DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the Merits in response to communications filed by applicant on October 8th, 2025. Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims filed on October 8th, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 11, and 20 are currently amended and pending, claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-19 are original, unamended, and pending, and claims 7 and 17 have been canceled. The amendments to the Specifications filed on October 8th, 2025 have been entered and have overcome each and every objection to the Specification and Drawings set forth in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed on July 31st, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 11, 12, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021070447 A ("Yokoyama") in view of US 11604178 B2 ("Chilla").
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama teaches a system for detecting and reporting fires by an autonomous vehicle, the autonomous vehicle having an exterior, the system comprising (Yokoyama: ¶ 0031, “The vehicle management system 1 acquires the occurrence of a fire in the vicinity of the vehicle S based on the surrounding conditions acquired by the sensor or from the notification server 2 that holds information related to the occurrence of the fire (hereinafter referred to as fire information). This is a system for automatically running the vehicle S to evacuate when it is detected based on fire information.”):
a fire detection system comprising one or more sensors oriented outwards from the exterior of the autonomous vehicle to collect data in one or more areas surrounding the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶ 0038, “The external world sensor 11 (external world information acquisition device) captures electromagnetic waves such as light from the periphery of the vehicle S, heat, sound waves, etc., detects objects, substances, heat, sound, etc. outside the vehicle, and detects the surrounding conditions of the vehicle S. As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the sensor includes a temperature sensor 28, a smoke sensor 29, a microphone 30, a sonar 31, an external camera 32, a radar 33, and a rider 34. The external sensor 11 outputs the detection result to the control device 14.”);
and a processing system, the processing system including a processor and a memory device, the memory device storing instructions that when executed cause the processor to (Yokoyama: ¶ 0051, “The control device 14 is an electronic control unit (ECU) composed of a central processing unit (CPU), a ROM, a RAM, peripheral circuits, an input / output interface, various drivers, and the like. The control device 14 executes various vehicle controls by executing arithmetic processing according to the program by the CPU. The control device 14 may be configured as one hardware, or may be configured as a unit composed of a plurality of hardware. Further, at least a part of each functional unit of the control device 14 may be realized by hardware such as LSI, ASIC, FPGA, or may be realized by a combination of software and hardware.”):
receive, from the one or more sensors, at least one sensor signal representing one or more fire-related conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶ 0064, “The fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S (more specifically, the vehicle parking area) based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11. When a fire is detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, the fire detection unit 47 generates fire occurrence information including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is the own vehicle parking area.”);
identify one or more fire-indicative conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle based on the one or more fire-related conditions (Yokoyama: ¶ 0066, “As described above, the external sensor 11 includes the temperature sensor 28 that detects the temperature outside the vehicle, and the control device 14 of the vehicle control unit 3 detects the fire based on the output of the temperature sensor 28. Therefore, when the temperature outside the vehicle becomes abnormally high, the control device 14 can detect a fire based on the output of the temperature sensor 28.”, ¶ 0067, “Further, the fire detection unit 47 determines that a fire has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S when the concentration of smoke contained in the outside air is higher than the predetermined fire determination concentration by the smoke sensor 29, and the own vehicle parking area. Detect the fire that broke out in.”, ¶ 0070, “Further, when the fire detection unit 47 analyzes the image captured by the vehicle exterior camera 32 using a known analysis method and detects, for example, flame, smoke, sprinkler water discharge, etc., a fire occurs around the vehicle S. It is determined that the vehicle is in use, and a fire that has occurred in the vehicle parking area is detected. Alternatively, the fire detection unit 47 may detect the water discharge of the sprinkler based on the detection of a large amount of raindrops by the optical rain sensor and the parking position information, and detect the fire that has occurred in the own vehicle parking area.”);
generate a fire detection signal based at least on the one or more fire-indicative conditions, a location of the one or more fire-indicative conditions, and a location of the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶00064, “The fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S (more specifically, the vehicle parking area) based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11. When a fire is detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, the fire detection unit 47 generates fire occurrence information including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is the own vehicle parking area.”, ¶ 0073, “Further, the fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S based on the fire information transmitted from the notification server 2 and the position of the vehicle S acquired by the own vehicle position recognition unit 52. When a fire is detected based on the fire information and the own vehicle position information, the fire detection unit 47 includes a fire including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is in the own vehicle parking area or a peripheral area other than the own vehicle parking area. Generate occurrence information.”);
and transmit the fire detection signal to an external receiver (Yokoyama: ¶ 0044, “The communication device 12 mediates the connection of the control device 14 to the network 35 such as the Internet. As a result, the control device 14 can be connected to a network 35 such as the Internet via the communication device 12, and communicates with various servers and a terminal 4 owned by a user outside the vehicle S via the network 35. It is possible. Further, the communication device 12 sends and receives signals by transmitting and receiving radio waves. As a result, the control device 14 can directly communicate with the external device of the vehicle S via the communication device 12.”, ¶ 0087, “Further, when a fire is detected by the fire detection unit 47, the state management unit 50 transmits specific fire position information to another vehicle in the parking facility where the vehicle S is parked, and also transmits specific fire position information according to the position of the fire source.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the fire detection signal is transmitted to other vehicles.); and
control operation of the autonomous vehicle, based on the one or more fire-indicative conditions (Yokoyama: ¶ 0077, “When the fire risk calculation unit 48 determines that the fire risk is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value (for example, "medium"), the evacuation route determination unit 49 refers to the navigation device 13, the position of the vehicle S, the map information, and the fire. An evacuation site suitable for evacuation of the vehicle S is set based on the specific fire position information included in the occurrence information. After that, the evacuation route determination unit 49 sets an evacuation route from the current position of the vehicle S to the evacuation site.”, ¶ 0081, “When the action planning unit 53 receives an instruction to travel on the evacuation route from the state management unit 50, the action planning unit 53 sends this instruction to the travel control unit 54. When the travel control unit 54 receives an instruction from the action planning unit 53 to travel on the evacuation route, the travel control unit 54 controls the travel motor 7, the steering device 8, and the brake device 9 so that the vehicle S travels on the evacuation route.”. The cited passages clearly teach that once a fire is determined, the system is configured to control the operation of the autonomous vehicle.).
Yokoyama does not teach wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions,
the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide amount and a carbon monoxide amount.
Chilla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions (Chilla: Column 29 lines 14-28, “In various embodiments, FDS or CO detection devices (e.g., 120c and 120d) may be configured to detect potential or actual fire events (e.g., fire 155) and/or high levels of CO and report information to a remote server 142 providing fire detection system services via the wireless network 100. Similarly, the remote server 142 may be configured to receive fire event reports and sensor data from several FDS or CO detection devices (e.g., 120c and 120d) as well as provide command signals (e.g., to wake up, activate certain sensors, report data, move, and/or shutdown or go into a low-power mode or other mode). In some embodiments a server providing fire detection system services may be deployed as or included within the functionality of a network element (e.g., a server coupled to a macro base station 110a).”, Column 31 lines 9-35, “Any number of such sensors and/or other sensors of any type may be included in different implementations of the FDS or CO detection device 200.”, Column 31 lines 36-48, “The sensors may include (but is not limited to) a variety of sensors including a local ambient temperature sensor 230 (i.e., a sensor for detecting a temperature outside of the FDS device), a remote temperature sensor 232, a smoke detector 234, an image sensor 236, an infrared sensor 238, an ambient humidity sensor 240, a chemical sensor 242 such as a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, and/or another chemical sensor, a sound sensor 244 (such as a microphone), a soil sensor 246, and other sensors or sensing devices, including any combination of the foregoing. It should be clear that any number of these (and/or other) sensors may be included in different implementations of the FDS device 200.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the device is configured with chemical sensors used to detect fire—related conditions.),
the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide amount and a carbon monoxide amount (Patel: Column 31 lines 9-35, “Any number of such sensors and/or other sensors of any type may be included in different implementations of the FDS or CO detection device 200.”, Column 31 lines 36-48, “The sensors may include (but is not limited to) a variety of sensors including a local ambient temperature sensor 230 (i.e., a sensor for detecting a temperature outside of the FDS device), a remote temperature sensor 232, a smoke detector 234, an image sensor 236, an infrared sensor 238, an ambient humidity sensor 240, a chemical sensor 242 such as a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, and/or another chemical sensor, a sound sensor 244 (such as a microphone), a soil sensor 246, and other sensors or sensing devices, including any combination of the foregoing. It should be clear that any number of these (and/or other) sensors may be included in different implementations of the FDS device 200.”, Column 38 lines 55-62, “In block 606, the processor may generate a fire warning message comprising a fire alarm object in response to determining that the information received from the one or more sensors satisfy one or more threshold criteria indicative of a fire event or CO detection. In some embodiments, means for performing functions of the operations in block 604 may include the processor (e.g., 312, 314, 316, 318, 352, 366).”. The cited passages clearly teach that that a carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide amount are fire related conditions detected by the chemical sensors.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system for detecting and reporting fires by an autonomous vehicle taught in Yokoyama with wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions, the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide and a carbon monoxide amount taught in Chilla with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have been obvious to try. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that fire produces both carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide, and that the presence of these gases could be used to indicate the presence of a fire. Furthermore, a sensor that is configured to detect one or both of carbon dioxide and monoxide would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, the device taught in Chilla is already configured to be used in a vehicle (Chilla: Column 29 line 48 – Column 30 line 3). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have integrated such a senor into the system taught in Yokoyama. The combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required.
Regarding claim 2, Yokoyama in view of Chilla teaches wherein the system further comprises a drive system configured to move the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶ 0033, “The traveling motor 7 is driven by receiving electric power supplied from the battery 6 (driving storage battery) to rotate the driving wheels. In the present embodiment, the left and right rear wheels of the vehicle S are driving wheels. The battery 6 supplies electric power not only to the traveling motor 7, but also to the steering device 8, the braking device 9, the control device 14, and the like.”),
the processor being further caused to control the drive system to move the autonomous vehicle into a hazard-response position (Yokoyama: ¶ 0077, “When the fire risk calculation unit 48 determines that the fire risk is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value (for example, "medium"), the evacuation route determination unit 49 refers to the navigation device 13, the position of the vehicle S, the map information, and the fire. An evacuation site suitable for evacuation of the vehicle S is set based on the specific fire position information included in the occurrence information. After that, the evacuation route determination unit 49 sets an evacuation route from the current position of the vehicle S to the evacuation site.”, ¶ 0081, “When the action planning unit 53 receives an instruction to travel on the evacuation route from the state management unit 50, the action planning unit 53 sends this instruction to the travel control unit 54. When the travel control unit 54 receives an instruction from the action planning unit 53 to travel on the evacuation route, the travel control unit 54 controls the travel motor 7, the steering device 8, and the brake device 9 so that the vehicle S travels on the evacuation route.”. The cited passages clearly teach that once a fire is determined, the system is configured to determine an evacuation site and cause the drive system to move the vehicle to the evacuation site. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would see that an “evacuation site” is a “hazard-response position”.).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama in view of Chilla teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise a camera configured for visual detection of the one or more fire-related conditions (Yokoyama: ¶ 0070, “Further, when the fire detection unit 47 analyzes the image captured by the vehicle exterior camera 32 using a known analysis method and detects, for example, flame, smoke, sprinkler water discharge, etc., a fire occurs around the vehicle S. It is determined that the vehicle is in use, and a fire that has occurred in the vehicle parking area is detected. Alternatively, the fire detection unit 47 may detect the water discharge of the sprinkler based on the detection of a large amount of raindrops by the optical rain sensor and the parking position information, and detect the fire that has occurred in the own vehicle parking area.”),
the one or more fire-related conditions comprising at least one of a color, an illumination level, and a smoke amount (Yokoyama: ¶ 0070, ¶ 0071, “As described above, the external sensor 11 includes the external camera 32, and the control device 14 of the vehicle control unit 3 detects the fire by analyzing the image taken by the external camera 32. Therefore, the control device 14 analyzes the image to extract flames, smoke, and the like, so that a fire around the vehicle can be detected quickly.”. The system is clearly able to determine the presence of a fire based on the amount of smoke captured in the image, as shown in the cited paragraphs.).
Regarding claim 8, Yokoyama in view of Chilla teaches wherein the fire detection signal comprises at least one of a time, a location of the autonomous vehicle, a location of the one or more fire-indicative conditions, the one or more fire-indicative conditions, and a fire probability assessment (Yokoyama: ¶ 0064, “The fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S (more specifically, the vehicle parking area) based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11. When a fire is detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, the fire detection unit 47 generates fire occurrence information including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is the own vehicle parking area.”, ¶ 0076, “For example, when the fire risk calculation unit 48 detects a fire that has occurred in the own vehicle parking area based on the detection result of the external sensor 11, the fire risk is calculated as “high”. When the fire risk calculation unit 48 detects a fire that has occurred in the vehicle parking area based on the fire information, the fire risk has not yet been detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, so the fire risk is set to "medium". calculate. When the fire risk calculation unit 48 detects a fire that has occurred in the surrounding area based on the fire information, the fire risk calculation unit 48 calculates the fire risk as “low” or “medium”. Specifically, the fire risk calculation unit 48 calculates the possibility that a fire that occurs in the surrounding area will spread to the own vehicle parking area based on the fire type information, fire occurrence position information, and weather information included in the fire information. However, when the fire spread possibility is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold, the fire risk is calculated as "low", and when the fire spread possibility exceeds the predetermined threshold, the fire risk is calculated as "medium".”, ¶ 0091, “The control device 14 (state management unit 50) transmits the first reception start signal to the terminal 4 in step ST2. The first reception start signal includes fire occurrence information, a peripheral image of the vehicle S acquired from the external camera 32, and a fire risk.”. The cited passages clearly show that the fire signal comprises the location of the fire and a fire probability (the fire risk).).
Regarding claim 11, Yokoyama teaches a method for detecting and reporting fires by an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising (Yokoyama: ¶ 0031, “The vehicle management system 1 acquires the occurrence of a fire in the vicinity of the vehicle S based on the surrounding conditions acquired by the sensor or from the notification server 2 that holds information related to the occurrence of the fire (hereinafter referred to as fire information). This is a system for automatically running the vehicle S to evacuate when it is detected based on fire information.”):
receiving, from one or more sensors, at least one sensor signal representing one or more fire-related conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶ 0064, “The fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S (more specifically, the vehicle parking area) based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11. When a fire is detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, the fire detection unit 47 generates fire occurrence information including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is the own vehicle parking area.”);
identifying one or more fire-indicative conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle based on the one or more fire-related conditions (Yokoyama: ¶ 0066, “As described above, the external sensor 11 includes the temperature sensor 28 that detects the temperature outside the vehicle, and the control device 14 of the vehicle control unit 3 detects the fire based on the output of the temperature sensor 28. Therefore, when the temperature outside the vehicle becomes abnormally high, the control device 14 can detect a fire based on the output of the temperature sensor 28.”, ¶ 0067, “Further, the fire detection unit 47 determines that a fire has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S when the concentration of smoke contained in the outside air is higher than the predetermined fire determination concentration by the smoke sensor 29, and the own vehicle parking area. Detect the fire that broke out in.”, ¶ 0070, “Further, when the fire detection unit 47 analyzes the image captured by the vehicle exterior camera 32 using a known analysis method and detects, for example, flame, smoke, sprinkler water discharge, etc., a fire occurs around the vehicle S. It is determined that the vehicle is in use, and a fire that has occurred in the vehicle parking area is detected. Alternatively, the fire detection unit 47 may detect the water discharge of the sprinkler based on the detection of a large amount of raindrops by the optical rain sensor and the parking position information, and detect the fire that has occurred in the own vehicle parking area.”);
generating a fire detection signal based at least on the one or more fire-indicative conditions, a location of the one or more fire-indicative conditions, and a location of the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶00064, “The fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S (more specifically, the vehicle parking area) based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11. When a fire is detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, the fire detection unit 47 generates fire occurrence information including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is the own vehicle parking area.”, ¶ 0073, “Further, the fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S based on the fire information transmitted from the notification server 2 and the position of the vehicle S acquired by the own vehicle position recognition unit 52. When a fire is detected based on the fire information and the own vehicle position information, the fire detection unit 47 includes a fire including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is in the own vehicle parking area or a peripheral area other than the own vehicle parking area. Generate occurrence information.”);
and transmitting the fire detection signal to an external receiver (Yokoyama: ¶ 0044, “The communication device 12 mediates the connection of the control device 14 to the network 35 such as the Internet. As a result, the control device 14 can be connected to a network 35 such as the Internet via the communication device 12, and communicates with various servers and a terminal 4 owned by a user outside the vehicle S via the network 35. It is possible. Further, the communication device 12 sends and receives signals by transmitting and receiving radio waves. As a result, the control device 14 can directly communicate with the external device of the vehicle S via the communication device 12.”, ¶ 0087, “Further, when a fire is detected by the fire detection unit 47, the state management unit 50 transmits specific fire position information to another vehicle in the parking facility where the vehicle S is parked, and also transmits specific fire position information according to the position of the fire source.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the fire detection signal is transmitted to other vehicles.); and
controlling operation of the autonomous vehicle, based on the one or more fire-indicative conditions (Yokoyama: ¶ 0077, “When the fire risk calculation unit 48 determines that the fire risk is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value (for example, "medium"), the evacuation route determination unit 49 refers to the navigation device 13, the position of the vehicle S, the map information, and the fire. An evacuation site suitable for evacuation of the vehicle S is set based on the specific fire position information included in the occurrence information. After that, the evacuation route determination unit 49 sets an evacuation route from the current position of the vehicle S to the evacuation site.”, ¶ 0081, “When the action planning unit 53 receives an instruction to travel on the evacuation route from the state management unit 50, the action planning unit 53 sends this instruction to the travel control unit 54. When the travel control unit 54 receives an instruction from the action planning unit 53 to travel on the evacuation route, the travel control unit 54 controls the travel motor 7, the steering device 8, and the brake device 9 so that the vehicle S travels on the evacuation route.”. The cited passages clearly teach that once a fire is determined, the system is configured to control the operation of the autonomous vehicle.).
Yokoyama does not teach wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions,
the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide amount and a carbon monoxide amount.
Chilla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions (Chilla: Column 29 lines 14-28, “In various embodiments, FDS or CO detection devices (e.g., 120c and 120d) may be configured to detect potential or actual fire events (e.g., fire 155) and/or high levels of CO and report information to a remote server 142 providing fire detection system services via the wireless network 100. Similarly, the remote server 142 may be configured to receive fire event reports and sensor data from several FDS or CO detection devices (e.g., 120c and 120d) as well as provide command signals (e.g., to wake up, activate certain sensors, report data, move, and/or shutdown or go into a low-power mode or other mode). In some embodiments a server providing fire detection system services may be deployed as or included within the functionality of a network element (e.g., a server coupled to a macro base station 110a).”, Column 31 lines 9-35, “Any number of such sensors and/or other sensors of any type may be included in different implementations of the FDS or CO detection device 200.”, Column 31 lines 36-48, “The sensors may include (but is not limited to) a variety of sensors including a local ambient temperature sensor 230 (i.e., a sensor for detecting a temperature outside of the FDS device), a remote temperature sensor 232, a smoke detector 234, an image sensor 236, an infrared sensor 238, an ambient humidity sensor 240, a chemical sensor 242 such as a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, and/or another chemical sensor, a sound sensor 244 (such as a microphone), a soil sensor 246, and other sensors or sensing devices, including any combination of the foregoing. It should be clear that any number of these (and/or other) sensors may be included in different implementations of the FDS device 200.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the device is configured with chemical sensors used to detect fire—related conditions.),
the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide amount and a carbon monoxide amount (Patel: Column 31 lines 9-35, “Any number of such sensors and/or other sensors of any type may be included in different implementations of the FDS or CO detection device 200.”, Column 31 lines 36-48, “The sensors may include (but is not limited to) a variety of sensors including a local ambient temperature sensor 230 (i.e., a sensor for detecting a temperature outside of the FDS device), a remote temperature sensor 232, a smoke detector 234, an image sensor 236, an infrared sensor 238, an ambient humidity sensor 240, a chemical sensor 242 such as a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, and/or another chemical sensor, a sound sensor 244 (such as a microphone), a soil sensor 246, and other sensors or sensing devices, including any combination of the foregoing. It should be clear that any number of these (and/or other) sensors may be included in different implementations of the FDS device 200.”, Column 38 lines 55-62, “In block 606, the processor may generate a fire warning message comprising a fire alarm object in response to determining that the information received from the one or more sensors satisfy one or more threshold criteria indicative of a fire event or CO detection. In some embodiments, means for performing functions of the operations in block 604 may include the processor (e.g., 312, 314, 316, 318, 352, 366).”. The cited passages clearly teach that that a carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide amount are fire related conditions detected by the chemical sensors.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method for detecting and reporting fires by an autonomous vehicle taught in Yokoyama with wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions, the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide and a carbon monoxide amount taught in Chilla with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have been obvious to try. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that fire produces both carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide, and that the presence of these gases could be used to indicate the presence of a fire. Furthermore, a sensor that is configured to detect one or both of carbon dioxide and monoxide would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, the device taught in Chilla is already configured to be used in a vehicle (Chilla: Column 29 line 48 – Column 30 line 3). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have integrated such a senor into the system taught in Yokoyama. The combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required.
Regarding claim 12, Yokoyama in view of Chilla teaches further comprising controlling a drive system configured to move the autonomous vehicle into a hazard-response position (Yokoyama: ¶ 0077, “When the fire risk calculation unit 48 determines that the fire risk is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value (for example, "medium"), the evacuation route determination unit 49 refers to the navigation device 13, the position of the vehicle S, the map information, and the fire. An evacuation site suitable for evacuation of the vehicle S is set based on the specific fire position information included in the occurrence information. After that, the evacuation route determination unit 49 sets an evacuation route from the current position of the vehicle S to the evacuation site.”, ¶ 0081, “When the action planning unit 53 receives an instruction to travel on the evacuation route from the state management unit 50, the action planning unit 53 sends this instruction to the travel control unit 54. When the travel control unit 54 receives an instruction from the action planning unit 53 to travel on the evacuation route, the travel control unit 54 controls the travel motor 7, the steering device 8, and the brake device 9 so that the vehicle S travels on the evacuation route.”. The cited passages clearly teach that once a fire is determined, the system is configured to determine an evacuation site and cause the drive system to move the vehicle to the evacuation site. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would see that an “evacuation site” is a “hazard-response position”.).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoyama in view of Chilla teaches wherein receiving from the one or more sensors comprises receiving visual detection signal data from a camera (Yokoyama: ¶ 0070, “Further, when the fire detection unit 47 analyzes the image captured by the vehicle exterior camera 32 using a known analysis method and detects, for example, flame, smoke, sprinkler water discharge, etc., a fire occurs around the vehicle S. It is determined that the vehicle is in use, and a fire that has occurred in the vehicle parking area is detected. Alternatively, the fire detection unit 47 may detect the water discharge of the sprinkler based on the detection of a large amount of raindrops by the optical rain sensor and the parking position information, and detect the fire that has occurred in the own vehicle parking area.”),
the one or more fire-related conditions comprising at least one of a color, an illumination level, and a smoke amount (Yokoyama: ¶ 0070, ¶ 0071, “As described above, the external sensor 11 includes the external camera 32, and the control device 14 of the vehicle control unit 3 detects the fire by analyzing the image taken by the external camera 32. Therefore, the control device 14 analyzes the image to extract flames, smoke, and the like, so that a fire around the vehicle can be detected quickly.”. The system is clearly able to determine the presence of a fire based on the amount of smoke captured in the image, as shown in the cited paragraphs.).
Regarding claim 20, Yokoyama teaches a processing system for detecting and reporting fires by an autonomous vehicle, the processing system including a processor and a memory device, the memory device storing instructions that when executed cause the processor to (Yokoyama: ¶ 0031, “The vehicle management system 1 acquires the occurrence of a fire in the vicinity of the vehicle S based on the surrounding conditions acquired by the sensor or from the notification server 2 that holds information related to the occurrence of the fire (hereinafter referred to as fire information). This is a system for automatically running the vehicle S to evacuate when it is detected based on fire information.”, ¶ 0051, “The control device 14 is an electronic control unit (ECU) composed of a central processing unit (CPU), a ROM, a RAM, peripheral circuits, an input / output interface, various drivers, and the like. The control device 14 executes various vehicle controls by executing arithmetic processing according to the program by the CPU. The control device 14 may be configured as one hardware, or may be configured as a unit composed of a plurality of hardware. Further, at least a part of each functional unit of the control device 14 may be realized by hardware such as LSI, ASIC, FPGA, or may be realized by a combination of software and hardware.”):
receive, from the one or more sensors, at least one sensor signal representing one or more fire-related conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶ 0064, “The fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S (more specifically, the vehicle parking area) based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11. When a fire is detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, the fire detection unit 47 generates fire occurrence information including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is the own vehicle parking area.”);
identify one or more fire-indicative conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle based on the one or more fire-related conditions (Yokoyama: ¶ 0066, “As described above, the external sensor 11 includes the temperature sensor 28 that detects the temperature outside the vehicle, and the control device 14 of the vehicle control unit 3 detects the fire based on the output of the temperature sensor 28. Therefore, when the temperature outside the vehicle becomes abnormally high, the control device 14 can detect a fire based on the output of the temperature sensor 28.”, ¶ 0067, “Further, the fire detection unit 47 determines that a fire has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S when the concentration of smoke contained in the outside air is higher than the predetermined fire determination concentration by the smoke sensor 29, and the own vehicle parking area. Detect the fire that broke out in.”, ¶ 0070, “Further, when the fire detection unit 47 analyzes the image captured by the vehicle exterior camera 32 using a known analysis method and detects, for example, flame, smoke, sprinkler water discharge, etc., a fire occurs around the vehicle S. It is determined that the vehicle is in use, and a fire that has occurred in the vehicle parking area is detected. Alternatively, the fire detection unit 47 may detect the water discharge of the sprinkler based on the detection of a large amount of raindrops by the optical rain sensor and the parking position information, and detect the fire that has occurred in the own vehicle parking area.”);
generate a fire detection signal based at least on the one or more fire-indicative conditions, a location of the one or more fire-indicative conditions, and a location of the autonomous vehicle (Yokoyama: ¶00064, “The fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S (more specifically, the vehicle parking area) based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11. When a fire is detected based on the detection result of the outside world sensor 11, the fire detection unit 47 generates fire occurrence information including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is the own vehicle parking area.”, ¶ 0073, “Further, the fire detection unit 47 detects a fire that has occurred in the vicinity of the vehicle S based on the fire information transmitted from the notification server 2 and the position of the vehicle S acquired by the own vehicle position recognition unit 52. When a fire is detected based on the fire information and the own vehicle position information, the fire detection unit 47 includes a fire including specific fire position information indicating that the fire occurrence position is in the own vehicle parking area or a peripheral area other than the own vehicle parking area. Generate occurrence information.”);
and transmit the fire detection signal to an external receiver (Yokoyama: ¶ 0044, “The communication device 12 mediates the connection of the control device 14 to the network 35 such as the Internet. As a result, the control device 14 can be connected to a network 35 such as the Internet via the communication device 12, and communicates with various servers and a terminal 4 owned by a user outside the vehicle S via the network 35. It is possible. Further, the communication device 12 sends and receives signals by transmitting and receiving radio waves. As a result, the control device 14 can directly communicate with the external device of the vehicle S via the communication device 12.”, ¶ 0087, “Further, when a fire is detected by the fire detection unit 47, the state management unit 50 transmits specific fire position information to another vehicle in the parking facility where the vehicle S is parked, and also transmits specific fire position information according to the position of the fire source.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the fire detection signal is transmitted to other vehicles.); and
control operation of the autonomous vehicle, based on the one or more fire-indicative conditions (Yokoyama: ¶ 0077, “When the fire risk calculation unit 48 determines that the fire risk is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold value (for example, "medium"), the evacuation route determination unit 49 refers to the navigation device 13, the position of the vehicle S, the map information, and the fire. An evacuation site suitable for evacuation of the vehicle S is set based on the specific fire position information included in the occurrence information. After that, the evacuation route determination unit 49 sets an evacuation route from the current position of the vehicle S to the evacuation site.”, ¶ 0081, “When the action planning unit 53 receives an instruction to travel on the evacuation route from the state management unit 50, the action planning unit 53 sends this instruction to the travel control unit 54. When the travel control unit 54 receives an instruction from the action planning unit 53 to travel on the evacuation route, the travel control unit 54 controls the travel motor 7, the steering device 8, and the brake device 9 so that the vehicle S travels on the evacuation route.”. The cited passages clearly teach that once a fire is determined, the system is configured to control the operation of the autonomous vehicle.).
Yokoyama does not teach wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions,
the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide amount and a carbon monoxide amount.
Chilla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions (Chilla: Column 29 lines 14-28, “In various embodiments, FDS or CO detection devices (e.g., 120c and 120d) may be configured to detect potential or actual fire events (e.g., fire 155) and/or high levels of CO and report information to a remote server 142 providing fire detection system services via the wireless network 100. Similarly, the remote server 142 may be configured to receive fire event reports and sensor data from several FDS or CO detection devices (e.g., 120c and 120d) as well as provide command signals (e.g., to wake up, activate certain sensors, report data, move, and/or shutdown or go into a low-power mode or other mode). In some embodiments a server providing fire detection system services may be deployed as or included within the functionality of a network element (e.g., a server coupled to a macro base station 110a).”, Column 31 lines 9-35, “Any number of such sensors and/or other sensors of any type may be included in different implementations of the FDS or CO detection device 200.”, Column 31 lines 36-48, “The sensors may include (but is not limited to) a variety of sensors including a local ambient temperature sensor 230 (i.e., a sensor for detecting a temperature outside of the FDS device), a remote temperature sensor 232, a smoke detector 234, an image sensor 236, an infrared sensor 238, an ambient humidity sensor 240, a chemical sensor 242 such as a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, and/or another chemical sensor, a sound sensor 244 (such as a microphone), a soil sensor 246, and other sensors or sensing devices, including any combination of the foregoing. It should be clear that any number of these (and/or other) sensors may be included in different implementations of the FDS device 200.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the device is configured with chemical sensors used to detect fire—related conditions.),
the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide amount and a carbon monoxide amount (Patel: Column 31 lines 9-35, “Any number of such sensors and/or other sensors of any type may be included in different implementations of the FDS or CO detection device 200.”, Column 31 lines 36-48, “The sensors may include (but is not limited to) a variety of sensors including a local ambient temperature sensor 230 (i.e., a sensor for detecting a temperature outside of the FDS device), a remote temperature sensor 232, a smoke detector 234, an image sensor 236, an infrared sensor 238, an ambient humidity sensor 240, a chemical sensor 242 such as a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, and/or another chemical sensor, a sound sensor 244 (such as a microphone), a soil sensor 246, and other sensors or sensing devices, including any combination of the foregoing. It should be clear that any number of these (and/or other) sensors may be included in different implementations of the FDS device 200.”, Column 38 lines 55-62, “In block 606, the processor may generate a fire warning message comprising a fire alarm object in response to determining that the information received from the one or more sensors satisfy one or more threshold criteria indicative of a fire event or CO detection. In some embodiments, means for performing functions of the operations in block 604 may include the processor (e.g., 312, 314, 316, 318, 352, 366).”. The cited passages clearly teach that that a carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide amount are fire related conditions detected by the chemical sensors.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system for detecting and reporting fires by an autonomous vehicle taught in Yokoyama with wherein the one or more sensors comprise a chemical sensor configured for chemical detection of the one or more fire-related conditions, the one or more fire-related conditions including a carbon dioxide and a carbon monoxide amount taught in Chilla with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have been obvious to try. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that fire produces both carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide, and that the presence of these gases could be used to indicate the presence of a fire. Furthermore, a sensor that is configured to detect one or both of carbon dioxide and monoxide would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, the device taught in Chilla is already configured to be used in a vehicle (Chilla: Column 29 line 48 – Column 30 line 3). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to ha