DETAILED ACTION
Claim 3 has been cancelled.
Claims 12-21 have been added.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-21 are currently pending.
Claim 10 is not longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, due to Applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejection to claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejections to claims 1, 2, 5-8 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadav et al. US Publication 2022/0101007 (hereafter “Kadav”) and Chan et al. US Publication 2022/0147736 (hereafter “Chan”).
Referring to claim 11, Kadav discloses a motion recognition method comprising:
extracting spatial features from time-series image data obtained by shooting a target object (paragraph 73, At block 1001, extract feature maps and frame-level representations from a video stream by using a convolutional neural network (CNN));
reshaping the image data from which the spatial features are extracted to a type of time- series image data according to a following equation:
Iₛₑq (B,Seq,dim0) = reshape(X(Bx Seq,dim0))
where Iₛₑq (B,Seq,dim0) is time-series image data (paragraph 24, System 100 describes existing work where a deep learning network 104 receives a video stream 102 to localize output 106), X(Bx Seq,dim0) is image data from which spatial features are extracted (paragraph 77, At block 1009, employ video representation learning and recognition from the objects and image context to locate a target object within the video stream), and dim0 is a dimension of image data from which spatial features are extracted (paragraph 30, Regarding object detection and representation, the exemplary embodiments collapse the spatial dimensions into 1 dimension and combine the batch dimension with the temporal dimension for the feature map f);
integrating the time-series image data from which the spatial features are extracted (paragraph 25, A multi-hop transformer 118 is then employed that uses reasoning to trace back from an intermediate step where the object was fully visible towards the end of the video to fully locate the object or output 120);
extracting temporal features from the integrated time-series data (paragraph 26, Positional time encodings 215 and resolution encodings 220 are learned and summed up with feature maps 225 from the CNN 210); and
recognizing motions of the target object based on the extracted temporal features (paragraph 26, Tracking 235 is then performed by applying a Hungarian algorithm to match objects between every two consecutive frames. The N object tracks and the 1 track of image features from the CNN 210 are added with the learned positional time encoding 215 to form the memory input to the proposed Multi-hop Transformer 250, which further accepts a video query and produces the latent representation of the video).
While Kadav discloses integrating the time-series image data, Kadav does not disclose expressly integrating the time-series image data and time-series key point data of the target object.
Chan discloses a step of integrating the time-series image data and time-series key point data of the target object (paragraph 50, Process 600 subsequently combines a sequence of extracted skeleton figures of the detected person extracted from the sequence of video images to form a skeleton sequence of the detected person which depicts a continuous motion of the detected person (step 606)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use keypoints to extract temporal features. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the accuracy of detecting movement within images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chan with Kadav to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Referring to claim 19, Kadav discloses wherein the extracting temporal features comprises extracting the temporal features from the integrated time-series data by using a transformer encoder (paragraph 25, A multi-hop transformer 118 is then employed that uses reasoning to trace back from an intermediate step where the object was fully visible towards the end of the video to fully locate the object or output 120).
Referring to claim 20, Chan discloses adding an index and position information of each key point to the time-series key point data (paragraph 31, In some embodiments, each extracted keypoint in the set of extract keypoints is defined by: a keypoint index corresponding to a particular body joint; either a set of 2D X and Y-coordinates in a 2D plane, or a set of 3D X-, Y-, and Z-coordinates in a 3D space; and a probability value for the predicted body joint of that keypoint).
Referring to claim 21, Chan discloses wherein the adding comprises:
generating an index of each key point through input embedding (paragraph 22, Cloud server 104 is further configured to re-organize the received skeleton sequences, including indexing the received skeleton sequences based on one or more data attributes. These data attributes that can be used to index the received skeleton sequences can include, but are not limited to: people IDs, camera IDs, group IDs (e.g., people that belong to different monitoring groups), and recording timestamps); and
generating position information of each key point through positional encoding (paragraph 31, In some embodiments, each extracted keypoint in the set of extract keypoints is defined by: a keypoint index corresponding to a particular body joint; either a set of 2D X and Y-coordinates in a 2D plane, or a set of 3D X-, Y-, and Z-coordinates in a 3D space; and a probability value for the predicted body joint of that keypoint).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-18 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682