DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that that there is no serious burden in examining all inventions. This is not found persuasive because the examiner notes that since the independent claims of each invention is distinct as laid out in the restriction requirement and classified in different areas, requiring different searches, a serious burden inherently exists in examining all three inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, it is unclear if the “autonomous vehicle being stopped in or proximate to one of a road shoulder and a road lane safest for surrounding traffic” is the same as “the fire suppression position” of claim 1, or a different position.
Additionally, the term “safest for surrounding traffic,” of claim 9 is unclear. The specification does not define what is safest for surrounding traffic and what one person thinks is safest for surrounding traffic is not always what another person thinks is safest or may not be the safest. This term is ambiguous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enk, Sr. (8,973,670) in view of Stein (DE 10 2022 133 739 A1) and Wang (4,982,798)
Regarding claim 1, Enk, Sr,. shows a system for detecting and suppressing fires in a trailer of an autonomous vehicle, the system comprising: a fire detection system comprising a sensor (22) positioned within the trailer of a vehicle; a fire suppression system comprising a suppression unit (10”, 16, 14, 58), a regulator (42, 50) communicatively coupled to the suppression unit, a dispensing assembly (50, 20c) positioned in the trailer of the autonomous vehicle, and a connection assembly (pipes) oriented to connect the regulator to the dispensing assembly, wherein the suppression unit includes a plurality of tanks (14, 16), each of the plurality of tanks containing a fire-extinguishing substance for selective release from the suppression unit by the regulator; a drive system (inherent to the truck) configured to move the vehicle; and a processing system (58), the processing system including a processor and a memory device (col 8, line 24), the memory device storing instructions that when executed cause the processor to: receive, from the plurality of sensors, at least one sensor signal representing one or more fire-related conditions within the trailer of the autonomous vehicle )this is how a sensor works); identify one or more fire-indicative conditions within the trailer of the autonomous vehicle based on the one or more fire-related conditions (this will occur when a fire is present); release one or more fire-extinguishing substances from one or more of the plurality of tanks of the suppression unit to be conveyed through the connection assembly to the dispensing assembly (the controller will do this to extinguish the fire), wherein the one or more fire-extinguishing substances are selectively released based on the one or more fire-related conditions; and convey the one or more fire-extinguishing substances from the dispensing assembly into the trailer of the vehicle (this is how Enk works),
But fails to disclose that the vehicle is autonomous and that the processor controls the drive system to move the autonomous vehicle into a fire-suppression position when a fire is detected.
However Stein shows an autonomous vehicle towing a trailer (fig 1, the control system and drive system of the autonomous vehicle in positioned in a cab of the autonomous vehicle (inherent to the autonomous vehicle) and the processor controls the drive system to move the autonomous vehicle into a fire-suppression position when a fire is detected (paragraph 15 of the translation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the autonomous vehicle of Stein instead of the vehicle of Enk, Sr. in order to drive the vehicle without the need of a human and to move the vehicle to the side of the road automatically in the event of a fire as taught by Stein.
The above combination fails to disclose that the fire suppression unit is positioned in a cab of the vehicle.
Wang teaches a vehicle fire suppression system where the suppression unit (3) is remote from the dispensing assembly (60) and located in a cab of the vehicle (fig 4), a connection assembly (4, 5, 6) oriented to connect the suppression unit to the dispensing assembly
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to locate the suppression unit in the cab of the autonomous vehicle, remote from the trailer dispensing assembly, and have a connection assembly to connect the regulator to the dispensing assembly in order to free up more cargo space in the trailer.
Lastly, the above combination fails to disclose more than one sensors.
Enk, Sr. Jr teaches multiple sensors in its embodiment of 10’ (col 12, lines 4-53)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use more than one heat/smoke sensor to increase the sensitivity of the sensing system.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the dispensing assembly comprises a plurality of nozzles spaced along a top surface of the trailer of the autonomous vehicle to convey the one or more fire-extinguishing substances throughout the trailer (fig 8 Enk).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the connection assembly (4, 5, 6 Wang) of the fire suppression system comprises a first end oriented to receive the one or more fire-extinguishing substances from the regulator and a second end oriented to convey the one or more fire-extinguishing substances into the dispensing assembly (fig 3 Wang).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the second end of the connection assembly is oriented through a port (6 or 4 of Wang) of the trailer of the autonomous vehicle to convey the one or more fire-extinguishing substances into the dispensing assembly.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the plurality of sensors of the fire detection system are coupled to the dispensing assembly within the trailer of the autonomous vehicle (they are coupled by the roof of the trailer, Fig 8, Enk).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the plurality of sensors are spaced along the dispensing assembly proximate a top surface of the trailer of the autonomous vehicle to detect one or more fire-related conditions throughout the trailer (fig 8, Enk).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the one or more fire-related conditions comprise at least one of a carbon dioxide amount, a carbon monoxide amount, a chemical amount, a smoke amount, and a temperature (the sensor 22 of Enk is a heat/smoke sensor).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the one or more fire-indicative conditions are based on at least one of a carbon dioxide threshold amount, a carbon monoxide threshold amount, a chemical threshold amount, a smoke threshold amount, and a threshold temperature (the sensor 22 of Enk is a heat/smoke sensor).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the fire-suppression position comprises the autonomous vehicle being stopped in or proximate to one of a road shoulder and a road lane safest for surrounding traffic (this is taught by Stein).
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 1/20/2026