This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 4/7/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 16 & 18-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 2, 4, 6, 9, 12, 14, 15 & 17 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 11, 13, 18 & 20 have been amended.
Rejection of claims 10 & 18 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Rejections of claims 1, 8, 11, 19 & 20 under 35 USC 102 have been withdrawn, however new grounds of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 have been made.
Rejections of claims 3, 5, 7, 10, 13, 16 & 18 under 35 USC 103 in the prior record Non-final Rejection dated 1/8/2026 have been withdrawn, however new grounds of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 have been made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/7/2026, with respect to Claim Interpretation have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees that Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B, or C” should be interpreted as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B, C, A&B, A&C, B&C or A&B&C. Examiner has updated the claim interpretation paragraph to indicate “at least one of A, B, or C” should be interpreted as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B, C, A&B, A&C, B&C or A&B&C.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/7/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 10 & 18 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 10 & 18 under 35 USC 112(b) made in the prior record Non-final Rejection dated 1/8/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submits that claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 16 & 18-20 are patentable because the cited documents in the Non-final rejection dated 1/8/2026 fail to disclose or render obvious the solution set forth in the amended claims submitted on 4/7/2026. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the cited references, either alone or in combination, in the Non-final Rejection date 1/8/2026 fail to disclose or render obvious the solution set forth in amended claim 1, particularly wherein in the Bluetooth audio broadcast scenario, the broadcast data field in the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information carries both a URL address and a first content of the program information, and the URL address points to contents other than the first content of the program information, because the Bluetooth broadcast in Lee is a short-range, intermittent service discovery broadcast, while the Bluetooth audio stream broadcast in the present application involves the source device actively and continuously transmitting audio stream metadata over a Bluetooth broadcast channel without acknowledgement, and thus the EIR in Lee, which merely indicates that a device is capable of play audio, is different from the audio stream broadcast in the present application, that indicates that a source device is actively broadcasting not only audio streams but also synchronization information. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that the limitations in amended claim 1 do not require that the Bluetooth audio stream broadcast involves the source device actively and continuously transmitting audio stream metadata over a Bluetooth broadcast channel without acknowledgement, but only require the Bluetooth broadcasting be a Bluetooth audio broadcast. Examiner has shown that Fig 6 & [0285]-[0290] of Lee disclose broadcast of and inquiry message containing Bluetooth audio information that may be interpreted as a Bluetooth audio broadcast, and examiner notes that [0459]-[0461] of Lee discloses that the advertising URI packet in the inquiry message may include a secure URL, a certificate URL, or an HTTPS server URL used to verify the validity of the advertising URI (i.e. synchronization information). Thus Lee discloses the required Bluetooth audio broadcast scenario per the recited limitations of amended claim 1 related to “sending, by a first Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information to a second Bluetooth device” and “wherein the Bluetooth broadcasting is a Bluetooth audio broadcast”.
Applicant argues that Lee in view of BTProfile fail to disclose that “the URL address is configured to point to: contents other than the first content of the program information” because BTProfile is silent on that metadata can be obtained indirectly via a URL, and the URLs in Lee are unrelated to the program information of audio stream metadata. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that BTProfile is only used in combination with Lee to teach “wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM)” and thus the argument that BTProfile is silent on that metadata can be obtained indirectly via a URL is moot. Further, examiner has shown that Fig 10(a) and [0382] & [0393] of Lee disclose that the advertising packet not only includes the URL pointing to security information, but also content type information in an AdvA Data field. Thus, Lee discloses that the inquiry message contains a URL pointing to contents (i.e. security information) other than the first content of the program information (i.e. content type information in the AdvA Data field). Examiner notes that amended claim 1 only requires that “the URL address is configured to point to: contents other than the first content of the program information” and does not require that the URL address is configured to point to: other contents of the first program information different than the first content of the program information. Thus, security information pointed to by the URLs in Lee may be interpreted as “contents other than the first content of the program information”.
Applicant argues that Lee in combination with BTProfile do not teach or suggest “splitting program information into a directly-carried first content and a URL-pointed remaining content within the specific context of Bluetooth audio stream broadcasting”. Examiner notes that, as discussed above, the current claim language does not require “splitting program information into a directly-carried first content and a URL-pointed remaining content within the specific context of Bluetooth audio stream broadcasting”.
Applicant argues that Lee in combination with BTProfile fails to address the technical problem of how to insure an integrity of the data information transmitted for the Bluetooth audio broadcast. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that the URLs of Lee are used to provide a level of integrity of the data information transmitted for the Bluetooth audio broadcast.
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains that Lee in view of BTProfile disclose all of the limitations of amended claim 1. Therefore, having incorporated claims 2, 4, 6 & 9 into claim 1, examiner withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102, but introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on Lee in view of BTProfile.
Regarding claims 11 & 20, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner withdraws rejections of claims 11 & 20 under 35 USC 102, but introduces a new grounds of rejections of claims 11 & 20 under 35 USC 103 based on Lee in view of BTProfile.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 13, 16, 18 & 19, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claims 1 & 11 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 11. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner withdraws rejections of claims 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 13, 16, 18 & 19 under 35 USC 102 or 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Non-final Rejection data 1/8/2026, but introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 13, 16, 18 & 19 under 35 USC 103.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B, C, A&B, A&C, B&C, or A&B&C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 11, 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0278006)(herein after “Lee”) in view of BTProfile et al. (Bluetooth Profile Specification, “Basic Audio Profile”, Generic Audio Working Group, Revision D1.0r01, Revision Date 2021-07-02)(herein after “BTProfile”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a sending method for Bluetooth broadcasting ([0010]-[0011] disclose a method for enabling devices to share a URI or URL indicating advertisement, promotion and status information using Bluetooth. [0118] discloses that the method includes an advertising device performing broadcast to devices within range of the advertising device.), comprising:
sending, by a first Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information to a second Bluetooth device (Fig 6 & [0285]-[0291] disclose a first Bluetooth device 1 that sends application information, user information, network interface information, content type information and advertising URI Type information in an inquiry message for broadcasting to a second Bluetooth device 2. [0459]-[0461] discloses that the advertising URI packet may include a secure URL, a certificate URL, or an HTTPS server URL used to verify the validity of the advertising URI (i.e. synchronization information).); wherein
the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information is configured to carry a uniform resource locator URL address, and the URL address is configured to point to target information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460]-[0461] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL which contains security information (i.e. target information) for verifying the validity of the advertising URI.);
wherein the first Bluetooth device is a source device for the Bluetooth broadcasting, the second Bluetooth device is a receiving end device for the Bluetooth broadcasting, the Bluetooth broadcasting is a Bluetooth audio broadcast (Fig 6 & [0285]-[0290] discloses that first Bluetooth device 1 turns on Bluetooth communication to broadcast an inquiry message including application information selected by a user, user information, network interface information, and content type information (i.e. first Bluetooth device 1 is a source device for Bluetooth broadcasting), and second Bluetooth device 2 receives the inquiry message (i.e. second Bluetooth device 2 is a receiving end device for the Bluetooth broadcasting inquiry message). Fig 7, Table 2 & [0309] disclose the data format for an extended inquiry response (EIR) includes audio data types (i.e. the Bluetooth broadcast advertising in the inquiry message from first Bluetooth device 1 may be for a Bluetooth audio broadcast). As further evidence, Fig 15 & [0432]-[0434] disclose that a Device 2 may be a source device (i.e. a first Bluetooth device may be a source device) for broadcasting BLE advertising messages and Device 1 and a sink device may act as a receiving end device (i.e. a second Bluetooth device may be a receiving end device) for receiving the BLE advertising messages in order to setup an AV Stream (i.e. the BLE advertising is for a Bluetooth audio-visual broadcast.).);
the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information comprises extension broadcast package for the Bluetooth broadcasting, and a broadcast data field of the extension broadcast package is configured to carry the URL address and a first content of the program information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet (i.e. an extension broadcast package) that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL (i.e. includes a data field carrying the URL address). Fig 10(a) and [0382] & [0393] discloses that a advertising packet also includes content data in an AdvA Data field (i.e. first content of the program information).).; and
the URL address is configured to point to: contents other than the first content of the program information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL (i.e. includes a data field carrying the URL address). Fig 10(a) and [0382] & [0393] discloses that a advertising packet also includes content type information in an AdvA Data field (i.e. first content of the program information). Thus, the URL address points to security information which is different than the content type information carried in the advertising packet that providing program information.).
Lee fails to disclose wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM).
However, BTProfile teaches wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM) (Table 3.15 & Page 39, Section 3.7.2.2 discloses parameters including metadata for Bluetooth broadcast audio streaming.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have a sending method for Bluetooth broadcasting, comprising: sending, by a first Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information to a second Bluetooth device; wherein the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information is configured to carry a uniform resource locator URL address, and the URL address is configured to point to target information, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM), as taught by BTProfile. The motivation to do so would have been to have a sending method for a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the content and how to access desired content.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of BTProfile disclose the method as claimed in claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein the extension broadcast package is sent periodically ([0122] discloses that advertising user data may be periodically broadcasted to scanning devices.).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a receiving method for Bluetooth broadcasting ([0010]-[0011] disclose a method for enabling devices to share a URI or URL indicating advertisement, promotion and status information using Bluetooth. [0118] discloses that the method includes an advertising device performing broadcast to receiving devices within range of the advertising device.), comprising:
receiving, by a second Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information sent from a first Bluetooth device (Fig 6 & [0285]-[0290] disclose a second Bluetooth device 2 that receives application information, user information, network interface information, content type information and advertising URI Type information in an inquiry message sent by a first Bluetooth device 1. [0459]-[0461] discloses that the advertising URI packet may include a secure URL, a certificate URL, or an HTTPS server URL used to verify the validity of the advertising URI (i.e. synchronization information); wherein
the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information is configured to carry a uniform resource locator URL address, and the URL address is configured to point to target information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460]-[0461] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL which contains security information (i.e. target information) for verifying the validity of the advertising URI.); and
obtaining, by the second Bluetooth device, the target information according to the URL address ([0461] discloses that the scanner (i.e. second Bluetooth device) obtains the security information from the secure URL. Certificate URL or HTTPS server URL in order to validate the advertising URI.);
wherein the first Bluetooth device is a source device for the Bluetooth broadcasting, the second Bluetooth device is a receiving end device for the Bluetooth broadcasting, the Bluetooth broadcasting is a Bluetooth audio broadcast (Fig 6 & [0285]-[0290] discloses that first Bluetooth device 1 turns on Bluetooth communication to broadcast an inquiry message including application information selected by a user, user information, network interface information, and content type information (i.e. first Bluetooth device 1 is a source device for Bluetooth broadcasting), and second Bluetooth device 2 receives the inquiry message (i.e. second Bluetooth device 2 is a receiving end device for the Bluetooth broadcasting inquiry message). Fig 7, Table 2 & [0309] disclose the data format for an extended inquiry response (EIR) includes audio data types (i.e. the Bluetooth broadcast advertising in the inquiry message from first Bluetooth device 1 may be for a Bluetooth audio broadcast). As further evidence, Fig 15 & [0432]-[0434] disclose that a Device 2 may be a source device (i.e. a first Bluetooth device may be a source device) for broadcasting BLE advertising messages and Device 1 and a sink device may act as a receiving end device (i.e. a second Bluetooth device may be a receiving end device) for receiving the BLE advertising messages in order to setup an AV Stream (i.e. the BLE advertising is for a Bluetooth audio-visual broadcast.).);
the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information comprises extension broadcast package for the Bluetooth broadcasting, and a broadcast data field of the extension broadcast package is configured to carry the URL address and a first content of the program information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet (i.e. an extension broadcast package) that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL (i.e. includes a data field carrying the URL address). Fig 10(a) and [0382] & [0393] discloses that a advertising packet also includes content data in an AdvA Data field (i.e. first content of the program information).).; and
the URL address is configured to point to: contents other than the first content of the program information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL (i.e. includes a data field carrying the URL address). Fig 10(a) and [0382] & [0393] discloses that a advertising packet also includes content type information in an AdvA Data field (i.e. first content of the program information). Thus, the URL address points to security information which is different than the content type information carried in the advertising packet that providing program information.).
Lee fails to disclose wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM).
However, BTProfile teaches wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM) (Table 3.15 & Page 39, Section 3.7.2.2 discloses parameters including metadata for Bluetooth broadcast audio streaming.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have a receiving method for Bluetooth broadcasting, comprising: receiving, by a second Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information sent from a first Bluetooth device; wherein the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information is configured to carry a uniform resource locator URL address, and the URL address is configured to point to target information; and obtaining, by the second Bluetooth device, the target information according to the URL address, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM), as taught by BTProfile. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving method for a second Bluetooth device to receive broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the content and how to access desired content.
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of BTProfile disclose the receiving method of claim 11.
Lee discloses wherein the obtaining, by the second Bluetooth device, the target information according to the URL address, comprises: obtaining, by the second Bluetooth device, web page data pointed to by the URL address through a web browser (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460]-[0461] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes an HTTPS server URL (i.e. web page data pointed to by the URL address) which contains security information (i.e. target information) for verifying the validity of the advertising URI. [0554] discloses that second Bluetooth device 2 accesses the advertising URI through a web browser.); and
obtaining, by the second Bluetooth device, the target information from the web page data ([0447]-[0449], [0460]-[0461] & [0554] discloses that second Bluetooth device 2 accesses the advertising URI through from web page pointed to by an HTTPS server URL through a web browser.).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses a Bluetooth device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores at least one program code (Fig 2 and [0073] & [0213] discloses a Bluetooth device comprising a data processing unit 170 and memory 130 that includes at least one type of storage medium. [0691] discloses that a processor (e.g. processing data unit 170) may read code stored in a recording medium (e.g. memory 130).):
when the at least one program code is loaded and executed by the processor, the processor is caused to perform a sending method for Bluetooth broadcasting ([0691] discloses that the transmitting methods disclosed may be implemented (i.e. executed) by code stored in the recording medium. [0010]-[0011] disclose the transmitting method may be a method for enabling devices to share a URI or URL indicating advertisement, promotion and status information using Bluetooth. [0118] discloses that the method includes an advertising device performing broadcast to devices within range of the advertising device.), wherein the sending method comprises:
sending, by a first Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information to a second Bluetooth device (Fig 6 & [0285]-[0291] disclose a first Bluetooth device 1 that sends application information, user information, network interface information, content type information and advertising URI Type information in an inquiry message for broadcasting to a second Bluetooth device 2. [0459]-[0461] discloses that the advertising URI packet may include a secure URL, a certificate URL, or an HTTPS server URL used to verify the validity of the advertising URI (i.e. synchronization information).); wherein
the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information is configured to carry a uniform resource locator URL address, and the URL address is configured to point to target information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460]-[0461] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL which contains security information (i.e. target information) for verifying the validity of the advertising URI.): or
the processor is caused to perform a receiving method for Bluetooth broadcasting ([0691] discloses that the receiving methods disclosed may be implemented (i.e. executed) by code stored in the recording medium. [0010]-[0011] disclose a receiving method may be a method for enabling devices to share a URI or URL indicating advertisement, promotion and status information using Bluetooth. [0118] discloses that the method includes an advertising device performing broadcast to receiving devices within range of the advertising device.), wherein the receiving method comprises:
receiving, by a second Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information sent from a first Bluetooth device (Fig 6 & [0285]-[0290] disclose a second Bluetooth device 2 that receives application information, user information, network interface information, content type information and advertising URI Type information in an inquiry message sent by a first Bluetooth device 1. [0459]-[0461] discloses that the advertising URI packet may include a secure URL, a certificate URL, or an HTTPS server URL used to verify the validity of the advertising URI (i.e. synchronization information); wherein
the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information is configured to carry a uniform resource locator URL address, and the URL address is configured to point to target information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460]-[0461] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL which contains security information (i.e. target information) for verifying the validity of the advertising URI.); and
obtaining, by the second Bluetooth device, the target information according to the URL address ([0461] discloses that the scanner (i.e. second Bluetooth device) obtains the security information from the secure URL. Certificate URL or HTTPS server URL in order to validate the advertising URI.);
wherein the first Bluetooth device is a source device for the Bluetooth broadcasting, the second Bluetooth device is a receiving end device for the Bluetooth broadcasting, the Bluetooth broadcasting is a Bluetooth audio broadcast (Fig 6 & [0285]-[0290] discloses that first Bluetooth device 1 turns on Bluetooth communication to broadcast an inquiry message including application information selected by a user, user information, network interface information, and content type information (i.e. first Bluetooth device 1 is a source device for Bluetooth broadcasting), and second Bluetooth device 2 receives the inquiry message (i.e. second Bluetooth device 2 is a receiving end device for the Bluetooth broadcasting inquiry message). Fig 7, Table 2 & [0309] disclose the data format for an extended inquiry response (EIR) includes audio data types (i.e. the Bluetooth broadcast advertising in the inquiry message from first Bluetooth device 1 may be for a Bluetooth audio broadcast). As further evidence, Fig 15 & [0432]-[0434] disclose that a Device 2 may be a source device (i.e. a first Bluetooth device may be a source device) for broadcasting BLE advertising messages and Device 1 and a sink device may act as a receiving end device (i.e. a second Bluetooth device may be a receiving end device) for receiving the BLE advertising messages in order to setup an AV Stream (i.e. the BLE advertising is for a Bluetooth audio-visual broadcast.).);
the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information comprises extension broadcast package for the Bluetooth broadcasting, and a broadcast data field of the extension broadcast package is configured to carry the URL address and a first content of the program information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet (i.e. an extension broadcast package) that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL (i.e. includes a data field carrying the URL address). Fig 10(a) and [0382] & [0393] discloses that a advertising packet also includes content data in an AdvA Data field (i.e. first content of the program information).).; and
the URL address is configured to point to: contents other than the first content of the program information (Fig 6 & [0291] discloses that the inquiry message may include advertising URI type information. [0447]-[0449] & [0460] disclose that the inquiry message including URI may be part of an advertising packet that includes a secure URL, a certificate URL or an HTTPS server URL (i.e. includes a data field carrying the URL address). Fig 10(a) and [0382] & [0393] discloses that a advertising packet also includes content type information in an AdvA Data field (i.e. first content of the program information). Thus, the URL address points to security information which is different than the content type information carried in the advertising packet that providing program information.).
Lee fails to disclose wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM).
However, BTProfile teaches wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM) (Table 3.15 & Page 39, Section 3.7.2.2 discloses parameters including metadata for Bluetooth broadcast audio streaming.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have a Bluetooth device for Bluetooth broadcasting, comprising: sending, by a first Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information to a second Bluetooth device; or receiving, by a second Bluetooth device, Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information sent from a first Bluetooth device; wherein the Bluetooth-broadcast synchronization information is configured to carry a uniform resource locator URL address, and the URL address is configured to point to target information; and obtaining, by the second Bluetooth device, the target information according to the URL address, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the target information comprises: program information of Bluetooth broadcast audio stream metadata (BASM), as taught by BTProfile. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device, or a second Bluetooth device to receive broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the content and how to access desired content.
Claims 3 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0278006)(herein after “Lee”) in view of BTProfile et al. (Bluetooth Profile Specification, “Basic Audio Profile”, Generic Audio Working Group, Revision D1.0r01, Revision Date 2021-07-02)(herein after “BTProfile”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of BTNumbers (GNResound Company, “PBP Assigned Numbers Request Document”, version 3, 2021-07-15)(herein after “BTNumbers”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of BTProfile discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Lee fails to discloses wherein the Bluetooth BASM further comprises at least one of a language or a parental rating.
However, BTNumbers further teaches wherein the Bluetooth BASM further comprises at least one of a language and a parental rating (Section 1 and tables 1.1 & 1.2 disclose metadata structures comprising language (table 1.1) and parental rating (table 1.2).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein the Bluetooth BASM further comprises at least one of a language and a parental rating, as further taught by BTNumbers. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters including parental control or language, so that the second Bluetooth device can group advertised content by parental rating or language for easy browsing and selection on the second Bluetooth device.
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of BTProfile disclose the method as claimed in claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the first content of the program information comprises: a title and/or an abstract.
However, BTNumbers further teaches wherein the first content of the program information comprises: a title and/or an abstract (Section 1 & table 1.3 disclose metadata structures comprising program information that comprises title and/or summary (i.e. abstract).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein the first content of the program information comprises: a title and/or an abstract, as further taught by BTNumbers. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters including Program Information with title and summary information, so that the second Bluetooth device can group advertised content by title and/or summary for easy browsing and selection on the second Bluetooth device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0278006)(herein after “Lee”) in view of BTProfile et al. (Bluetooth Profile Specification, “Basic Audio Profile”, Generic Audio Working Group, Revision D1.0r01, Revision Date 2021-07-302)(herein after “BTProfile”), as applied to claim 11, and further in view of BTNumbers (GNResound Company, “PBP Assigned Numbers Request Document”, version 3, 2021-07-15)(herein after “BTNumbers”).
Regarding 13, Lee in view of BTProfile disclose the method as claimed in claim 11.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the Bluetooth BASM further comprises at least one of a language or a parental rating.
However, BTNumbers further teaches wherein the Bluetooth BASM further comprises at least one of a language or a parental rating (Section 1 and tables 1.1 & 1.2 disclose metadata structures comprising language (table 1.1) and parental rating (table 1.2).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein the Bluetooth BASM further comprises at least one of a language or a parental rating, as further taught by BTNumbers. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a second Bluetooth device to receive broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, from the first Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters including parental control or language, so that the second Bluetooth device can group advertised content by parental rating or language for easy browsing and selection on the second Bluetooth device.
Claims 7 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0278006)(herein after “Lee”) in view of BTProfile et al. (Bluetooth Profile Specification, “Basic Audio Profile”, Generic Audio Working Group, Revision D1.0r01, Revision Date 2021-07-302)(herein after “BTProfile”), as applied to claims 1 & 11, and further in view of Ericksen et al. (US 2022/0266939)(herein after “Ericksen”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of BTProfile disclose the sending method as claimed in claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose wherein a protocol data unit PDU type of the extension broadcast package is an auxiliary synchronization indication frame AUX_SYNC_IND or an auxiliary chain indication frame AUX_CHAIN_IND.
However, Ericksen teaches wherein a protocol data unit PDU type of the extension broadcast package is an auxiliary synchronization indication frame AUX_SYNC_IND or an auxiliary chain indication frame AUX_CHAIN_IND ([0125]-[0126] disclose PDU types that hold information to find packets containing AUX_SYNC_IND and AUX_CHAIN_IND may be part of an Bluetooth broadcast advertising channel (i.e. the extension broadcast package).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein a protocol data unit PDU type of the extension broadcast package is an auxiliary synchronization indication frame AUX_SYNC_IND or an auxiliary chain indication frame AUX_CHAIN_IND, as taught by Ericksen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a first Bluetooth device to perform periodic broadcast advertising of long audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using Bluetooth standards defined PDU Types containing AUX_SYNC_IND and AUX_CHAIN_IND frames in order to support very large data payloads through chaining auxiliary packets with improved power efficiency through fixed, deterministic transmission of the periodic broadcast advertising.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the receiving method as claimed in claim 11.
Lee fails to disclose wherein a protocol data unit PDU type of the extension broadcast package is an auxiliary synchronization indication frame AUX_SYNC_IND or an auxiliary chain indication frame AUX_CHAIN_IND.
However, Ericksen teaches wherein a protocol data unit PDU type of the extension broadcast package is an auxiliary synchronization indication frame AUX_SYNC_IND or an auxiliary chain indication frame AUX_CHAIN_IND ([0125]-[0126] disclose PDU types that hold information to find packets containing AUX_SYNC_IND and AUX_CHAIN_IND may be part of an Bluetooth broadcast advertising channel (i.e. the extension broadcast package).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein a protocol data unit PDU type of the extension broadcast package is an auxiliary synchronization indication frame AUX_SYNC_IND or an auxiliary chain indication frame AUX_CHAIN_IND, as taught by Ericksen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving method for a second Bluetooth device to receive periodic broadcast advertising of long audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, from the first Bluetooth device using Bluetooth standards defined PDU Types containing AUX_SYNC_IND and AUX_CHAIN_IND frames in order to support very large data payloads through chaining auxiliary packets with improved power efficiency through fixed, deterministic transmission of the periodic broadcast advertising.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0278006)(herein after “Lee”) in view of BTProfile et al. (Bluetooth Profile Specification, “Basic Audio Profile”, Generic Audio Working Group, Revision D1.0r01, Revision Date 2021-07-302)(herein after “BTProfile”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 12507045)(herein after “Wang”) and BTNumbers (GNResound Company, “PBP Assigned Numbers Request Document”, version 3, 2021-07-15)(herein after “BTNumbers”) and Lin et al. (US 2011/0009108)(herein after “Lin”).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the target information is information related to Bluetooth broadcast audio stream.
However, BTProfile teaches wherein the target information is information related to Bluetooth broadcast audio stream (Table 3.15 & Page 39, Section 3.7.2.2 discloses parameters including metadata for Bluetooth broadcast audio streaming.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the target information is information related to Bluetooth broadcast audio stream, as taught by BTProfile. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the content and how to access desired content.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the information comprises, at least one of: audio information or video information.
However, Wang further teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of: audio information or video information (Fig 4 & col 22, lines 5-21 disclose target information may include application name information and account information of an audio or video application.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the information comprises at least one of: audio information or video information, as further taught by Wang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters that include audio or video information so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the audio/video content and how to access desired audio/video content.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the information comprises, but is not limited to, at least one of: text information.
However, BTNumbers further teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of: text information (Section 1 & table 1.3 disclose metadata structures comprising program information that comprises title and/or summary (i.e. text information).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the information comprises at least one of: text information, as further taught by BTNumbers. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters including text Information with title and summary information, so that the second Bluetooth device can group advertised content by title and/or summary for easy browsing and selection on the second Bluetooth device.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the information comprises at least one of: image information.
However, Lin further teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of: image information ([0044] discloses target information may include image contents.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the information comprises at least one of: image information, as further taught by Lin. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a first Bluetooth device to perform broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by the first Bluetooth device, to a second Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters that include image information so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the image content and how to access desired image content.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0278006)(herein after “Lee”) in view of BTProfile et al. (Bluetooth Profile Specification, “Basic Audio Profile”, Generic Audio Working Group, Revision D1.0r01, Revision Date 2021-07-302)(herein after “BTProfile”), as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 12507045)(herein after “Wang”) and BTNumbers (GNResound Company, “PBP Assigned Numbers Request Document”, version 3, 2021-07-15)(herein after “BTNumbers”) and Lin et al. (US 2011/0009108)(herein after “Lin”).
Regarding claim 18. Lee in view of BTProfile disclose the receiving method as claimed in claim 11.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the target information is information related to Bluetooth broadcast audio stream.
However, BTProfile teaches wherein the target information is information related to Bluetooth broadcast audio stream (Table 3.15 & Page 39, Section 3.7.2.2 discloses parameters including metadata for Bluetooth broadcast audio streaming.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the target information is information related to Bluetooth broadcast audio stream, as taught by BTProfile. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a second Bluetooth device to receive broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, from the first Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the content and how to access desired content.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the information comprises at least one of: audio information, or video information.
However, Wang further teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of: audio information, or video information (Fig 4 & col 22, lines 5-21 disclose target information may include application name information and account information of an audio or video application.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the receiving method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein the information comprises at least one of: audio information, or video information, as further taught by Wang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a second Bluetooth device to receive broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, from the first Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters that include audio or video information so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the audio/video content and how to access desired audio/video content.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the information comprises at least one of: text information.
However, BTNumbers further teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of: text information (Section 1 & table 1.3 disclose metadata structures comprising program information that comprises title and/or summary (i.e. text information).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the receiving method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein the information comprises at least one of: text information, as further taught by BTNumbers. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a second Bluetooth device to receive broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, from the first Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters including text Information with title and summary information, so that the second Bluetooth device can group advertised content by title and/or summary for easy browsing and selection on the second Bluetooth device.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the information comprises at least one of: image information.
However, Lin further teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of: image information ([0044] discloses target information may include image contents.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have the receiving method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of BTProfile, wherein the information comprises at least one of: image information, as further taught by Lin. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a second Bluetooth device to receive broadcast advertising of audio streaming content, available by a first Bluetooth device, from the first Bluetooth device using standards defined broadcast audio streaming parameters that include image information so that any second Bluetooth device that conforms to the standard can understand the broadcast audio streaming parameters & metadata to understand the image content and how to access desired image content.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dong et al. (US 12634027) discloses an Audio Control Method and Device.
Dong et al. (WO 2022/267034) discloses a Bluetooth Communication Method and Apparatus, and Device and Storage Medium.
Chevillat et al. (US 2013/0117406) discloses Synchronizing a Video Feed with Internet Content Displayed on a Second Device.
Calvert et al. (US 2004/0078812) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Acquiring Media Services Available from Content Aggregators.
Ganick et al. (US 12335831) discloses Dynamic Bluetooth Broadcast of Data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419