DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims foreign priority to application CN202311707871.2 filed 12/12/2023 and CN202211715857.2 filed 12/29/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The reply filed 01/28/2026 has been entered. No amendments were made. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 2-3 of the Remarks filed 01/28/2026 that Mehi fails to teach:
Determining, for one emission, a delay correspondence matching a deflection angle; and
Triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that scanning line beams emitted by array elements comprised in the transducer are focused on one focus in one emission,
wherein scanning line beams with the same deflection angle are emitted based on the same delay correspondence, and the delay correspondence represents a correspondence between an array element number and an emission delay time.
Applicant further argues Mehi does not disclose the technical feature “delay correspondence” of the present application nor other technical features related thereto, for the following reasons: …”the delay profiles are irrelevant to the deflection angle, and Mehi also fails to disclose the sharing of the delay correspondence, so Mehi needs to recalculate an emission delay time of each array element based on the focus positions for different focus point”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The delay profiles disclosed by Mehi are absolutely relevant to and correspond with deflection angles. Mehi discloses in ¶ [0147], “The delay profile can also steer the beam so that it is not perpendicular to the plane of the array 1601”. The act of steering the beam means applying a deflection angle to the beam. Mehi therefore discloses wherein the delay profile corresponds to deflection angles, thus teaching “a delay correspondence matching a deflection angle”. In addition, ¶ [0147] further discloses “In one exemplary embodiment, each separate transmit waveform has a delay associated with it. The distribution of the delays for each element’s waveform is called a delay profile”. Mehi therefore teaches “determining, for one emission, a delay correspondence matching a deflection angle”
¶ [0147] of Mehi further discloses “The delay profile is calculated in a way to cause the desired focusing of the transmit acoustic beam to the desired focal point”. Mehi therefore further teaches “Triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that scanning line beams emitted by array elements comprised in the transducer are focused on one focus in one emission”.
Regarding “wherein scanning line beams with the same deflection angle are emitted based on the same delay correspondence”, Mehi teaches line based image reconstruction mode (“EKV mode”) in which image information is acquired over several cardiac cycles and recombined ([0099]). Mehi teaches during EKV mode, the ultrasound line position remains static while ultrasound lines are acquired over time and the emissions are repeated ([0282-0284]). Each repeated emission at the same scan line direction necessarily uses the same transmit delay profile, because the deflection angle has not changed (the ultrasound line position remains static).
In addition, Mehi teaches wherein the delay profile for the entire aperture (each array element) is stored in the TX Aperture Memory 1838 and teaches multiple delay profiles are required for different imaging modes ([0189]). Mehi further teaches accessing the multiple delay profiles ([0190]). Mehi therefore implies that the delay profiles and delay values are retrieved from memory for use; the system does not derive or calculate delay values each time it needs to emit a beam. In this design in which delay profiles and delay values are stored, a given scan line corresponds to a given deflection angle and thus each time a scan line is needed to be fired, the system retrieves and applies the identical stored delay profile or delay value corresponding to the scan line or deflection angle. The stored delay profile does not change between firings of the same scan line because the geometry (deflection angle) does not change and thus the delay correspondence (delay profile) is the same. Mehi therefore teaches sharing of the delay correspondence (delay profile) and Mehi does not need to recalculate an emission delay time of each element based on focus positions for different focus points as alleged by the Applicant, since Mehi teaches wherein the delay profiles are stored in memory and retrieved for use.
Regarding “the delay correspondence represents a correspondence between an array element number and an emission delay time”, figure 26A shows wherein each different array element (i.e. a center element and an outer element) receives individually programmed delay times. Moreover, Mehi teaches in ¶ [0188] and Fig. 18 that each array element is connected to a channel in a TX pulse generator 1813, and the transmit channels are configured to produce desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile for each line. Mehi further discloses in ¶ [0187] “The ray number value identifies the origin of the ultrasound scan line with respect to the physical array. Based on the ray number, a delay value is assigned to each transmit channel in the active transmit aperture”, Mehi therefore teaches wherein the delay profile represents a correspondence between an array element number and an emission delay time.
Applicant further argues on page 3 of Remarks, “Therefore, the correlation dimensions and functions of the delay profile disclosed in Mehi are different from those of the present application, and Mehi does not disclose the ‘delay correspondence’ nor other technical features related thereto”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the reasons stated above. Mehi’s disclosure of delay profiles is equivalent to the “delay correspondence” as recited in the claims as the delay profiles taught by Mehi are a set of delay values or delay times associated with each array element for each different deflection angle.
Applicant argues on page 3 of Remarks that “Mehi is unable to achieve the technical effects of the present application: for the same deflection angle, the number of stored delay correspondences is reduced by reusing the delay correspondence, thereby saving storage space; in addition, for different focus positions, it is unnecessary to recalculate transmission delay times of each array element based on the focus position, which can improve transmission efficiency”. Applicant further argues on page 4 that “there is no need to re-calculate an emission delay time of each array element based on focus positions, which can improve the emission efficiency”. Applicant also argues on page 5 “The additional features of claim 2 can have an effect of enhancing the accuracy and efficiency of calculating the emission delay time. None of the cited documents disclose the delay correspondence matching a deflection angle, and thus it is impossible to teach or suggest a solution of enhancing the accuracy and efficiency of calculating the emission delay time by means of such a delay correspondence matching a deflection angle. A person skilled in the art would therefore not derive any relevant inspiration from the cited documents”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mehi teaches wherein the delay profiles or delay correspondences are stored in memory (¶ [0189]) and wherein multiple delay profiles may be accessed (¶ [0190]), therefore teaching wherein Mehi does not need to recalculate delay times for each element as argued by the Applicant and wherein Mehi reuses the delay profiles. In addition, Mehi discloses in ¶ [0147] “The delay profile can also steer the beam so that it is not perpendicular to the plane of the array 1601” and in ¶ [0321] “For desired steering and focus control, the maximum delay times, when measured in wavelengths, can be at least 0.7 times the largest transmit aperture”. Mehi teaches that collectively, the delays are referred to as a transmit delay profile ([0184]). Because Mehi teaches wherein the delay times and delay profile are associated with steering (i.e. beam deflection), Mehi therefore teaches wherein the delay profile or “delay correspondence” match with a deflection angle.
Applicant argues on Page 4 of Remarks, “None of the cited documents teaches or suggests a solution of sharing the same delay correspondence for the same deflection angle, so as to reduce the number of stored delay correspondences, save storage space and improve transmission efficiency. A person skilled in the art cannot obtain relevant inspiration from the cited documents”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. An ordinarily skilled artisan in the field of ultrasound would recognize that the delay timings assigned to each array element is determined by the geometry of the desired beam shape and thus the deflection angle. The time delay for a particular deflection angle for beam steering is calculated using this formula:
T
n
=
n
*
d
*
s
i
n
θ
c
where T is time, n is element index starting at 0 for the center element, d is element pitch, c is the speed of sound, and θ is the desired steering angle relative to the perpendicular axis of the transducer. As shown by the formula above, an array element at a particular position to emit a beam at a desired deflection angle, only a single delay time is capable of producing the beam at the desired deflection angle. Therefore for a particular array element to transmit a beam at a desired deflection angle, the same time delay or same delay profile must be applied to the array elements each time it is desired to transmit at the desired deflection angle; it is necessary for the same delay profile or correspondence to be shared for the same deflection angle as only a single delay value can produce the said deflection angle at a certain array element. Mehi teaches wherein the delay profiles or delay correspondences are stored for later access (¶ [0189-0190]) and wherein certain imaging modes such as EKV require repeated transmissions at the same line position, i.e. deflection angle (¶ [0281-0284]). Mehi therefore teaches sharing a same delay correspondence for a same deflection angle.
Applicant further argues, on page 5 of Remarks, that “there is no motivation for the person skilled in the art to combine Mehi with those of Yamamoto, Fidel, or Jensen for the following reasons. First, Mehi relates to small animal ultrasound imaging, while Yamamoto is directed to industrial non-destructive testing—these two technologies belong to distinctly disparate technical fields, with no inherent relevant to prompt a combination. Second, Mehi employs a transducer operating at 15-55 MHz to achieve its invention objective, whereas Fidel utilizes a 6.5 MHZ probe that is structurally incapable of supporting high-frequency signal transmission and reception required by Mehi, making it impossible for Fidel to realize Mehi’s technical effects. Third, Jensen’s core technical solution relies on multi-probe/multi-array concurrent scanning via switch-based channel switching, but Mehi’s high-frequency imaging involves 3-5 times the data volume of low-frequency imaging and requires a frame rate of ≥ 200 fps; Jensen’s channel switching latency would directly fail to meet Mehi’s strict real-time performance requirements, leading to image stuttering and trajectory tracking lag. In conclusion, any attempt to combine the teaching of Mehi with Yamamoto, Fidel, or Jensen would be based on improper hindsight, which places Applicants in an unfair position”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First regarding Yamamoto, what the ultrasound is used for is irrelevant as Yamamoto is being relied upon for teaching the physics of how time delays or delay correspondences are calculated for ultrasound; ultrasound applied to imaging and ultrasound applied to non-destructive testing both obey the same physics.
Second regarding Fidel, Mehi’s objective is using operating frequencies to produce high resolution images for small animals or small tissue structures in humans (Abstract, [0002], [0082-0083]), and nowhere does Fidel disclose wherein a 6.5 MHz is required for implementing Fidel’s arrangement of transducer arrays. Moreover, Mehi is modified by the teachings of Fidel and not the other way around so there is no reason for “Fidel to realize Mehi’s technical effects” as argued by the Applicant. There is also no support or teaching suggesting that modifying Mehi to have transducer arrays arranged similar to that of Fidel would cause the invention of Mehi to be inoperable for its intended use.
Third regarding Jensen, applicant argues Mehi’s high-frequency imaging involves 3-5 times the data volume of low-frequency imaging and requires a frame rate of ≥ 200 fps. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mehi teaches wherein 20 fps is sufficient ([0088]) and teaches wherein data acquisition rates can be less than 30 fps ([0163]). Moreover, Mehi teaches wherein frame rates above 30 fps have little benefit in adding perceived motion information and thus ultrasound image information can be processed at a rate of 30 fps or lower ([0262]). Nothing disclosed in Jensen suggests Jensen’s switching mechanism would cause the invention of Mehi to be inoperable or lead to image stuttering or trajectory tracking lag as argued by the Applicant. Moreover, Jensen does not describe or disclose any incompatibility with any operation frequency. Therefore, in conclusion, no improper hindsight has been used for combining the teachings of Mehi with Yamamoto, Fidel, nor Jensen as argued by the Applicant.
Applicant argues on page 5 of Remarks “claim 1 is non-obvious over the cited documents in view of common sense, thus overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the previously filed Non-Final Rejection dated 10/29/2025, claim 1 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Obviousness is not a factor for rejections under 102. Therefore, the 102 rejection is not overcome.
Applicant argues on page 5 with respect to claim 5, that “None of the cited documents teach or suggest a solution that triggers each transducer array to emit scanning line beams with a deflection angle according to such a delay correspondence, such that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays having the same imaging section type have overlap. A person skilled in the art cannot obtain relevant inspiration from the cited documents”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mehi, as explained above, triggers each individual transducer array element to emit scanning line beams with a deflection angle according to a delay correspondence (delay profile). Ozgun, as cited previously for teaching claim 5, teaches overlapping image sections (Figs. 3B-3C, [0037], [0039]). As Ozgun teaches using beam steering to produce the overlap (Figs. 3B-3C, [0039]), Ozgun therefore teaches applying deflection angles and corresponding time delays (wherein time delays are required for beam steering and applying a deflection angle). Mehi modified by the teachings of Ozgun to use two transducer arrays and produce an overlapping imaging section would predictably result in the use of a corresponding delay profile or delay correspondence for producing such beam geometry.
Applicant further argues on page 6 with respect to claim 6 that “None of the cited documents disclose such a delay correspondence at all, and thus it is all the more impossible for the cited documents to provide any teaching or guidance on how to establish the delay correspondence”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Beam steering and applying appropriate time delays for a desired deflection angle is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art of ultrasound. Applicant seems to believe to that they have invented beam steering and the application of time delays to achieve such, but this is false in the view of the enormous amount of prior art, such as several of those above like Mehi and Yamamoto, which teach such. As explained earlier above, Mehi teaches wherein the delay profile disclosed by Mehi comprises a “delay correspondence” as defined by the claims, and Yamamoto teaches the physics of calculating the delay for a linear transducer array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mehi (US20070239001). Mehi is cited in the IDS filed 06/13/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Mehi teaches a control method for a medical probe, wherein the control method is applied to an ultrasound system (1600), the ultrasound system (1600) comprises a transducer (1601) (Fig. 14, [0005], [0084-0085], [0091], wherein the scanhead including an arrayed transducer comprises a medical probe, [0140-0141]), and the control method comprises:
determining, for one emission, a delay correspondence matching a deflection angle ([0147], “In one exemplary embodiment, each separate transmit waveform has a delay associated with it. The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile. The delay profile is calculated in a way to cause the desired focusing of the transmit acoustic beam to the desired focal point. In certain embodiments, the transmit acoustic beam axis is perpendicular to the plane of the array 1601…The delay profile can also steer the beam so that it is not perpendicular”; a delay profile or delay correspondence is calculated/determined for each deflection angle including a deflection angle of 0 [i.e. perpendicular] and ≠0 [i.e. not perpendicular]); and
triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that scanning line beams emitted by array elements comprised in the transducer are focused on one focus in one emission ([0090], [0098], ultrasound is transmitted into a subject, [0143], [0146], [0147], “The delay profile is calculated in a way to cause the desired focusing of the transmit acoustic beam to the desired focal point”, wherein causing the beam to be focused toward a desired focal point implies deflecting the beam at a certain deflection angle to reach the focal point, [0189], “Multiple delay profiles are required for B-Mode imaging in which multiple focal zones are used”),
wherein scanning line beams with the same deflection angle are emitted based on the same delay correspondence (implicit feature of a delay profile; scanning line beams which have the same deflection angle would have the same time delay profile because the deflection angle is determined by the time delay profile, i.e. symmetrically opposed transducer elements with scanning line beams focused on a focal point have the same deflection angle due to symmetry and thus have the same time delay), and
the delay correspondence represents a correspondence between an array element number and an emission delay time ([0147], “The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile”).
Regarding claim 2, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Mehi further teaches wherein the transducer comprises a transducer array, the transducer array comprises a scanning unit (Abstract, [0085], “An arrayed transducer used in the system can be incorporated into a scanhead”), and the triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence comprises:
determining, based on a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit and the delay correspondence, an emission delay time of an array element comprised in the scanning unit ([0147], “The delay profile can also steer the beam”, wherein a delay profile for steering comprises the delay correspondence, [0187] “The TX controller 1814 uses a parameter called, for example, an ultrasound line number (also known as a ray number), to select the active transmit aperture through the appropriate configuration of the transmit multiplexer. The ray number value identifies the origin of the ultrasound scan line with respect to the physical array. Based on the ray number, a delay value is assigned to each transmit channel in the active transmit aperture”, wherein the ray number identifying the position of the ultrasound scan line [i.e. transducer element] with respect to the physical array comprises a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit);
triggering the array element to emit the scanning line beams with the emission delay time ([0090], [0098], ultrasound is focused and transmitted into a subject, [0146-0147], [0151], “The beamformer control 1604 also creates and sends to the transmit beamformer 1605 the transmit delay profile”, [0183-0184], “Optionally the transmit waveform can be a high voltage signal used by the array transducer to convert electrical energy to ultrasound energy”, [0207], “The transmit output stage receives a transmit waveform from the transmit pulse generator 1813 and in turn combines the transmit pulse information with transmit high voltage to create a high voltage waveform at an element which is part of the active transmit aperture”, wherein transmitting the delay profile and transmit waveform to the transducer element to convert electrical energy into ultrasound comprises triggering an array element to emit a scanning line beam [i.e. ultrasound] with the emission delay time [delay profile]).
Regarding claim 3, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 2.
Mehi further teaches wherein the determining, based on a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit and the delay correspondence, an emission delay time of an array element comprised in the scanning unit comprises:
determining, based on the boundary position of the effective emission aperture, an index between each array element comprised in the scanning unit and each array element number represented by the delay correspondence ([0147], “The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile”; each element in the delay profile is assigned a delay time or value [i.e. delay profile indexing], [0187], wherein assigning a delay value to each transmit channel in the active transmit aperture [i.e. effective emission aperture] based on the ray number [i.e. array element indexing] comprises determining an index (indexing) between each array element and each element number represented by the delay correspondence [i.e. delay profile]);
matching the emission delay time of the array element comprised in the scanning unit from the delay correspondence based on the index ([0187], wherein assigning the delay value to each transmit channel comprises matching an emission delay time of an array element based on the index above, [0188], “the transmit channels must be configured to produce the desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile”).
Regarding claim 4, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 3.
Mehi further teaches wherein the boundary position comprises a starting array element position ([0143-0144], an active aperture is determined, [0148], “the beamformer control 1604, which tells the receive beamformer 1603 which elements of the array to include in the active aperture and what delay profile to use”, [0174], [0190], wherein Aperture Select Index and Element Select Index include elements of the active aperture and thus also includes a starting array element position [i.e. index]), and the determining, based on the boundary position of the effective emission aperture, an index between each array element comprised in the scanning unit and each array element number represented by the delay correspondence comprises:
determining the starting array element position and a first-array element position of the scanning unit ([0143-0144], wherein forming an active aperture includes determining a starting array element position and first-array element position, [0190], “The Aperture Enable index controls the aperture size… The indexing of the Aperture Select, Aperture Enable and Element Select look-up tables is a method…”, wherein the Aperture Enable Index controlling the aperture size and indexing of the aperture further comprises determining a starting array element position [i.e. selecting an element to start an active aperture] and a first-array element position [i.e. the position of the active aperture]);
determining, based on the starting array element position, the first-array element position, and a starting array element number for an effective delay in the delay correspondence, the index between each array element comprised in the scanning unit and each array element number represented by the delay correspondence ([0174], [0188], “Each array element within the aperture must be connected to a channel in the TX pulse generator 1813, and the transmit channels must be configured to produce the desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile”, [0190], “The Mode Select is used to access multiple delay profiles”, [0227], “The delay profile across the active transmit aperture is controlled by the transmit beamformer controller”; the delay profile/correspondence is clearly mapped to the active aperture and therefore Mehi teaches indexing between each array element and each element in the delay correspondence based on the starting array element position, the first-array element position, and a starting array element number; the active aperture is comprised of the starting array element position, the first-array element position, and a starting array element number).
Regarding claim 8, Mehi teaches an imaging method, wherein the imaging method is applied to an ultrasound system (1600), the ultrasound system (1600) comprises a transducer (1601) (Fig. 14, [0005], [0084-0085], [0091], [0140-0141]), and the imaging method comprises:
determining, for one emission, a delay correspondence matching a deflection angle ([0147], “In one exemplary embodiment, each separate transmit waveform has a delay associated with it. The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile. The delay profile is calculated in a way to cause the desired focusing of the transmit acoustic beam to the desired focal point. In certain embodiments, the transmit acoustic beam axis is perpendicular to the plane of the array 1601…The delay profile can also steer the beam so that it is not perpendicular”; a delay profile or delay correspondence is calculated/determined for each deflection angle including a deflection angle of 0 [i.e. perpendicular] and ≠0 [i.e. not perpendicular]);
triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that scanning line beams emitted by array elements comprised in the transducer are focused on one focus in one emission ([0090], [0098], ultrasound is transmitted into a subject, [0143], [0146], [0147], “The delay profile is calculated in a way to cause the desired focusing of the transmit acoustic beam to the desired focal point”, wherein causing the beam to be focused toward a desired focal point implies deflecting the beam at a certain deflection angle to reach the focal point, [0189], “Multiple delay profiles are required for B-Mode imaging in which multiple focal zones are used”),
wherein scanning line beams with the same deflection angle are emitted based on the same delay correspondence, and the delay correspondence represents a correspondence between an array element number and an emission delay time (implicit feature of a delay profile; scanning line beams which have the same deflection angle would have the same time delay profile because the deflection angle is determined by the time delay profile, i.e. symmetrically opposed transducer elements with scanning line beams focused on a focal point have the same deflection angle due to symmetry and thus have the same time delay);
obtaining scanned image data collected by the transducer ([0005], “…acquiring a received ultrasound signal from a ultrasound transducer having a plurality of elements. The system can be adapted to receive ultrasound signals…”, [0089], “The processing unit produces an ultrasound image from the acquired ultrasound signal(s)”);
performing image reconstruction on the scanned image data to obtain a medical image ([0005], “The signal processing can further produce an ultrasound image from the acquired ultrasound signal”, [0089], [0099], [0152], “The scan converter 1608 operates in a manner known in the art and takes the raw image data generated from the one or more of the processing modules and converts the raw image data into an image that can be displayed by the video processing/display 1609”, [0281]).
Regarding claim 9, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
Mehi further teaches wherein the transducer comprises a transducer array, the transducer array comprises a scanning unit (Abstract, [0085], “An arrayed transducer used in the system can be incorporated into a scanhead”), and the triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence comprises:
determining, based on a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit and the delay correspondence, an emission delay time of an array element comprised in the scanning unit ([0147], “The delay profile can also steer the beam”, wherein a delay profile for steering comprises the delay correspondence, [0187] “The TX controller 1814 uses a parameter called, for example, an ultrasound line number (also known as a ray number), to select the active transmit aperture through the appropriate configuration of the transmit multiplexer. The ray number value identifies the origin of the ultrasound scan line with respect to the physical array. Based on the ray number, a delay value is assigned to each transmit channel in the active transmit aperture”, wherein the ray number identifying the position of the ultrasound scan line [i.e. transducer element] with respect to the physical array comprises a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit);
triggering the array element to emit the scanning line beams with the emission delay time ([0090], [0098], ultrasound is focused and transmitted into a subject, [0146-0147], [0151], “The beamformer control 1604 also creates and sends to the transmit beamformer 1605 the transmit delay profile”, [0183-0184], “Optionally the transmit waveform can be a high voltage signal used by the array transducer to convert electrical energy to ultrasound energy”, [0207], “The transmit output stage receives a transmit waveform from the transmit pulse generator 1813 and in turn combines the transmit pulse information with transmit high voltage to create a high voltage waveform at an element which is part of the active transmit aperture”, wherein transmitting the delay profile and transmit waveform to the transducer element to convert electrical energy into ultrasound comprises triggering an array element to emit a scanning line beam [i.e. ultrasound] with the emission delay time [delay profile]).
Regarding claim 10, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
Mehi further teaches wherein the determining, based on a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit and the delay correspondence, an emission delay time of an array element comprised in the scanning unit comprises:
determining, based on the boundary position of the effective emission aperture, an index between each array element comprised in the scanning unit and each array element number represented by the delay correspondence ([0147], “The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile”; each element in the delay profile is assigned a delay time or value [i.e. delay profile indexing], [0187], wherein assigning a delay value to each transmit channel in the active transmit aperture [i.e. effective emission aperture] based on the ray number [i.e. array element indexing] comprises determining an index (indexing) between each array element and each element number represented by the delay correspondence [i.e. delay profile]);
matching the emission delay time of the array element comprised in the scanning unit from the delay correspondence based on the index ([0187], wherein assigning the delay value to each transmit channel comprises matching an emission delay time of an array element based on the index above, [0188], “the transmit channels must be configured to produce the desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile”).
Regarding claim 11, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 10.
Mehi further teaches wherein the boundary position comprises a starting array element position ([0143-0144], an active aperture is determined, [0148], “the beamformer control 1604, which tells the receive beamformer 1603 which elements of the array to include in the active aperture and what delay profile to use”, [0174], [0190], wherein Aperture Select Index and Element Select Index include elements of the active aperture and thus also includes a starting array element position [i.e. index]), and the determining, based on the boundary position of the effective emission aperture, an index between each array element comprised in the scanning unit and each array element number represented by the delay correspondence comprises:
determining the starting array element position and a first-array element position of the scanning unit ([0143-0144], wherein forming an active aperture includes determining a starting array element position and first-array element position, [0190], “The Aperture Enable index controls the aperture size… The indexing of the Aperture Select, Aperture Enable and Element Select look-up tables is a method…”, wherein the Aperture Enable Index controlling the aperture size and indexing of the aperture further comprises determining a starting array element position [i.e. selecting an element to start an active aperture] and a first-array element position [i.e. the position of the active aperture]);
determining, based on the starting array element position, the first-array element position, and a starting array element number for an effective delay in the delay correspondence, the index between each array element comprised in the scanning unit and each array element number represented by the delay correspondence ([0174], [0188], “Each array element within the aperture must be connected to a channel in the TX pulse generator 1813, and the transmit channels must be configured to produce the desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile”, [0190], “The Mode Select is used to access multiple delay profiles”, [0227], “The delay profile across the active transmit aperture is controlled by the transmit beamformer controller”; the delay profile/correspondence is clearly mapped to the active aperture and therefore Mehi teaches indexing between each array element and each element in the delay correspondence based on the starting array element position, the first-array element position, and a starting array element number; the active aperture is comprised of the starting array element position, the first-array element position, and a starting array element number).
Regarding claim 13, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 11.
Mehi further teaches wherein the performing image reconstruction on the scanned image data comprises:
performing image reconstruction on scanned image data having a same imaging section type, to obtain a medical image corresponding to the imaging section type ([0091], “For example, the transducer can be moved relative to the subject during operation to change position of the scan plane or to obtain different views of the subject or its underlying anatomy”, wherein the transducer elements scan a plane, i.e. an imaging section, and thus the scanned image data (received scan lines) all have the same imaging section type, [0188], “The sequence of lines is used to produce a 2-D image”, wherein the sequence of lines comprise scanned image data, and for the sequence of lines to produce a 2-D image, the lines must have been scanned on the same scanning plan and thus have the same imaging section type).
Regarding claim 14, Mehi teaches an ultrasound system (1600), wherein the ultrasound system (1600) comprises a transducer (1601) and a controller (2422) (Figs. 16 & 24, [0140-0141], “The exemplary system 1600 comprises an array transducer 1601, a cable 1619, and a processing unit 1620… The processing unit may comprise software and hardware components”, [0266]), wherein
the controller (2422) is configured to (Fig. 24, [0225], “an FPGA for the transmit beamformer”, [0227], “The delay profile across the active transmit aperture is controlled by the transmit beamformer controller”, [0382], “To orchestrate the events to form a complete image frame, the beamformer uses some sort of controller… Each beamformer event can specify a transmit action… Transmit actions specify all the parameters associated with transmitting pulses from the array. These include… the delay times of each pulser”)
determine, for one emission, a delay correspondence matching a deflection angle ([0147], “In one exemplary embodiment, each separate transmit waveform has a delay associated with it. The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile. The delay profile is calculated in a way to cause the desired focusing of the transmit acoustic beam to the desired focal point. In certain embodiments, the transmit acoustic beam axis is perpendicular to the plane of the array 1601…The delay profile can also steer the beam so that it is not perpendicular”; a delay profile or delay correspondence is calculated/determined for each deflection angle including a deflection angle of 0 [i.e. perpendicular] and ≠0 [i.e. not perpendicular]), and
trigger the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that scanning line beams emitted by array elements comprised in the transducer are focused on one focus in one emission ([0090], [0098], ultrasound is transmitted into a subject, [0143], [0146], [0147], “The delay profile is calculated in a way to cause the desired focusing of the transmit acoustic beam to the desired focal point”, wherein causing the beam to be focused toward a desired focal point implies deflecting the beam at a certain deflection angle to reach the focal point, [0189], “Multiple delay profiles are required for B-Mode imaging in which multiple focal zones are used”),
wherein scanning line beams with the same deflection angle are emitted based on the same delay correspondence (implicit feature of a delay profile; scanning line beams which have the same deflection angle would have the same time delay profile because the deflection angle is determined by the time delay profile, i.e. symmetrically opposed transducer elements with scanning line beams focused on a focal point have the same deflection angle due to symmetry and thus have the same time delay), and
the delay correspondence represents a correspondence between an array element number and an emission delay time ([0147], “The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile”).
Regarding claim 15, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 14.
Mehi further teaches wherein the transducer comprises a transducer array, the transducer array comprises a scanning unit (Abstract, [0085], “An arrayed transducer used in the system can be incorporated into a scanhead”), and the controller is configured to ([0227], “The delay profile across the active transmit aperture is controlled by the transmit beamformer controller”)
determine, based on a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit and the delay correspondence, an emission delay time of an array element comprised in the scanning unit ([0147], “The delay profile can also steer the beam”, wherein a delay profile for steering comprises the delay correspondence, [0187] “The TX controller 1814 uses a parameter called, for example, an ultrasound line number (also known as a ray number), to select the active transmit aperture through the appropriate configuration of the transmit multiplexer. The ray number value identifies the origin of the ultrasound scan line with respect to the physical array. Based on the ray number, a delay value is assigned to each transmit channel in the active transmit aperture”, wherein the ray number identifying the position of the ultrasound scan line [i.e. transducer element] with respect to the physical array comprises a boundary position of an effective emission aperture of one emission by the scanning unit), and
trigger the array element to emit the scanning line beams with the emission delay time ([0090], [0098], ultrasound is focused and transmitted into a subject, [0146-0147], [0151], “The beamformer control 1604 also creates and sends to the transmit beamformer 1605 the transmit delay profile”, [0183-0184], “Optionally the transmit waveform can be a high voltage signal used by the array transducer to convert electrical energy to ultrasound energy”, [0207], “The transmit output stage receives a transmit waveform from the transmit pulse generator 1813 and in turn combines the transmit pulse information with transmit high voltage to create a high voltage waveform at an element which is part of the active transmit aperture”, wherein transmitting the delay profile and transmit waveform to the transducer element to convert electrical energy into ultrasound comprises triggering an array element to emit a scanning line beam [i.e. ultrasound] with the emission delay time [delay profile]).
Regarding claim 16, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 15.
Mehi further teaches wherein the controller is configured to ([0227], “The delay profile across the active transmit aperture is controlled by the transmit beamformer controller”)
determine, based on the boundary position of the effective emission aperture, an index between each array element comprised in the scanning unit and each array element number represented by the delay correspondence ([0147], “The distribution of the delays for each element's waveform is called a delay profile”; each element in the delay profile is assigned a delay time or value [i.e. delay profile indexing], [0187], wherein assigning a delay value to each transmit channel in the active transmit aperture [i.e. effective emission aperture] based on the ray number [i.e. array element indexing] comprises determining an index (indexing) between each array element and each element number represented by the delay correspondence [i.e. delay profile]), and
match the emission delay time of the array element comprised in the scanning unit from the delay correspondence based on the index ([0187], wherein assigning the delay value to each transmit channel comprises matching an emission delay time of an array element based on the index above, [0188], “the transmit channels must be configured to produce the desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehi (US20070239001) in view of Ozgun (US20250281161). Mehi is cited in the IDS filed 06/13/2024.
Regarding claim 5, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Mehi fails to teach wherein the transducer comprises at least two transducer arrays, and the triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence comprises: triggering each of the transducer arrays to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays having a same imaging section type have overlapping areas.
In an analogous method for an ultrasound probe applied to an ultrasound system field of endeavor, Ozgun teaches such a feature. Ozgun teaches an ultrasound probe (101) comprised of two ultrasound transducer arrays (100) (Figs. 1A-1B, [0037]). Ozgun teaches each of the two arrays transmits ultrasound waves in an imaging sector (102) that includes a region of acoustic overlap (104) [i.e. so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays having a same imaging section type have overlapping areas] ([0037]). Ozgun teaches wherein the sectors (102) may be steered inward or outward [i.e. include a deflection angle and thus include delay times for creating said deflection], producing an acoustic overlap (104) and depicts this in figures 3B and 3C (Figs. 3B-3C, [0039]). Ozgun therefore teaches triggering of each transducer array (100) to emit scanning line beams with a deflection angle according to a delay, so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays (100) having a same imaging section type (102) have overlapping areas (104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to use two transducer arrays to produce an overlapping acoustic section and apply appropriate delays for steering as taught by Ozgun (Figs. 3B-3C, [0037], [0039]). By using two transducer arrays, the field of view may be extended and also a medical instrument may be guided between said transducer arrays as recognized by Ozgun ([0037]). Since Mehi teaches applying a delay correspondence (delay profile) to steer the ultrasound beam of the transducer array ([0147]), Mehi modified by the teachings of Ozgun would similarly apply the delay correspondence (delay profile) to both the transducer arrays for the purpose of beam steering [i.e. emitting beams with a deflection angle].
Regarding claim 7, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Mehi further teaches wherein the ultrasound system further comprises emission channels ([0144], “there are 64 transmit channels”), and the triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence comprises:
mapping the emission channels to the transducer array ([0094], “Each element can also be operatively connected to a transmit channel”, [0189], “On each Channel Board there are 16 transmit channels, each of which can be connected to one of four different array elements through a transmit output stage”), and
triggering the mapped transducer arrays through the emission channels to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence ([0147], “The delay profile can also steer the beam so that it is not perpendicular to the plane of the array 1601”, wherein steering the beam comprises emitting scanning line beams with a deflection angle, [0188], “Each array element within the aperture must be connected to a channel in the TX pulse generator 1813, and the transmit channels must be configured to produce the desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile”, the transducer arrays must be mapped with a transmission channel to emit a scanning line beam with delays according to a delay profile/correspondence).
However, Mehi fails to teach wherein the transducer comprises at least two transducer arrays and mapping the emission channels to the transducer arrays in sequence.
In an analogous method for an ultrasound probe applied to an ultrasound system field of endeavor, Ozgun teaches such a feature. Ozgun teaches an ultrasound probe (101) comprised of two ultrasound transducer arrays (100) (Figs. 1A-1B, [0037]). Ozgun teaches each of the two arrays transmits ultrasound waves in an imaging sector (102) that includes a region of acoustic overlap (104) ([0037]). Ozgun teaches wherein the sectors (102) may be steered inward or outward [i.e. include a deflection angle and thus include delay times for creating said deflection], producing an acoustic overlap (104) and depicts this in figures 3B and 3C (Figs. 3B-3C, [0039]). Ozgun therefore teaches at least two transducer arrays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to have the transducer comprise at least two transducer arrays as taught by Ozgun (Figs. 1A-1B & 3B-3C, [0037], [0039]). By using two transducer arrays, the field of view may be extended and also a medical instrument may be guided between said transducer arrays as recognized by Ozgun ([0037]). Since Mehi teaches wherein each array element must be mapped in order to emit a scanning line beam according to a delay correspondence or profile ([0188]), Mehi modified with the teachings of Ozgun to include another transducer array would predictably result wherein the second array has its emission (transmit) channels mapped as well, in sequence, so that the arrays may produce a desired waveform with delays according to a desired delay correspondence/profile as taught by Mehi ([0188]).
Regarding claim 12, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Mehi fails to teach wherein the transducer comprises at least two transducer arrays, and the triggering the transducer to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence comprises: triggering each of the transducer arrays to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays having a same imaging section type have overlapping areas.
In an analogous method for an ultrasound probe applied to an ultrasound system field of endeavor, Ozgun teaches such a feature. Ozgun teaches an ultrasound probe (101) comprised of two ultrasound transducer arrays (100) (Figs. 1A-1B, [0037]). Ozgun teaches each of the two arrays transmits ultrasound waves in an imaging sector (102) that includes a region of acoustic overlap (104) [i.e. so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays having a same imaging section type have overlapping areas] ([0037]). Ozgun teaches wherein the sectors (102) may be steered inward or outward [i.e. include a deflection angle and thus include delay times for creating said deflection], producing an acoustic overlap (104) and depicts this in figures 3B and 3C (Figs. 3B-3C, [0039]). Ozgun therefore teaches triggering of each transducer array (100) to emit scanning line beams with a deflection angle according to a delay, so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays (100) having a same imaging section type (102) have overlapping areas (104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to use two transducer arrays to produce an overlapping acoustic section and apply appropriate delays for steering as taught by Ozgun (Figs. 3B-3C, [0037], [0039]). By using two transducer arrays, the field of view may be extended and also a medical instrument may be guided between said transducer arrays as recognized by Ozgun ([0037]). Since Mehi teaches applying a delay correspondence (delay profile) to steer the ultrasound beam of the transducer array ([0147]), Mehi modified by the teachings of Ozgun would similarly apply the delay correspondence (delay profile) to both the transducer arrays for the purpose of beam steering [i.e. emitting beams with a deflection angle].
Regarding claim 17, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 14.
However, Mehi fails to teach wherein the transducer comprises at least two transducer arrays, and the controller is configured to trigger each of the transducer arrays to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence, so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays having a same imaging section type have overlapping areas.
In an analogous method for an ultrasound probe applied to an ultrasound system field of endeavor, Ozgun teaches such a feature. Ozgun teaches an ultrasound probe (101) comprised of two ultrasound transducer arrays (100) (Figs. 1A-1B, [0037]). Ozgun teaches each of the two arrays transmits ultrasound waves in an imaging sector (102) that includes a region of acoustic overlap (104) [i.e. so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays having a same imaging section type have overlapping areas] ([0037]). Ozgun teaches wherein the sectors (102) may be steered inward or outward [i.e. include a deflection angle and thus include delay times for creating said deflection], producing an acoustic overlap (104) and depicts this in figures 3B and 3C (Figs. 3B-3C, [0039]). Ozgun therefore teaches triggering of each transducer array (100) to emit scanning line beams with a deflection angle according to a delay, so that imaging areas of two adjacently arranged transducer arrays (100) having a same imaging section type (102) have overlapping areas (104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to use two transducer arrays to produce an overlapping acoustic section and apply appropriate delays for steering as taught by Ozgun (Figs. 3B-3C, [0037], [0039]). By using two transducer arrays, the field of view may be extended and also a medical instrument may be guided between said transducer arrays as recognized by Ozgun ([0037]). Since Mehi teaches using a controller to apply a delay correspondence (delay profile) to steer the ultrasound beam of the transducer array ([0147], [0227]), Mehi modified by the teachings of Ozgun would similarly have the controller be configured to apply the delay correspondence (delay profile) to both the transducer arrays for the purpose of beam steering [i.e. emitting beams with a deflection angle].
Regarding claim 19, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 14.
Mehi further teaches wherein the ultrasound system further comprises emission channels ([0144], “there are 64 transmit channels”), and the controller is configured to
map the emission channels to the transducer array ([0094], “Each element can also be operatively connected to a transmit channel”, [0189], “On each Channel Board there are 16 transmit channels, each of which can be connected to one of four different array elements through a transmit output stage”), and
trigger the mapped transducer arrays through the emission channels to emit scanning line beams with the deflection angle according to the delay correspondence ([0147], “The delay profile can also steer the beam so that it is not perpendicular to the plane of the array 1601”, wherein steering the beam comprises emitting scanning line beams with a deflection angle, [0188], “Each array element within the aperture must be connected to a channel in the TX pulse generator 1813, and the transmit channels must be configured to produce the desired transmit waveforms with delays according to the desired transmit delay profile”, the transducer arrays must be mapped with a transmission channel to emit a scanning line beam with delays according to a delay profile/correspondence).
However, Mehi fails to teach wherein the transducer comprises at least two transducer arrays and wherein the controller is configured to map the emission channels to the transducer arrays in sequence.
In an analogous method for an ultrasound probe applied to an ultrasound system field of endeavor, Ozgun teaches such a feature. Ozgun teaches an ultrasound probe (101) comprised of two ultrasound transducer arrays (100) (Figs. 1A-1B, [0037]). Ozgun teaches each of the two arrays transmits ultrasound waves in an imaging sector (102) that includes a region of acoustic overlap (104) ([0037]). Ozgun teaches wherein the sectors (102) may be steered inward or outward [i.e. include a deflection angle and thus include delay times for creating said deflection], producing an acoustic overlap (104) and depicts this in figures 3B and 3C (Figs. 3B-3C, [0039]). Ozgun therefore teaches at least two transducer arrays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to have the transducer comprise at least two transducer arrays as taught by Ozgun (Figs. 1A-1B & 3B-3C, [0037], [0039]). By using two transducer arrays, the field of view may be extended and also a medical instrument may be guided between said transducer arrays as recognized by Ozgun ([0037]). Since Mehi teaches wherein each array element must be mapped in order to emit a scanning line beam according to a delay correspondence or profile ([0188]), Mehi modified with the teachings of Ozgun to include another transducer array would predictably result wherein the controller is configured to have the second array have its emission (transmit) channels mapped as well, in sequence, so that the arrays may produce a desired waveform with delays according to a desired delay correspondence/profile as taught by Mehi ([0188]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehi (US20070239001) in view of Yamamoto (US20190242858). Mehi is cited in the IDS filed 06/13/2024.
Regarding claim 6, Mehi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Mehi further teaches wherein the transducer array comprises a linear transducer array (1601) (Figs. 16-17, Abstract, [0091], [0155]), and the delay correspondence is pre-established ([0189], wherein delay profiles being stored comprise pre-established delay correspondences, [0190], “The Mode Select is used to access multiple delay profiles” implies having pre-established delay correspondences/profiles to select from).
However, Mehi fails to explicitly teach the delay correspondence is pre-established in the following manner of: determining a focus position based on a focus depth of the linear transducer array and the deflection angle, determining an emission delay time of each array element based on the focus position and a position of an array element comprised in the linear transducer array, and establishing the delay correspondence; and/or the transducer comprises a convex transducer array, and the delay correspondence is pre-established in the following manner of: determining a focus position based on a radius and a focus depth of the convex transducer array and the deflection angle, determining an emission delay time of each array element based on the focus position and a position of an array element comprised in the convex transducer array, and establishing the delay correspondence.
In an analogous control method of an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Yamamoto teaches such a feature. Yamamoto teaches an ultrasound probe (10) comprising an ultrasound transducer array having a plurality of ultrasound elements (11) (Fig. 1, [0049-0051]). Yamamoto teaches wherein the ultrasound probe (10) is a linear array probe ([0052]). Yamamoto teaches wherein the estimated delay times applied to the transducer elements (11) are determined based on geometric information including the positions of the elements (11) [i.e. position of an array element in a linear transducer array] and the position of the focus (3) [i.e. focus position] ([0111]). Yamamoto teaches the position of the focus is comprised of the deflection angle and the depth of the flaw detection (ultrasound beam) ([0111]). Yamamoto therefore teaches determining a focus position based on a focus depth of the linear transducer array and the deflection angle and determining an emission delay time of each array element based on the focus position and a position of an array element comprised in the linear transducer array.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to additionally estimate the delay times based on the position of the array elements and the position of the focus which is based on the deflection angle and depth of the focus as taught by Yamamoto ([0111]). By estimating the delay times in such a way, ultrasound waves may be made to converge to a focus as recognized by Yamamoto ([0111]). Mehi modified by the teachings of Yamamoto would predictably result wherein the delay correspondence (delay profile) is determined in such a way since the delay correspondence/profile is a distribution of delay times across each transducer element. By additionally following the teachings of Yamamoto, the calculation of delay times may be made more robust.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehi (US20070239001) in view of Ozgun (US20250281161) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Fidel (US20040152986). Mehi is cited in the IDS filed 06/13/2024.
Regarding claim 18, Mehi in view of Ozgun teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 17.
However, Mehi fails to teach wherein the transducer comprises a first transducer array and a second transducer array of different types; there are at least two first transducer arrays, and the first transducer arrays are arranged on both sides of a length direction of the second transducer array.
In an analogous ultrasound system field of endeavor, Fidel teaches such a feature. Fidel teaches an ultrasound system including an ultrasound probe (42) with three transducer arrays (50, 52, 54) (Figs. 4 & 6, [0014-0015], [0039], [0042-0043]). Fidel teaches wherein the system includes a switch array or multiplexer to switch between the transducer arrays of the probe ([0015]). Fidel teaches two first transducer arrays (50, 52) which are convex arrays configured to scan a sagittal or longitudinal plane (Fig. 6, [0042-0043], [0046]). Fidel further teaches a second transducer array (54) which is a micro-convex array configured to scan a transverse plane (Fig. 6, [0042], [0044], [0046]). Fidel therefore teaches wherein the first and second transducer arrays are different types. Fidel further teaches wherein the first transducer arrays (50, 52) are arranged on both sides of a length direction of the second transducer array (54) (Figs. 4 & 6, [0046]; See figures 4 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to have the ultrasound probe comprise three transducer arrays as arranged and taught by Fidel (Figs. 4 & 6, [0042-0044], [0046]). By using this configuration, an entire prostate may be imaged along a longitudinal plane without moving the probe while also providing an image of the center of the prostate via a transverse scan plane as recognized by Fidel ([0046]). The various images when taken together may provide improved surgical guidance as further recognized by Fidel ([0055]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehi (US20070239001) in view of Ozgun (US20250281161) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Jensen (US20140343429). Mehi is cited in the IDS filed 06/13/2024.
Regarding claim 20, Mehi in view of Ozgun teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 19.
Mehi further teaches wherein the ultrasound system (1600) further comprises a switch array (1602), the transducer (1601) is connected to the emission channel through the switch array (1602) (Fig. 16, [0141], wherein multiplexer (MUX) 1602 comprises a switch array, [0143-0144], “The MUX/FEE 1602 switchably connects the elements of the active aperture to transmit and receive channels of the exemplary system”), and
switching between transducers ([0312], “In another embodiment, a transducer select board with two transducer connectors at the front panel can also be used and enables switching between transducers without physically handling the transducers”).
However, Mehi fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller switches states of switches in the switch array to map emission channels to the transducer arrays in sequence.
In an analogous ultrasound imaging system field of endeavor, Jensen teaches such a feature. Jensen teaches an ultrasound system (100) comprising an ultrasound probe (132) having two transducer arrays (602) (Fig. 6, [0053]).
Jensen teaches a switch (134) may switch the channels of the I/O (110) such that two or more transducer arrays may be employed ([0054]). Jensen therefore teaches switching states [i.e. switching channels] to map emission channels [i.e. channels of the I/O 110] to the transducer arrays (602) in sequence. Since Mehi modified by Ozgun teaches only two transducer arrays, the switching is performed in sequence, i.e. channels are switched from array 1 to array 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Mehi to have the switch array switch states or channels between the two transducers in sequence as taught by Jensen (Fig. 6, [0054]). By switching states/channels, the transducer arrays may be alternately used to transmit and receive ultrasound.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797