Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter (GB 2513884 A, hereinafter "Carter") in view of Koyoma (10.1109/ULTSYM.2010.5935605, hereinafter “Koyoma”).
Regarding claim 15, Carter teaches a method comprising: producing an acoustic field from a first transducer having a first orientation and a second transducer having a second orientation, wherein the first transducer is positioned relative to the second transducer; (see page 7, line 20-29; page 16, line 25-27: producing an acoustic field, comprising an array of transducers having known relative positions and orientations. An array of transducers is arranged to produce the acoustic field, comprising one or more transducers in any suitable configuration, for example one or more two dimensional arrays arranged in parallel. Hence, a first and second transducer producing an acoustic field, having orientations where they are positioned relative to another.)
defining a first control point relative to the first transducer and the second transducer; (see page 7, line 24-29: compute control points, which each have a known spatial relationship relative to the array of transducers, which may be relative to a first and second transducer.)
defining a second control point relative to the first transducer and the second transducer; (see page 7, line 24-29: compute control points, which each have a known spatial relationship relative to the array of transducers, which may be relative to a first and second transducer.)
producing an acoustic radiation force at the first control point and the second control point using the first transducer and the second transducer, (see page 16, line 11-21: produce an acoustic radiation force at the control points)
However, Carter is silent to wherein the acoustic radiation force causes the shape of an object within the acoustic field to be modified to be one of a convex shape and a concave shape
Koyoma teaches wherein the acoustic radiation force causes the shape of an object within the acoustic field to be modified to be one of a convex shape and a concave shape. (see Fig. 1, page 1-3: an acoustic force from a speaker to control an object such as a liquid lens, which would deform the cylindrical cell lens into a convex or concave shape in response to a positive or negative acoustic pressure from an acoustic field.)
Carter and Koyoma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of mechanical manipulation, involving acoustic radiation forces through electric or acoustic means to deform (acoustic) lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of an acoustic energy to deform a lens of Koyoma to Carter teaching the speaker array with control points for generating an acoustic force on an object in order to adjust the acoustic intensity and control points of the array by changing the curvature of the liquid interface at a high speed.
Regarding claim 16, Carter is silent to a liquid-based lens.
However, Koyoma teaches the object is a liquid-based lens. (see Fig. 1: liquid based lens)
Carter and Koyoma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of mechanical manipulation, involving acoustic radiation forces through electric or acoustic means to deform (acoustic) lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Koyoma to Carter in order to adjust the acoustic intensity and control points of the array by changing the curvature of the liquid interface at a high speed and allows reshaping of the liquid based lens’ curvature without mechanical moving parts.
Regarding claim 17, Carter is silent to the acoustic radiation force is calibrated to modify the shape of the liquid-based lens so as to alter the optical effects of the liquid-based lens.
Koyoma teaches the acoustic radiation force is calibrated to modify the shape of the liquid-based lens so as to alter the optical effects of the liquid-based lens. (see Fig. 1, page 2-3, IV. "Lens Performance": liquid based lens - acoustic energy, or radiation force, acting on the interface will be deformed, or altered, from the deficiency of an optical lens and the misalignment between the optical and sound axes.)
Carter and Koyoma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of mechanical manipulation, involving acoustic radiation forces through electric or acoustic means to deform (acoustic) lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Koyoma to Carter in order to adjust the acoustic intensity and control points of the array by changing the curvature of the liquid interface at a high speed and allows reshaping of the liquid based lens’ curvature without mechanical moving parts.
Regarding claim 22-24, the claimed limitations are a system claim directly corresponding to the method claim 15-17 respectively; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 15-17 as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4-6 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose a distribution of control points (recited as a first and a second control point) to controllably modify the shape of an object into a specific geometry, such as a convex or a concave shape. The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, Carter in view of Koyoma clearly teaches a method comprising: producing an acoustic field from a first transducer having a first orientation and a second transducer having a second orientation, wherein the first transducer is positioned relative to the second transducer; (see page 7, line 20-29; page 16, line 25-27: producing an acoustic field, comprising an array of transducers having known relative positions and orientations. An array of transducers is arranged to produce the acoustic field, comprising one or more transducers in any suitable configuration, for example one or more two dimensional arrays arranged in parallel. Hence, a first and second transducer producing an acoustic field, having orientations where they are positioned relative to another.)
defining a first control point relative to the first transducer and the second transducer; (see page 7, line 24-29: compute control points, which each have a known spatial relationship relative to the array of transducers, which may be relative to a first and second transducer.)
defining a second control point relative to the first transducer and the second transducer; (see page 7, line 24-29: compute control points, which each have a known spatial relationship relative to the array of transducers, which may be relative to a first and second transducer.)
producing an acoustic radiation force at the first control point and the second control point using the first transducer and the second transducer, (see page 16, line 11-21: produce an acoustic radiation force at the control points)
However, Carter is silent to wherein the acoustic radiation force causes the shape of an object within the acoustic field to be modified to be one of a convex shape and a concave shape
Koyoma teaches wherein the acoustic radiation force causes the shape of an object within the acoustic field to be modified to be one of a convex shape and a concave shape. (see Fig. 1, page 1-3: an acoustic force from a speaker to control an object such as a liquid lens, which would deform the cylindrical cell lens into a convex or concave shape in response to a positive or negative acoustic pressure from an acoustic field.)
Carter and Koyoma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of mechanical manipulation, involving acoustic radiation forces through electric or acoustic means to deform (acoustic) lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of an acoustic energy to deform a lens of Koyoma to Carter teaching the speaker array with control points for generating an acoustic force on an object in order to adjust the acoustic intensity and control points of the array by changing the curvature of the liquid interface at a high speed.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. Additionally, the motivation to combine does not have to be the same as the applicant's. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of the reference may be bodily incorporated into the other to produce the claimed subject matter but simply what the references make obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. In Re Bozek, 163 USPQ 545, (CCPA 1969); In re Richman 165 USPQ 509, (CCPA 1970); In re Beckum, 169 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1971); In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 218 USPQ 385.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNABELLE KANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695