Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d)
with a filing date of 08/19/2021. The certified copy of CN2021109558831 has been filed in the present
application, received on 05/27/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by
37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the last three lines of the claim the word “the” before “winding direction” should be “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A1, B2, and C1 in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that other claims are generic, specifically claims 2, 17, and 9.
The examiner acknowledges and agrees that claims 2 and 17 are also generic due to being dependent on claim 1, which was indicated to be generic in the Restriction mailed 06/08/2026, and not dependent on the species established in the Restriction. With respect to claim 9, upon reconsideration of the claim language and applicant’s arguments, the examiner agrees that claim 9 is also generic and not directed to non-elected species C2 as indicated in the Restriction mailed 06/08/2026. As such, claim 9 will not be considered withdrawn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Upon reconsideration, the species requirements of A and B are withdrawn, and claims 3 and 18, noted in the Restriction to be directed non-elected Species A2, are also considered in the rejection(s) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konno (JPH10261439A, cited in IDS mailed 08/19/2025 – Machine translation provided).
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, Konno discloses an electrode assembly (Refer to wound negative electrode 2, positive electrode 1, and separator 3 in Fig. 1; [0012]), comprising a first electrode plate (positive electrode 1, Figs. 1 – 2; [0012 – 0013]), wherein the first electrode plate is provided with a first tab (refer to leftmost positive electrode current collector tab 4 in Fig. 2; [0013]); a second electrode plate (negative electrode 2, Figs. 1 and 3; [0012];[0014]), wherein the second electrode plate is provided with a second tab (refer to leftmost negative electrode current collector tab 5 in Fig. 3; [0014]); and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (separator 3, Fig. 1; [0012]), wherein the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate are wound to form the electrode assembly ([0012]); wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a third tab (refer to rightmost positive electrode current collector tab 4 in Fig. 2; [0013]), the third tab being disposed on the first electrode plate (Refer to the position of the rightmost positive electrode current collector tab 4 in Fig. 2; [0013]); the first electrode plate comprising a first current collector ([0013];[0016]) and a first active substance layer (positive electrode material layer 11, Fig. 2; [0013];[0016]), wherein the first active substance layer is disposed on a surface of the first current collector to form a first coating region; Fig. 2; [0013];[0016]), the first active substance layer extends in a form of a strip in a first direction (Refer to strip-shape and extension direction of the positive electrode material layer 11 in annotated Fig. 2 below), and the first tab and the third tab are spaced apart from each other in the first coating region (Refer to positions of tabs 4 in Fig. 2).
Annotated Fig. 2 showing corresponding first direction in Konno.
Konno further discloses, in a winding direction of the first electrode plate, the first coating region is divided into a first part, a second part, and a third part by the first tab and third tab (Refer to annotated Fig. 2 below and [0013];[0016]).
Annotated Fig. 2 showing the corresponding first, second, and third in Konno.
Konno explicitly teaches the area of the positive electrode being divided into three equal by the tabs ([0013];[0016]), as such, Kono further discloses a ratio of a length of the first part, a length of the second part, and a length of the third part being 1:1:1, which is within the claimed range of 1:(0.5 – 1.5):(0.5 – 1.5).
Konno further discloses a battery (Fig. 1; [0012] comprising a housing (outer casing 7; Fig. 1; [0012]) and the electrode assembly disposed in the housing (Refer to the position of the wound negative electrode 2, positive electrode 1, and separator 3 in Fig. 1; [0012]) (Claim 16).
Regarding Claim 11, Konno discloses all limitation as set forth above. Konno further discloses wherein the second electrode plate {i.e. negative electrode 2} comprises a second current collector ([0014]) and a second active substance layer (negative electrode active material layer 13 in Fig. 3, [0014]), wherein the second substance layer is disposed on a surface of the second current collector to form a second a second coating region (Fig. 3; [0014];[0017]), and the second tab is disposed in the second coating region (Refer to positions of tabs 5 in Fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 9 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US PG Pub. 20220344733 A1, filed 09/21/2020) in view of Zhu (CN213660479U, cited in 08/19/2025 IDS – Machine translation provided) and Konno (JPH10261439A).
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, Zhou discloses an electrode assembly (battery cell 14 in Figs. 23 – 24; [0278];[0297 – 0298]), comprising: a first electrode plate (electrode plate 145, Figs. 23 – 24; [0278];[00297 – 00298]), wherein the first electrode plate is provided with a first tab (tab 14b, Figs. 23 – 24; [0297 – 0298]; a second electrode plate (electrode plate 144, Figs. 23 – 24; [0278];[00297 – 00298]), wherein the second electrode plate is provided with a second tab (tab 14a, Figs. 23 – 24; [00297 – 00298]).
In Fig. 23, while not explicitly labeled, Zhou appears to include a structure between electrode plate 144 and electrode plate 145 of the electrode assembly (Refer to dotted line in Fig. 23) and, further teaches that the electrode plates are of opposite polarities ([0278]). Due to the structure being included between electrode plates of opposite polarity and further due to Zhou teaching a wound structure that forms a battery cell ([0278];[0296 – 0298]), one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the structure to be a separator, because, as evidenced by Zhu, it is known in the art to form wound battery cells by including a separator between opposite polarity electrodes (Zhu: [0007];[0030]).
Zhou further discloses wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a third tab (tab 14c, Figs. 23 – 24; [00297 – 00298]), the third tab being disposed on the first electrode plate (Refer to position of tab 14c in Fig. 23z).
Zhou teaches the electrode plates including active areas AA1/AA2 and non-active areas NA1/NA2 ([0279];[0281]). Zhou further teaches that the active areas are regions of the electrode plate coated by conductive materials M1/M2 which work together to store and release electrical energy which one with ordinary skill in the art would understand/recognize be active materials ([0280];[0283]). Therefore, while Zhou does not explicitly disclose first electrode plate {i.e. electrode plate 145} to comprise a first current collector and first active substance layer, Zhou at least appears to suggest the first electrode plate having the claimed structure. Assuming arguendo that applicant is able to provide persuasive evidence showing a critical difference such that Zhou does not necessarily possess this limitation, it still would have been obvious for the following reason:
Zhu, also directed to wound-type battery cells, teaches forming the battery cell by winding a winding a first electrode, a separator, and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode have opposite polarities ([0007]). The first and second electrodes are further taught to be formed by coating current collectors with active material ([0008 – 0009];[0031];[0040]). In addition, the electrodes in Zhu are further taught to include an active material region as well as empty foil regions which do not include active material and instead include the electrode tabs (Fig. 3; [0030];[0037 – 0038]).
Therefore, as Zhou also teaches a wound battery cell with a similar configuration to that of Zhu, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the electrodes of Zhou formed from an active material coated current collector, as taught by Zhu, and thus obtain the claimed first electrode structure, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining an electrode structures suitable for the battery cell of Zhou {i.e. that have the desired active areas and non-active areas as well as regions for the tabs to be attached (See Fig. 23 in Zhou and Fig. 3 in Zhu).
In modified Zhou, as established above, the active areas of the electrode plates are regions of the current collector coated by conductive materials M1/M2 {i.e. active material} (Zhou: Fig. 23, [00278 – 0283] and Zhu (Fig. 3; [0031]). As such, modified Zhu includes the claimed structure of wherein the first active substance layer {i.e. conductive material layer M2 in Fig. 23 of Zhou} is disposed on the surface of the first current collector to form a first coating region (Refer to active area AA2 in Fig. 23 of Zhou and Zhou: [0282}); the active substance layer extends in the form of a strip in a first direction (Refer to shape and direction in which the conductive material layer M2 extends in annotated Fig. 23 of Zhou below); and the first tab and third tab are spaced apart in from each other in the first coating region (Refer to position of tabs 14b and 14c in Fig. 23 of Zhou).
Annotated Fig. 23 showing the corresponding first direction in Zhou.
Modified Zhou further discloses in a winding direction, the first coating region is divided into a first part, a second part, and third part by the first tab and the third tab (See the corresponding parts in annotated Fig. 23 of Zhou below).
Annotated Fig. 23 showing the corresponding first, second, and third parts in Zhou.
Furthermore, one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize/appreciate that, based on annotated Fig. 23 above, Zhou exemplifies an embodiment of the electrode plate where the first part has a length that appears less than/equal the second part, the second part has a length that appears less than/equal to the first part, and the third part appears to have the greatest length among the three parts. As such, Zhou appears to at least suggest a ratio of a length of the first part, a length of the second part, and a length of the third part that within/at least partially overlapping the claimed range of 1:(0.5–1.5):(0.5–1.5), but does not explicitly disclose such length ratio values.
Zhu further teaches having the first electrode tab 24 {i.e. correspond to position of tab 14b in Fig. 23 of Zhou} located at 1/5 to 1/3 of the length of the electrode and the fourth electrode tab {i.e. corresponds to position of tab 14c in Fig. 23 of Zhou} located at 2/3 to 4/5 of the length of the electrode for the purpose of reducing the electrode transmission path, improving charging speed, and reducing temperature rise (Fig. 3; [0032]). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize/appreciate that the length ratio between each tab in Zhu can be estimated based on taught ranges, that is Zhu appears to teach controlling the length of each part to be ≈ (0.2 – 1):(0.5 – 1):(0.2 – 1) overlaps the claimed range.
Konno, also directed to wound electrode assemblies in which the electrode plates include multiple tabs (Refer to Figs. 2 – 3; [0005]), and thus analogous to both Zhou and Zhu, teaches a positive electrode that is 1 – 2 m {i.e. 1000 – 2000 mm long and further includes two tabs disposed in exposed portions that divide the positive electrode into three equal parts in the longitudinal direction ([0009];[0012 – 0013]). This configuration is taught by Konno to allow for uniform potential distribution within the electrode and decreased internal resistance of the battery so that battery capacity can be increased and resistive heat generation can be suppressed ([0005];[0025]). Konno further teaches that when the distance between the current-collecting tabs and the electrode portions becomes relatively shorter at both the positive and negative electrodes, uniform potential distribution within both electrodes can be achieved. Konno, like Zhou and Zhu, also teaches including the tabs within regions of the electrode that exclude active material and that, as the amount/area of exposed portions increase, the amount of active material decreases which reduces battery capacity ([0009]).
One with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate/recognize that the length of each part formed by the tabs would also be dependent on the size of the regions including the tabs
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, selection of a length ratio for the first, second and third parts within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and the ranges taught/suggested in the art for modified Zhou, would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in order to optimize the distance between the tabs, and thus the effects of the tab distances {i.e. uniform potential distribution/suppressed resistive heat generation}, while ensuring sufficient/increased battery capacity, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Zhou further discloses a battery ([0313]) comprising a housing (aluminum plastic film; Figs. 43 – 44; [0313]) and the electrode assembly disclosed in the housing (Refer to rejection of claim 1 above and Figs. 43 – 44; [0131]) (Claim 16).
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In Fig. 23 of Zhou the corresponding first tab {i.e. 14b} and the corresponding third tab {i.e. 15c} are included in the active area AA2 of electrode plate and further are included in regions of the active area that do not include conductive material M2. Furthermore, in modified Zhou the conductive material layer M2 in Fig. 23 corresponds to the claimed first active substance layer. As such, modified Zhou further provides the claimed structure wherein a first groove (Refer to non-coated area including tab 14b in Fig. 23 of Zhou) and a third groove (Refer to non-coated area including tab 14c in Fig. 23 of Zhou) are spaced apart from each other in the first active substance layer, wherein the first tab is disposed in the first groove (Refer to located of tab 14b in Fig. 23 of Zhou), the third tab is disposed in the third groove (Refer to location of tab 14c in Fig. 23 of Zhou); and the first groove and third groove formed by partial absence of the first active substance layer (Refer to configuration of the portions including tabs 14b and 14c in Fig. 23).
Furthermore, since the conductive material layer M2 is included along the length of the electrode plate (Refer to Fig. 23 in Zhou), modified Zhou further appears to disclose, in the first direction, the active substance layer having a length L and, as the grooves including the tabs 14b and 14c are spaced apart, modified Zhou appears to further discloses, in first direction, the grooves having a distance H between them.
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein |L/2-H| ≤ 100 mm, and L ≥ 700 mm.
Konno, as established above, teaches a positive electrode that is 1 – 2 m {i.e. 1000 – 2000 mm long and further includes two tabs disposed in exposed portions that divide the positive electrode into three equal parts in the longitudinal direction ([0009];[0012 – 0013]). This configuration is taught by Konno to allow for uniform potential distribution within the electrode and decreased internal resistance of the battery so that battery capacity can be increased and resistive heat generation can be suppressed ([0005];[0025]). Konno further teaches that when the distance between the current-collecting tabs and the electrode portions becomes relatively shorter at both the positive and negative electrodes, uniform potential distribution within both electrodes can be achieved. Konno, like Zhou and Zhu, also teaches including the tabs within regions of the electrode that exclude active material and that, as the amount/area of exposed portions increase, the amount of active material decreases which reduces battery capacity ([0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the electrodes of modified Zhao to have lengths as taught by Konno, because, absent new or unexpected results, such a modification would be a change in size/proportion for the electrode that is considered an obvious design choice [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)], and further, based on Konno’s teachings, would be electrode lengths that are suitable for including two tabs and further capable of achieving uniform potential distribution in the electrode as well as increased battery capacity.
By utilizing electrode lengths as taught by Konno {i.e. positive electrode lengths within the range of 1000 – 2000 mm and negative electrode lengths that are relatively longer than the positive electrode (Konno: [0005]), and further by showing that the conductive material layer M2 {i.e. corresponds to active substance layer} makes up a majority of the electrode plate (Refer to Fig. 23 in Zhou), modified Zhou, as established above, has a length of the first active substance layer L that overlaps/encompasses the claimed scope of L ≥ 700 mm.
Furthermore, in modified Zhao, as established above, the tabs are spaced apart such that a ratio of a length of the first part, a length of the second part, and length of the third part is within the overlapping portion of the ranges suggested by the prior art (Refer to Zhou: Fig. 23, Zhu: [0032]; Konno: [0009], and the rejection of claim 1). One with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the length of the second part {i.e. the region between tab 14b and 14c } would relate/encompass the distance between the grooves {i.e. non-coated areas} that include the tabs. As such, due to such overlapping ranges, modified Zhou appears to further include within its scope ranges of H and L that provide an |L/2-H| an encompassing/overlapping the range of ≤ 100 mm.
Additionally, one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate/recognize that the length of each part formed by the tabs would, in part, also be dependent on the size of the regions including the tabs {i.e. the size of the groove} and that the length of the electrode would affect the length of the active material layer, and thus the amount of active material, included on the collector.
As such, absent a showing of criticality, selection of L and H values that satisfy the claimed relationship of |L/2-H|≤ 100 mm would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to optimize the amount of active material includes on the electrode plate {i.e. battery capacity } while also ensuring that the size of the exposed portion of the electrode plate {i.e. groove} is suitable for the tab and that the tabs are spaced apart at a distance that still allows for uniform potential distribution and suppressed resistive heat generation, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 3 and 18, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhou the conductive material layer M2 in Fig. 23 corresponds to the claimed first active substance layer. As such, modified Zhou further provides the claimed structure of wherein, in a second direction, the first active substance layer comprises a first and a second end opposite to the first end (Refer to annotated Fig. 23 below) and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Refer to the corresponding first and second direction shown in annotated Fig. 23 below}.
Annotated Fig. 23 showing corresponding first end and second end in modified Zhou.
Modified Zhou does not explicitly disclose, in the embodiment shown in Fig. 23 of Zhou, the first groove extending from the first end to the second end in the second direction (Claim 3) or wherein, in the second direction, the first groove extends throughout the first active substance layer (Claim 18).
However, in alternative embodiments of the electrode plate, Zhou appears to show grooves {i.e. portions of the electrode plate that do not include conductive material layers M1/M2, that extend from corresponding first end of the collector to the second end (Refer to Figs. 16A, 19, and 21). As such, Zhou at least suggests grooves that extend from the first end of the collector to the second end as obvious alternatives to grooves that first end of the collector and are spaced apart from the second end.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the grooves of modified Zhou extend from the first end to the second end of the collector/throughout the first active substance layer in the second direction, and thus obtain the groove configurations of claims 3 and 18, because such a modification, absent new or unexpected results, would be a change in shape/size with respect to the groove that is considered an obvious engineering design [MPEP 2144.04(IV)], is already envisioned by Zhou as a suitable alternative shape/size of tab groove, and further, based on Konno (See Konno: Figs. 2 – 3; [0012 – 0014];[0025]), would provide the predictable and desired result of a suitable accommodating region for a tab on an electrode plate.
Annotated Fig. 23 showing corresponding first end and second end in modified Zhou.
Regarding Claim 4 and 19, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhou the conductive material layer M2 in Fig. 23 corresponds to the claimed first active substance layer and the conductive material layer M2 is coated on a current collector electrode plate 145. As such, modified Zhou further provides the claimed structure of wherein , in a second direction, a first edge of the first groove is flush with a first side of the current collector, and a second edge is spaced apart from a second side of the first current collector (Refer to non-coated area including tab 14b in annotated Fig. 23 above), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Refer to the corresponding first and second direction shown in annotated Fig. 23 above).
Annotated Fig. 23 showing the space between the corresponding tab and groove in Zhou.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou further provides the claimed structure wherein in a first direction, a side of the first tab is spaced apart from the side of the first groove (Refer to circled portion in annotated Fig. 23 above).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhou the conductive material layer M2 in Fig. 23 corresponds to the claimed first active substance layer and the conductive material layer M2 is coated on a current collector electrode plate 145. As such, modified Zhou further provides the claimed structure of wherein , in a second direction, the first current collector comprises a first side and a second side opposite to each other (Refer to corresponding first and second sides in annotated Fig. 23 below), wherein the first tab protrudes from the first side (Refer to side from which tab 14b projects from in annotated Fig. 23 below) and the third tab protrudes from the second side (Refer to side from which tab 14c projects from in annotated Fig. 23 below).
Annotated Fig. 23 showing the corresponding first and second side in Zhou.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhou teaches that the tab and electrode plate may be two components connected through welding; or the tab and an electrode plate may be integrated, and a tab is formed through cutting of the electrode plate based on a required position and a required quantity ([0311]). Furthermore, in modified Zhou the conductive material layer M2 in Fig. 23 corresponds to the claimed first active substance layer and the conductive material layer M2 is coated on a current collector to form electrode plate 145.
Modified Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first tab and second tab are formed by a side surface of the first collector extending beyond the rest of the first current collector.
Zhu, as established above, teaches forming the battery cell by winding a winding a first electrode, a separator, and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode have opposite polarities ([0007]). In addition, the electrodes in Zhu are further taught to include an active material region as well as empty foil regions which do not include active material and instead include the electrode tabs (Fig. 3; [0030];[0037 – 0038]). Zhu further teaches, as shown in Fig. 1, forming the tab structures using a side surface {i.e. upper surface} of the collector that extends beyond the collector including the active material ([0040 – 0042]).
Since the electrode plate of modified Zhou, as established above, is formed using a current collector plate, and Zhou does not necessarily limit the method in which the tabs are formed (Zhou: [0311]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the tabs of modified Zhou as taught by Zhu, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the tab structure desired by Zhou.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhou, as established above, the active areas of the electrode plates are regions of the current collector coated by conductive materials M1/M2 {i.e. active material} (Zhou: Fig. 23, [00278 – 0283] and Zhu (Fig. 3; [0031]). As such, modified Zhu includes the claimed structure of wherein the second electrode plate {i.e. electrode plate 144} comprises a second current collector and a second active substance layer {i.e. conductive material layer M1 in Fig. 23 of Zhou} is disposed on the surface of the second current collector to form a second coating region (Refer to active area AA1 in Fig. 23 of Zhou and Zhou: [0280]); and the second tab is disposed in the second coating region (Refer to position of tab 14a in Fig. 23).
Regarding Claims 12, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhou the conductive material layer M1 in Fig. 23 corresponds to the claimed second active substance layer. As such, modified Zhou further provides the claimed structure of wherein the second coating region {i.e. active area AA1 in Fig. 23 of Zhou} is divided into a fourth and fifth part by the second tab {i.e. tab 14a} (Refer to corresponding fourth and fifth parts shown in annotated Fig. 23 below).
Annotated Fig. 23 showing corresponding fourth and fifth parts in Zhou.
Furthermore, in Fig. 23, tab 14a is included in a central region of the second coating region (Refer to active area AA1 in Fig. 23 of Zhou). As such, modified Zhou appears to at disclose a ratio of a length of the fourth part and a length of the fifth part that is 1:1 or at least significantly close to 1:1, which is within the claimed range of 1:(0.5–1.5).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. The wound electrode assembly embodiment in Figs. 23 – 24 of Zhou includes only three tabs, as such modified Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode assembly includes a fourth tab and wherein the fourth tab is disposed in the second coating region and spaced apart from the second tab.
However, Zhou further teaches increasing the number of tabs in order to increase through-current capacity of the battery cell and teaches alternate embodiments including four tabs ([0056 – 0059];[0063]).
Konno, as established above, teaches a wound electrode assembly where both electrode plates include multiple tabs and more specifically two tabs (Refer to Figs. 2 – 3; [0005]). The tabs included on each electrode plate are further taught by Konno to be spaced apart from one another (Refer to Figs. 2 – 3; [0005])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an additional tab electrode plate 144 of modified Zhou, and thus obtain the claimed fourth tab that is spaced apart from the second tab {i.e. tab 14a} because such a modification, absent new or unexpected results, would be a duplication of parts with respect to the tabs of the electrode assembly that is considered an obvious engineering design [MPEP 2144.04(VI)]; would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a suitable electrode plate for Zhou’s battery cell as shown by Konno and Zhu {i.e. both teach wound electrode assemblies where both electrode plates include two tabs that are spaced apart (See Konno: Figs. 2 – 3; [0001 – 0006] and Zhu: Fig.; [0030])}, and, as taught by Zhou, such a modification would further provide the predictable result of increased through-current capacity of the battery cell.
One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that by including two tabs that are spaced apart in the second coating region, the second electrode plate of modified Zhou {i.e. electrode plate 144} would necessarily be divided into a fourth part, a fifth part, and a sixth part by the second and fourth tab.
Modified Zhou does not explicitly disclose, and in a winding direction of the second electrode plate, a ratio of a length of the fourth part, a length of the fifth part, and a length of the sixth part is 1:(0.5 – 1.5):(0.5 – 1.5).
Zhu further teaches having a first/third electrode tab 14/24 located at 1/5 to 1/3 of the length of the electrode and the second/fourth electrode tab 15/25 located at 2/3 to 4/5 of the length of the electrode for the purpose of reducing the electrode transmission path, improving charging speed, and reducing temperature rise (Fig. 3; [0032]). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize/appreciate that the length ratio between each tab in Zhu can be estimated based on taught ranges, that is Zhu appears to teach controlling the length of each part to be ≈ (0.2 – 1):(0.5 – 1):(0.2 – 1) which overlaps the claimed length ratio.
Therefore, when modifying the second electrode plate of Zhou to include a fourth tab, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to space the tabs apart in the manner as taught Zhu, and thus obtain an electrode structure providing an overlapping length ratio for the fourth, fifth and sixth part, with a reasonable expectation of success in reducing the electrode transmission path, improving charging speed, and reducing temperature rise (Fig. 3; [0032]).
Konno, as established above, further teaches that when the distance between the current-collecting tabs and the electrode portions becomes relatively shorter at both the positive and negative electrodes, uniform potential distribution within both electrodes can be achieved. Konno, like Zhou and Zhu, also teaches including the tabs within regions of the electrode that exclude active material and that, as the amount/area of exposed portions increase, the amount of active material decreases which reduces battery capacity ([0009]).
One with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate/recognize that the length of each part formed by the tabs would also be dependent on the size of the regions including the tabs
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, selection of a length ratio for the fourth, fifth and sixth part within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and the ranges taught/suggested in the art for modified Zhou, would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in order to optimize the distance between the tabs, and thus the effects of the tab distances {i.e. uniform potential distribution/suppressed resistive heat generation}, while ensuring sufficient/increased battery capacity, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhou further discloses wherein in a third direction, projections of the first tab, the second tab, and the third tab on a surface of the electrode assembly have no overlap (Refer to positions of tabs 14a, 14b, and 14c, in annotated Fig. 24 below), wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Refer to annotated Fig. 24 below).
Annotated Fig. 24 showing corresponding first and third direction in Zhou.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhou further discloses wherein, in the third direction, adjacent tabs {i.e. 14b and 14c} are separated by 2 layers of the second electrode plate {i.e. electrode plate 144} (Refer to Fig. 24 in Zhou and annotated Fig. 24 above), which is within the claimed scope of at least two layers of the first electrode plate or the second electrode plate.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhou further discloses an electronic device comprising a circuit element ([0315]) and the battery according to claim 16 (Refer to rejection of claim 16 above and Zhou: [0313]), wherein the circuit element is electrically connected to the battery (Fig. 1; [0118];[0313 – 0315]).
Claim(s) 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US PG Pub. 20220344733 A1), Zhu (CN213660479U) and Konno (JPH10261439A), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lin (CN213546383U, cited in IDS mailed 08/19/2025 – Machine translation provided).
Regarding Claims 6 – 7, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In Zhou, the first tab 14b is shown to be relatively smaller in width than the groove {i.e. non-coated area including tab 14b} (Refer to Fig. 23 in Zhou).
Modified Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the first direction, a distance between the side of the first tab and the side of the first groove is 2 – 2.5 mm (Claim 6) and further, in the first direction, a width of the first tab is 6 – 8 mm and a width of the first groove is 10 – 13 mm (Claim 7).
Lin, also directed to wound electrode battery structures including non-coated regions on the current collector for electrode tabs (Figs. 1 – 2; [0002];[0004]), and thus analogous Zhou teaches electrode tab widths od 3 – 8 mm and blank area widths, which would correspond to the claimed groove width, 10 – 30 mm ([0011]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the widths of the first tab {i.e. tab 14b} and groove {i.e. non-coated area including tab 14b} be within the tab and groove widths taught by Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtain a tab and groove width suitable for modified Zhou’s electrode plate.
In modified Zhou as established above, a width of the first tab is 3 – 8 mm (Lin: [0011]) which overlaps the claimed range of 6 – 8 mm (Claim 7), a width of the first groove is 10 – 30 mm (Lin ([0011]) which overlaps the claimed range of 10 – 13 mm (Claim 7), and based on taught width ranges and the tab 14b being included in a central portion of the groove {i.e. non-coated area including tab 14b} (Refer to Fig. 23 in Zhou and Lin: Figs. 1 – 2), a distance between the side of the first tab and the side of the first groove is 1 – 13.5 mm, which encompasses the claimed range of 2 – 2.5 mm (Claim 6).
Konno as established above teaches that as the amount/area of exposed portions increase in an electrode, the amount of active material decreases which reduces battery capacity ([0009]).
Additionally, one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the width of the groove would need to be at least slightly larger to sufficiently accommodate the tab and further that the tab must be of a width that allows for it to sufficiently conduct electrons.
Therefore, selection of a tab width and groove width within the overlapping portion of the claimed ranges and ranges taught by Lin, and further selection of widths that would provide a distance within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and range suggested by Lin, would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in order to increase the battery capacity while also ensuring that the is groove wide enough to accommodate tab and the tab is of a width that allows it to sufficiently conduct electrons, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US PG Pub. 20220344733 A1), Zhu (CN213660479U) and Konno (JPH10261439A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Han (CN209434338U, Machine translation provided)
Regarding Clam 8, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhou the conductive material layer M2 in Fig. 23 corresponds to the claimed first active substance layer and the conductive material layer M2 is coated on a current collector electrode plate 145. Therefore, modified Zhou further includes the claimed structure of wherein the first tab comprises a first section that is disposed in the first groove and connected to the current collector (Refer to portion of tab 14b that is included in the non-coated area of Fig. 23 in Zahou).
In Fig. 23, tab 14b of Zhou is shown to include a second portion that extends beyond current collector; however, modified Zhou does not explicitly disclose the second section bent toward a side of the first current collector away for the first section.
Han, also directed to wound electrode assemblies including multiple tabs (Figs. 1 – 2; [0010];[0065]) and thus analogous to Zhou, teaches that usually the tabs of such electrode assemblies need to be bent in order to increase energy density and prevent the electrode from being misaligned and short circuited due to the tension of the tabs ([0005]). Han further teaches bending the protruding portion of the tabs of the electrode assembly in a U-shape (Figs. 2 – 3; [0059 – 0060]).
Since Zhou also teaches a wound electrode assembly including protruding tabs, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to bend the first tab in a U-shape as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success in increasing the energy density of Zhou’s battery when housed and further in preventing electrode from being misaligned and short circuited due to the tension of the tabs.
Furthermore, by bending the protruding portion of the first tab in a U-shape as shown in Figs. 2 – 3 of Han, modified Zhou’s first tab further comprises the claimed structure of a second section bent toward a side of the first current collector away from the first section.
Conclusion
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 8/30/2026