the publisher as described at [0033]); and
transmit, as a result of modification of the source attribute and to a second host device, an additional request for the resource that passes the user data appended to the resource address to the resource ([0036] describes that the resource request for the image is made to the second server, which passes the data appended to the URL to that server).
Lucash, in view of Branton teaches wherein the request is responsive to a user input from a user that is authenticated to access the web page, one or more processors configured to transmit, due to execution of the code and to a service endpoint, a data request that includes a user identifier of the user, or one or more processors configured to receive, from the service endpoint in response to the data request, user data relating to the user.
Lucash teaches at [0033] that the publisher specifies and supplies data items such as demographic information about a user that are appended to a subsequent data request as shown at [0034]-[0036]. Branton teaches at [0034] that an embedded macro is used to determine user-specific information, which can be accessed at a remote program or data store. [0035] describes that the user-specific information is then used to request content by appending the user-specific data to a URL. [0020] describes that a network used can be a private network, thereby indicating access is limited to authenticated users, and [0027] describes a server providing authentication along with web services.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Lucash with Branton. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling the appending of user information to data requests to be used to fetch dynamic content tailored to the user, in addition to the data gathering function that is described in Lucash.
Claim 9 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected. Claims 15 and 19 together recite a medium storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Branton teaches that the one or more processors, to transmit the data request, are configured to: transmit the data request via an application programming interface available through the service endpoint. [0023] describes that tasks and data sharing using servers is achieved using defined APIs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Lucash with Branton. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling the appending of user information to data requests to be used to fetch dynamic content tailored to the user, in addition to the data gathering function that is described in Lucash.
With regard to Claim 3, Lucash teaches that the inline content element is a hypertext markup language (HTML) inline frame. [0034]-[0036] describe that the modified URL is that of an iFrame.
With regard to Claim 4, Lucash, in view of Branton teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the second host device and responsive to the additional request, dynamic content for the inline content element, wherein the dynamic content is dictated by the user data. Lucash teaches at [0034]-[0036] that a data request with user-specific data appended thereto is submitted to retrieve an image. Branton teaches at [0033] that the user-specific information is used to identify and transmit content for a particular requesting user, where [0035] describes that the information is appended to the URL by which the data is requested.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Lucash with Branton. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling the appending of user information to data requests to be used to fetch dynamic content tailored to the user, in addition to the data gathering function that is described in Lucash.
Claim 11 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 4, and is similarly rejected. Claim 20 recites a medium storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim 4, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 5, Lucash suggests that the one or more processors, to modify the source attribute of the inline content element, are configured to: insert the resource address appended with the user data into the source attribute of the inline content element in a document object model for the web page. [0026] describes that instructions can be in the form of scripts. [0044]-[0045] describe that the webpage content is rendered prior to the request for content from the data collection server. Therefore, the source for an inline content item such as an image can be embedded in the page DOM, as one of skill in the art understands that page rendering is carried out using a DOM, and scripts carry out operations on rendered pages through DOM.
Claim 17 recites a medium storing instructions which execute to implement the system of Claim 5, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 6, Lucash teaches that the web page is accessible at a first domain and the resource is accessible at a second domain. [0033] describes that the data collection server is a third party relative to the publisher of the website.
With regard to Claim 7, Branton teaches that the web page is part of an intranet website. [0020] describes that the communications network over which the dynamic content is requested and received is an Intranet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Lucash with Branton. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling the appending of user information to data requests to be used to fetch dynamic content tailored to the user, in addition to the data gathering function that is described in Lucash.
With regard to Claim 8, Lucash teaches that the resource address is non-user-specific and the user data is user-specific. [0033] describes that the demographic information is retrieved pertaining to the particular user, while [0034]-[0036] describe that the image URL is to a generic image stored at the data collection server and is not specific to any particular user.
Claim 13 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 8, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 10, Lucash teaches generating, due to the execution of the code, a dynamic address for the resource that includes the resource address appended with the user data. [0035] shows the URL with a dynamic parameter in which the user information is appended.
With regard to Claim 12, Lucash teaches that the document further includes non-user-specific content. [0026] describes that the content is a web page requested from a server, where no user-specific content or requests are used.
With regard to Claim 14, Lucash, in view of Branton teaches that the document is a web page and the resource is a serverless application. Lucash teaches at [0026] that the initial content document is a webpage. Branton teaches at [0027] that a server can reside as a node in a cloud computing infrastructure , and a module hosting a client can migrate from server to server seamlessly, thereby indicating that content serving is not dependent on provisioning a particular dedicated server therefor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Lucash with Branton. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling the appending of user information to data requests to be used to fetch dynamic content tailored to the user, in addition to the data gathering function that is described in Lucash.
With regard to Claim 16, Branton teaches that the resource is a serverless application. Branton teaches at [0027] that a server can reside as a node in a cloud computing infrastructure , and a module hosting a client can migrate from server to server seamlessly, thereby indicating that content serving is not dependent on provisioning a particular dedicated server therefor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Lucash with Branton. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling the appending of user information to data requests to be used to fetch dynamic content tailored to the user, in addition to the data gathering function that is described in Lucash.
With regard to Claim 18, Branton teaches that the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to: modify, due to the execution of the code, the document to include the user data in a placeholder element of the document. [0028] describes that specific portions of a document are designated for receiving and displaying dynamic content portions, into which the received content is inserted for display. Therefore, places are held in the document for the display of such content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Lucash with Branton. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling the appending of user information to data requests to be used to fetch dynamic content tailored to the user, in addition to the data gathering function that is described in Lucash.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
1/14/2026