DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-15 are pending and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) filled on 12/28/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings filled on 12/28/2023 are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US20180010611A1) [hereinafter Bae] and further in view of Mirsky et al. (US20140030058A1) [hereinafter MIRSKY].
Regarding claim 1:
Bae discloses, A sales gas compressor system, comprising: [¶23: compressor control systems and methods that may stably operate a compressor by preventing occurrence of a surge.…
¶50: a gas is used as a fluid passing through various fluid mechanical elements including the compressor 10];
a gas compressor that includes a motor; [¶27: The compressor control system may further include: a motor configured to drive the compressor;…
¶59: The compressor 10 may be driven by a motor 70 operating by an electrical signal.];
a startup control line in fluid communication with the gas compressor to convey sales gas to the gas compressor; [¶47: The compressor control system…in FIG. 3 may include a compressor 10, an inlet guide vane (IGV) 40 arranged at an inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to adjust opening of the inlet 11…
¶49: a supply pipe 100 is connected to the inlet 11 of the compressor 10.];
a flow control valve arranged in the startup control line and selectively adjustable to alter a flow of the sales gas to the gas compressor… [¶47: FIG. 3 may include a compressor 10, an inlet guide vane (IGV) 40 arranged at an inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to adjust opening of the inlet 11 by control of a supplementary surge control signal …
¶56: The IGV 40 may be connected to an IGV actuator 41 controlled by a second signal C2 applied from an IGV controller 32. Thus, the IGV 40 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 by control of the second signal C2 applied from the controller 30.
¶55: The IGV 40 may be arranged at the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to adjust opening of the inlet 11.];
a control system in communication with the flow control valve and the motor, the control system including: [¶61: FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a specific implementation example of the ASV controller 31 and the IGV controller 32 of the compressor control system illustrated in FIG. 3…
¶47: a controller 30 controlling the IGV 40...
¶56: The IGV 40 may be connected to an IGV actuator 41 controlled by a second signal C2 applied from an IGV controller 32. Thus, the IGV 40 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 by control of the second signal C2 applied from the controller 30.];
a feedback control loop configured to determine a current supplied to the motor, wherein the control system is programmed to: [¶59: A current sensor 18 may be connected to the motor 70 to detect a current change in the motor 70 and transmit a current signal I1 to the controller 30...
Examiner notes, Bae fig. 3; current I is sensed by sensor 18 and used as input to controller 30 in the feedback control loop];
determine a gas flow rate required by the gas compressor…and based on values obtained from the feedforward control loop and the feedback control loop; and [¶62: The IGV controller 32 of the controller 30 may receive the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18, the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16,…to generate the second signal C2 for controlling the IGV 40…
¶70: The first opening controller 91 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to control an operating pressure of the compressor 10 based on the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16. The second opening controller 92 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 based on the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18….
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, claim requires any values from feedback and feedforward control loops.
Accordingly, as described above, Bae discloses, gas flow rate is determined that is the control signal to control the IGV 40 (valve openness dictates rate of gas flow) based on the values of the feedforward control loop and the feedback control loop];
control opening of the flow control valve to adjust the flow of the sales gas to the gas compressor based on the determined gas flow rate, to avoid surge and tripping of the motor. [¶70: The first opening controller 91 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to control an operating pressure of the compressor 10 based on the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16. The second opening controller 92 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 based on the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18….
¶62: The IGV controller 32 of the controller 30 may receive the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18, the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16,…to generate the second signal C2 for controlling the IGV 40…
¶23: compressor control systems and methods that may stably operate a compressor by preventing occurrence of a surge….
¶65: When the supplementary surge control signal of the supplementary surge signal generator 32 b is selected and output as the second signal C2 by the second selector 32 c, the IGV 40 may finely adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 by operating in an anti-surge mode], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
MIRSKY discloses, …alter a flow of the sales gas to the gas compressor during startup of the gas compressor; [¶16: Because of the rapid startup, the pressure and flow sensor signals become viable very quickly, so antisurge control may be carried out before the compressor's operating point reaches the surge control curve.];
…determine a suction pressure of the sales gas flowing to the gas compressor; and [¶31: Typical inputs to the antisurge controller 610 are shown in FIGS. 6 a, 6 b, and 7 and comprise…a suction pressure signal from a suction pressure transmitter, PT1 630,];
determine a gas flow rate required by the gas compressor during startup… [¶34: As the compressor speed increases, the control system 610 repeatedly checks the signals received from the flow transmitter 620,];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of altering a flow of the sales gas to the gas compressor during startup of the gas compressor; determining a suction pressure of the sales gas flowing to the gas compressor; and determining a gas flow rate required by the gas compressor during startup in order to safely starting the compressor while minimizing an overall energy required to accomplish the startup taught by MIRSKY with the system taught by Bae as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to safely starting the compressor while minimizing an overall energy required to accomplish the startup [MIRSKY, ¶14: safely starting a turbocompressor while minimizing an overall energy required to accomplish the startup.].
Regarding claim 2:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 1, and
Bae further discloses, wherein the gas compressor comprises a centrifugal compressor [¶48: The compressor 10 may include one or more suitable types of compressors, such as centrifugal compressors].
Regarding claim 3:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 1, and
Bae further discloses, further comprising: an inlet supply line extending between a source of the sales gas and the gas compressor to convey the sales gas to the gas compressor during operation; [¶47: an inlet guide vane (IGV) 40 arranged at an inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to adjust opening of the inlet 11…
¶49: a supply pipe 100 is connected to the inlet 11 of the compressor 10], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
MIRSKY further discloses, a zone valve arranged in the inlet supply line, wherein the startup control line bypasses the zone valve. [ As shown in MIRSKY figure 6a, valve 120 connected to inlet supply line and startup control line (arrow towards compressor 100) bypasses valve 120].
Regarding claim 4:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 3, and
MIRSKY further discloses, wherein the startup control line is fluidly coupled to the supply line at an upstream point located upstream from the zone valve and a downstream point located downstream from the zone valve. [Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation, at an upstream point located upstream from the zone valve and a downstream point located downstream from the zone valve means that startup control line is located at a point upstream from the zone valve, where there is a downstream point of the zone valve such that the location of the startup control line is also upstream from the downstream point.
As shown in MIRSKY figure 6a, the startup control line (arrow going to compressor 100), is at an upstream point from valve 120 and at an upstream point from any downstream point of valve 120 (any point on the other side of valve 120)].
Regarding claim 5:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 3, and
MIRSKY further discloses, wherein the zone valve is closed during startup of the gas compressor. [¶35: the antisurge valve 120 is ramped toward its closed position according to a predetermined schedule as shown in block 850.].
Regarding claim 6:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 1, and
Bae further discloses, wherein the startup control line comprises a 10 inch pipe or larger. [¶78: That is, in order to prevent occurrence of a surge in the compressor 10, in a state where the ASV 20 is opened to increase a flow and reduce a pressure, the IGV 40 may finely perform an operation of closing the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to avoid a surge in the compressor 10 without operating rapidly in a direction of closing the inlet 11 of the compressor 10…
Examiner notes that, even though Bae doesn’t explicitly teach the size of the startup control line pipe being 10 inch or larger, Bae teaches reduction of pressure in the surge control line to prevent surge.
Examiner notes that, using the teachings of Bae, one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that the size of a pipe (flow line/conduit) is a design choice such that a 10 inch or larger pipe can be chosen to reduce pressure while controlling gas flow to the compressor to prevent surge that can be achieved by providing a pipe with larger diameter such as in some cases 10 inch or larger].
Regarding claim 7:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 1, and
Bae further discloses, wherein the control system further includes a processor and memory that has machine-readable instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor… causes the feedback control loop to determine the current supplied to the motor. [¶59: A current sensor 18 may be connected to the motor 70 to detect a current change in the motor 70 and transmit a current signal I1 to the controller 30.]; but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
MIRSKY discloses, …causes the feedforward control loop to determine the suction pressure of the sales gas flowing to the gas compressor, and [¶31: Typical inputs to the antisurge controller 610 are shown in FIGS. 6 a, 6 b, and 7 and comprise…a suction pressure signal from a suction pressure transmitter, PT1 630,
Examiner notes that, MIRSKY fig. 6a; feedforward suction pressure signal from PTI 630].
Regarding claim 9:
Bae discloses, A method of adjusting gas flow to a gas compressor during startup, the method comprising: [¶23: compressor control systems and methods that may stably operate a compressor by preventing occurrence of a surge.…
¶50: a gas is used as a fluid passing through various fluid mechanical elements including the compressor 10];
determining, with the control system, a current supplied to a motor of the gas compressor; [¶59: A current sensor 18 may be connected to the motor 70 to detect a current change in the motor 70 and transmit a current signal I1 to the controller 30.];
determining, with the control system, a gas flow rate required by the gas compressor…and based on…the current supplied to the motor; [¶62: The IGV controller 32 of the controller 30 may receive the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18, the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16,…to generate the second signal C2 for controlling the IGV 40…
¶70: The first opening controller 91 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to control an operating pressure of the compressor 10 based on the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16. The second opening controller 92 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 based on the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18];
controlling, with the control system, opening of a flow control valve to adjust a flow of the sales gas supplied to the gas compressor based on the determined gas flow rate, and thereby avoiding surge and tripping of the gas compressor during startup. [¶70: The first opening controller 91 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to control an operating pressure of the compressor 10 based on the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16. The second opening controller 92 may adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 based on the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18….
¶62: The IGV controller 32 of the controller 30 may receive the current signal I1 of the current sensor 18, the pressure signal P1 of the pressure sensor 16,…to generate the second signal C2 for controlling the IGV 40…
¶23: compressor control systems and methods that may stably operate a compressor by preventing occurrence of a surge….
¶65: When the supplementary surge control signal of the supplementary surge signal generator 32 b is selected and output as the second signal C2 by the second selector 32 c, the IGV 40 may finely adjust opening of the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 by operating in an anti-surge mode], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
MIRSKY discloses, determining, with a control system, a suction pressure of sales gas flowing to the gas compressor; [ ¶31: Typical inputs to the antisurge controller 610 are shown in FIGS. 6 a, 6 b, and 7 and comprise…a suction pressure signal from a suction pressure transmitter, PT1 630,];
determining, with the control system, a gas flow rate required by the gas compressor during startup and based on the determined suction pressure [¶31: limit control is applied to the compressor 100 to maintain the operating point at or to the right of the surge control line 510. To effect this control, an antisurge or recycle valve 120, as shown in FIGS. 1, 6 a, 6 b, and 7, is manipulated to maintain an adequate flow rate through the compressor 100. The manipulation of the antisurge valve 120 is carried out via an automatic control algorithm, such as a closed loop control algorithm, in the antisurge controller, A/S PID 610, of FIGS. 6 a, 6 b, and 7….Typical inputs to the antisurge controller 610 are shown in FIGS. 6 a, 6 b, and 7 and comprise…a suction pressure signal from a suction pressure transmitter, PT1 630,];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of altering a flow of the sales gas to the gas compressor during startup of the gas compressor; determining a suction pressure of the sales gas flowing to the gas compressor; and determining a gas flow rate required by the gas compressor during startup based on the determined suction pressure in order to safely starting the compressor while minimizing an overall energy required to accomplish the startup taught by MIRSKY with the method taught by Bae as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to safely starting the compressor while minimizing an overall energy required to accomplish the startup [MIRSKY, ¶14: safely starting a turbocompressor while minimizing an overall energy required to accomplish the startup.].
Regarding claim 10:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The method of claim 9, and
Bae further discloses, wherein the flow control valve is arranged in a startup control line in fluid communication with the gas compressor. [¶47: The compressor control system…in FIG. 3 may include a compressor 10, an inlet guide vane (IGV) 40 arranged at an inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to adjust opening of the inlet 11…
¶49: a supply pipe 100 is connected to the inlet 11 of the compressor 10.];
Regarding claim 11:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The method of claim 9, and
Bae further discloses, opening the zone valve while simultaneously closing the flow control valve once the flow of the sales gas to the gas compressor stabilizes. [¶78: That is, in order to prevent occurrence of a surge in the compressor 10, in a state where the ASV 20 is opened to increase a flow and reduce a pressure, the IGV 40 may finely perform an operation of closing the inlet 11 of the compressor 10 to avoid a surge in the compressor 10 without operating rapidly in a direction of closing the inlet 11 of the compressor 10. In this manner, since the IGV 40 may assist the ASV 20 to operate to avoid a surge occurrence, thereby to avoid a phenomenon of the operating point of the compressor 10 moving toward the surge range, the operating point of the compressor 10 may move outside the surge control range (i.e., toward the right side of the surge control range in FIG. 5) by the cooperative operation of the IGV 40 and the ASV 20.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
MIRSKY further discloses, wherein the startup control line bypasses a zone valve arranged in an inlet supply line extending between a source of the sales gas and the gas compressor, [ As shown in MIRSKY figure 6a, valve 120 connected to inlet supply line and startup control line (arrow towards compressor 100) bypasses valve 120];
the method further comprising: closing the zone valve during startup of the gas compressor; [¶35: the antisurge valve 120 is ramped toward its closed position according to a predetermined schedule as shown in block 850.];
Regarding claim 12:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The method of claim 9, and
Bae further discloses, wherein the control system includes a processor and memory that has machine-readable instructions stored thereon, which, when executed by the processor … causes the control system to determine the current supplied to the motor. [¶59: A current sensor 18 may be connected to the motor 70 to detect a current change in the motor 70 and transmit a current signal I1 to the controller 30.]; but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
MIRSKY discloses, causes the control system to determine the suction pressure of the sales gas, [¶31: Typical inputs to the antisurge controller 610 are shown in FIGS. 6 a, 6 b, and 7 and comprise…a suction pressure signal from a suction pressure transmitter, PT1 630,].
Regarding claim 13:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The method of claim 12, and
MIRSKY further discloses, wherein determining the suction pressure of the sales gas comprises determining the suction pressure with a feedforward control loop of the control system. [¶31: Typical inputs to the antisurge controller 610 are shown in FIGS. 6 a, 6 b, and 7 and comprise…a suction pressure signal from a suction pressure transmitter, PT1 630,
Examiner notes that, MIRSKY fig. 6a; feedforward suction pressure signal from PTI 630].
Regarding claim 14:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The method of claim 12, and
Bae further discloses, wherein determining the current supplied to the motor comprises determining the current using a feedback control loop of the control system. [¶59: A current sensor 18 may be connected to the motor 70 to detect a current change in the motor 70 and transmit a current signal I1 to the controller 30.
Examiner notes, Bae fig. 3; current I is sensed by sensor 18 and used as input to controller 30 in the feedback control loop].
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae and MIRSKY and further in view of Bovio (US20200119663A1) [hereinafter Bovio].
Regarding claim 8:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 6, and
MIRSKY further discloses, wherein threshold value… of the suction pressure…stored on the memory to ensure that the suction pressure of the gas compressor is maintained above a minimum pressure, [¶34: the control system 610 repeatedly checks the signals received from…suction pressure transmitter 630,…The signal values are compared to threshold values,…ps,min,… in comparator block…825.
Examiner notes that, MIRSKY fig. 8; at step 825 it is made sure that suction pressure Ps is above threshold Ps,min (that is predetermined minimum required suction pressure store in the system memory)], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Bovio discloses, wherein threshold value…of…the current…stored on the memory to ensure…that the current supplied to the motor is below a maximum allowable limit. [¶86: Once motor 32 is started, its speed gradually rises until reaching full operating speed. The electrical current drawn by the motor 12 rises until reaching a maximum value. Yet, thanks to the capacitor bank 50, the maximum value of the inrush current, e.g. relative to the full load current, is lower than in known compressor systems…
¶97: the motor 32 has a maximum rating of 629 A….Yet, thanks to the capacitor bank 50, the inrush current reaches a maximum value of only 510 A, corresponding to a reduction of 15% on the inrush current.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability ensuring that the current supplied to the motor is below a maximum allowable limit in order to have the advantage of relatively simple and inexpensive way to reduce the inrush current during startup of the compressor motor taught by Bovio with the system taught by Bae and MIRSKY as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to have the advantage of relatively simple and inexpensive way to reduce the inrush current during startup of the compressor motor [Bovio, ¶14: provides a relatively simple and inexpensive way to reduce the inrush current when motors 32 and/or 42 are started. This method can be implemented in existing compressor systems 10].
Regarding claim 15:
Bae and MIRSKY disclose, The system of claim 12, and
MIRSKY further discloses, storing threshold values of the suction pressure… thereby ensuring that the suction pressure of the gas compressor is maintained above a minimum pressure, [¶34: the control system 610 repeatedly checks the signals received from…suction pressure transmitter 630,…The signal values are compared to threshold values,…ps,min,… in comparator block…825.
Examiner notes that, MIRSKY fig. 8; at step 825 it is made sure that suction pressure Ps is above threshold Ps,min (that is predetermined minimum required suction pressure store in the system memory)], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Bovio discloses, Storing…the current on the memory and thereby ensuring…that the current supplied to the motor is below a maximum allowable limit. [¶86: Once motor 32 is started, its speed gradually rises until reaching full operating speed. The electrical current drawn by the motor 12 rises until reaching a maximum value. Yet, thanks to the capacitor bank 50, the maximum value of the inrush current, e.g. relative to the full load current, is lower than in known compressor systems…
¶97: the motor 32 has a maximum rating of 629 A….Yet, thanks to the capacitor bank 50, the inrush current reaches a maximum value of only 510 A, corresponding to a reduction of 15% on the inrush current.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability ensuring that the current supplied to the motor is below a maximum allowable limit in order to have the advantage of relatively simple and inexpensive way to reduce the inrush current during startup of the compressor motor taught by Bovio with the method taught by Bae and MIRSKY as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to have the advantage of relatively simple and inexpensive way to reduce the inrush current during startup of the compressor motor [Bovio, ¶14: provides a relatively simple and inexpensive way to reduce the inrush current when motors 32 and/or 42 are started. This method can be implemented in existing compressor systems 10].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
GALLINELLI et al. (US20190085854A1) - Compressor system with a gas temperature control at the inlet of the anti-surge line and relevant method
¶10: a compressor system is provided comprising at least a first compressor having a suction side and a delivery side. An anti-surge line having an inlet and an outlet is connected in parallel to the compressor, the inlet of the anti-surge line being arranged to receive compressed gas from the delivery side of the compressor, and the outlet of the anti-surge line being arranged to return the gas flowing through the anti-surge line towards the suction side of the compressor. An anti-surge valve is arranged along the anti-surge line and is controlled for recirculating a gas flow from the delivery side back to the suction side of the compressor.
Gu et al. (US20070039320A1) - Surge control system for a compressor:
¶34: For closed loop control, opening of the valve is a function of engine speed and the compressor inlet pressure as measured by sensor 45, which is capable of sensing surge. As another alternative, the recirculation valve 22 may be controlled in response to the exhaust gas recirculation rate (intake throttling) or the difference in gas pressure between the engine inlet (as measured by engine inlet pressure sensor 46) and turbine inlet (as measured by a turbine inlet pressure sensor 47).
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116