DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-22 and 35-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-22 and 35-42) in the reply filed on 9/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 35 objected to because of the following informalities: whatever is in the () for claim 35 did not show up the D50L and the D50S, also the ratio is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drager (US 2023/0420636).
As to claim 1, Drager discloses a battery electrode ([0001], [0011] and discussed throughout) composition, comprising:
a population of composite particles ([0007], silicon containing material; discussed throughout), each of the composite particles comprising silicon ([0007], [0012] and discussed throughout) and carbon ([0020]-[0029], [0077] and discussed throughout); wherein:
the population is characterized by a mass fraction of the silicon in the composite particles in a range of about 35 wt. % to about 70 wt. % ([0062]-[0063] and discussed throughout);
the population is characterized by a particle size distribution (PSD) as determined by laser particle size distribution analysis (LPSA) such that ([0039], also see MPEP 2113 product by process limitations);
a tenth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D10) of the PSD is in a range of about 0.8 μm to about 5.8 μm ([0054], and discussed throughout);
a fiftieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D50) of the PSD is in a range of about 2.0 μm to about 9.0 μm ([0052] and discussed throughout);
a ninetieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D90) of the PSD is at least about 3.2 μm ([0055] and discussed throughout);
a left width (D50−D10) of the PSD is at least about 1.0 μm ([0052]-[0057] and discussed throughout); and
a right width (D90−D50) of the PSD is at least about 1.8 μm ([0052]-[0057] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 2, Drager discloses wherein, the D10 is in a range of about 0.8 μm to about 4.8 μm ([0054] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 3, Drager discloses wherein, the D10 is in a range of about 0.8 μm to about 4.5 μm ([0054] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 4, Drager discloses wherein, the D50 is in a range of about 2.7 μm to about 7.7 μm ([0052] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 5, Drager discloses wherein, the D50 is in a range of about 2.7 μm to about 7.3 μm ([0052] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 6, Drager discloses wherein, the D90 is at least about 5.0 μm ([0055] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 7, Drager discloses wherein, the D90 is at least about 8.0 μm ([0055] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 8, Drager discloses wherein, the left width (D50−D10) is at least about 1.5 μm ([0052]-[0057] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 9, Drager discloses wherein, the left width (D50−D10) is at least about 3.3 μm ([0052]-[0057] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 10, Drager discloses wherein, the right width (D90−D50) is at least about 3.8 μm ([0052]-[0057] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 11, Drager discloses wherein, the right width (D90−D50) is at least about 4.4 μm ([0052]-[0057] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 12, Drager discloses wherein, the mass fraction of the silicon is in a range of about 40 wt. % to about 55 wt. % ([0062]-[0063] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 13, Drager discloses wherein, a Brunauer-Emmett-Teller (BET) specific surface area of the composite particles is in a range of about 1.5 m2/g to about 14.0 m2/g ([0073] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 14, Drager discloses wherein, the BET specific surface area is in a range of about 2.3 m2/g to about 8.0 m2/g ([0073] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 15, Drager discloses wherein, the composite particles are spheroidal ([0058] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 16, Drager discloses wherein, battery electrode ([0107] and discussed throughout), comprising:
the battery electrode composition of claim 1 disposed on and/or in a current collector ([0091], [0099], [0102] and discussed throughout), wherein:
the battery electrode comprises a binder ([0089], [0090], [0095] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 17, Drager discloses further comprising, a carbon-comprising functional additive ([0091]-[0093] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 18, Drager discloses wherein, the carbon-comprising functional additive is selected from: carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, carbon black, graphite, exfoliated graphite, graphene oxide, and graphene ([0091]-[0093] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 19, Drager discloses wherein, a mass fraction of the carbon-comprising functional additive is about 1.0 wt. % or less of a mass of the battery electrode ([0091]-[0093] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 20, Drager discloses wherein, the mass fraction of the carbon-comprising functional additive is about 0.2 wt. % or less ([0091]-[0093] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 21, Drager discloses a lithium-ion battery ([0107] and discussed throughout), comprising:
an anode current collector ([0091], [0099], [0102] and discussed throughout);
the battery electrode of claim 16 configured as an anode, the current collector thereof being configured as the anode current collector ([0091], [0099], [0102] and discussed throughout);
a cathode ([0107] and discussed throughout); and
an electrolyte ionically coupling the anode and the cathode ([0107]).
Drager is silent to the cathode current collector. However, Drager discloses the anode and the anode active material on a current collector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the cathode have a current collector as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
As to claim 22, Drager discloses wherein, the composite particles contribute 100% of a capacity of the anode ([0098], the anode can be the active material and a binder and binders are inactive, thus the instant claimed limitation is meet).
Claims 35-37 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2021/0296640).
As to claim 35, Yoon discloses a battery electrode ([0006], and discussed throughout) composition, comprising:
a first population of first composite particles, each of the first composite particles comprising silicon and carbon ([0008]-[0014] and discussed throughout; the first population is active material A; [0047]-[0048] for the active material Si-C being silicon and carbon); and
a second population of second composite particles, each of the second composite particles comprising silicon and carbon ([0008]-[0014] and discussed throughout; the second population is active material B; [0047]-[0048] for the active material Si-C being silicon and carbon); wherein:
the first population and the second population are characterized by a population mass fraction being defined as a mass of the first population divided by a sum of the mass of the first population and a mass of the second population ([0008]-[0014] and discussed throughout);
the first population is characterized by a first particle size distribution (PSDL) as determined by laser particle size distribution analysis (LPSA) ([0008]-[0014] and discussed throughout; [0030] for the method also see MPEP 2113 product by process limitations);
the second population is characterized by a second particle size distribution (PSDS) as determined by the LPSA ([0008]-[0014] and discussed throughout; [0030] for the method also see MPEP 2113 product by process limitations);
a fiftieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D50 L) of the PSDL is in a range of about 6.0 μm to about 10.0 μm ([0008]-[0014] and discussed throughout);
a fiftieth-percentile volume-weighted particle size parameter (D50 S) of the PSDS is related to the D50 L by a size ratio α defined as
the size ratio α being in a range of about 3.0 to about 6.0 ([0008]-[0014] and discussed throughout); and
the population mass fraction is in a range of about 0.40 to about 0.95 ([0009]-[0012] and throughout, note one active material layer can be the active material of the instant or both together can be the active material of the instant). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 36, Yoon discloses wherein, the D50 L is in a range of about 7.0 μm to about 9.0 μm ([0008], [0013]-[0014] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 37, Yoon discloses wherein, the size ratio α is in a range of about 3.8 to about 5.2 ([0008], [0013]-[0014] and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 40, Yoon discloses further comprising a carbon-comprising functional additive ([0051]-[0052] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 41, Yoon discloses wherein, the carbon-comprising functional additive is selected from: carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, carbon black, graphite, exfoliated graphite, graphene oxide, and graphene ([0051]-[0052] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 42, Yoon discloses wherein, the battery electrode position is in the form of a dry powder, a slurry suspension, or a casted electrode, or a lithium-ion battery ([0057], and discussed throughout also see MPEP 2113 for product by process limitations).
Claims 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Yoon*535 (US 2017/0117535).
As to claim 38, Yoon is silent to wherein, a mass fraction of the silicon in the first composite particles is in a range of about 3 wt. % to about 80 wt. %; and a mass fraction of the silicon in the second composite particles is in a range of about 3 wt. % to about 80 wt. %. However, Yoon*535 discloses an anode active material (abstract) with a spherical active material (figures 1) wherein the active material is Si-C and the silicon is 70 wt% and the carbon is 30 wt% ([0148]). It would have been obvious to use the active material composition and shape from Yoon*535 within Yoon as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
As to claim 39, Yoon is silent to wherein, the first composite particles are spheroidal; and the second composite particles are spheroidal. However, Yoon*535 discloses an anode active material (abstract) with a spherical active material (figures 1) wherein the active material is Si-C and the silicon is 70 wt% and the carbon is 30 wt% ([0148]). It would have been obvious to use the active material composition and shape from Yoon*535 within Yoon as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to change the shape of the particles as a mere change in shape (see MPEP 2144.04).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724