DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitmarsh, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0003807, published January 3, 2019.
As per claims 1 and 6, Whitmarsh discloses a security system that is configured to provide operational interference with a flying drone wherein the security system comprises:
a controller, said controller having electronics configured to receive, store, transmit and manipulate data (Whitmarsh, Fig. 1, 30);
a wire member, said wire member being operably coupled to said controller, said wire member configured to be buried in ground around a perimeter of a structure (Whitmarsh, ¶42 using wireless communications);
a multitude of transmitters, said multitude of transmitters operably coupled to said wire member, said multitude of transmitters configured to emit a radio wave signal (Whitmarsh, ¶38-39), wherein the radio wave signal emitted from the multitude of transmitters provides operational interference with frequencies employed to operate drones (Whitmarsh, ¶56).
Whitmarsh fails to explicitly disclose a buried wire member, instead using wireless communication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to hardwire, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. In this case, the wireless connection provides the same data transfer.
As per claim 2, Whitmarsh further discloses the security system configured to provide operational interference with a flying drone as recited in claim 1, wherein the radio wave signal transmitted from the multitude of transmitters is a directional radio wave signal (Whitmarsh, ¶60 where transmission is directed towards the drones).
As per claim 3, Whitmarsh further discloses the security system configured to provide operational interference with a flying drone as recited in claim 2, wherein the radio wave signal transmitted from the multitude of transmitters has a beam width of up to sixty degrees (Whitmarsh, ¶64 where it is understood that the transmission has a beamwidth).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the beamwidth limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitmarsh in view of Reinhold, et. al., U.S. Patent Number 10,866,597, published December 15, 2020.
As per claims 4 and 7, Whitmarsh discloses the system of claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose the operating ranges.
Reinhold teaches the desired frequencies (Col. 3, lines 10-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the frequency limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 5, Whitmarsh as modified by Reinhold discloses the security system configured to provide operational interference with a flying drone as recited in claim 4, wherein the controller is operably coupled to a smart phone (Whitmarsh, Fig. 1, item 34 and ¶47 where a smart phone is a user input system).
As per the limitations of claim 8, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646