DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 112(f) or 112 (pre-AIA ), Sixth Paragraph
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitation:
“a controller” recited in claims 1, and dependent claims thereafter has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “controller” coupled with functional language “determine” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) above has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
For ““a controller” recited in claims 1, and dependent claims thereafter, the specification (0097) discloses the following:
[0097] Controller circuitry 711 represents one or more general-purpose processors such as a microprocessor, central processing unit, accelerated processing units, or the like. More particularly, the controller circuitry 711 may comprise a complex instruction set computing (CISC) microprocessor, reduced instruction set computing (RISC) microprocessor, very long instruction word (VLIW) microprocessor, processor implementing other instruction sets, or processors implementing a combination of instruction sets. Controller circuitry 711 may also include one or more special-purpose processing devices such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a digital signal processor (DSP), network processor, or the like. One or more processors of the controller circuitry may have a multicore design. Controller circuitry 711 is configured to execute the processing logic for performing the operations and steps discussed herein.
Therefore, ““a controller” recited in claims 1, and dependent claims thereafter have been interpreted as being any processor device or any equivalent structures in light of the specification for the purpose of examination.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, 11, 13, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20200050676, Published Date: 2020-05-12, hereinafter Lee ‘676).
In re claims 1, 11, 20, Lee ‘676 teaches a radiotherapy device comprising: an accelerating structure (page 22, para 4-5); a magnetron (page 22, para 4-5); and a controller ((page 22, para 4-5) communicatively coupled to the accelerating structure and the magnetron (page 22, para 4-5), wherein the controller is configured to: determine a predicted resonant frequency change of the accelerating structure (page 23, para 3-9) based on a predicted operation of the radiotherapy device (page 23, para 7-page 24, para 2); wherein the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device comprises a beam delivery state of the radiotherapy device (page 25, para 2); wherein the beam delivery state comprises a beam off time period (page 25, para 5); and
adjust an output frequency of the magnetron by the predicted resonant frequency change (page 23, para 7-page 24, para 2).
In re claim 3, 13, and wherein the controller is configured to determine the predicted resonant frequency change to increase as a function of the beam off time period (page 25, para 5).
In re claims 10, 19, Lee ‘676 teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine the predicted resonant frequency change as a function of the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device based on experimental measurements taken on the radiotherapy device (page 22 last para-page 23, para 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘676 in view of Chen et al. (US 2014/0152197, hereinafter Chen ‘197).
In re claims 4 and 14, Lee ‘676 fails to teach wherein the beam delivery state comprises a beam on time period, and wherein the controller is configured to determine the predicted resonant frequency change to decrease as a function of the beam on time period.
Chen ‘197 teaches wherein the beam delivery state comprises a beam on time period, and wherein the controller is configured to determine the predicted resonant frequency change to decrease as a function of the beam on time period (abstract, 0006, 0007, 0013, 0042, 0018, 0054, 0070).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Lee ‘676 to include the features of Johnson ‘896 in order to provide better stability for the generated radiation beam.
In re claim 5, 15, Lee ‘676 teaches wherein the radiotherapy device comprises an automatic frequency controller configured to adjust the output frequency of the magnetron during the beam on time period (page 22, last para – page 23, para7; page 24, para 2, 4, 8).
Chen ‘197 teaches wherein the radiotherapy device comprises an automatic frequency controller configured to adjust the output frequency of the magnetron during the beam on time period (0042).
In re claim 3, 13, Chen ‘197 teaches wherein the beam delivery state comprises a beam off time period, and wherein the controller is configured to determine the predicted resonant frequency change to increase as a function of the beam off time period (abstract, 0006, 0007, 0013, 0042, 0018, 0054, 0070).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘676 in view of Johnson et al. (US 2020/0054896, hereinafter Johnson ‘896).
In re claims 6 and 16, Lee ‘676 fails to teach wherein the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device comprises a gated radiotherapy treatment.
Johnson ‘896 teaches wherein the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device comprises a gated radiotherapy treatment (0169-0172).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Lee ‘676 to include the features of Johnson ‘896 in order to accommodate patient motion in the event that respiration or other movement of the patient causes the treatment machine to move into and out of a desired docking configuration.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘676 and Johnson ‘896 in view of Fahrig et al. (US 2016/0193482, hereinafter Fahrig ‘482).
In re claims 7, Lee ‘676 and Johnson ‘896 fail to teach wherein the radiotherapy device comprises a sensor configured to determine a position of a part of a subject in the radiotherapy device, and wherein the controller is configured to determine the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device at future timepoints based on the determined position at previous timepoints.
Fahrig ‘482 teaches wherein the radiotherapy device comprises a sensor (0076, 0091, 0101, 0104, 0105, 0109) configured to determine a position of a part of a subject in the radiotherapy device, and wherein the controller is configured to determine the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device at future timepoints based on the determined position at previous timepoints (0121-0122).
Furthermore, Fahrig ‘482 teaches Claim 8. The radiotherapy device according to claim 7, wherein the controller being configured to determine the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device at future timepoints comprises the controller being configured to predict at which of the future timepoints the part of the subject will be within a spatial window (0121-0122), wherein the spatial window is a gating window defined by an upper displacement threshold and a lower displacement threshold (0070, position verification to verify the planned position; 0121, range of locations will include upper and lower displacement threshold), and wherein, when a target is within the gating window, a beam of the radiotherapy device is turned on (0084, a treatment delivery within the specified time frame inherently include a upper limit and lower limit), and teaches Claim 9. The radiotherapy device according to claim 7, wherein the sensor is a magnetic resonance (MR) imaging apparatus (0076, 0091, 0101, 0104, 0105, 0109).
Still furthermore, Fahrig ‘482 teaches Claim 17. The computer-implemented method according to claim 16, comprising: determining, using a sensor of the radiotherapy device (0076, 0091, 0101, 0104, 0105, 0109), a position of a part of a subject in the radiotherapy device; and determining the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device at future timepoints based on the determined position at previous timepoints, wherein determining the predicted operation of the radiotherapy device at future timepoints comprises predicting at which of the future timepoints the part of the subject will be within a spatial window (0121-0122); wherein the spatial window is a gating window defined by an upper displacement threshold and a lower displacement threshold (0070, position verification to verify the planned position; 0121, range of locations will include upper and lower displacement threshold), and wherein, when a target is within the gating window, a beam of the radiotherapy device is turned on (0084, a treatment delivery within the specified time frame inherently include a upper limit and lower limit), and teaches Claim 18. The computer-implemented method to claim 17, wherein the sensor is an magnetic resonance (MR) imaging apparatus (0076, 0091, 0101, 0104, 0105, 0109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Lee ‘676 to include the features of Johnson ‘896 in order to accommodate patient motion in the event that respiration or other movement of the patient causes the treatment machine to move into and out of a desired docking configuration, and to include the features of Fahrig ‘482 in order to provide more accurate radiation therapy plan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that:
Lee reads the temperature of the accelerator tube in real-time, measures the traveling wave and the reflected wave, and consults stored lookup table information according to whether electron beam loading is presently on or off. Every one of those inputs reports a condition that Lee has already measured. Lee's beam loading condition is likewise a present status, either loading exists or it does not, and Lee selects its control basis according to which condition currently holds. In other words, Lee considers received information on temperature and considers on/off electron beam loading in the context of resonant frequency control. What Lee lacks is a predicted operation of the radiotherapy device. Applicant respectfully submits that a measured temperature and a present beam loading status are not a predicted operation, and that Lee accordingly has no predicted operation from which a predicted resonant frequency change can be determined. Since the temperature measurements in Lee are performed in real time, the lookup table does not predict the resonant frequency change of the accelerator tube based on a predicted operation of the radiotherapy device. Nor does Lee tie its correction to a beam off time period.
The Examiner disagrees. Applicant fails to limit the scope of “predicted.” Applicant fails to limit the scope of “predicted operation.” Applicant argues that positions of the target at future times are predicted, but that is not what Applicant claimed. Applicant argues that “those predication establish the beam off and beam on periods for an upcoming time period, the resonant frequency change for that upcoming period follows for them.” But that’s not what Applicant claimed. Applicant literally claims that the predicted operation comprises a beam delivery state of the radiotherapy device. This beam delivery state is NOT a future predicted state. It is a state at any time period. Not a future time period, or a past time period or a current period. There is no temporal limitation on this.
Even if predicted means a “future estimation,” what’s the scope of future, A real-time calculation is a prediction of next millisecond of operation. A real-time operation based on a calculation or determination is a prediction under BRI. It is constantly determining the reaction of the system to keep up with changes in other parts of the system. The reaction is prediction.
Furthermore,
The Examiner has shown that: for example,
Lee teaches:
The automatic resonant frequency control unit 110 determines whether the electron beam of the accelerator tube 20 is loaded according to the electron beam on / off state information (210). For example, when the electron beam on / off state information indicates state State # 1 (eg, OFF), it can be determined that there is no electron beam loading of the accelerator 20 (220). In addition, when the electron beam on / off state information indicates state # 2 (eg, ON), it can be determined as the electron beam loading state of the accelerator tube (230). Hereinafter, a method of controlling a resonance frequency in a beam loading on-off state of the resonance control apparatus 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention will be described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4. 3 and 4, the resonant frequency automatic control unit 110 of the resonance control device 100 is corrected to correct the frequency of the RF signal of the storage unit 111 and the magnetron 60 storing the lookup table information. See page 24.
Lee teaches the resonant frequency automatic control unit 110 of the resonance control device 100 is corrected to correct the frequency of the RF signal of the storage unit 111 and the magnetron 60 storing the lookup table information. Hence, Lee is not just using the stored look up table. Lee actively corrects the frequency. This correction is done only after a determination that something needs to corrected. This two steps are a prediction and correction.
Lee’s prediction and correction is based on temperature measurement and beam delivery state and the state is a beam off time period. Applicant does not exclude any temperature measurement. Actually Applicant also monitors temperature. See para 0049, 0050, 0060.
Furthermore, Lee teaches what Applicant claims that: a beam delivery state of the radiotherapy device (page 25, State #1, State #2, throughout the page, especially para 2, i.e. “if beam loading is present (State # 2), fine tuning is performed based on the size information of the reflected wave”); comprises a beam off time period (“step of increasing a desired set value of a high frequency power value without beam loading,”, without beam loading is beam off time period).
In response to Applicant’s argument that:
the passages relied on against the independent claims and against claims 2, 3, 12, and 13 are cited to pages 22 through 25 of Lee. (Office Action at pages 5-6). The Lee publication of record is 19 pages, so Applicant is unable to locate the cited passages.
The Examiner disagrees. The attached PDF in the Office Action including Original Korean Application and its English translation totaling to a 30-page Document. The Examiner has cited the pages 22 to 25 in the 30-page document, where English translation of the Korean Application is. It is unclear why Applicant ignores what is given to Applicant and does not read the attached Document in total?
In response to Applicant’s argument that:
As discussed in the present disclosure, during radiotherapy treatment, an "anatomical position monitoring (APM) algorithm" may be used to "determine the position of the subject or parts thereof from obtained images." (See e.g., published application at [0042]). Based on these images, the APM algorithm may determine "an APM target trajectory signal," which "may estimate the positions of anatomical parts of the subject as a function of time." (Id.). Since the APM algorithm estimates the positions of the anatomical parts of the subject as a function of time, the movement of the subject can be used to predict when the beam will be turned on or off. As discussed in paragraph [0079] of the published application:
Since the prediction algorithm determines a prediction for the target locations at future times, this provides a prediction for when the target will be within the gating window at future times and when it will be outside.
Since the beam is held when the target is outside the gating window and resumed when it is inside, this can be used to determine the values of AtBH and AtR in an upcoming period. Using these, the value of Af may be determined/calculated/predicted for an upcoming time period.
But none of this is in the claims. Should the definition of “predicted” include every word from para 0042, 0079, 0082, and with additional explanation here?
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797