DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-17 under 35 USC 102 and 103 as anticipated by TUCKER or unpatentable over TUCKER in view of LEY have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of ROTTMERHUSEN and ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ROTTMERHUSEN - WO 2021104550.
Regarding claim 10, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses a rotor 1 for an electric motor comprising:
a rotor body having a plurality of radially extending magnet receiving slots opening to an outer circumference of the rotor 1 (Fig. 1); and
a plurality of magnets 2 received in the magnet receiving slots;
wherein radially outer surfaces of the rotor body between the slots and radially outer surfaces of the magnets 2 are aligned along a common outer circumference of the rotor 1 (see Fig. 1 para [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses the rotor according to claim 10, wherein each magnet receiving slot and each magnet include interlocking profiles that restrict radial movement of the magnet (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses the rotor according to claim 11, wherein the interlocking profiles include a first structure 9 of each magnet receiving slot and a second structure 6 of each magnet (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses the rotor according to claim 12, wherein the first structure 9 includes a recess or protrusion and the second structure 6 includes a corresponding protrusion or recess (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses the rotor according to claim 13, wherein the magnet receiving slots include first and second radially extending sidewall 9/17, and wherein the first structure 9 is defined by one of the sidewalls 9/17.
Regarding claim 15, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses the rotor according to claim 14, wherein the recess or protrusion of the first structure 9 has a rectangular cross-section (see annotated Fig. 1, below; at least one cross-section of structure 9, in the plane of the laminated sheet, is substantially rectangular as broadly claimed. ROTTMERHUSEN further discloses the rotor is made of sheet metal lamellae which have a rectangular cross-section in a plane intersecting a central axis of the rotor, as partly seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses the rotor according to claim 15, wherein the second structure 6 includes an overmolded material, and wherein the overmolded material defines the second structure 6 (para [0037]).
Regarding claim 17, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses the rotor according to claim 16 wherein the overmolded material is includes a plastic material (see para [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER - US 20210075278 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, ROTTMERHUSEN discloses an electric motor (para [0022]) comprising:
a rotor 1
wherein the rotor 1 includes a rotor body having a plurality of radially extending magnet receiving slots opening to an outer circumference of the rotor body (Fig. 1), and a plurality of magnets 2 received in the magnet receiving slots; and
wherein radially outer surfaces of the rotor body between the slots and radially outer surfaces of the magnets 2 are aligned along a common outer circumference of the rotor 1 (see Fig. 1 para [0011]).
However, ROTTMERHUSEN does not disclose a stator or the rotor supported for rotation within the stator.
TUCKER teaches an electric motor with a rotor supported for rotation within a stator (para [0027]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of ROTTMERHUSEN with the rotor supported for rotation within a stator similar to TUCKER.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to enable rotation of the rotor, as taught by TUCKER (para [0056]) and in a manner that is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 1, wherein ROTTMERHUSEN teaches each magnet receiving slot and each magnet have interlocking profiles that restrict radial movement of the magnet (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 2, wherein ROTTMERHUSEN teaches the interlocking profiles include a first structure 9 of each magnet receiving slot and a second structure 6 of each magnet (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 3, wherein ROTTMERHUSEN teaches the first structure 9 includes a recess or protrusion and the second structure 6 includes a corresponding protrusion or recess (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 4, wherein ROTTMERHUSEN teaches the magnet receiving slots include first and second radially extending sidewalls 9/17, and wherein the first structure 9 is defined by one of the sidewalls 9/17 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 5, wherein ROTTMERHUSEN teaches the recess or protrusion of the first structure 9 has a rectangular cross-section (see annotated Fig. 1, above; at least one cross-section of structure 9, in the plane of the laminated sheet, is substantially rectangular as broadly claimed. ROTTMERHUSEN further teaches the rotor is made of sheet metal lamellae which have a rectangular cross-section in a plane intersecting a central axis of the rotor, as partly seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 6.
ROTTMERHUSEN teaches the second structure 6 includes an overmolded material, and wherein the overmolded material defines the second structure 6 (para [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 7, wherein ROTTMERHUSEN teaches the overmolded material includes a plastic material (see para [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, ROTTMERHUSEN in view of TUCKER teaches the electric motor according to claim 1, ROTTMERHUSEN teaches further comprising an air gap between outer circumference of the rotor 1 and the stator, wherein the magnets 2 are in contact with the air gap (para [0018]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment, filed 03/27/2026, necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834