DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to the Application Filed on 12/28/2023
Claims 1–20 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawing(s) filed on 12/28/2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/18/2024 and 05/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is:
“an image acquisition system configured to capture images of plants in a field as the farming machine traverses past the plants in the field” in claim(s) 11
“a plurality of treatment mechanisms configured to treat identified plants in the field” in claim(s) 11
Because this claim limitation(s) is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim(s) 11: “an image acquisition system configured to capture images of plants in a field as the farming machine traverses past the plants in the field” corresponds to “Further, the detection mechanism 110 may include an array of sensors (e.g., an array of cameras) configured to capture information about the environment 102 surrounding the farming machine 100. For example, the detection mechanism 110 may include an array of cameras configured to capture an array of pictures representing the environment 102 surrounding the farming machine 100”, Applicant Specification ¶ [0061].
Claim(s) 11: “a plurality of treatment mechanisms configured to treat identified plants in the field” corresponds to [FIG. 1A] – element 120. “The farming machine 100 may include a treatment mechanism 120. The treatment mechanism 120 can implement farming actions in the operating environment 102 of a farming machine 100. For instance, a farming machine 100 may include a treatment mechanism 120 that applies a treatment to a plant 104, a substrate 106, or some other object in the operating environment 102”, Applicant Specification ¶ [0068].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 11, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khait et al. (US 11393049 B2, hereafter, "Khait") in view of Fu et al. (US 20210089771 A1, hereafter, "Fu").
Regarding claim 1, Khait teaches a method for treating plants in a field (See Khait, [Abstract], There is provided a system for customized application of herbicides), the method comprising:
accessing a plurality of images of plants in the field as a farming machine travels through the field treating the plants (See Khait, [Col. 10, ln. 11–14], System 100 includes one or more imaging and treatment arrangements 108 connected to an agricultural machine 110, for example, a tractor, an airplane, an off-road vehicle, and a drone. [Col. 10, ln. 47-48], A computing device 104 receives the image(s) from image sensor(s) 112. [Col. 14, ln. 47-50], Optionally, the test images are captured by an imaging sensor at a resolution corresponding to a target resolution of a target imaging sensor that is designed to capture input image(s), as described herein);
applying, to the plurality of images (See Khait, [Col. 21, ln. 58–59], At 604, the test images are fed into a detection pipeline, for example, as described herein) a first plant identification model configured to identify a first class of plant in images (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 30–38], At 506, the input image is fed into an object detector component (e.g., neural network), that generates bounding boxes, each bounding box is associated with a probability value indicating likelihood of respective weed parameter(s) being depicted therein), the first plant identification model identifying plants as the first class of plant by determining first likelihoods the plants are the first class of plant (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 18–21], Reference is now made to FIG. 5, which is a flowchart of an exemplary detection pipeline for detecting one or more weed parameters, in accordance with some embodiments of the present invention. [Col. 20, ln. 30–38], At 506, the input image is fed into an object detector component (e.g., neural network), that generates bounding boxes, each bounding box is associated with a probability value indicating likelihood of respective weed parameter(s) being depicted therein. For example, bounding boxes are generated for specific weed species. The number of boxes may be, for example, over 10, over 25, over 50, and other numbers. It is noted that boxes may overlap, and/or multiple boxes may depict the same object therein);
determining, based on the determined first likelihoods the plants are the first class of plant, a probability that plants in the field are a second class of plant (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 59–66], At 510, the weed parameter(s) identified in the respective bounding box may be re-classified based on the outcome generated by the classifier. For example, the detector identified a weed in a bounding box as a first weed species with probability of 50%, and the classifier, when fed a patch of the bounding box, identified a second weed specifies with probability of 90%. The bounding box is re-classified to include the second weed species. Note: the second class is based on whether the second probability is higher than the first probability);
applying, based on the determination, a second plant identification model configured to identify the second class of plant to the plurality of images (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 47–53], At 508, the bounding boxes, which represent suspicious object proposals (i.e., not clear if an object is depicted therein or not), are fed into a classifier component (e.g., another neural network) that generates another probability indicating a numerical likelihood of the presence of each of multiple weed parameter(s) being depicted in the respective box), the second plant identification model identifying plants as the second class of plant by determining second likelihoods the plants are the second class of plant (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 47–53], At 508, the bounding boxes, which represent suspicious object proposals (i.e., not clear if an object is depicted therein or not), are fed into a classifier component (e.g., another neural network) that generates another probability indicating a numerical likelihood of the presence of each of multiple weed parameter(s) being depicted in the respective box. [Col. 20, ln. 59–66], At 510, the weed parameter(s) identified in the respective bounding box may be re-classified based on the outcome generated by the classifier. For example, the detector identified a weed in a bounding box as a first weed species with probability of 50%, and the classifier, when fed a patch of the bounding box, identified a second weed specifies with probability of 90%. The bounding box is re-classified to include the second weed species); and
[treating, with the farming machine, a plant identified as the second class of plant based on the determined second likelihood the plant is the second class of plant].
However, Khait fail(s) to teach treating, with the farming machine, a plant identified as the second class of plant based on the determined second likelihood the plant is the second class of plant.
Fu, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: treating, with the farming machine, a plant identified as the second class of plant based on the determined second likelihood the plant is the second class of plant (See Fu, ¶ [0081], The farming machine is configured to identify weeds (e.g. second plant type 230) in the field and treat the identified weeds by spraying them with an herbicide).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference to treating, with the farming machine, a plant identified as the second class of plant based on the determined second likelihood the plant is the second class of plant based on the method of Fu’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately rapidly identify plants (See Fu, ¶ [0003–0007]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Fu with Khait to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Khait in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining a probability that the plants in the field are a second class of plants (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 47–53], At 508, the bounding boxes, which represent suspicious object proposals (i.e., not clear if an object is depicted therein or not), are fed into a classifier component (e.g., another neural network) that generates another probability indicating a numerical likelihood of the presence of each of multiple weed parameter(s) being depicted in the respective box) comprises:
for each image in the plurality of images (See Khait, [Col. 10, ln. 11–14], System 100 includes one or more imaging and treatment arrangements 108 connected to an agricultural machine 110, for example, a tractor, an airplane, an off-road vehicle, and a drone. [Col. 10, ln. 47–48], A computing device 104 receives the image(s) from image sensor(s) 112. [Col. 14, ln. 47–50], Optionally, the test images are captured by an imaging sensor at a resolution corresponding to a target resolution of a target imaging sensor that is designed to capture input image(s), as described herein),
determining a first likelihood the image comprises plants of the first class of plant (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 30–38], At 506, the input image is fed into an object detector component (e.g., neural network), that generates bounding boxes, each bounding box is associated with a probability value indicating likelihood of respective weed parameter(s) being depicted therein. For example, bounding boxes are generated for specific weed species. The number of boxes may be, for example, over 10, over 25, over 50, and other numbers. It is noted that boxes may overlap, and/or multiple boxes may depict the same object therein), and
[calculating the probability the plants in the field are the second class based on one or more determined first likelihoods for one or more previous images in the plurality of images].
However, Khait fail(s) to teach calculating the probability the plants in the field are the second class based on one or more determined first likelihoods for one or more previous images in the plurality of images.
Fu, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: calculating the probability the plants in the field are the second class based on one or more determined first likelihoods for one or more previous images in the plurality of images (See Fu, ¶ [0064], FIG. 5 is a representation of a plant identification model based on accessed images and previously identified plants, according to one example embodiment. As described in greater detail below, the plant identification model can identify plants in both ideal and non-ideal operating conditions. The previously identified plants may have been identified by another plant identification model or a human identifier).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference to calculating the probability the plants in the field are the second class based on one or more determined first likelihoods for one or more previous images in the plurality of images based on the method of Fu’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately rapidly identify plants (See Fu, ¶ [0003–0007]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Fu with Khait to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, Khait teaches the method of claim 1, wherein applying the second plant identification model configured to identify the second class of plant to the plurality of images occurs autonomously responsive to the determined probability that plants in the field are a second class of plant being above a threshold probability (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 39–45], For bounding boxes with probabilities higher than a threshold, the process proceeds to 512 (skipping 508 and 510). For example, probability is >90%. Alternatively, for bounding boxes with probabilities lower than the threshold, but optionally higher than a second lower threshold, the process proceeds to 508 (and then 510, before returning to 512). Note: the second lower threshold is being interpreted as the threshold probability. [Col. 20, ln. 47–53], At 508, the bounding boxes, which represent suspicious object proposals (i.e., not clear if an object is depicted therein or not), are fed into a classifier component (e.g., another neural network) that generates another probability indicating a numerical likelihood of the presence of each of multiple weed parameter(s) being depicted in the respective box).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same as claim 1 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to the claim 11, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 1 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Furthermore, Khait teaches a farming machine comprising: an image acquisition system configured to capture images of plants in a field as the farming machine traverses past the plants in the field; a plurality of treatment mechanisms configured to treat identified plants in the field; one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium computer program instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the farming machine to (See Khait, [FIG. 1], Image Sensor(s) 112, Agricultural machine 110, Treatment storage compartment(s) 150, Processor(s) 102, Storage device (e.g., memory) 106).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same as claim 5 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 5 are equally applicable to the claim 15, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 5 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same as claim 1 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to the claim 20, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 1 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Furthermore, Khait teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer program instructions for treating plants in a field, the computer program instructions, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to (See Khait, [FIG. 1], Processor(s) 102, Storage device (e.g., memory) 106).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khait et al. (US 11393049 B2, hereafter, "Khait") in view of Fu et al. (US 20210089771 A1, hereafter, "Fu") further in view of Yayun et al. (See NPL attached, "Deep-CNN based Robotic Multi-Class Under-Canopy Weed Control in Precision Farming", hereafter, "Yayun").
Regarding claim 2, Khait in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 1, [wherein the first plant identification model and the second plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify both the first class of plant and the second class of plant].
However, Khait and Fu fail(s) to teach wherein the first plant identification model and the second plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify both the first class of plant and the second class of plant.
Yayun, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the first plant identification model and the second plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify both the first class of plant and the second class of plant (See Yayun, [Pg. 2275, Col. 2, ln. 39-40], In this section, we illustrate the pipeline for a multi-class weed classification scheme. See also, [FIG. 3]. Note: 3 classes are predicted by the model).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference to wherein the first plant identification model and the second plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify both the first class of plant and the second class of plant based on the method of Yayun’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately identify plant classes (See Yayun, [Fig. 6]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yayun with Khait and Fu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to the claim 12, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khait et al. (US 11393049 B2, hereafter, "Khait") in view of Fu et al. (US 20210089771 A1, hereafter, "Fu") further in view of Sergeev et al. (US 20230252624 A1, hereafter, "Sergeev").
Regarding claim 3, Khait in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein applying, based on the determination, the second plant identification model to the plurality of images (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 47–53], At 508, the bounding boxes, which represent suspicious object proposals (i.e., not clear if an object is depicted therein or not), are fed into a classifier component (e.g., another neural network) that generates another probability indicating a numerical likelihood of the presence of each of multiple weed parameter(s) being depicted in the respective box) comprises [reconfiguring one or more parameters of the first plant identification model and applying the reconfigured first plant identification model to the plurality of images as the second plant identification model].
However, Khait and Fu fail(s) to teach reconfiguring one or more parameters of the first plant identification model and applying the reconfigured first plant identification model to the plurality of images as the second plant identification model.
Sergeev, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: reconfiguring one or more parameters of the first plant identification model and applying the reconfigured first plant identification model to the plurality of images as the second plant identification model (See Sergeev, ¶ [0113], The point detection module may be pretrained at step 1020 using the pretraining image data. Pretraining model weights may be determined at step 1030 based on the pretraining. The pretrained model weights may be more representative of an image dataset (e.g., a weed image dataset, a crop image dataset, a farm image dataset, a region image dataset, a company image dataset, a weed image dataset, or a species image dataset) than weights from the untrained model. The pretrained point detection module may receive labeled image data at step 1040, ... , The point detection module may be trained at step 1050 to identify object parameters (e.g., location, size, category, or type) for objects of interest (e.g., plants, weeds, a type of weed, crops, or a type of crop). Note: Examiner is interpreting the pretraining to the training as the reconfiguring the model to make the second (e.g., more precise) classification).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference reconfiguring one or more parameters of the first plant identification model and applying the reconfigured first plant identification model to the plurality of images as the second plant identification model based on the method of Sergeev’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately identify plant in unpredictable environments (See Sergeev, ¶ [0002–0006]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sergeev with Khait and Fu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Khait in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein applying the first plant identification model to the plurality of images (See Khait, [Col. 21, ln. 58–59], At 604, the test images are fed into a detection pipeline, for example, as described herein) comprises [receiving, from an operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify first class of plants in the field].
However, Khait and Fu fail(s) to teach receiving, from an operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify first class of plants in the field.
Sergeev, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: receiving, from an operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify first class of plants in the field (See Sergeev, ¶ [0125], In some embodiments, a computer system may implement the object identification and targeting methods based on instructions provided by a human user through a detection terminal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference receiving, from an operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify first class of plants in the field based on the method of Sergeev’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately identify plant in unpredictable environments in real time (See Sergeev, ¶ [0002–0006]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sergeev with Khait and Fu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to the claim 13, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to the claim 14, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khait et al. (US 11393049 B2, hereafter, "Khait") in view of Fu et al. (US 20210089771 A1, hereafter, "Fu") further in view of Huapeng et al. (See NPL attached, "Temporal Sequence Object-based CNN (TS-OCNN) for crop classification from fine resolution remote sensing image time-series", hereafter, "Huapeng").
Regarding claim 6, Khait in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein calculating the probability the plants in the field are the second class (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 59–66], At 510, the weed parameter(s) identified in the respective bounding box may be re-classified based on the outcome generated by the classifier. For example, the detector identified a weed in a bounding box as a first weed species with probability of 50%, and the classifier, when fed a patch of the bounding box, identified a second weed specifies with probability of 90%. The bounding box is re-classified to include the second weed species) comprises [applying a smoothing function to the one or more determined first likelihoods for the one or more previous images].
However, Khait and Fu fail(s) to teach wherein applying a smoothing function to the one or more determined first likelihoods for the one or more previous images.
Huapeng, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: applying a smoothing function to the one or more determined first likelihoods for the one or more previous images (See Huapeng, [Pg. 1509, Col. 2, ln. 9–13], Combine represents a function to combine the
i
-
t
h
image
M
i
with the probabilities generated at the previous iteration. In other words, the function combines spatially the bands contained in
P
X
ⅈ
-
1
produced at the previous iteration with those in the
i
-
t
h
image (
M
i
) as the input for current iteration. See also [Fig. 1]. Note: Examiner is interpreting the combining as smoothing the probabilities).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference wherein : applying a smoothing function to the one or more determined first likelihoods for the one or more previous images based on the method of Huapeng’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately classify the crops and refine the predictions (See Huapeng, [Fig. 6]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Huapeng with Khait and Fu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Khait in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
[determining, based on the determined second likelihoods the plants are the second class of plant, an additional probability that plants in the field are a third class of plant;
applying, based on the probability, a third plant identification model configured to identify the third class of plant to the plurality of images, the third plant identification model identifying plants as the third class of plant by determining third likelihoods the plants are the third class of plant]; and
treating, with the farming machine, a different plant identified as the third class of plant based on the determined third likelihood the plant is the third class of plants (See Khait, [Col. 22, ln. 10-16], For example, weed parameters which are accurately detected and/or classified by the detection pipeline, such as when the probability values are above a threshold, are identified. A specific substance, optionally an herbicide, is selected for each identified weed parameter).
However, Khait and Fu fail(s) to teach determining, based on the determined second likelihoods the plants are the second class of plant, an additional probability that plants in the field are a third class of plant; applying, based on the probability, a third plant identification model configured to identify the third class of plant to the plurality of images, the third plant identification model identifying plants as the third class of plant by determining third likelihoods the plants are the third class of plant.
Huapeng, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: determining, based on the determined second likelihoods the plants are the second class of plant, an additional probability that plants in the field are a third class of plant (See Huapeng, [Pg. 1509, Col. 1, ln. 17-19], The general procedure of the TS-OCNN approach is demonstrated in Fig. 1, in which crop classifications are refined gradually along with the temporal sequence of image time-series. [Pg. 1509, Col. 2, ln. 9–13], Combine represents a function to combine the i-th image M_i with the probabilities generated at the previous iteration. In other words, the function combines spatially the bands contained in P(X)^(ⅈ-1) produced at the previous iteration with those in the i-th image (M_i) as the input for current iteration. See also [Fig. 1]. Note: Multiple classifications are made in FIG. 1 of the crop. At least three. The Examiner is interpreting the refined classification as a first, second and third probability);
applying, based on the probability, a third plant identification model configured to identify the third class of plant to the plurality of images, the third plant identification model identifying plants as the third class of plant by determining third likelihoods the plants are the third class of plant (See Huapeng, [Pg. 1509, Col. 2, ln. 9–13], Combine represents a function to combine the i-th image M_i with the probabilities generated at the previous iteration. In other words, the function combines spatially the bands contained in P(X)^(ⅈ-1) produced at the previous iteration with those in the i-th image (M_i) as the input for current iteration. See also [Fig. 1]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference determining, based on the determined second likelihoods the plants are the second class of plant, an additional probability that plants in the field are a third class of plant; applying, based on the probability, a third plant identification model configured to identify the third class of plant to the plurality of images, the third plant identification model identifying plants as the third class of plant by determining third likelihoods the plants are the third class of plant based on the method of Huapeng’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately classify the crops and refine the predictions (See Huapeng, [Fig. 6]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Huapeng with Khait and Fu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same as claim 6 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 6 are equally applicable to the claim 16, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 6 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same as claim 7 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 7 are equally applicable to the claim 17, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 7 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khait et al. (US 11393049 B2, hereafter, "Khait") in view of Fu et al. (US 20210089771 A1, hereafter, "Fu") further in view of Huapeng et al. (See NPL attached, "Temporal Sequence Object-based CNN (TS-OCNN) for crop classification from fine resolution remote sensing image time-series", hereafter, "Huapeng") and further in view of Yayun et al. (See NPL attached, "Deep-CNN based Robotic Multi-Class Under-Canopy Weed Control in Precision Farming", hereafter, "Yayun").
Regarding claim 8, Khait in view of Fu further in view of Huapeng teaches the method of claim 7, [wherein the first plant identification model, the second plant identification model, and the third plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify the first class of plant, the second class of plant, and the third class of plant].
However, Khait, Fu and Huapeng fail(s) to teach wherein the first plant identification model, the second plant identification model, and the third plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify the first class of plant, the second class of plant, and the third class of plant.
Yayun, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the first plant identification model, the second plant identification model, and the third plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify the first class of plant, the second class of plant, and the third class of plant (See Yayun, [Pg. 2275, Col. 2, ln. 39–40], In this section, we illustrate the pipeline for a multi-class weed classification scheme. See also, [FIG. 3]. Note: 3 classes are predicted by the model).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference wherein the first plant identification model, the second plant identification model, and the third plant identification model are a single plant identification model configured to identify the first class of plant, the second class of plant, and the third class of plant based on the method of Yayun’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately identify plant classes (See Yayun, [Fig. 6]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yayun with Khait, Fu and Huapeng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same as claim 8 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 8 are equally applicable to the claim 18, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 8 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khait et al. (US 11393049 B2, hereafter, "Khait") in view of Fu et al. (US 20210089771 A1, hereafter, "Fu") further in view of Miresmailli et al. (US 20170032258 A1, hereafter, "Miresmailli") and further in view of Sergeev et al. (US 20230252624 A1, hereafter, "Sergeev").
Regarding claim 9, Khait in view of Fu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein applying, based on the determination, the second plant identification model configured to identify the second class of plant to the plurality of images (See Khait, [Col. 20, ln. 47–53], At 508, the bounding boxes, which represent suspicious object proposals (i.e., not clear if an object is depicted therein or not), are fed into a classifier component (e.g., another neural network) that generates another probability indicating a numerical likelihood of the presence of each of multiple weed parameter(s) being depicted in the respective box) comprises:
[transmitting, to an operator of the farming machine, a notification comprising the determined probability that plants in the field are the second class of plant; and
receiving, from the operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify plants of the second class of plants in the field].
However, Khait and Fu fail(s) to teach transmitting, to an operator of the farming machine, a notification comprising the determined probability that plants in the field are the second class of plant; and receiving, from the operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify plants of the second class of plants in the field;
Miresmailli, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: transmitting, to an operator of the farming machine, a notification comprising the determined probability that plants in the field are the second class of plant (See Miresmailli, ¶ [0108], At 1040 information about the crop is transmitted to a non-expert, such as 585 in FIG. 5. For example, this information could be delivered to a worker each morning to guide the worker to specific areas of the crop that need intervention based on analysis and classification of sensor data gathered overnight for the entire crop by mobile sensory platform 510 performing activity 900).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference to transmitting, to an operator of the farming machine, a notification comprising the determined probability that plants in the field are the second class of plant based on the method of Miresmailli’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately and timely predict classifications of the crops (See Miresmailli, ¶ [0002–0008]).
However, Khait, Fu and Miresmailli fail(s) to teach receiving, from the operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify plants of the second class of plants in the field.
Sergeev, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: receiving, from the operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify plants of the second class of plants in the field (See Sergeev, ¶ [0125], In some embodiments, a computer system may implement the object identification and targeting methods based on instructions provided by a human user through a detection terminal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khait’s reference to receiving, from the operator of the farming machine, an instruction to identify plants of the second class of plants in the field based on the method of Sergeev’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately identify plant in unpredictable environments (See Sergeev, ¶ [0002–0006]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Miresmailli and Sergeev with Khait and Fu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same as claim 9 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 9 are equally applicable to the claim 19, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 9 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Redden et al. (US 20180330166 A1) teaches a plant treatment platform uses a plant detection model to detect plants as the plant treatment platform travels through a field. The plant treatment platform receives image data from a camera that captures images of plants (e.g., crops or weeds) growing in the field. The plant treatment platform applies pre-processing functions to the image data to prepare the image data for processing by the plant detection model. For example, the plant treatment platform may reformat the image data, adjust the resolution or aspect ratio, or crop the image data. The plant treatment platform applies the plant detection model to the pre-processed image data to generate bounding boxes for the plants. The plant treatment platform then can apply treatment to the plants based on the output of the machine-learned model.
Redden et al. (US 20210307227 A1) teaches a method of real-time plant selection and removal from a plant field including capturing a first image of a first section of the plant field, segmenting the first image into regions indicative of individual plants within the first section, selecting the optimal plants for retention from the first image based on the first image and the previously thinned plant field sections, sending instructions to the plant removal mechanism for removal of the plants corresponding to the unselected regions of the first image from the second section before the machine passes the unselected regions, and repeating the aforementioned steps for a second section of the plant field adjacent the first section in the direction of machine travel.
/DION J SATCHER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676