DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0385026 (“TAKESHITA US”) in view of WO 2023/084707
(“TAKESHITA WO”) and in view of US 2019/0288785 (“WOJTUNIK”).
Regarding claim 1, TAKESHITA US teaches an optical amplification device (200) comprising: an optical fiber amplification unit (230) including a plurality of amplification cores (par. [0046]); a first connection unit (220) being connected to one end of the optical fiber amplification unit; and a second connection unit (240) being connected to another end of the optical fiber amplification unit (FIG. 3), wherein the first connection unit is configured in such a way as to connect a transmission fiber including a plurality of transmission cores to the optical fiber amplification unit (par. [0046]), and the first connection unit and the second connection unit are configured in such a way that a plurality of signal light received by the first connection unit propagate through the first amplification core group and the second amplification core group (FIG. 7).
TAKESHITA US does not teach that the number of the plurality of amplification cores is larger than the number of the plurality of transmission cores. TAKESHITA WO teaches an optical amplification device wherein a number of amplification cores is larger than a number of transmission cores (pg. 3, lines 10-14 of included translation document). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the amplification device of TAKESHITA US such that the number of amplification cores is larger than the number of transmission cores, as taught by TAKESHITA WO. The motivation would have been to increase optical coupling efficiency between the fiber amplification unit and thew first connection unit (pg. 3, lines 10-14 of included translation document).
TAKESHITA US also does not teach that the plurality of amplification cores includes a first amplification core group and a second amplification core group which are arranged in parallel in the optical fiber amplification unit. WOJTUNIK teaches a first amplification core group and a second amplification core group which are arranged in parallel in an optical fiber amplification unit (any of 240a, 240b, 240c; FIGs. 3-9; par. [0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the amplification device of TAKESHITA US such that the plurality of amplification cores includes a first amplification core group and a second amplification core group which are arranged in parallel in the optical fiber amplification unit, as taught by WOJTUNIK. The motivation would have been to allow for frequency dependent amplification (par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, TAKESHITA US teaches that the first connection unit and the second connection unit are configured in such a way that the plurality of signal light propagate through the first amplification core group and the second amplification core group in series
(FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 4, TAKESHITA US teaches that the first connection unit and the second connection unit are configured in such a way that the plurality of signal light propagates through the first amplification core group and the second amplification core group in a same direction in the optical fiber amplification unit (FIG. 7).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claimed features; namely opposite propagation directions and parallel connections, are mutually exclusive to the claimed features; namely same propagation directions and series connection, set forth in claims 4 and 3, respectively. As such, Examiner concludes that these mutually exclusive features are obvious variants of one another. If Applicant wishes to argue against the obviousness of these mutually exclusive variants, Examiner may revisit a possible election of species requirement.
Regarding claim 7, TAKESHITA US teaches that the first connection unit and the second connection unit are configured in such a way that the plurality of pieces of signal light propagate through the first amplification core group and the second amplification core group in a same direction in the optical fiber amplification unit (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 8, the claimed feature; namely opposite propagation directions, is mutually exclusive to the claimed feature; namely same propagation directions, set forth in claim 7. As such, Examiner concludes that these mutually exclusive features are obvious variants of one another. If Applicant wishes to argue against the obviousness of these mutually exclusive variants, Examiner may revisit a possible election of species requirement.
Regarding claims 9 and 11-16, TAKESHITA US teaches that the optical fiber amplification unit includes a multicore optical fiber including the plurality of amplification cores doped with a rare-earth ion (par. [0047]), and a double-clad structure (par. [0047]), and each of the first connection unit and the second connection unit includes fan-in/fan-out connection unit
(par. [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, TAKESHITA US teaches an optical amplification method comprising: receiving a plurality of pieces of signal light (from element 210) propagating through a plurality of transmission cores (element 220; par. [0046]); and introducing the plurality of pieces of signal light into a plurality of amplification cores (element 230; par. [0046]); the plurality of amplification cores include a first amplification core group (FIG. 7; element 231) and a second amplification core group (232), and a first connection unit and a second connection unit are configured in such a way that the plurality of pieces of signal light received by the first connection unit are caused to propagate through the first amplification core group and the second amplification core group (FIG. 7).
TAKESHITA US does not teach that the number of the plurality of amplification cores is larger than the number of the plurality of transmission cores. TAKESHITA WO teaches an optical amplification device wherein a number of amplification cores is larger than a number of transmission cores (pg. 3, lines 10-14 of included translation document). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the amplification device of TAKESHITA US such that the number of amplification cores is larger than the number of transmission cores, as taught by TAKESHITA WO. The motivation would have been to increase optical coupling efficiency between the fiber amplification unit and thew first connection unit (pg. 3, lines 10-14 of included translation document).
TAKESHITA US also does not teach that the plurality of amplification cores includes a first amplification core group and a second amplification core group which are arranged in parallel in the optical fiber amplification unit. WOJTUNIK teaches a first amplification core group and a second amplification core group which are arranged in parallel in an optical fiber amplification unit (any of 240a, 240b, 240c; FIGs. 3-9; par. [0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the amplification device of TAKESHITA US such that the plurality of amplification cores includes a first amplification core group and a second amplification core group which are arranged in parallel in the optical fiber amplification unit, as taught by WOJTUNIK. The motivation would have been to allow for frequency dependent amplification (par. [0033]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874