CTFR 18/398,553 CTFR 84780 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-6, 8, 9 , 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ohishi et al. (EP 2221670 A2) . Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 8, 9 , 12, and 14-18, Ohishi et al. ( see abstract, claims and figures 1 & 3) teach an automatic developing apparatus and a processing method for a relief printing plate precursor [0001]. Ohishi et al. teach ( see Figs. 1 & 3 and [0051]) a washout processor that develops an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor using a washout solution, the washout processor comprising: a developing tank that is filled with the washing solution (developing tank 308); a development unit that performs the development by removing a non-exposed portion of the flexographic printing plate precursor using the washing solution in the developing rank ( developing unit 300); and a flow creation unit that flows the washing solution in at least one region of a first region where the flexographic printing plate precursor is carried into the washing solution of the developing tank a second region where the flexographic printing plate precursor is carried out from the washing solution of the developing tank, in an intersecting direction to cross a width of the flexographic printing plate precursor with respect to a traveling direction of the flexographic printing plate precursor ( spray pipe 330). It is noted that the “first regions” and “second regions” are treated as the same regions based on instant claim 5. The washout processor of Ohishi et al. further comprises a transporting unit ( see rollers as well paragraphs [0017-0018]), a temperature adjusting device and a heater ( [0052-0053] and a filter unit [0072 & 0077]. Ohishi et al. disclose that the flow creation unit flows the washing solution at a liquid flow rate of 50 cm/sec or more ( 100 to 1000 ml/minute; [0072]) . 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-6, 8, 9 , 12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Motoi et al. (JP 2013-134407 A; see machine translation for citations) . Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 8, 9 , 12, and 14-18, Motoi et al. (see abstract, claims, Example 1 and figures) teach a method and an apparatus for developing a photosensitive flexographic printing plate [0001] and example 1) comprising a washout processor that develops an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor using a washing solution, the washout processor comprising: a developing tank (developer tank) that is filled with the washing solution; a development unit that performs the development by removing a non-exposed portion of the flexographic printing plate precursor using the washing solution in the developing tank (part of the device with the brush); and a flow creation unit that flows the washing solution in at least one region of a first region where the flexographic printing plate precursor is carried into the washing solution of the developing tank or a second region where the flexographic printing plate precursor is carried out from the washing solution of the developing tank, in an intersecting direction to cross a width of the flexographic printing plate precursor with respect to a travelling direction of the flexographic printing plate precursor (supply port on the side surface of the developing tank). It is noted that the “first regions” and “second regions” are treated as the same regions based on instant claims. Motoi et al. disclose a filter [0028] is used meeting the limitations of claim 8 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoi et al. (JP 2013-134407 A; see machine translation for citations) in view of Mogi et al. (WO 2021/106702 A1; citations from EP 4067997 A1) . Regarding claims 2, 7 and 13, Motoi et al. (see abstract, claims and figures) teach a method and an apparatus for developing a photosensitive flexographic printing plate [0001] and example 1) comprising a washout processor that develops an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor using a washing solution, the washout processor comprising: a developing tank (developer tank) that is filled with the washing solution; a development unit that performs the development by removing a non-exposed portion of the flexographic printing plate precursor using the washing solution in the developing tank (part of the device with the brush); and a flow creation unit that flows the washing solution in at least one region of a first region where the flexographic printing plate precursor is carried into the washing solution of the developing tank or a second region where the flexographic printing plate precursor is carried out from the washing solution of the developing tank, in an intersecting direction to cross a width of the flexographic printing plate precursor with respect to a travelling direction of the flexographic printing plate precursor (supply port on the side surface of the developing tank). However, Motoi et al. fails to explicitly disclose adding a rinsing unit as recited by instant claims 2 and 13. Nonetheless, examiner has added Mogi et al. to teach it is well-known in the art of washout processor and a washing method in which an imagewise exposed flexographic printing plate precursor is developed using a washing solution [0001] includes a rising unit to supply a rinsing liquid to the developed flexographic printing plate precursor ( se fig, 2 and claims). Mogi et al. and Motoi et al. are analogous art in the flexographic printing field. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the washout processor and washing method of Motoi et al. to include a rinsing unit as taught by Mogi et al. in view design choice and enhancing developmental properties . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoi et al. (JP 2013-134407 A; see machine translation for citations) as applied to claims 1 or 12 above . Regarding claims 10, 11 and 19-20, Motoi et al. do not explicitly recites a heater includes a pipe, a block in which a part of the pipe is buried , and heating heater provided in the block, and the block is formed of a metal material as instantly claimed. However, Motoi et al. disclose and recognize a heater [0027 and 0043] is included in the washing method and washing apparatus ( see figures) and is used to adjust the temperature of the washing solution. The elements of a pipe and block inside a heater is well-known and conventional parts or elements of heaters. Therefore, the heater of Motoi et al. would implicitly include a pipe and block as instantly claimed. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the heater of Motoi et al. to include a pipe, a block in which a part of the pipe is buried , and heating heater provided in the block, and the block is formed of a metal material in view of design choice . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argues the following: A) Applicants argue Ohishi, Motoi and Mogai fail to disclose “flowing the washing solution in an intersecting direction to cross a width of the flexographic printing plate precursor respect to a traveling direction of the flexographic printing plate precursor” as required in independent claims 1, 2, 12 and 13. Assuming arguendo that flow solution is introduced in Ohishi, the directional aspect need not be inherent. The independent claims 1, 2, 12 and 13 are novel over Ohishi, Motoi, and Mogai as above and hence also inventive over these references since the configurations of the independent claims 1, 2, 12 and 13 could not be achieved based on these references. A) Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that independent claim 2 was not rejected under novelty as argued by applicants. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Nonetheless, Ohishi et al. specifically disclose a washout processor ( see fig. 1): [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image1.png 436 620 media_image1.png Greyscale , which specifically shows the traveling direction that shows an intersecting direction to cross a width of the printing plate precursor meeting the limitation of flowing the washing solution in an intersecting direction to cross a width of the flexographic printing plate precursor respect to a traveling direction of the flexographic printing plate precursor as argued by applicants. Motoi et al. (JP 2013-134407 A; see machine translation for citations) teach the same limitation as well. Motoi et al. specifically disclose a “ circulation type developer flow method in which a develop is caused to flow from a developer supply sport installed on one side surface of a developing tank to a developer discharge port on the opposite side”; since, the developing solution is supplied from the side surface of the developing tank, it is recognized that the matters specifically the invention “flowing the washing solution in an intersecting direction to cross a width of the flexographic printing plate precursor respect to a traveling direction of the flexographic printing plate precursor” has been met. Also, it would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to include “the limitation of flowing the washing solution in an intersecting direction to cross a width of the flexographic printing plate precursor respect to a traveling direction of the flexographic printing plate precursor” to the washout processor to Motoi et al. and/or Ohishi et al. would be obvious to try since there only a couple ways that flow direction be presented in a washout processor. Therefore, the rejections are maintained. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHANCEITY N ROBINSON whose telephone number is (571)270-3786. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday (8:00 am-6:00 pm; IFP; PHP). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Huff can be reached at 571-272-1385. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 2 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 3 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 4 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 5 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 6 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 7 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 8 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/398,553 Page 9 Art Unit: 1737