DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wengert (US 6,093,252).
Regarding claim 1, Wengert discloses an injector that precisely controls a flow rate of a material through the injector, comprising:
a micrometer (284; Element 284 is interpreted as a micrometer, as it functions as one) having a grip surface (the member includes a protrusion at its upper end, interpreted as a grip surface) and male threads (Column 20, lines 64-65, the micrometer is received in the threaded bore, which suggests male threads), wherein the micrometer is configured so that the grip surface may be turned clockwise or counterclockwise by hand to adjust the flow rate of the material through the injector (The micrometer provides for the claimed function);
a cap (268) having a top opening (290) with top female threads to mechanically engage the male threads of the micrometer and a bottom opening with bottom female threads (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 20, lines 61-67, The cap includes threads at the top and bottom and an exit opening adjacent the bottom that is capable of receiving the threads);
a body injector (280) with upper male threads configured to mechanically engage the bottom female threads of the cap and lower male threads to mechanically engage female threads of an injector flange or a chamber The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 20, lines 61-67, the injector includes threads at the top and bottom that are capable of engaging female threads as claimed);
a housing seal jet (300) connected to the body injector (Figure 26), wherein the housing seal jet has an orifice for receiving a flow of a material (The seal has a central opening for performing the claimed function; The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight);
a needle injector (304) configured to move up and down inside an internal cavity formed at least by an inside of the body injector and an inside of the housing seal jet (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 21 suggests that the needle is capable of moving up and down in the cavity in which it is received); and a spring (308) configured to be placed inside the internal cavity (Figure 26), wherein the micrometer is configured to push the needle injector down the internal cavity against a biasing force of the spring when the micrometer is adjusted downward and the biasing force of the spring is configured to raise the needle injector inside the internal cavity when the micrometer is adjusted upward (Column 21, lines 13-23).
Regarding claim 2, 9, 16 Wengert discloses the injector of claim 1, 8, 15 wherein the internal cavity is formed by the inside of the body injector, the inside of the housing seal jet and an inside of the cap (Figure 26).
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17 Wengert discloses the injector of claim 1, 8, 15 wherein the micrometer is configured to be able to move the needle injector inside the housing seal jet to a position that stops the flow of material through the injector (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 21, lines 13-23).
Regarding claim 4, 11, 18 Wengert discloses the injector of claim 1, 8, 15 further comprising a retaining ring configured to detachably connect the housing seal jet to the body injector (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 5, 12, 19 Wengert discloses the injector of claim 1, 8, 15 further comprising a first o-ring (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1, “retaining ring”) and a second o-ring (302) configured so that the first o-ring is attached to the housing seal jet above the orifice and the second o-ring is attached to the housing seal jet below the orifice (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, 13, Wengert discloses the injector of claim 1, 8 wherein the injector is configured to be connected to an injector flange (306) for controlling the flow of a material into a chamber of a semiconductor tool (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; The flange cooperates with the spring, to perform the claimed function).
Regarding claim 7, 14 Wengert discloses the injector of claim 1, 8 wherein the injector is configured to be connected to a chamber of a semiconductor tool The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; The injector is capable of the claimed function).
Regarding claim 8, Wengert discloses an injector that precisely controls a flow rate of a material through the injector, comprising:
a micrometer (284) having a grip surface (the member includes a protrusion at its upper end, interpreted as a grip surface) and threads (Column 20, lines 64-65, the micrometer is received in the threaded bore, which suggests threads), wherein the micrometer is configured so that the grip surface may be turned clockwise or counterclockwise by hand to adjust the flow rate of the material through the injector (The micrometer provides for the claimed function);
a cap (268) having a top opening (290) with top threads to mechanically engage the threads of the micrometer and a bottom opening with bottom threads (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 20, lines 61-67, The cap includes threads at the top and bottom and an exit opening adjacent the bottom that is capable of receiving the threads);
a body injector (280) with upper threads configured to mechanically engage the bottom threads of the cap and lower threads to mechanically engage threads of a chamber (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 20, lines 61-67, the injector includes threads at the top and bottom that are capable of engaging threads as claimed);
a housing seal jet (300) connected to the body injector (Figure 26), wherein the housing seal jet has an orifice for receiving a flow of a material (The seal has a central opening for performing the claimed function; The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight);
a needle injector (304) configured to move up and down inside an internal cavity formed at least by an inside of the body injector and an inside of the housing seal jet (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 21 suggests that the needle is capable of moving up and down in the cavity in which it is received); and a spring (308) configured to be placed inside the internal cavity (Figure 26), wherein the micrometer is configured to push the needle injector down the internal cavity against a biasing force of the spring when the micrometer is adjusted downward and the biasing force of the spring is configured to raise the needle injector inside the internal cavity when the micrometer is adjusted upward (Column 21, lines 13-23).
Regarding claim 15, Wengert discloses an injector that precisely controls a flow rate of a material through the injector, comprising:
a micrometer (284) having a grip surface (the member includes a protrusion at its upper end, interpreted as a grip surface) male threads (Column 20, lines 64-65, the micrometer is received in the threaded bore, which suggests male threads), and a distal end (Figure 26), wherein the micrometer is configured so that the grip surface may be turned clockwise or counterclockwise by hand to adjust the flow rate of the material through the injector (The micrometer provides for the claimed function);
a cap (268) having a top opening (290) with top female threads to mechanically engage the male threads of the micrometer and a bottom opening with bottom female threads (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 20, lines 61-67, The cap includes threads at the top and bottom and an exit opening adjacent the bottom that is capable of receiving the threads);
a body injector (280) with upper male threads configured to mechanically engage the bottom female threads of the cap and lower male threads to mechanically engage female threads of an injector flange or a chamber The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 20, lines 61-67, the injector includes threads at the top and bottom that are capable of engaging female threads as claimed);
a housing seal jet (300) connected to the body injector (Figure 26), wherein the housing seal jet has an orifice configured for controlling a flow of a material (The seal has a central opening for performing the claimed function; The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight);
a needle injector (304) configured to move up and down inside an internal cavity formed at least by an inside of the body injector and an inside of the housing seal jet (The limitation is interpreted as a recitation of intended use, and therefore afforded limited patentable weight; Column 21 suggests that the needle is capable of moving up and down in the cavity in which it is received); and a spring (308) configured to be placed inside the internal cavity (Figure 26), wherein the distal end of the micrometer is configured to push the needle injector down the internal cavity against a biasing force of the spring when the micrometer is adjusted downward and the biasing force of the spring is configured to raise the needle injector inside the internal cavity when the micrometer is adjusted upward (Column 21, lines 13-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wengert in view of King (US 5375765).
Regarding claim 20, Wengert discloses the injector of claim 15, but fails to disclose wherein the body injector has a section with a plurality of flat evenly spaced surfaces around the body injector configured to allow a wrench to be used to install the injector into the injector flange or the chamber.
King discloses a nozzle that includes a section (16) with a plurality of flat evenly spaced sides configured for engagement with a wrench (Column 2, lines 61-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify Wengert with the disclosures of King, providing the injector to include flat sides for engagement with a wrench, in order to provide for structure to efficiently secure the device, in a system where the securing structure is not a critical element.
Should it be found that the sides are not evenly spaced, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to evenly space the flat sides since it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752