DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are pending examination.
Claims 11 is Allowed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/28/2023 have been considered.
Reason for Allowance
1. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior art made of record fails to teach the limitations underlined within the independent claims mentioned below.
Regarding claim 11, The management apparatus according to The management apparatus according to wherein: the at least one processor executes a measurement control process of measuring a shape of an object in an area surrounding one of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses by (a) causing the one of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses to emit pulsed light in a plurality of directions “(b) causing the one of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses to receive reflected light of the pulsed light; and in a case where the at least one processor detects movement of the target in the detection process, the at least one processor measures, in the measurement control process, a shape of the target and specifies, on a basis of a result of the measurement, at least one of the target, a position of the target, the number of the targets, and an orientation of the target. “
Regarding claim 11, Erkmen et al. teaches The management apparatus according to The management apparatus according( Controller for managing the nodes(balloon) within the mesh network shown within Figure 1 and 2 taught within Paragraph [0032]- “…A controller can be used to identify a centroid position of the light illuminating the array, and adjust the steering mirror to cause the centroid position to move toward a target location corresponding to the first or second orientations, depending on the mode of operation. The first and second approximate orientations, and corresponding target locations on the photo-sensitive array may be determined in part during a calibration routine,…”) to wherein: the at least one processor executes a measurement control process of measuring a shape of an object in an area surrounding one of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses by ( Paragraphs [0117-0120]- “…the controller 550 may obtain a measurement of an illumination pattern on the photo-sensitive array 516, determine an adjustment to the orientation of the steering mirror 502 that would shift the illumination pattern closer to a desired target location, and then instruct the positioning system 504 accordingly. Moreover, the controller 550 may operate on an ongoing basis to adjust the steering mirror 502 and thereby track subtle changes in the direction of the incident light due to relative movement of the remote terminal,…”)
Within analogous art, Raring et al. teaches (a) causing the one of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses ( Paragraph [0331-0332]- “…guided by free space optical path or a fiber coupled optical path to the target subject or area….” ) to emit pulsed light in a plurality of directions ( Paragraph [0481]- “… laser diodes 3103 to generate pulses of certain frequencies in the emitted laser light…”)
Combination of the prior arts mentioned above does not explicitly teach: “(b) causing the one of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses to receive reflected light of the pulsed light; and in a case where the at least one processor detects movement of the target in the detection process, the at least one processor measures, in the measurement control process, a shape of the target and specifies, on a basis of a result of the measurement, at least one of the target, a position of the target, the number of the targets, and an orientation of the target. “
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
2. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being unpatentable over Erkmen et al. ( USPUB 20150244458).
As per claim 13, Erkmen et al. teaches The management apparatus according to The management apparatus ( Controller for managing the nodes(balloon) within the mesh network shown within Figure 1 and 2 taught within Paragraph [0032]- “…A controller can be used to identify a centroid position of the light illuminating the array, and adjust the steering mirror to cause the centroid position to move toward a target location corresponding to the first or second orientations, depending on the mode of operation. The first and second approximate orientations, and corresponding target locations on the photo-sensitive array may be determined in part during a calibration routine,…”) according to wherein: the at least one processor further executes a recording process of recording, in time series, a detection result given by the detection process (The Recording process in time series is interpreted as the particular target locations and position data during calibration routine taught within Paragraphs [0118-0119]- “…The position data 558 may include stored indications of particular target locations on the photo-sensitive array that correspond to the two different modes of full duplex communication. The position data 558 may therefore be established during a calibration routine, for example. The input/output ports 554 function to receive data from the orientation feedback system 514 and also to provide command instructions to the mirror positioning system 504…”) .
3. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being unpatentable over Omer (USPUB 20210099835).
As per claim 15, Omer teaches The management apparatus according to The management apparatus( Controller for managing the nodes(balloon) within the mesh network shown within Figure 1 and 2 taught within Paragraph [0032]- “…A controller can be used to identify a centroid position of the light illuminating the array, and adjust the steering mirror to cause the centroid position to move toward a target location corresponding to the first or second orientations, depending on the mode of operation. The first and second approximate orientations, and corresponding target locations on the photo-sensitive array may be determined in part during a calibration routine,…”) according to wherein: the at least one processor specifies a position of a pedestrian in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process ( Paragraph [0039]- “…when a person 106 moves in the first motion detection zone 110A and the third motion detection zone 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they receive that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection zones 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both the first and third motion detection zones 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the third motion detection zone 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the first motion detection zone 110A. In some cases, lack of motion by the person 106 and, in other cases, the presence of the person 106 when the person 106 is not detected to be moving, …”) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1,5,6,7,8,9,14,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Erkmen et al. ( USPUB 20150244458) in view of Omer (USPUB 20210099835).
As per claim 1, Erkmen et al. teaches A free space optical communication system ( Figure 1 and 2 AND Paragraph [0044]- “…a downlink balloon may be equipped with a specialized, high-bandwidth RF communication system for balloon-to-ground communications, instead of, or in addition to, a free-space optical communication system….”) comprising:
a plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses constituting a meshed-form free space optical communication network ( Figure 1 – Mesh network , further taught within Paragraph [0049]- “…balloons 102A to 102F may collectively function as a mesh network. More specifically, since balloons 102A to 102F may communicate with one another using free-space optical links, the balloons may collectively function as a free-space optical mesh network…”) ; and
Erkmen et al. does not explicitly teach at least one processor, the at least one processor executing a detection process of detecting movement of a target in an area of the meshed- form free space optical communication network on a basis of light reception states of the respective plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses.
However, within analogous art, Omer teaches at least one processor, the at least one processor executing ( Paragraph [0138]- “… implemented using a system that includes the wireless mesh network and its AP nodes (or leaf nodes, if present), one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the system to perform operations of the methods and their variations….”) a detection process of detecting movement of a target in an area of the meshed- form free space optical communication network on a basis of light reception states of the respective plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses ( FIG. 2A and 2B showing the target object movement within the meshed network and further taught within Paragraph [0040]- “… the wireless communication channel for network traffic) are used to detect movement or lack of movement of an object in a space, and may be used to detect the presence (or absence) of an object in the space when there is a lack of movement detected. The objects can be any type of static or moveable object, and can be living or inanimate. For example, the object can be a human (e.g., the person 106 shown in FIG. 1), an animal, an inorganic object, or another device, apparatus, or assembly, an object that defines all or part of the boundary of a space (e.g., a wall, door, window, etc.), …” AND Paragraph [0041]- “…One of the wireless communication devices 102A, 102B, 102C of the motion detection system may operate as a central hub or server for processing received signals and other information to detect motion and/or presence…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Omer within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. because the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer provides a method and system for implementation of detection of motion of object within free space communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. for implementing a system and method for detection of motion of object within free space communication system.
As per claim 5, Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 1,
Erkmen et al. teaches wherein: the at least one processor further executes a recording process of recording, in time series, a detection result given by the detection process (The Recording process in time series is interpreted as the particular target locations and position data during calibration routine taught within Paragraphs [0118-0119]- “…The position data 558 may include stored indications of particular target locations on the photo-sensitive array that correspond to the two different modes of full duplex communication. The position data 558 may therefore be established during a calibration routine, for example. The input/output ports 554 function to receive data from the orientation feedback system 514 and also to provide command instructions to the mirror positioning system 504…”) .
As per claim 6, Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 1,
Within analogous art, Omer teaches wherein: the at least one processor tracks an invader in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process ( FIG. 2A-2B AND Paragraph [0070]- “… the link strength estimator 412 tracks the statistical properties of one or more respective motion indicator values over successive time frames. The statistical property may allow the link strength estimator 412 to gauge an excitation strength and corresponding dynamic range of a wireless link..”) .
As per claim 7, Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 1,
Within analogous art, Omer teaches wherein: the at least one processor specifies a position of a pedestrian in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process ( Paragraph [0039]- “…when a person 106 moves in the first motion detection zone 110A and the third motion detection zone 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they receive that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection zones 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both the first and third motion detection zones 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the third motion detection zone 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the first motion detection zone 110A. In some cases, lack of motion by the person 106 and, in other cases, the presence of the person 106 when the person 106 is not detected to be moving, …”) .
As per claim 8, Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 1,
Within analogous art, Omer teaches wherein: the at least one processor switches, according to a time, whether an invader in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network is to be tracked on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process ( FIG. 2A-2B AND Paragraph [0070]- “… the link strength estimator 412 tracks the statistical properties of one or more respective motion indicator values over successive time frames. The statistical property may allow the link strength estimator 412 to gauge an excitation strength and corresponding dynamic range of a wireless link..”) or a position of a pedestrian in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network is to be specified on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process ( Paragraph [0039]- “…when a person 106 moves in the first motion detection zone 110A and the third motion detection zone 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they receive that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection zones 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both the first and third motion detection zones 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the third motion detection zone 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the first motion detection zone 110A. In some cases, lack of motion by the person 106 and, in other cases, the presence of the person 106 when the person 106 is not detected to be moving, …”) .
As per claim 9, Erkmen et al. teaches A management apparatus ( Controller for managing the nodes(balloon) within the mesh network shown within Figure 1 and 2 taught within Paragraph [0032]- “…A controller can be used to identify a centroid position of the light illuminating the array, and adjust the steering mirror to cause the centroid position to move toward a target location corresponding to the first or second orientations, depending on the mode of operation. The first and second approximate orientations, and corresponding target locations on the photo-sensitive array may be determined in part during a calibration routine,…”) comprising: at least one processor ( Paragraph [0075]- “…executed by the processor 313 in order to carry out the balloon functions described herein. Thus, processor 313, in conjunction with instructions stored in memory 314, and/or other components, may function as a controller of balloon 300….”),
Erkmen et al. does not explicitly teach the at least one processor executing a detection process of detecting movement of a target in an area of a meshed-form free space optical communication network on a basis of light reception states of a respective plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses constituting the meshed-form free space optical communication network.
However, within analogous art, Omer teaches the at least one processor executing ( Paragraph [0138]- “… implemented using a system that includes the wireless mesh network and its AP nodes (or leaf nodes, if present), one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the system to perform operations of the methods and their variations….”) a detection process of detecting movement of a target in an area of a meshed-form free space optical communication network on a basis of light reception states of a respective plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses constituting the meshed-form free space optical communication network ( FIG. 2A and 2B showing the target object movement within the meshed network and further taught within Paragraph [0040]- “… the wireless communication channel for network traffic) are used to detect movement or lack of movement of an object in a space, and may be used to detect the presence (or absence) of an object in the space when there is a lack of movement detected. The objects can be any type of static or moveable object, and can be living or inanimate. For example, the object can be a human (e.g., the person 106 shown in FIG. 1), an animal, an inorganic object, or another device, apparatus, or assembly, an object that defines all or part of the boundary of a space (e.g., a wall, door, window, etc.), …” AND Paragraph [0041]- “…One of the wireless communication devices 102A, 102B, 102C of the motion detection system may operate as a central hub or server for processing received signals and other information to detect motion and/or presence…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Omer within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. because the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer provides a method and system for implementation of detection of motion of object within free space communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. for implementing a system and method for detection of motion of object within free space communication system.
As per claim 14, Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 9,
Within analogous art, Omer teaches wherein: the at least one processor tracks an invader in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process( FIG. 2A-2B AND Paragraph [0070]- “… the link strength estimator 412 tracks the statistical properties of one or more respective motion indicator values over successive time frames. The statistical property may allow the link strength estimator 412 to gauge an excitation strength and corresponding dynamic range of a wireless link..”) .
As per claim 16, Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 9,
Within analogous art, Omer teaches wherein :the at least one processor switches, according to a time, whether an invader in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network is to be tracked on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process ( FIG. 2A-2B AND Paragraph [0070]- “… the link strength estimator 412 tracks the statistical properties of one or more respective motion indicator values over successive time frames. The statistical property may allow the link strength estimator 412 to gauge an excitation strength and corresponding dynamic range of a wireless link..”) or a position of a pedestrian in the area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network is to be specified on a basis of a detection result given by the detection process ( Paragraph [0039]- “…when a person 106 moves in the first motion detection zone 110A and the third motion detection zone 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they receive that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection zones 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both the first and third motion detection zones 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the third motion detection zone 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the first motion detection zone 110A. In some cases, lack of motion by the person 106 and, in other cases, the presence of the person 106 when the person 106 is not detected to be moving, …”) .
As per claim 17, Erkmen et al. teaches A free space optical communication apparatus which is included in a plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses constituting a meshed-form free space optical communication network (Free space optical mesh communication taught within Paragraphs [0049-0050]- “…balloons 102A to 102F may collectively function as a mesh network. More specifically, since balloons 102A to 102F may communicate with one another using free-space optical links, the balloons may collectively function as a free-space optical mesh network….”) , the free space optical communication apparatus comprising:
at least one processor ( Paragraph [0075]- “…executed by the processor 313 in order to carry out the balloon functions described herein. Thus, processor 313, in conjunction with instructions stored in memory 314, and/or other components, may function as a controller of balloon 300….”), the at least one processor executing a detection process of detecting ( Paragraphs [0093-0094]- “… fixed optical components 422 include one or more laser light sources 424 for emitting data modulated light and one or more laser light detectors 426, for detecting received light. Signals from the detector(s) 426 can then be used to extract incoming data in accordance with the modulation of the received light. …”) , on a basis of a light reception state of the free space optical communication apparatus( Figure 4A-4B showing a mesh optical network and the communication of optical signal based on light reception by the optical communication terminals taught within Paragraphs [0089-0091]- “…and detect the modulation of received signals. The two terminals 403a, 407b can also include wavelength-specific light sources, such as laser diodes and/or lasers that are configured to emit data modulated light at either from the transmitted signals .lamda.1 or .lamda.2. Thus, the optical communication terminal 403a is configured to emit light at wavelength .lamda.1 that is indicative of output data and to simultaneously detect light at wavelength .lamda.2 that is indicative of input data. In a complementary fashion, the optical communication terminal 407b is configured to emit light at .lamda.2 that is indicative of output data and to simultaneously detect light at .lamda.1 that is indicative of input data. In combination then, the optical communication terminals 403a, 407b form a complementary pair that allow for bi-directional (full duplex) data communication between the balloons 402, 406 over lightpath 414….”), movement of a target which is in a vicinity of the free space optical communication apparatus in an area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network.
Erkmen et al. does not explicitly teach the at least one processor executing a detection process of detecting , on a basis of a light reception state of the free space optical communication apparatus, movement of a target which is in a vicinity of the free space optical communication apparatus in an area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network.
However, within analogous art, Omer teaches the at least one processor executing ( Paragraph [0138]- “… implemented using a system that includes the wireless mesh network and its AP nodes (or leaf nodes, if present), one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the system to perform operations of the methods and their variations….”) a detection process of detecting , on a basis of a light reception state of the free space optical communication apparatus ( FIG. 2A and 2B showing the target object movement within the meshed network and further taught within Paragraph [0040]- “… the wireless communication channel for network traffic) are used to detect movement or lack of movement of an object in a space, and may be used to detect the presence (or absence) of an object in the space when there is a lack of movement detected. The objects can be any type of static or moveable object, and can be living or inanimate. For example, the object can be a human (e.g., the person 106 shown in FIG. 1), an animal, an inorganic object, or another device, apparatus, or assembly, an object that defines all or part of the boundary of a space (e.g., a wall, door, window, etc.), …” AND Paragraph [0041]- “…One of the wireless communication devices 102A, 102B, 102C of the motion detection system may operate as a central hub or server for processing received signals and other information to detect motion and/or presence…”) , movement of a target which is in a vicinity of the free space optical communication apparatus in an area of the meshed-form free space optical communication network ( Paragraph [0037]- “…moving object, which may allow the moving object's movement to be detected without an optical line-of-sight between the moving object and the transmission or receiving hardware. In some cases, the wireless signals, when received by a wireless communication device, e.g. 102C, may indicate lack of motion in a space, for example, that an object is not moving, or no longer moving, in the space…” And Paragraph [0065]- “…the data processing apparatus may be communicatively-coupled to the wireless communication network through a data connection (e.g., a wireless connection, a copper-wired connection, a fiber optic connection, etc.). The data processing apparatus may receive a data structure associated with a time frame, as shown by line 402. The data structure 402 may map the plurality of wireless links with their respective motion indicator values for the time frame…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Omer within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. because the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer provides a method and system for implementation of detection of motion of object within free space communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. for implementing a system and method for detection of motion of object within free space communication system.
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Erkmen et al. (USPUB 20150244458) in view of Omer (USPUB 20210099835) in further view of Raring et al. (USPUB 20190179016).
As per claim 2,Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 1,
Erkmen et al. teaches wherein: the at least one processor executes a communication control ( Paragraph [0075]- “…executed by the processor 313 in order to carry out the balloon functions described herein. Thus, processor 313, in conjunction with instructions stored in memory 314, and/or other components, may function as a controller of balloon 300….”) process of controlling free space optical communication in the meshed-form free space optical communication network ( Paragraphs [0088-0089]- “…first balloon 402 with multiple optical communication terminals 403a, 404b; a second balloon 406 with multiple optical communication terminals 407b, 408b; and a third balloon 410 with multiple optical communication terminals 411a, 412a. To form a mesh network amongst balloons in the network 400, each given balloon 402, 406, 410 in the network may send and receive optical signals between one another. …” AND Paragraph [0095]- “…the light detector(s) 426, the optical communication terminal 420 may also include a variety of optical elements (e.g., lenses, filters, reflectors, fibers, apertures, etc.) aligned to provide optical pathway and a controller implemented with one or more hardware…”) ;and in a case where free space optical communication on a free space optical communication path between two of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses is interrupted ( The interruption of the mesh optical free space communication path is interpreted and taught within the free space optical communication structure path change within Paragraph [0096]- “…As the positions of the balloon change relative to one another, new optical communication links may be formed to accommodate a new configuration. Moreover, the population of balloons in the network 400 may change over time, as balloons are retired from the network, or move too far away for line-of-sight optical connections, and/or as balloons are added to the network, or enter a region where line-of-sight optical connections are possible. …”) ,
Erkmen et al. does not explicitly teach (a) the at least one processor detects, in the detection process, that the target has moved across the free space optical communication path and (b) the at least one processor switches, in the communication control process, the free space optical communication carried out via the free space optical communication path to free space optical communication carried out via an alternative path.
However, within analogous art, Raring et al. teaches (a) the at least one processor detects, in the detection process ( Paragraph [0396]- “… processor implements object identification, motion vector determination, collision prediction, and avoidance strategies. The LIDAR unit is well-suited to imaging, and can provide a 360° view by using a rotating system, a scanning mirror system, pr a multiple sensor assembly. High-speed and high-power laser pulses that are timed with the responses of a detector to calculate the distances to an object from the reflected light….”) , that the target has moved across the free space optical communication path ( Figure 39C-D showing the moving of the target from one communication path to the other , further taught within Paragraphs [0626]) and (b) the at least one processor switches, in the communication control process ( Paragraph [0407]- “… the processing unit 2702 may modify the signal characteristics to the laser driver 2703 to optimize the LIDAR performance or alternate operational modes…”) , the free space optical communication carried out via the free space optical communication path to free space optical communication carried out via an alternative path ( Paragraph [0473]- “…In alternative configurations, the LIDAR sensing laser emission, 1609, may follow a different optical pathway that does not interact with the wavelength converter member, 1602….” And Paragraph [0502]- “…the beam shaper 1508 the light is formulated as a communication signal to propagate either through free-space or via a waveguide such as an optical fiber….”) ) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Raring et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. and the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer because the Integrated laser lighting and lidar system mentioned by Raring et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical light communication system for surrounding object detection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Integrated laser lighting and lidar system mentioned by Raring et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. and the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer for implementing a system and method for optical light communication system for surrounding object detection.
6. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Erkmen et al. (USPUB 20150244458) in view of Raring et al. (USPUB 20190179016).
As per claim 10, Erkmen et al. teaches The management apparatus according to The management apparatus( Controller for managing the nodes(balloon) within the mesh network shown within Figure 1 and 2 taught within Paragraph [0032]- “…A controller can be used to identify a centroid position of the light illuminating the array, and adjust the steering mirror to cause the centroid position to move toward a target location corresponding to the first or second orientations, depending on the mode of operation. The first and second approximate orientations, and corresponding target locations on the photo-sensitive array may be determined in part during a calibration routine,…”) according to wherein: the at least one processor executes a communication control ( Paragraph [0075]- “…executed by the processor 313 in order to carry out the balloon functions described herein. Thus, processor 313, in conjunction with instructions stored in memory 314, and/or other components, may function as a controller of balloon 300….”) process of controlling free space optical communication in the meshed-form free space optical communication network( Paragraphs [0088-0089]- “…first balloon 402 with multiple optical communication terminals 403a, 404b; a second balloon 406 with multiple optical communication terminals 407b, 408b; and a third balloon 410 with multiple optical communication terminals 411a, 412a. To form a mesh network amongst balloons in the network 400, each given balloon 402, 406, 410 in the network may send and receive optical signals between one another. …” AND Paragraph [0095]- “…the light detector(s) 426, the optical communication terminal 420 may also include a variety of optical elements (e.g., lenses, filters, reflectors, fibers, apertures, etc.) aligned to provide optical pathway and a controller implemented with one or more hardware…”) ; and in a case where free space optical communication on a free space optical communication path between two of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses is interrupted( The interruption of the mesh optical free space communication path is interpreted and taught within the free space optical communication structure path change within Paragraph [0096]- “…As the positions of the balloon change relative to one another, new optical communication links may be formed to accommodate a new configuration. Moreover, the population of balloons in the network 400 may change over time, as balloons are retired from the network, or move too far away for line-of-sight optical connections, and/or as balloons are added to the network, or enter a region where line-of-sight optical connections are possible. …”),
Erkmen et al. does not explicitly teach (a) the at least one processor detects, in the detection process, that the target has moved across the free space optical communication path and (b) the at least one processor switches, in the communication control process, the free space optical communication carried out via the free space optical communication path to free space optical communication carried out via an alternative path.
However, within analogous art, Raring et al. teaches (a) the at least one processor detects, in the detection process ( Paragraph [0396]- “… processor implements object identification, motion vector determination, collision prediction, and avoidance strategies. The LIDAR unit is well-suited to imaging, and can provide a 360° view by using a rotating system, a scanning mirror system, pr a multiple sensor assembly. High-speed and high-power laser pulses that are timed with the responses of a detector to calculate the distances to an object from the reflected light….”) , that the target has moved across the free space optical communication path ( Figure 39C-D showing the moving of the target from one communication path to the other , further taught within Paragraphs [0626]) and (b) the at least one processor switches, in the communication control process ( Paragraph [0407]- “… the processing unit 2702 may modify the signal characteristics to the laser driver 2703 to optimize the LIDAR performance or alternate operational modes…”) , the free space optical communication carried out via the free space optical communication path to free space optical communication carried out via an alternative path ( Paragraph [0473]- “…In alternative configurations, the LIDAR sensing laser emission, 1609, may follow a different optical pathway that does not interact with the wavelength converter member, 1602….” And Paragraph [0502]- “…the beam shaper 1508 the light is formulated as a communication signal to propagate either through free-space or via a waveguide such as an optical fiber….”) ) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Raring et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. because the Integrated laser lighting and lidar system mentioned by Raring et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical light communication system for surrounding object detection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Integrated laser lighting and lidar system mentioned by Raring et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. for implementing a system and method for optical light communication system for surrounding object detection.
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Erkmen et al. (USPUB 20150244458) in view of DeVaul et al. (USPUB 20130177322).
As per claim 12, Erkmen et al. teaches The management apparatus according to The management apparatus ( Controller for managing the nodes(balloon) within the mesh network shown within Figure 1 and 2 taught within Paragraph [0032]- “…A controller can be used to identify a centroid position of the light illuminating the array, and adjust the steering mirror to cause the centroid position to move toward a target location corresponding to the first or second orientations, depending on the mode of operation. The first and second approximate orientations, and corresponding target locations on the photo-sensitive array may be determined in part during a calibration routine,…”) according to wherein: in the detection process, the at least one processor detects movement of the target on a basis of, for each of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses ( Paragraphs [0127-0129]- “…steering mirror 502 so as to align the position of the measured light with a mode-specific target location (e.g., the locations labelled with A and B in FIG. 6), and instructs the mirror positions system 504 accordingly….” AND Paragraphs [0140-0141]- “…The optical communication terminal can also begin searching for an incoming optical signal from the other balloon and, once the signal is detected, the terminal can use feedback to orient its steering mirror to align with a mode-specific target location such that the terminal is aligned to conduct full duplex communication in the specified mode of operation….”) ,
at least one of (a) the free space optical communication apparatus's reception of reflected light of light emitted from the free space optical communication apparatus itself ( Paragraph [0050]- “…to first detect the incoming communication via received optical signals and then repeat the communication by emitting a corresponding optical signal to be received by the next balloon on the particular lightpath. Additionally or alternatively, a particular intermediate balloon may merely direct incident signals toward the next balloon, such as by reflecting the incident optical signals to propagate toward the next balloon….” AND Paragraphs [0094-0095]- “…the detector(s) 426. Moving the orientation of the steering mirror 430, as shown by directional arrow 432, changes the direction of reflected light to enable the optical communication terminal 420 to conduct communication with a terminal in another direction within the field of view FOV….” )
Erkmen et al. does not explicitly teach (b) non- arrival of light at the free space optical communication apparatus, the light having been emitted from a communication counterpart of the free space optical communication apparatus toward the free space optical communication apparatus.
However, within analogous art, DeVaul et al. teaches (b) non- arrival of light at the free space optical communication apparatus ( Paragraph [0040-0041]- “…since balloons 102A to 102F may communicate with one another using free-space optical links, the balloons may collectively function as a free-space optical mesh network….”) , the light having been emitted from a communication counterpart of the free space optical communication apparatus toward the free space optical communication apparatus ( Paragraphs [0105-0106]- “…. Light emitted from light source 508 could be either collimated or uncollimated. Further, the intensity of the emitted light could be adjustable. The emitted light could be collimated and/or focused by transmission optics 510. The transmission optics 510 could include elements such as a telescope and/or a beam expander…” And Paragraphs [0108-0109]) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of DeVaul et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. because the Establishing Optical-Communication Lock With Nearby Balloon
mentioned by DeVaul et al. provides a method and system for implementation of target detection within network for optical communication within free space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Establishing Optical-Communication Lock With Nearby Balloon mentioned by DeVaul et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. for implementing a system and method for target detection within network for optical communication within free space.
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Erkmen et al. (USPUB 20150244458) in view of Omer (USPUB 20210099835) in further view of DeVaul et al. (USPUB 20130177322).
As per claim 4, Combination of Erkmen et al. and Omer teach claim 1,
Erkmen et al. teaches wherein: in the detection process, the at least one processor detects movement of the target on a basis of, for each of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses( Paragraphs [0127-0129]- “…steering mirror 502 so as to align the position of the measured light with a mode-specific target location (e.g., the locations labelled with A and B in FIG. 6), and instructs the mirror positions system 504 accordingly….” AND Paragraphs [0140-0141]- “…The optical communication terminal can also begin searching for an incoming optical signal from the other balloon and, once the signal is detected, the terminal can use feedback to orient its steering mirror to align with a mode-specific target location such that the terminal is aligned to conduct full duplex communication in the specified mode of operation….”), at least one of (a) the free space optical communication apparatus's reception of reflected light of light emitted from the free space optical communication apparatus itself ( Paragraph [0050]- “…to first detect the incoming communication via received optical signals and then repeat the communication by emitting a corresponding optical signal to be received by the next balloon on the particular lightpath. Additionally or alternatively, a particular intermediate balloon may merely direct incident signals toward the next balloon, such as by reflecting the incident optical signals to propagate toward the next balloon….” AND Paragraphs [0094-0095]- “…the detector(s) 426. Moving the orientation of the steering mirror 430, as shown by directional arrow 432, changes the direction of reflected light to enable the optical communication terminal 420 to conduct communication with a terminal in another direction within the field of view FOV….” )
Erkmen et al. does not explicitly teach (b) non- arrival of light at the free space optical communication apparatus, the light having been emitted from a communication counterpart of the free space optical communication apparatus toward the free space optical communication apparatus.
However, within analogous art, DeVaul et al. teaches (b) non- arrival of light at the free space optical communication apparatus ( Paragraph [0040-0041]- “…since balloons 102A to 102F may communicate with one another using free-space optical links, the balloons may collectively function as a free-space optical mesh network….”) , the light having been emitted from a communication counterpart of the free space optical communication apparatus toward the free space optical communication apparatus ( Paragraphs [0105-0106]- “…. Light emitted from light source 508 could be either collimated or uncollimated. Further, the intensity of the emitted light could be adjustable. The emitted light could be collimated and/or focused by transmission optics 510. The transmission optics 510 could include elements such as a telescope and/or a beam expander…” And Paragraphs [0108-0109]) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of DeVaul et al. within the combination of modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. and the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer because the Establishing Optical-Communication Lock With Nearby Balloon mentioned by DeVaul et al. provides a method and system for implementation of target detection within network for optical communication within free space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Establishing Optical-Communication Lock With Nearby Balloon mentioned by DeVaul et al. within the combination of modified teaching of the Optical Communication Terminal mentioned by Erkmen et al. and the Detecting A Location Of Motion Using Wireless Signals And Topologies Of Wireless Connectivity mentioned by Omer for implementing a system and method for target detection within network for optical communication within free space.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3 , prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 3: “…(b) causing the one of the plurality of free space optical communication apparatuses to receive reflected light of the pulsed light; and in a case where the at least one processor detects movement of the target in the detection process, the at least one processor measures, in the measurement control process, a shape of the target and specifies, on a basis of a result of the measurement, at least one of the target, a position of the target, the number of the targets, and an orientation of the target.”
Conclusion
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635