DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 11, 13-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Miura et al. (“Miura”, Pub. No. US 2016/0357353).
Per claim 1, Miura teaches a method for displaying information, applicable to an electronic device, the method comprising:
determining, in response to a picture set display operation, a plurality of pictures to be displayed from a picture set and thumbnails of the plurality of pictures (fig. 1; [0064]…The process 600 may begin at 602 where digital assets may be identified. Digital assets may include image files, video files, audio files, image burst files, combinations of the foregoing, or the like);
displaying a target interface, wherein the target interface comprises the thumbnails of the plurality of pictures and switch elements corresponding to the thumbnails, wherein the pictures and the thumbnails are in one-to-one correspondence, and the thumbnails and the switch elements are in one-to-one correspondence (fig. 1 shows the content scrubber interface 108 having thumbnails #2-14 with positional elements #2 - #14 are switchable among the positions #2-#14 withing the scrubber interface (i.e. switch elements); [0023]… a user interface 103 may be configured to present content items in a first viewing area 104 and a second viewing area 106. The second viewing area 106 may be configured to present thumbnail images of digital content in a content scrubber 108. In some instances, the first viewing area 104 may be presented above (and/or adjacent to) the second viewing area 106. Additionally, as noted, the center thumbnail 110 of the content scrubber 108 may represent a particular content item (e.g., image #8) that is also presented in the first content area 104. As such, even independent of motion on the user interface 103, the presentation of image #8 is synchronized (e.g., it is the center thumbnail 110 of the content scrubber 108 in the second viewing area and, at the same time, it is the main image 112 of the first viewing area 104… while the thumbnails are being scrolled (e.g., animated in a way that makes them appear to be moving to the right), image #14 will appear to disappear or move out of the content scrubber 108, image #1 will appear to move into the content scrubber 108, image #8 will appear to move out of the center position of the content scrubber 108, and the version of image #8 presented in the first viewing area 104 will be presented in such a way that it will appear to move out of the main viewing area 104 at the same speed, rate, etc., as image #8 moves out of the center position of the content scrubber 108 [0025]…A user may select a new content item for presentation as the main image 112 by tapping or otherwise selecting any thumbnail in the content scrubber 108. For example, if a user selects (e.g., by tapping) image #13, the content scrubber may animate the content scrubber 108. One example of such an animation may include all of the thumbnail images in the content scrubber (e.g., images #2-#14) sliding to the left, image #8 changing shape so that it becomes the same width 118 as the other thumbnails, image #13 moving into the center position 110, and image #13 becoming visually distinct from the other thumbnail images (e.g., the padding 114 may be added on both sides of image #13). [0026]… While scrubbing (scrolling), some of the images on the left of image #8 may disappear from the content scrubber 108 … Further, as the thumbnail images slide to the left, the main image 112 will be updated in real-time to present an animation showing representations of the thumbnail images sliding to the left, such that each thumbnail that is presented in the center position 110 of the content scrubber 108 is presented as the main image 112, and each transition is animated as well); and
switching, in response to a trigger operation on the switch elements, to display pictures corresponding to the switch elements on the target interface ([0023]… while the thumbnails are being scrolled (e.g., animated in a way that makes them appear to be moving to the right), image #14 will appear to disappear or move out of the content scrubber 108, image #1 will appear to move into the content scrubber 108, image #8 will appear to move out of the center position of the content scrubber 108, and the version of image #8 presented in the first viewing area 104 will be presented in such a way that it will appear to move out of the main viewing area 104 at the same speed, rate, etc., as image #8 moves out of the center position of the content scrubber 108; [0025]…A user may select a new content item for presentation as the main image 112 by tapping or otherwise selecting any thumbnail in the content scrubber 108. For example, if a user selects (e.g., by tapping) image #13, the content scrubber may animate the content scrubber 108. One example of such an animation may include all of the thumbnail images in the content scrubber (e.g., images #2-#14) sliding to the left, image #8 changing shape so that it becomes the same width 118 as the other thumbnails, image #13 moving into the center position 110, and image #13 becoming visually distinct from the other thumbnail images (e.g., the padding 114 may be added on both sides of image #13). [0026]… While scrubbing (scrolling), some of the images on the left of image #8 may disappear from the content scrubber 108 (e.g., if they no longer fit in the content scrubber 108) or may become smaller (e.g., decreased width) so that they still fit in the content scrubber 108. Further, as the thumbnail images slide to the left, the main image 112 will be updated in real-time to present an animation showing representations of the thumbnail images sliding to the left, such that each thumbnail that is presented in the center position 110 of the content scrubber 108 is presented as the main image 112, and each transition is animated as well).
Per claim 3, Miura teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said determining, in response to the picture set display operation, the plurality of pictures to be displayed from the picture set comprises: determining, in response to the picture set display operation, a preceding target number of pictures in the picture set as the plurality of pictures to be displayed along with the thumbnails based on a display sequence of the pictures in the picture set ([0023]… while the thumbnails are being scrolled (e.g., animated in a way that makes them appear to be moving to the right), image #14 will appear to disappear or move out of the content scrubber 108, image #1 will appear to move into the content scrubber 108, image #8 will appear to move out of the center position of the content scrubber 108, and the version of image #8 presented in the first viewing area 104 will be presented in such a way that it will appear to move out of the main viewing area 104 at the same speed, rate, etc., as image #8 moves out of the center position of the content scrubber 108. [0025]…A user may select a new content item for presentation as the main image 112 by tapping or otherwise selecting any thumbnail in the content scrubber 108. For example, if a user selects (e.g., by tapping) image #13, the content scrubber may animate the content scrubber 108. One example of such an animation may include all of the thumbnail images in the content scrubber (e.g., images #2-#14) sliding to the left, image #8 changing shape so that it becomes the same width 118 as the other thumbnails, image #13 moving into the center position 110, and image #13 becoming visually distinct from the other thumbnail images (e.g., the padding 114 may be added on both sides of image #13). [0026]… While scrubbing (scrolling), some of the images on the left of image #8 may disappear from the content scrubber 108 (e.g., if they no longer fit in the content scrubber 108) or may become smaller (e.g., decreased width) so that they still fit in the content scrubber 108. Further, as the thumbnail images slide to the left, the main image 112 will be updated in real-time to present an animation showing representations of the thumbnail images sliding to the left, such that each thumbnail that is presented in the center position 110 of the content scrubber 108 is presented as the main image 112, and each transition is animated as well).
Per claim 4, the Miura teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the target interface comprises a thumbnail display region configured to display the thumbnails of the plurality of pictures and the method further comprises: determining the preceding target number based on a size of the thumbnail display region and a size of the thumbnail; or determining the preceding target number based on a predetermined display policy (fig. 1 shows a predetermine display policy for a set of thumbnails using widths 118 and 116. [0024]… In some examples, one thumbnail image (e.g., the center thumbnail 110) of the content scrubber 108 may be presented in a visually distinctive manner from the other thumbnails (e.g., image #2-#7 and image #9-#14). The visual distinctiveness may include being in the center of the content scrubber 108 (e.g., being the center thumbnail 110), being the first thumbnail image in the content scrubber 108 (e.g., image #2), being the last thumbnail image in the content scrubber 108 (e.g., image #14), or being in any other position…as shown in FIG. 1, the center thumbnail 110 is wider (seen by width 116) than the other thumbnail images (seen by width 118). [0025]…if a user selects (e.g., by tapping) image #13, the content scrubber may animate the content scrubber 108. One example of such an animation may include all of the thumbnail images in the content scrubber (e.g., images #2-#14) sliding to the left, image #8 changing shape so that it becomes the same width 118 as the other thumbnails, image #13 moving into the center position 110, and image #13 becoming visually distinct from the other thumbnail images (e.g., the padding 114 may be added on both sides of image #13).
Per claim 5, Miura teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said switching, in response to the trigger operation on the switch elements, to display the pictures corresponding to the switch elements on the target interface comprises: determining, in response to the trigger operation on the switch elements, a trigger sequence of the switch elements, and sequentially displaying, based on the trigger sequence, the pictures corresponding to the switch elements ([0023]… while the thumbnails are being scrolled (e.g., animated in a way that makes them appear to be moving to the right), image #14 will appear to disappear or move out of the content scrubber 108, image #1 will appear to move into the content scrubber 108, image #8 will appear to move out of the center position of the content scrubber 108, and the version of image #8 presented in the first viewing area 104 will be presented in such a way that it will appear to move out of the main viewing area 104 at the same speed, rate, etc., as image #8 moves out of the center position of the content scrubber 108; [0025]…A user may select a new content item for presentation as the main image 112 by tapping or otherwise selecting any thumbnail in the content scrubber 108. For example, if a user selects (e.g., by tapping) image #13, the content scrubber may animate the content scrubber 108. One example of such an animation may include all of the thumbnail images in the content scrubber (e.g., images #2-#14) sliding to the left, image #8 changing shape so that it becomes the same width 118 as the other thumbnails, image #13 moving into the center position 110, and image #13 becoming visually distinct from the other thumbnail images (e.g., the padding 114 may be added on both sides of image #13); [0026]… While scrubbing (scrolling), some of the images on the left of image #8 may disappear from the content scrubber 108 (e.g., if they no longer fit in the content scrubber 108) or may become smaller (e.g., decreased width) so that they still fit in the content scrubber 108. Further, as the thumbnail images slide to the left, the main image 112 will be updated in real-time to present an animation showing representations of the thumbnail images sliding to the left, such that each thumbnail that is presented in the center position 110 of the content scrubber 108 is presented as the main image 112, and each transition is animated as well).
Per claim 6, Miura teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying, in response to a select operation on a target switch element, a picture corresponding to the target switch element on the target interface, and displaying the target switch element and a thumbnail corresponding to the target switch element with a predetermined display effect ([0024]… In some examples, one thumbnail image (e.g., the center thumbnail 110) of the content scrubber 108 may be presented in a visually distinctive manner from the other thumbnails (e.g., image #2-#7 and image #9-#14). The visual distinctiveness may include being in the center of the content scrubber 108 (e.g., being the center thumbnail 110), being the first thumbnail image in the content scrubber 108 (e.g., image #2), being the last thumbnail image in the content scrubber 108 (e.g., image #14), or being in any other position…as shown in FIG. 1, the center thumbnail 110 is wider (seen by width 116) than the other thumbnail images (seen by width 118). [0025]…if a user selects (e.g., by tapping) image #13, the content scrubber may animate the content scrubber 108. One example of such an animation may include all of the thumbnail images in the content scrubber (e.g., images #2-#14) sliding to the left, image #8 changing shape so that it becomes the same width 118 as the other thumbnails, image #13 moving into the center position 110, and image #13 becoming visually distinct from the other thumbnail images (e.g., the padding 114 may be added on both sides of image #13.
Per claim 7, Miura teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: hiding, in response to stop of the trigger operation, the thumbnails of the pictures on the target interface ([0023]…while the thumbnails are being scrolled (e.g., animated in a way that makes them appear to be moving to the right), image #14 will appear to disappear or move out of the content scrubber 108, image #1 will appear to move into the content scrubber 108, image #8 will appear to move out of the center position of the content scrubber 108; [0026]… While scrubbing (scrolling), some of the images on the left of image #8 may disappear from the content scrubber 108).[0028]….Once the inertial scroll ends, the thumbnail that is closest to the center position 110 may snap into the center position 110 of the content scrubber. Additionally, the virtual buffer interface element 114 may presented on either side of the new center thumbnail 110 such that the new center thumbnail (which matches the main image 112) becomes visually distinctive from the other thumbnails in the content scrubber 108).
Claims 11, 13-17 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1, 3-7 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (“Miura”, Pub. No. US 2016/0357353) and Webster et al. (“Webster”, Pub. No. US 2009/0164944).
Per claim 2, Miura teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said determining, in response to the picture set display operation, the plurality of pictures to be displayed from the picture set and the thumbnails of the plurality of pictures comprises: displaying a cover picture interface of the picture set in response to the picture set display operation (fig. 1, picture 112),
Miura does not specifically teach wherein the cover picture interface comprises a progress bar, the progress bar comprising a plurality of elements and determining, in response to a trigger operation on the progress bar, the plurality of pictures to be displayed from the picture set and the thumbnails of the plurality of pictures, wherein the switching elements on the target interface are displayed at the same positions as the elements of the progress bar, and displayed below the thumbnails.
However, Webster teaches the cover picture interface comprises a progress bar, the progress bar comprising a plurality of elements and determining, in response to a trigger operation on the progress bar, the plurality of pictures to be displayed from the picture set and the thumbnails of the plurality of pictures, wherein the switching elements on the target interface are displayed at the same positions as the elements of the progress bar, and displayed below the thumbnails ([0055], [0059] and fig. 2A, which show a progress bar with indicator 280 to show the position of a focus thumbnail position in relation to the complete collection.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Webster in the invention of Miura in order to provide the user with a scroll bar that indicate relative position of the focus item. This would allow the user to understand/visualize which thumbnail of the collection is being viewed.
Per claim 8, the modified Miura teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein said determining, in response to the trigger operation on the progress bar, the plurality of pictures from the picture set comprises: determining, in response to a slide operation on the switch elements along a first direction, the plurality of pictures from the picture set (Miura, ([0023]…while the thumbnails are being scrolled (e.g., animated in a way that makes them appear to be moving to the right), image #14 will appear to disappear or move out of the content scrubber 108, image #1 will appear to move into the content scrubber 108, image #8 will appear to move out of the center position of the content scrubber 108; [0026]… While scrubbing (scrolling), some of the images on the left of image #8 may disappear from the content scrubber 108)…In some examples, the speed of the scroll of the content scrubber 108 may accelerate based on the speed and/or rapidity with which the user slides the thumbnail images. Webster, [0055], [0059] and fig. 2A, which show a progress bar with indicator 280 to show the position of a focus thumbnail position in relation to the complete collection.)
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2 and 8.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (“Miura”, Pub. No. US 2016/0357353) and Hellyar et al. (“Hellyar”, Pat. No. 7,346,855).
Per claim 9. Miura teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the target interface comprises a thumbnail display region configured to display the thumbnails of the plurality of pictures; and the method further comprises: displaying, in response to a select operation on a target switch element, a target thumbnail corresponding to the target switch element at a target position in the thumbnail display region (fig. 1, target position: center thumbnail 110), but does not teach wherein sizes of thumbnails on left and right sides of the target thumbnail sequentially decrease, and are all smaller than a size of the target thumbnail; and a size of an i.sup.th thumbnail on the left side of the target thumbnail is consistent with a size of an i.sup.th thumbnail on the right side of the target thumbnail, wherein i is a positive integer.
However, Hellyar teaches sizes of thumbnails on left and right sides of the target thumbnail sequentially decrease, and are all smaller than a size of the target thumbnail; and a size of an i.sup.th thumbnail on the left side of the target thumbnail is consistent with a size of an i.sup.th thumbnail on the right side of the target thumbnail, wherein i is a positive integer (col. 8, line 7-8, which shows the selected window is presented in the center of the display on top of the other windows and is larger than the other windows. A portion of the remaining windows as enumerated in step 208 are presented to the left and right of the selected window…. The size of the window decreases as the position of the window moves away from the selected center window. Fig. 3C shows preview items to the left and right of center selected item are gradually decreased in sizes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hellyar in the invention of Miura in order to dynamically adjust the sizes of thumbnails that are in are not in the center position to allow visual distinctions between center thumbnail and other thumbnails, and in order to allow to more thumbnails to be displayed by gradually reduce the sizes of the other thumbnails.
Per claim 10, the modified Miura teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the sizes of the thumbnails on the left and right sides of the target thumbnail sequentially decrease, and are all smaller than the size of the target thumbnail until (i+1).sup.th thumbnails on the left and right sides of the target thumbnail (Hellyar, col. 8, lines 1-8, which show the selected window is presented in the center of the display on top of the other windows and is larger than the other windows. A portion of the remaining windows as enumerated in step 208 are presented to the left and right of the selected window…. The size of the window decreases as the position of the window moves away from the selected center window. Fig. 3C shows preview items to the left and right of center selected item are gradually decreased in sizes).
Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chaudhri (Pub. No. 2009/0002335) discloses electronic device with image based browser.
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179