DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-11, 13-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0330148 A1 by Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method comprising:
establishing, by a wireless communication device, a connection between the wireless communication device and a wireless communication node, the connection established according to a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration defined by the wireless communication node (see at least ¶ [0126]; “The electronic device 400 may control a communication circuit (for example, the communication circuit 410 of FIG. 4) on the basis of a predetermined time and/or a length of DRX duration included in C-DRX configuration information.” and at least ¶ [0127]; “According to various embodiments of the disclosure, the electronic device 400 may control the communication circuit 410 to activate components included in the communication circuit 410 for performing a packet reception function in the on-duration period of the C-DRX cycle and control the communication circuit 410 to deactivate components included in the communication circuit 410 for performing a packet reception function in the sleep duration of the C-DRX.”), the DRX configuration comprising an on period and a sleep period of a DRX cycle (see at least Fig. 6 (601) and ¶ [0125]; “According to various embodiments of the disclosure, a network (for example, the 5G network 394 of FIG. 3) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message including C-DRX configuration information to an electronic device (for example, the electronic device 400 of FIG. 4) in operation 601.”);
determining, by the wireless communication device, one or more metrics of the wireless communication device or the connection; and
increasing, by the wireless communication device, a duration of the sleep period within the DRX cycle of the connection according to the one or more metrics (see at least Fig. 6 (605) and ¶ [0081], [0092], [0094], and [0135]; “According to various embodiments of the disclosure, the electronic device 400 may transmit UE assistance information including information for increasing the length of the sleep duration to the network 394 in response to determination to increase the length of the sleep duration of the C-DRX on the basis of state information of the electronic device 400.”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Kim teaches wherein increasing the duration of the sleep period comprises: switching, by the wireless communication device, a state of the wireless communication device to a sleep mode during a portion of the on period of the DRX cycle according to the one or more metrics (see at least Fig. 6 (605) and ¶ [0081], [0092], [0094], and [0135]; “According to various embodiments of the disclosure, the electronic device 400 may transmit UE assistance information including information for increasing the length of the sleep duration to the network 394 in response to determination to increase the length of the sleep duration of the C-DRX on the basis of state information of the electronic device 400.”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Kim teaches wherein increasing the duration of the sleep period comprises: switching, by the wireless communication device, a state of the wireless communication device to a sleep mode for a full duration of the on period of the DRX cycle according to the one or more metrics (see at least ¶ [0137]; “When the length of the on-duration period is maintained and the length of the DRX duration is reduced, the length of the sleep duration may be increased.”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the one or more metrics comprise configuration information of the DRX configuration (see at least Fig. 6 (601) and ¶ [0125]; “According to various embodiments of the disclosure, a network (for example, the 5G network 394 of FIG. 3) may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message including C-DRX configuration information to an electronic device (for example, the electronic device 400 of FIG. 4) in operation 601.”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the method of claim 5.
In addition, Kim teaches wherein the configuration information of the DRX configuration comprise at least one of a first duration between a wake-up signal (WUS) period and the on period of the DRX cycle, a second duration of the WUS period, a third duration of the on period, a periodicity of the on period, or a value of an inactivity timer (see at least Figs. 5A and 5B; DRX-inactivity time (524, 561, 562) ).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Kim teaches wherein the one or more metrics comprise one or more power or thermal metrics of a device comprising the wireless communication device (see at least ¶ [0085] According to various embodiments of the disclosure, the state of the electronic device 400 may include the remaining capacity of a battery (for example, the battery 189 of FIG. 1) of the electronic device 400 or a temperature of the electronic device 400. The communication processor 420 may perform a series of operations for changing the length of the sleep duration of the C-DRX on the basis of the remaining capacity of the battery 189 of the electronic device 400 or the temperature of the electronic device 400 satisfying a predetermined condition, received from the application processor 120. ).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the method of claim 9.
In addition, Kim teaches wherein the one or more power or thermal metrics comprise at least one of a battery level, a state of charge of a battery of the device, a rate of change of the battery level, a temperature, or a rate of change of the temperature of the device (see at least ¶ [0085] According to various embodiments of the disclosure, the state of the electronic device 400 may include the remaining capacity of a battery (for example, the battery 189 of FIG. 1) of the electronic device 400 or a temperature of the electronic device 400. The communication processor 420 may perform a series of operations for changing the length of the sleep duration of the C-DRX on the basis of the remaining capacity of the battery 189 of the electronic device 400 or the temperature of the electronic device 400 satisfying a predetermined condition, received from the application processor 120. ).
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Claims 11 recites similar features as in claims 1 for a wireless communication device, comprising: one or more processors (see at least Figs. 1-3).
Claims 13-15 and 18-19 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claims 3-6 and 9-10. Claims 13-15 and 18-19 recites similar features as in claim 3-6 and 9-10.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Claims 20 recites similar features as in claims 1 for a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions (see at least ¶ [0186]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 2, 7-8, 12 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in view of US 2018/0332655 A1 by Ang et al. (hereafter referred to as Ang).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim does not specifically teach wherein the DRX configuration comprises a wake-up signal (WUS) period in which the wireless communication device is to listen for a WUS from the wireless communication node wherein increasing the duration of the sleep period comprises: maintaining, by the wireless communication device, a state of the wireless communication device in a sleep mode during the WUS period according to the one or more metrics.
In the same field of endeavor, Ang teaches wherein the DRX configuration comprises a wake-up signal (WUS) period in which the wireless communication device is to listen for a WUS from the wireless communication node (see at least Fig. 9A and ¶ [0114]-[0117]; “In an example, the UE may be configured to operate in a first WUS PWU state 808 (State 4), and if the WUS is not detected during a WUS detection/reception 902 (e.g., a WUS detection 902a), the UE may be configured to transition from the first WUS PWU state 808 (State 4) to a first DRX or Sleep state 602 (State 0), until a second WUS PWU state 808 (State 4) is configured and a WUS is detected during a second WUS detection/reception 902 (e.g., a WUS detection 902b) in a DRX cycle 910”), wherein increasing the duration of the sleep period comprises: maintaining, by the wireless communication device, a state of the wireless communication device in a sleep mode during the WUS period according to the one or more metrics (see at least Fig. 9A and ¶ [0067]; “In some cases, PDCCH processing latency may be reduced to increase the time for micro-sleep (e.g., increase the time duration 204)” ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DRX configuration taught by Kim with the DRX configuration taught by Ang in order to improve the system reliability and energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim does not specifically teach wherein the one or more metrics comprise one or more traffic patterns on the connection.
In the same field of endeavor, Ang teaches wherein the one or more metrics comprise one or more traffic patterns on the connection (see at least ¶ [0045]; “According to aspects of the present disclosure, the DRX states discussed herein may be configurable. For example, the number of DRX states and/or the DRX state transition scheme(s) discussed herein may be configured by a base station (e.g., a next generation Node B or a gNB). In an example, the DRX states and/or the transition scheme(s) may be configured according to UE support (e.g., whether the UE supports WUS reception), and/or according to a traffic pattern or traffic statistics.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DRX configuration taught by Kim with the DRX configuration taught by Ang in order to improve the system reliability and energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Ang teaches the method of claim 7. In the obvious combination, Ang further teaches wherein the one or more traffic patterns comprise at least one of a buffer status, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a retransmission prediction, a traffic type, or a prediction of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) message (see at least ¶ [0037], [0043]-[0046]; PDCCH candidates and PDCCH monitoring states).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DRX configuration taught by Kim with the DRX configuration taught by Ang in order to improve the system reliability and energy efficiency.
Claims 12, 16-17 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claims 2, 7-8. Claims 12, 16-17 recite similar features as in claims 2, 7-8.
Conclusion
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571)270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465