Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/10/2024 and 02/09/2024 were filed and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Low-Dimensional Gradient Helps Out-of-Distribution Detection, hereinafter Wu) in view of Ndiour et al. (SUBSPACE MODELING FOR FAST OUT-OF-DISTRIBUTION AND ANOMALY DETECTION, hereinafter Ndiour).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 20, Wu discloses
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method for detecting out-of-distribution data for a neural network, the method comprising:
Claim 13: A system for detecting out-of-distribution data for a neural network, the system comprising: a processor; and memory having instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the following:
Claim 20: A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to execute a method for detecting out-of-distribution data for a neural network, the method comprising:
receiving a training dataset, wherein the training dataset includes in-distribution data including image data associated with one or more images (P. 7 A Evaluation on Large-scale ImageNet Benchmark: “We first evaluate our method on the large-scale ImageNet benchmark, which poses significant challenges due to the substantial volume of training data and model parameters. The comparison results are presented in Table II, where we evaluate six different detection methods using either features or our low-dimensional gradients as inputs. To control our computational overhead, we randomly select 50000 training samples as the training dataset for our detection algorithms”);
training a neural network on the in-distribution data, wherein the neural network has a plurality of layers (P. 3 A Preliminary: “The framework of OOD detection can be described as follows. We consider a classification problem with
C
classes, where
X
stands for the input space and
Y
for the label space. The joint data distribution over
X
×
Y
is denoted as
D
x
y
. Let
f
θ
:
X
→
Y
be a model trained on samples drawn
i
.
i
.
d
from
D
X
Y
with parameter
θ
”);
receiving image data associated with a sample image for the neural network (P. 7 A Evaluation on Large-scale ImageNet Benchmark: “We first evaluate our method on the large-scale ImageNet benchmark, which poses significant challenges due to the substantial volume of training data and model parameters. The comparison results are presented in Table II, where we evaluate six different detection methods using either features or our low-dimensional gradients as inputs. To control our computational overhead, we randomly select 50000 training samples as the training dataset for our detection algorithms”);
executing the neural network with the image data associated with the sample image to determine a gradient associated with the sample image; projecting the gradient into the subspace to derive a projection of the gradient (P. 2 Fig. 1: “Then, using a pre-extracted subspace where the principal components of training data gradients reside, we obtain low-dimensional representations through a projection operation. Finally, we feed the representations into the detection branch, where diverse score functions are designed based on these representations.”, P. 5 1) Combination with output-based methods: “Output-based approaches aim to capture the dissimilarities in feature representations between ID and OOD data by modulating the network output using a linear layer. Consequently, we introduce an auxiliary linear network, trained on our reduced gradient, to generate the necessary output for computing score functions. The network architecture is:
g
→
B
N
→
F
C
→
y
”); and
determining that the image data associated with the sample image is out of distribution (OOD) based on a magnitude of the projection of the gradient (P. 5 1) Combination with output-based methods: “Output-based approaches aim to capture the dissimilarities in feature representations between ID and OOD data by modulating the network output using a linear layer. Consequently, we introduce an auxiliary linear network, trained on our reduced gradient, to generate the necessary output for computing score functions. The network architecture is:
g
→
B
N
→
F
C
→
y
”, P. 6 3) Combination with distance-based methods: “Features of ID data tend to cluster together and be away from those of OOD data; thus, previous works designed various distance measurements as score functions to detect OOD data. For our low-dimensional gradients, these methods should be equally effective since gradients share the same aggregation and separation properties as features, as shown in Figure 2. One typical measurement is the Mahalanobis distance [6] as follows:
where and are the empirical class mean and covariance of training samples. The Mahalanobis distance-based method imposes a class-conditional Gaussian distribution assumption about the underlying gradient space, while another distance based approach named KNN [7] is more flexible and general without any distributional assumptions. It utilizes the Euclidean distance to the k-th nearest neighbor of training data as its score function, which can be expressed as follows:
Both and functions exhibit larger values on ID data and smaller values on OOD data since they take the negative value of the distance measurements.”).
However Wu does not explicitly disclose
generating a subspace of in-distribution data of the training dataset based on a sample of one of the layers trained with the in-distribution data.
Ndiour teaches
generating a subspace of in-distribution data of the training dataset based on a sample of one of the layers trained with the in-distribution data (P. 2 Linear Subspace Modeling: “For instance, we see that for Layer 0, the subspace dimension after applying PCA with 99.5% variability retention drops from 512 to 29, indicating that 99.5% of the information in the 512-dimensional features is actually contained within a 29-dimensional subspace!”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu with creating subspace by dimensionally reducing one of the layers of a neural network of Ndiour to effectively reduce the resources needed when analyzing images.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, dependent upon claims 1 and 13 respectively, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claims 1 and 13.
Wu further teaches
the projection is parallel to the subspace (Fig. 1: Low-dimensional Gradient).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, dependent upon claims 2 and 14 respectively, Wu in view of Ndiour and Wilson teaches everything regarding claims 2 and 14.
Wu further discloses
the determining the image data associated with the sample image is OOD is based on the magnitude of the projection being below a threshold (P. 6 3) Combination with distance-based methods: “Features of ID data tend to cluster together and be away from those of OOD data; thus, previous works designed various distance measurements as score functions to detect OOD data. For our low-dimensional gradients, these methods should be equally effective since gradients share the same aggregation and separation properties as features, as shown in Figure 2. One typical measurement is the Mahalanobis distance [6] as follows:
where and are the empirical class mean and covariance of training samples. The Mahalanobis distance-based method imposes a class-conditional Gaussian distribution assumption about the underlying gradient space, while another distance based approach named KNN [7] is more flexible and general without any distributional assumptions. It utilizes the Euclidean distance to the k-th nearest neighbor of training data as its score function, which can be expressed as follows:
Both and functions exhibit larger values on ID data and smaller values on OOD data since they take the negative value of the distance measurements.”).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, dependent upon claims 1 and 13 respectively, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claims 1 and 13.
Ndiour further teaches
the subspace is generated based on the last layer of the one or more layers (P. 3 Experimental setup and evaluation metrics: “We tested our method on three layers of each of the networks, with layers chosen to be located uniformly along the network path. The layers are labelled as 0, 1, and 2, with 0 being the (semantic) outermost layer, and 1, 2 being progressively deeper within the network”).
Regarding claim 7, dependent upon claim 1, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Wu further discloses
the generating the subspace is based on singular value decomposition (SVD) (P. 2 Linear Subspace Modeling: “One popular choice for dimensionality reduction is principal component analysis (PCA) [17]. In this framework, H and L are, respectively, Euclidean spaces
R
d
and
R
m
with
m
≪
d
. T can then be calculated from the singular value decomposition (SVD) [18] of the data matrix D.”) and
wherein the subspace is a significant representation of the layer (P. 2 Linear Subspace Modeling: “For instance, we see that for Layer 0, the subspace dimension after applying PCA with 99.5% variability retention drops from 512 to 29, indicating that 99.5% of the information in the 512-dimensional features is actually contained within a 29-dimensional subspace!”).
Regarding claim 8, dependent upon claim 1, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Wu further discloses
the layer is one of a linear layer and a convolution layer (P. 6 Models and Hyper-parameters: “In the case of CIFAR10, we adopt the ResNet18 architecture as our base model. We train it using the SGD algorithm with weight decay 0.0005, momentum 0.9, cosine schedule, initial learning rate 0.1, label smoothing 0.1, epoch 200, and batch size 128.”).
Regarding claim 9, dependent upon claim 1, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Wu further discloses
the one or more images are at least one of: numbers, text, audio, vector image, bitmap image, and sensor signal (P. 7 A Evaluation on Large-scale ImageNet Benchmark: “We first evaluate our method on the large-scale ImageNet benchmark, which poses significant challenges due to the substantial volume of training data and model parameters. The comparison results are presented in Table II, where we evaluate six different detection methods using either features or our low-dimensional gradients as inputs. To control our computational overhead, we randomly select 50000 training samples as the training dataset for our detection algorithms”).
Regarding claim 12, dependent upon claim 1, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Wu further discloses
the gradient is determined based on a comparison between the image data associated with the sample image and the layer of the one or more layers.
Ndiour further teaches generating a subspace that represents the training images based on one of the layers of the trained neural network (P. 2 Linear Subspace Modeling: “For instance, we see that for Layer 0, the subspace dimension after applying PCA with 99.5% variability retention drops from 512 to 29, indicating that 99.5% of the information in the 512-dimensional features is actually contained within a 29-dimensional subspace!”).
Regarding claim 19, dependent upon claim 13, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claim 13.
Wu further discloses
the generating the subspace is based on singular value decomposition (SVD) (P. 2 Linear Subspace Modeling: “One popular choice for dimensionality reduction is principal component analysis (PCA) [17]. In this framework, H and L are, respectively, Euclidean spaces
R
d
and
R
m
with
m
≪
d
. T can then be calculated from the singular value decomposition (SVD) [18] of the data matrix D.”).
Claims 4-5, 10-11, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Low-Dimensional Gradient Helps Out-of-Distribution Detection, hereinafter Wu) in view of Ndiour et al. (SUBSPACE MODELING FOR FAST OUT-OF-DISTRIBUTION AND ANOMALY DETECTION, hereinafter Ndiour) and Wilson et al. (Hyperdimensional Feature Fusion for Out-of-Distribution Detection, hereinafter Wilson).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, dependent upon claims 3 and 15 respectively, Wu in view of Ndiour and Wilson teaches everything regarding claims 3 and 15.
Wilson further teaches
the determining the image data associated with the sample image is OOD is further based upon an angle between the gradient and the projection being greater than a second threshold (Figure. 1, P. 3 Hyperdimensional Feature Fusion: “During deployment, we repeat the projection and bundling steps for a new input image, and use the cosine similarity to the class representatives to identify OOD samples.”, P. 4 Out-of-Distribution Detection: “During testing or deployment, an image x can be identified as OOD by obtaining its image descriptor y according to (4), and calculating the cosine similarity to each of the class-specific descriptors
d
c
. Let
θ
be the angle to the class descriptor
d
c
that is most similar to y
The input x is then treated as OOD if theta is bigger than a threshold:
θ
>
θ
*
.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu in view of Ndiour with determining if an image is out-of-distribution based on its cosine similarity to one of the class descriptor and other functions of Wilson to effectively reduce the training and inference time needed for determining if an image is out-of- distribution.
Regarding claim 5 and 17, dependent upon claims 4 and 16 respectively, Wu in view of Ndiour and Wilson teaches everything regarding claims 4 and 16.
Wilson further teaches
the executing the neural network generates a first vector associated with the sample image, the projecting of the gradient into the subspace generates a second vector, and the determining the image data associated with the sample image is OOD is based on a magnitude of the second vector (Figure 1, P. 3 Bundling: “Concretely, given random vectors a, b and c, the vector will be similar to the bundles a⊕b, a⊕c, and a ⊕b⊕c, although in the final case it will be less similar as the bundled vector needs to be similar to all 3 input vectors.”, Figure. 1, P. 3 Hyperdimensional Feature Fusion: “During deployment, we repeat the projection and bundling steps for a new input image, and use the cosine similarity to the class representatives to identify OOD samples.”, P. 4 Out-of-Distribution Detection: “During testing or deployment, an image x can be identified as OOD by obtaining its image descriptor y according to (4), and calculating the cosine similarity to each of the class-specific descriptors
d
c
. Let
θ
be the angle to the class descriptor
d
c
that is most similar to y
The input x is then treated as OOD if theta is bigger than a threshold:
θ
>
θ
*
.”).
Regarding claim 10, dependent upon claims 1, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claim 1.
However Wu in view of Ndiour does not explicitly teach
determining the image data associated with a second sample image is in distribution (ID) based on a magnitude of a second projection of a second gradient being above a threshold.
Wilson teaches
determining the image data associated with a second sample image is in distribution (ID) based on a magnitude of a second projection of a second gradient being above a threshold (P. 4 Out-of-Distribution Detection: “During testing or deployment, an image x can be identified as OOD by obtaining its image descriptor y according to (4), and calculating the cosine similarity to each of the class-specific descriptors
d
c
. Let
θ
be the angle to the class descriptor
d
c
that is most similar to y
The input x is then treated as OOD if theta is bigger than a threshold:
θ
>
θ
*
.”).
Regarding claim 11, dependent upon claims 1, Wu in view of Ndiour teaches everything regarding claim 1.
However Wu in view of Ndiour does not explicitly teach
receiving image data associated with a second sample image for the neural network;
executing the neural network with the image data associated with the second sample image to determine a second gradient associated with the second sample image;
projecting the second gradient into the subspace to derive a second projection of the second gradient; and
determining the image data associated with the second sample image is in distribution (ID) based on a magnitude of the second projection of the second gradient being above a threshold.
Wilson teaches
receiving image data associated with a second sample image for the neural network; executing the neural network with the image data associated with the second sample image to determine a second gradient associated with the second sample image (P. 1 Figure 1: “During testing, we repeat feature extraction, projection and bundling to obtain a hyperdimensional image descriptor. OOD samples will produce descriptors with a large angular distance to all class descriptors (red vector).”, P. 3 Bundling: “Concretely, given random vectors a, b and c, the vector will be similar to the bundles a⊕b, a⊕c, and a ⊕b⊕c, although in the final case it will be less similar as the bundled vector needs to be similar to all 3 input vectors.”);
projecting the second gradient into the subspace to derive a second projection of the second gradient; and determining the image data associated with the second sample image is in distribution (ID) based on a magnitude of the second projection of the second gradient being above a threshold (P. 1 Figure 1: “During testing, we repeat feature extraction, projection and bundling to obtain a hyperdimensional image descriptor. OOD samples will produce descriptors with a large angular distance to all class descriptors (red vector).”, P. 4 Out-of-Distribution Detection: “During testing or deployment, an image x can be identified as OOD by obtaining its image descriptor y according to (4), and calculating the cosine similarity to each of the class-specific descriptors
d
c
. Let
θ
be the angle to the class descriptor
d
c
that is most similar to y
The input x is then treated as OOD if theta is bigger than a threshold:
θ
>
θ
*
.”).
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Dadalto et al. (A Functional Data Perspective and Baseline On Multi-Layer Out-of-Distribution Detection, hereinafter Dadalto) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Dadalto discloses a method for identifying out-of-distribution data based on functional view of the network that exploits the sample’s trajectories through the various layers and their statistical dependencies.
D’Agostino et al. (Learning Active Subspaces and Discovering Important Features with Gaussian Radial Basis Functions Neural Networks, hereinafter D’Agostino) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. D’Agostino discloses a modification of the Radial Basis Function Neural Network model by equipping its Gaussian kernel with a learnable precision matrix.
Conclusion
/J. C./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665