DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-34 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (US 2023/0223537 A1) in view of Kim (US 2019/0355971 A1).
Regarding claims 1-18 & 20-21, Kawaguchi teaches a battery electrode composition comprising a blended mixture of 50 wt% to 99 wt% of graphite particles and 1 wt% to 50 wt% of a population of jagged composite particles ([0114]-[0115]): each of the jagged composite particles comprising preferably 40 wt% to 60 wt% silicon and carbon ([0039]), wherein the population is characterized by a BET surface area of preferably 0.4 m2/g to 20 m2/g ([0050]) and a particle size distribution (PSD) as determined by laser particle size distribution analysis LPSA) such that a D50 of the PSD of the population is in a range of preferably 2 microns to 20 microns ([0047]; Table 2: Example 3), a D10 of the PSD of the population is in a range of 1 micron to 4 microns (Table 2: Example 3), a D90 of the PSD of the population is in a range of 12 microns to 20 microns (Table 2: Example 3), and a span of the population is in a range of about 0.3 to about 1.8 (Table 2: Example 3). Kawaguchi is silent as to about 90% or more of the jagged composite particles in the population being characterized by aspect ratios of about 2.3 or less and about 50% or more of the jagged composite particles in the population being characterized by aspect ratios of about 1.25 or more. Kim teaches a battery electrode composition comprising a population of jagged composite particles comprising silicon and carbon, wherein the jagged composite particles are characterized by aspect ratios of 1 to 2 ([0022]-[0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to set an aspect ratio of each jagged composite particle within any range between 1 and 2 in order to allow the active material to expand in a more uniform direction and improve cycle and swelling characteristics as taught by Kim ([0029]-[0030]). While Kawaguchi and Kim do not explicitly teach “jagged” composite particles, it is noted that the carbon particles forming each composite particle of the cited art includes a crystalline carbon having an aspect ratio of about 4 to about 10 ([0026] of Kim) and preferably 0.01 to 0.3 ([0057] of Kawaguchi) which can equivalently written as an aspect ratio of 3.33 to 100 (i.e by inverting the ratio such that length and width switched are switched) which overlaps with Kim’s range. Accordingly, the carbon particles forming each jagged composite particle have a non-spherical aspect ratio (i.e =1) such that portions of the carbon particles are expected to protrude from the relatively spherical surface of each composite particle in view of an aspect ratio of 1 to 2 for the composite particles as noted above.
Regarding claim 19, Kawaguchi as modified by Kim teaches the battery electrode of claim 1 but is silent as to a D99 of the PSD of the population ranging from about 15 microns to about 28 microns. However, Kawaguchi teaches that the particle size of the population is a result effective variable which affects the diffusion length of lithium in each particle and thus the rate characteristics as well as the uniformity of the active material coating as taught by Kawaguchi ([0048]). Specifically, Kawaguchi discloses that shorter diffusion lengths resulting from particle sizes of preferably less than 30 microns are advantageous for providing excellent rate characteristics. Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to set a particle size of each composite particle (i.e D100 which encompasses D99) to less than 30 microns in view of optimizing rate characteristics and minimizing unevenness in the active material coating of the electrode. “[A]fter KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process”. See MPEP 2144.05 II B.
Regarding claim 22, Kawaguchi as modified by Kim teaches the battery electrode composition of claim 1 but is silent as to the composite particles exhibiting a specific first cycle lithiation capacity in a range of about 1600 mAh/g to about 2200 mAh/g. However, modified Kawaguchi teaches a battery electrode having substantially the same structure (i.e jagged composite particles with the same particles sizes, BET surface area and aspect ratios) and composition (i.e carbon and silicon mixed in the same proportions to form the composite particles as noted above). Accordingly, modified Kawaguchi’s jagged composite particles would be expected to possess the presently claimed property relating to a specific first cycle lithiation capacity in a range of about 1600 mAh/g to about 2200 mAh/g. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).” See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 23, Kawaguchi teaches a specific capacity of the blended mixture being in a range of about 600 mAh/g to about 1200 mAh/g when normalized by a mass of the blended mixture (Table 2: Example 3).
Regarding claim 24, Kawaguchi teaches a battery electrode comprising the battery electrode composition of claim 1 further comprising a binder and disposed on a current collector ([0118]-[0120]).
Regarding claim 25, Kawaguchi teaches the battery electrode of claim 24, wherein a coating density of the battery electrode is in a range of about 0.9 g/cc to about 1.7 g/cc ([0221]).
Regarding claims 26-27, Kawaguchi teaches the battery electrode of claim 24 further comprising a carbon-comprising functional additive such as carbon nanotubes (including single walled and multi walled) and carbon nanofibers ([0118] & [0121]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 28, Kawaguchi teaches the battery electrode of claim 27, wherein a mass fraction of the carbon-comprising functional additive in the battery electrode overlaps with the claimed range of about 1 wt% or less when the mass fraction of the carbon-comprising functional additive relative to the total mass of the jagged composite particles is at the lower end of the disclosed range of 1 wt% to 30 wt% in Kawaguchi ([0123]).
Regarding claim 29, Kawaguchi teaches a D50 in a range of about 6 microns to about 8 microns (Table 2: Example 3) and a mass fraction of the binder in the battery electrode is in a range of about 7 microns to about 10 microns ([0120]).
Regarding claim 30, Kawaguchi teaches a D50 of the PSD of the population ranging from about 6 microns to about 8 microns (Table 2: Example 3); and an areal binder loading of the battery electrode calculated from a mass fraction of the binder relative to a total mass of the active material (i.e 0.5 to 30 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the active material), the mass fraction of the jagged composite particles in the active material (i.e 11.9 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the active material used in Example 3) and the BET surface area of the population (i.e 5.4 m2/g used in Example 3) as follows for a minimum binder content of 0.5 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the active material: 0.5/(11.9*5.4) = 7.8 mg/m2 which reads on the presently claimed range of about 9 mg/m2 to about 13 mg/m2. However, since Kawaguchi teaches a binder content of 0.5 parts to 30 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the active material, the claimed range for the areal binder loading is encompassed in Kawaguchi when the binder content is from about 0.5 parts by mass to about 1 parts by mass of the active material which is within Kawaguchi’s disclosed range.
Regarding claim 31, Kawaguchi teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising: an anode current collector, a cathode current collector, the battery electrode of claim 24 configured as an anode, the current collector thereof being configured as the anode current collector; a cathode disposed on the cathode current collector; and an electrolyte ionically coupling the anode and the cathode ([0125]).
Regarding claim 32, Kawaguchi as modified by Kim teaches a method of making a battery electrode, the method comprising: providing the battery electrode composition of claim 1; making a slurry comprising the battery electrode composition and a binder; and casting the slurry on a current collector to form the battery electrode ([0117]-[0119]).
Regarding claim 33, Kawaguchi as modified by Kim teaches a method of making a lithium-ion battery, the method comprising: making the battery electrode according the method of claim 32, the battery being configured as an anode and the current collector being configured as an anode current collector; providing a cathode disposed on a cathode current collector; and assembling a battery cell from the anode and the cathode and filling a space between the anode and the cathode with an electrolyte ionically coupling the anode and the cathode to form the lithium-ion battery ([0117]-[0119] & [0125]-[0130]).
Regarding claim 34, Kawaguchi as modified by Kim teaches a method of making a lithium-ion battery, the method comprising: providing the battery electrode of claim 24, the battery electrode being configured as an anode and the current collector being configured as an anode current collector; providing a cathode disposed on a cathode current collector; assembling a battery cell from the anode and the cathode and filling a space between the anode and the cathode with an electrolyte ionically coupling the anode and the cathode to form the lithium-ion battery ([0117]-[0119] & [0125]-[0130]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that A) the Office’s protrusion theory rests on a mischaracterization of Kawaguchi; B) neither reference teaches or suggest the claimed aspect ratio distribution including that about 50% or more of the particle have aspect ratios of about 1.25 or more; and C) the articulated combination rationale leads away from the claimed invention, the examiner respectfully disagrees. With regards to A), it is noted that the entire structure of the inorganic particles (which include the flat graphite particles having an aspect ratio of preferably 0.01 to 0.3 or equivalently from 3.33 to 100) and the adhesive polymer coating the surface of Kawaguchi’s core particles including the silicon-carbon composite is interpreted as reading on the claimed jagged composite particle. As such, based on this interpretation of Kawaguchi’s structure, the jagged composite particles include the surface coating made of the inorganic particles and the polymer. Since the flat graphite particles on the surface of the core have a high aspect ratio, the surface of the composite particles will necessarily have a plurality of protrusion structures derived from the inorganic particles as noted by Kawaguchi ([0054]). Accordingly, the protrusion structures read on the claimed jagged structure. As to B), Applicant specifically argues that despite teaching an aspect ratio of about 1 micron to about 2 microns, Kim discloses no population distribution information at all. However, in the absence of any population distribution information, one of ordinary skill in the art would surmise that all of the composite particles in Kim’s negative electrode should have an aspect ratio of about 1 micron to about 2 microns. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to include composite particles having aspect ratios anywhere within a range of 1 micron to 2 microns such that each composite particle has an aspect ratio within that range. Thus, when the aspect ratio of each composite particles varies within a range of 1.25 microns to 2 microns (i.e wholly encompassed within and covering 75% of the broader range of 1 micron to 2microns disclosed in Kim), the claimed limitation that about 50% or more of the particles having an aspect ratio of about 1.25 or more is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Kawaguchi and Kim since Kim renders obvious a configuration in which all of the composite particles have an aspect ratio between 1.25 microns and 2 microns. With respect to C), Applicant specifically argues that Kim’s rationale that an aspect ratio of a 1 micron to 2 microns would allow the active material to expand in a more uniform direction and improve cycling and swelling characteristics would direct a POSITA toward an aspect ratio of 1 that is towards spherical particles and away from a population in which at least half of the particles are required to be measurable non-spherical (aspect ratio greater than or equal to 1.25) and jagged. While the examiner acknowledges Kawaguchi’s preference of a spherical carbon host in the core of the composite particles, Kawaguchi also notes that small aspect ratio are suitable without necessarily being spherical ([0072]). “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971)”. See MPEP 2123 II. Furthermore, contrary to applicant’s assertions, the proposed modification to Kawaguchi to limit the aspect ratio of the composite particles to a range of 1.25 microns to 2 microns would not necessarily render Kawaguchi unsatisfactory for its intended purpose since Kawaguchi discloses that low aspect ratios are preferable albeit less preferable than an aspect ratio of 1 (i.e spherical particles). An aspect ratio within a range of 1 micron to 2 microns is reasonably interpreted as reading on a low aspect ratio. Moreover, as noted in the above rejection, when the aspect ratio of the composite particle is modified to be between 1 micron and 2 microns according to the teachings of Kim, the active material can expand in a more uniform direction and improve cycle and swelling characteristics. It is noted that, similarly to one feature of Kawaguchi’s invention of uniform expansion of the composite particles ([0072]), by setting an aspect ratio of each composite particle within a range of 1 micron and 2 microns, the uniform expansion of Kawaguchi’s modified composite particle can still be secured as taught by Kim. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-34 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727