DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 06/01/2026 and 12/28/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by CN112625062A to Liu et al. (Machine translation)
With respect to claim 1, Liu et al. teach an electrochemical device, comprising an electrolytic solution, wherein the electrolytic solution comprises an additive A and an additive B; wherein the additive A comprises an additive represented by Formula I, wherein R1 and R2 are a group represented by Formula a, wherein R3 is selected from fluorine; wherein the additive B comprises lithium difluorophosphate (Liu et al.: Pages 5-6; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 2, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the additive A comprises Compound 2 (Liu et al.: Pages 5-6; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 3, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein a mass percent of the additive A in the electrolytic solution is X ppm, a mass percent of the additive B in the electrolytic solution is Y % (0.5 wt %), wherein 1.00×103≤X/Y≤1.10×106 (fully encompassed the range) and 45≤X≤11000 (overlapping range is 0.01 to 1.1 wt % or 100 to 11000 ppm) (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 4, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein Y = 0.5 (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 5, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein a mass percent of the additive A in the electrolytic solution is X ppm, a mass percent of the additive B in the electrolytic solution is Y % (0.5 wt %), wherein 1.00×103≤X/Y≤1.10×106 (fully encompassed the range) and Y = 0.5 (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 6, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein 45≤X≤11000 (overlapping range is 0.01 to 1.1 wt % or 100 to 11000 ppm) (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 7, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the electrochemical device satisfies 0.01≤Y≤1.5 (Y = 0.5) (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 8, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the electrochemical device satisfies 0.01≤Y≤1.5 (Y = 0.5) (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 9, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the electrolytic solution further comprises an additive C, the additive C comprises vinylene carbonate (an ester compound) (Liu et al.: Pages 6).
Liu et al. teach the same additive C in the same electrolytic solution, therefor, lacking of any clear distinction between the claimed additive C and those disclosed by Liu et al., it would be inherent for the additive C of Liu et al. to have a reduction potential of the additive C at 25° C. falls within 0.8 V to 1.3 V.
With respect to claim 10, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the additive C comprises the ester compound; and the ester compound comprises vinylene carbonate (Liu et al.: Pages 6).
With respect to claim 11, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein a mass percent of the additive C in the electrolytic solution is Z %, and 0.01≤Z≤9 (the ratio of the formula 1 to the other additive could be 1:1, in other words, Z could be 0.01 to 10, which is fully encompassed the range) (Liu et al.: Pages 6).
With respect to claim 12, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein a mass percent of the additive C in the electrolytic solution is Z %, and 3≤Z≤8 (the ratio of the formula 1 to the other additive could be 1:1, in other words, Z could be 0.01 to 10, which is fully encompassed the range) (Liu et al.: Pages 6).
With respect to claim 13, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the electrochemical device further comprises a negative electrode plate, the negative electrode plate comprises a negative material layer, and the negative material layer comprises a negative active material; and the negative active material comprises artificial graphite (Liu et al.: Pages 8).
Liu et al. teach the same artificial graphite in the same electrolytic solution, therefor, lacking of any clear distinction between the claimed artificial graphite and those disclosed by Liu et al., it would be inherent for the artificial graphite of Liu et al. to have a peak intensity ratio D/G between a D band and a G band in a Raman spectrum of the artificial graphite is 0.25 to 0.95.
With respect to claim 15, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the electrolytic solution further comprises an additive C, the additive C comprises vinylene carbonate, a mass percent of the additive C in the electrolytic solution is Z %, and 0.1≤Z≤5 (the ratio of the formula 1 to the other additive could be 1:1, in other words, Z could be 0.01 to 10, which is fully encompassed the range) (Liu et al.: Pages 6).
With respect to claim 16, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the additive A comprises Compound 4 (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 17, Liu et al. teach an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises an electrochemical device, the electrochemical device, comprising an electrolytic solution, wherein the electrolytic solution comprises an additive A and an additive B; wherein the additive A comprises an additive represented by Formula I, wherein R1 and R2 are a group represented by Formula a, wherein R3 is selected from fluorine; wherein the additive B comprises lithium difluorophosphate (Liu et al.: Pages 5-6; Example 9; and Formula 1).
With respect to claim 18, Liu et al. teach the electronic device, wherein a mass percent of the additive A in the electrolytic solution is X ppm, a mass percent of the additive B in the electrolytic solution is Y %, and the electrochemical device satisfies: 1.00×103≤X/Y≤1.10×106 (fully encompassed the range) and 45≤X≤11000 (overlapping range is 0.01 to 1.1 wt % or 100 to 11000 ppm) (Liu et al.: Pages 6 and 9; Example 9; and Formula 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN112625062A to Liu et al. (Machine translation)
With respect to claim 14, Liu et al. teach the electrochemical device, wherein the electrochemical device further comprises a positive electrode plate, the positive electrode plate comprises a positive material layer, the positive material layer comprises a positive active material, and the positive active material comprises a ternary material; the positive active material further comprises aluminum (Liu et al.: Pages 8).
Liu et al. disclose the claimed invention except for based on a mass of the positive active material, a mass percent of aluminum is H%, and 0.01≤H≤1.00. However, H is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have based on a mass of the positive active material, a mass percent of aluminum is H%, and 0.01≤H≤1.00, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It has been held that discovering that general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller,105 USPQ 233. Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 6/13/2026