DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10 (Invention I) in the reply filed on September 23rd, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that (1) the restriction requirement was procedurally improper and (2) the examiner has not established a serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because of the following:
Regarding the arguments pertaining to the procedure of the restriction requirement, Applicant states that MPEP § 806.05(j) requires, in order for a restriction to be proper, “that the inventions possess materially different modes of operation or functions such that the inventions are distinct and cannot be used together” (Page 6 of Remarks 09/23/2026). However, requirements of MPEP § 806.05(j) do not require both “materially different modes of operation” and that the inventions “cannot be used together.” Specifically, the requirements are as follows:
The inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect.
The inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive.
The inventions as claimed are not obvious variants.
Examiner asserts that the mode of operation of monitoring and balancing the power or energy and monitoring and balancing the deposition amount or deposition rate are materially different modes of operation.
Applicant additionally argues that the parameters distinguishing the two inventions are complementary, not mutually exclusive (Page 7 of Remarks 09/23/2026). According to MPEP § 806.05, “Related inventions in the same statutory class are considered mutually exclusive, or not overlapping in scope, if a first invention would not infringe a second invention, and the second invention would not infringe the first invention.” In the case of claims 1 and 11, the invention of claim 11 would not infringe on the invention of claim 1, as it does not include a step for monitoring an energy or a power of the hotwire process. Likewise, the invention of claim 1 would not infringe on the invention of claim 11, as it does not include a step for monitoring a deposition amount or a deposition rate of the hotwire process.
Regarding the arguments pertaining to the serious search and/or examination burden, the Applicant asserts that the Examiner has not established separate classifications, different fields of search, or distinct examination issues (Page 7 of Remarks 09/23/2026). The Examiner refers Applicant to page 3 of the restriction requirement wherein the Examiner has stated that the two inventions would have different fields of search, as different keyword are need to search energy and/or power vs. deposition amount and/or deposition rate). Further, prior art that discloses monitoring and balancing of one of these parameters would not likely disclose monitoring and balancing of the other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“laser device 110” should be corrected to --laser device 120-- [PG Pub: 0021].
“welding power supply 310” is referred to in [PG Pub: 0026]. It is unknown if this is intended to refer to laser power supply 130 or another component. However, there is no other mention of a welding power supply in the specification and reference character “310” is used to designate the hotwire waveform in Fig. 3. Applicant should make an appropriate correction to this reference.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
None of the pending claims are currently being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, each of claims 3 and 4 recite the limitation “a voltage [and/or] a current of the hot wire process between the filler wire and a workpiece.” However, claim 1 recites the limitations “a hot wire current” and “a hot wire voltage”. It is unknown if the voltage and current of claims 3 and 4 are the same voltage and current as the hot wire voltage and hot wire current of claim 1 or a different voltage and different current, rendering the claim indefinite. Applicant should amend claims 3 and 4 to clarify whether these limitations are the same, different, and/or related to those of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, this claim recites the limitation "the weld pool". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, there is no mention of welding in claim 1, nor any indication that the method is related to a welding process. In this case, “the weld pool” will be interpreted as and may be corrected to --a molten puddle--. This terminology has been obtained from the written description [PG Pub: 0019, 0025].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peters (US 2015/0183044 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peters discloses a method of mitigating arcing events in a hot wire process provided by a hot wire system (“Method […] for welding with controlled arcing frequency” [title]; the process is a hot-wire welding process [abstract]), the method comprising:
Annotated Figure 1. Fig. 1 disclosed by Peters, annotated to show elements of the system used for implementing the claimed method.
automatically monitoring a frequency of arcing (arc detection threshold circuit 321 is used to detect arcs [Fig. 4, 0033]; the frequency of arcs is monitored and controlled via control of the power supply 170 [0043] ; see Annotated Figure 1) of a filler wire (resistive filler (hot) wire 140 [Figs. 1-3, 0020]) during a hot wire process in real time;
automatically monitoring at least one of an energy or a power (sensing and control subsystem 195 monitors the voltage (V) and current (I) through the workpiece 115 and the hot wire 140 [0023]; Peters further discloses that sensing and control subsystem 195 is capable of calculating the power (P = V*I) from the measured voltage and current [0023] ; see Annotated Figure 1) during the hot wire process in real time; and
automatically adjusting at least one of a hot wire current (the current is initially turned off after an arc occurs 507, then switches to a lead-in current 511 for a duration TLI before returning to a hot wire current pulse 501’ between arc events [Fig. 4, 0040]), a hot wire voltage (after the hot wire current is initially shut off, an open circuit voltage 409 is applied until the hot wire 140 makes contact with the puddle, then begins supplying current again between arcing events 401’ after providing the lead-in voltage 411 for duration TLI [Fig. 4, 0039]), a hot wire waveform characteristic (both the hot wire current and hot wire voltage are the waveform characteristics 400 and 500 adjusted as described above), a wire feed speed (optional limitation), a wire approach angle (optional limitation), or a contact tip- to-work distance (optional limitation) of the hot wire process, in response to automatically monitoring the frequency of arcing and at least one of the energy or the power (waveforms 400 and 500 are adjusted as detailed above in response to an arcing event [0039-0040]; further, waveforms 400 and 500 are controlled via power supply 170 to achieve a desired arcing event frequency [0043]), to balance the frequency of arcing against at least one of the energy or the power of the hot wire process (the control of the frequency of arcing aims to provide control over the heat input of the process [0043]; it is further disclosed that when a preset heating voltage is maintained within a preset range, the hot wire 140 is provided with the desired heat, but can avoid the creation of an arc [0031]; thus, to maintain desired heat input, there is a balance maintained between voltage and control of arc creation (i.e., frequency); it should be noted that while the discussed balance is centered around voltage, it is disclosed that sensing and control subsystem 195 is capable of calculating power, given voltage and current [0023], and it is further disclosed that the control method using a threshold for voltage discussed in [0031] may also be implemented using a threshold for power [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Peters discloses that balancing the frequency of arcing against at least one of the energy or the power of the hot wire process includes keeping the frequency of arcing below a first threshold value (power supply 170 controls waveforms 400 and 500 to maintain the frequency of arcing to stay within predefined ranges, in which the frequency would be maintained below the upper limit of the corresponding range [0043]) while keeping the energy or the power above a second threshold value (a range of operable values are provided in discussing the maintenance of the voltage, in which the voltage would be kept above the lower limit of the corresponding range [0031]; it is further disclosed that the power supply 310 (which is the same as power supply 170 according to [0030]) “can use current and/or power preset thresholds to control the output signal of the power supply” and that this method “would be similar to the voltage based control” [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Peters discloses that the monitoring of the frequency of arcing includes sensing at least one of a voltage or a current of the hot wire process between the filler wire and a workpiece (arc detect threshold unit 321 detects arcs via output voltage through leads 319 and 317 which are configured to read the voltage difference between the hot wire 140 and the workpiece W [Fig. 3, 0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Peters discloses that the monitoring of the energy or the power of the hot wire process includes sensing a voltage and a current of the hot wire process between the filler wire and a workpiece (sensing and control subsystem 195 monitors the power through the measured voltage (V) and current (I) through the workpiece 115 and hot wire 140 to calculate the power [Fig. 2, 0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Peters discloses that the frequency of arcing is kept between 0.5 Hz and 20 Hz during the hot wire process (the frequency of arcing is controlled to occur within the range of 1 Hz and 20 Hz [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US 2015/0183044 A1) in view of Yoshida (US 2017/0028499 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Peters discloses each of the limitations of claim 1 but does not expressly disclose that the adjusting employs a control algorithm, trained using machine learning techniques, and having inputs of the frequency of arcing and at least one of the energy or the power, as monitored, and having outputs of at least one of the hot wire current, the hot wire voltage, the hot wire waveform characteristic, the wire feed speed, the wire approach angle, or the contact tip-to-work distance.
Annotated Figure 2. Fig. 2 disclosed by Yoshida, annotated to show the inputs and outputs of the machine learning unit.
Yoshida teaches a machine learning device for arc welding control [Figs. 1-2, title, abstract]. See Annotated Figure 2. The device comprises an arc welding robot system 5 with a robot 10, a welding torch 18, a positioner 19 and a controller 20 to perform a welding process [Fig. 1, 0027]. The controller 20 further comprises a machine learning unit 30 with a state observation unit 31, which takes, as an input, physical quantities and welding conditions including a welding current and a welding voltage as well as an arc sensor condition [Figs. 1 and 2, 0031, 0032]. These quantities and conditions are provided to the decision making unit 34 through a learning function update unit 33, where the decision making unit 34 decides on an optimum adjustment of one of the welding conditions, which also include wire feed speed, welding torch angle, welding waveform characteristic, and/or adjustments may be made to the aforementioned current and/or voltage [Fig. 2, 0039]. This decision is provided as an output of the machine learning unit 30 and sent to the arc welding execution unit 37 to adjust the parameters via the robot 10 and/or positioner 19 [Fig. 2, 0039].
Peters discloses a control method for an arc welding system wherein adjustments are made to the welding parameters in order to balance the power output and frequency of arcing but does not disclose that the control method employs machine learning techniques. Yoshida teaches a system for arc welding which utilizes a control method employing a machine learning unit which takes inputs including welding voltage, welding current, and an arc sensing condition and provides outputs including adjustments to the welding voltage and/or welding current as well as adjustments to the wire feed speed, welding torch angle, and/or a waveform characteristic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Yoshida for an arc welding controller utilizing machine learning techniques and applied this teaching to the arc welding control method of Peters. Specifically, the machine learning unit 30 taught by Yoshida would be implemented into the sensing and control unit 195 disclosed by Peters. It should be noted that while the input of the machine learning unit taught by Yoshida includes current and voltage rather than power, Peters discloses a calculation for power using voltage and current, which the sensing and control unit 195 is capable of performing [Peters: 0023]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because when using a machine learning algorithm for this type of work “optimum welding conditions can be automatically prepared without a skilled operator or expertise” [Yoshida: 0008]. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success with this modification as both references utilize a controller for an adjustment step of an arc welding process in response to welding parameter monitoring.
Regarding claim 6, Peters in view of Yoshida teaches (with citations directed toward Yoshida) that the inputs further include at least one of a wire type of the filler wire (“the kind of the welding wire” [0033]), a wire diameter of the filler wire (“the diameter of the welding wire” [0033]), a material type of a workpiece (optional limitation), and a material thickness of the workpiece (“the plate thickness” [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, as machine learning (as claimed in claim 5) is a subset of the broad category of artificial intelligence, claim 7 is rejected over Peters in view of Yoshida for the same reasons outlined above with regard to claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, as machine learning (as claimed in claim 6) is a subset of the broad category of artificial intelligence, claim 8 is rejected over Peters in view of Yoshida for the same reasons outlined above with regard to claim 6.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US 2015/0183044 A1) in view of Becker (US 10665128 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Peters discloses each of the limitations of claim 1 but does not expressly disclose a visual indicator to a user based on the frequency of arcing to indicate to the user when the filler wire is in a correct location within the weld pool.
Annotated Figure 3. Figs. 62 and 63 disclosed by Becker, annotated to show changes in the indicators and plots when an arc is detected vs. when an arc is not detected.
Becker teaches a display system and methods for monitoring arc welding information [title, abstract]. See Annotated Figure 3. The system works in conjunction with a welding torch including a wire feeder (torch 14, wire feeder 30, welding wire 174 [Figs. 2 and 8, col. 9, lines 1-6, and col. 20, lines 30-40]). During a welding session, a screen displays data corresponding to welding parameters, including plots of arc voltage, arc current, and aim of the torch toward the workpiece (screen 996, welding voltage 337, welding current 338, aim 336 [Figs. 62 and 63, col. 73, lines 7-23]). The aim is defined as a distance between the intersection point of the wire and the workpiece and the center point of the joint of the workpiece (i.e., where the melt puddle should be located to perform a weld) [Fig. 71, col. 10, lines 7-14]. Additionally, there is an indicator for notifying a user of an overall weld status (i.e., whether or not the parameters are within their limits) and for notifying a user whether or not an arc has occurred during the welding (overall status 1008 [Figs. 62 and 63, col. 73, lines 57-62]; users will receive indicators related to score 1000, 1002, and 1004, as well as a “successful” indicator 1006 when an arc is detected [Fig. 62, col. 73, lines 39-56] and an “Arc Not Detected” message 1010 and “unsuccessful” indicator 1006 when there is no arc [Fig. 63, col. 74, lines 29-43]). While the screen of Fig. 62 shows an instance of one continuous arc, Becker further teaches that this does not need to be the case, and that the positioning of the torch will still be tracked in instances where the torch switches between ac arcing phase and a short circuit phase [col. 63, lines 4-9]. Becker additionally teaches that the arc parameters (welding voltage 337 and welding current 338) are plotted in real-time, synchronized with the torch position parameters (aim 336) to allow a user to correlate the torch position with the arc status [col. 73, lines 24-38].
Peters discloses a method for controlling an arc welding process but does not disclose the device having a visual indicator for notifying a user when the filler wire is in the correct location, based on arc frequency. Becker teaches a display for arc welding parameters including a real-time, side-by-side plotting of arc parameters and torch aim to allow a user to correlate the torch aim with a successful or unsuccessful arc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Peters to include the display step taught by Becker. Specifically, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added the display, which plots the voltage and current of the arc synchronously with the aim of the torch, and would have additionally included the messages and indicators that notify a user of a successful weld, both in terms of aiming within limits and creation of an arc (for which Peters is configured to determine a frequency, provided the voltage and current). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a user with information about the weld process so that he or she may adjust the device parameters (i.e., wire positioning) as needed to ensure an efficient and effective weld. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success with this modification, as the display system taught by Becker is configured to display parameters related to an arc welding system such as Peters.
Conclusion
/MARISSA RAE BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761