DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to Applicant’s application filed on 12/28/2023.
Application filed: 12/28/2023
Applicant’s PgPUB: 2024/0129346
Claims:
Claims 1-8, 11-15 and 19-25 are pending.
Claims 1, 21-23 and 25 are independent.
Claims 2, 9-10 and 16-18 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 12 and 21-24 are amended.
Continuity/Priority Data:
This Application claims priority Great Britain Patent Application No. GB2109541.9 filed 07/01/2021.
This Application is a continuation of International Patent Application No. PCT/GB2022/051654 filed 06/28/2022.
Prior Office Action:
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “transmitting the identifier for the subscriber and the first ID to a second entity”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions. Fig 2. and step 201 of Dutta teaches obtaining a device ID and social media ID (i.e., first ID) and it is stored in a cookie on the user device to retrieved later and send (i.e., transmit) to the ID synchronization service (i.e., second entity) and user mapping service (i.e., third entity) (Fig. 2, ¶0031, ¶0049 of Dutta).
Dutta also teaches in paragraph 0036, that the advertisement server system (i.e., first entity) solicits the aforementioned entities to provide an ad and then may ultimately select an ad from the set of ads that are provided. The selection of the particular ad may depend on several factors. Some of these factors may be related to the identity of the user.
As such, the teachings of the prior art cover the language of the claims as they are currently stated.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “receiving the first message” and “transmitting the identifier” are both for the first instance.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions. As shown in Fig 2., the obtaining and sending of the device ID and social media ID occur via the first device which would be a first instance. As such, the teachings of the prior art cover the language of the claims as they are currently stated.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “at the second entity; storing the first ID in association with the identifier for the subscriber”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions. Fig 2. and step 201 of Dutta teaches obtaining a device ID and social media ID (i.e., first ID) and it is stored in a cookie on the user device to retrieved later and send to the ID synchronization service (i.e., second entity) and user mapping service (i.e., third entity) (Fig. 2, ¶0031, ¶0049 of Dutta). The ID synchronization service and user mapping service of Dutta stores and maps user IDs to one another (Fig. 1B, ¶0042-¶0045 of Dutta). Further, Dutta teaches that the ID synchronization service may be capable of receiving and storing information advertisers, partners and the advertisement server system. The stored information may include an IP address used to access an advertiser's webpage, a timestamp associated with the access, a social media ID associated with the access, a partner user ID associated with the access, personal information (e.g., phone number, electronic mail address, facsimile number, physical mailing address, etc.) associated with the partner user ID, etc. (¶0031). As such, the teachings of the prior art cover the language of the claims as they are currently stated.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “transmitting the identifier for the subscriber and the second ID to the second entity” and “storing the second ID in association with the identifier for the subscriber and thereby in association with the first ID”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions. Dutta teaches that the ID synchronization service may be capable of receiving and storing information advertisers, partners and the advertisement server system. The stored information may include an IP address used to access an advertiser's webpage, a timestamp associated with the access, a social media ID associated with the access, a partner user ID associated with the access, personal information (e.g., phone number, electronic mail address, facsimile number, physical mailing address, etc.) associated with the partner user ID, etc. (¶0031). As such, the teachings of the prior art cover the language of the claims as they are currently stated.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “providing, to a third entity associated with the first content provider, information indicating the stored association between the second ID and the first ID, thereby to allow the third entity to associate the first instance with the second instance”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions. Dutta teaches that because the social media ID associated with the partner A ID and the social media ID associated with the device ID are the same, the user mapping service (609) infers that the individual with the device ID associated with the first device (601) is the same person as the individual with the partner A ID associated with the second device (603) (i.e., association between a first and second instance). The user mapping service (609) then may create, store, and/or forward such mappings (¶0115 of Dutta).
Examiner would also point to Fig. 1B and how it shows relationships between the device Id, social media Id and the partner user ID. This shows how first IDs and second IDs are linked or associated with identifiers for the subscriber. As such, the teachings of the prior art cover the language of the claims as they are currently stated.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “wherein the first ID is generated when the subscriber device obtains the content from the first content provider in the first instance”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions. The full text presented within the claims is “wherein the first ID is generated when the subscriber device obtains the content from the first content provider in the first instance, and/or the second ID is generated when the subscriber device or the other subscriber device obtains the content from the first content provider in the second instance.”
In paragraph 0023, Dutta teaches “A partner user ID, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention, is a distinctive identifier, associated with a user, assigned by a partner and/or an advertising platform, e.g. a demand-side platform (DSP). A partner user ID may be assigned to a user when they navigate to particular a webpage or when they are provided with an advertisement from a particular partner.”
Further, paragraph 0024 of Dutta teaches A social media ID, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention, is a distinctive identifier associated with a user, assigned by a social media network, e.g., the login name of the social media account. The social media ID may be logged by various logging services whenever the device transmits the social media ID. In one embodiment of the invention, a social media network may be, for example a combination of software and/or hardware that enables or facilitates the social interaction among people by supporting the creation, sharing and/or exchanging of information, ideas, pictures and/or videos in virtual communities and networks.
The partner user ID is assigned (i.e., generated) by the partner or advertising platform and the social media ID is assigned (i.e., generated) by the social media platform and both are assigned to a user when the user obtains content (i.e., logging into a social media platform or accessing an advertiser’s website). As such, the teachings of the prior art cover the language of the claims as they are currently stated.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 11, 12, 19, 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0174398 to Dutta et al. (“Dutta”).
As to claim 1, Dutta discloses:
a method for associating different instances of engagement of a subscriber of a service provider network with a first content provider, the method comprising (¶0003 – Dutta teaches that embodiments of the technology enable the identification of users across multiple devices including mobile and desktop devices. More specifically, embodiments of the invention enable analysis of different identifiers in order to ascertain that distinct identifiers are associated with the game user; Fig. 2, ¶0048 – Dutta shows user of bridging identifiers, i.e. for identifying identifiers of different types that are affiliated with the same user, using a deterministic method.):
for a first instance (Fig. 1A, Device A request, first device of Fig. 2):
at a first entity within the service provider network (Fig. 1A, 109, ¶0036 – Dutta teaches an advertisement server system (AAS)):
receiving a first message from a subscriber device of the subscriber, the first message comprising a first ID associated with the provision of content from the first content provider to the subscriber device in the first instance (Fig. 1A, ¶0049 – Dutta teaches that in step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained; ¶0036 – Dutta teaches the AAS receiving messages or requests from the Devices (A-N) where the AAS can choose an ad based on user identity (i.e., first ID));
identifying the subscriber based on the received first message (¶0049 – Dutta teaches that Step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained; ¶0036 – Dutta teaches the AAS receiving messages or requests from the Devices (A-N) where the AAS can choose an ad based on user identity (i.e., first ID)));
determining an identifier for the subscriber based on the identification of the subscriber (¶0036 – Dutta teaches the AAS receiving messages or requests from the Devices (A-N) where the AAS can choose an ad based on user identity (i.e., first ID); ¶0049 – Dutta teaches social media ID may be obtained by the user mapping service, for example, when a user inputs his or her social media ID to gain access to a social media platform … a scenario in which a user installs a social media application (e.g., the Twitter application for an iPhone) on her mobile device. In this scenario, when the user launches the social media application and logs in to the social media application on the mobile device, the device ID (i.e., the unique ID of the mobile device} and the corresponding social media ID (i.e., the social media ID that the user used to login into the social media application) may be provided to the user mapping service); and
transmitting the identifier for the subscriber and the first ID to a second entity (¶0031, ¶0036 – Dutta teaches the AAS receiving messages or requests from the Devices (A-N) where the AAS can choose an ad based on user identity (i.e., first ID) and communicate with the ID synchronization service (107) which may be capable of receiving and storing information from the one or more advertisers, either directly or indirectly via the one or more partners and/or the advertisement server system (109); ¶0050 – Dutta teaches that In Step 203, a partner user ID associated with a user accessing an advertiser webpage using a second device is obtained. In one embodiment of the invention when a user accesses an advertiser webpage, a partner pixel on the webpage may make a call to a server operated oy a partner (i.e., the entity that embedded the partner pixel on the advertiser webpage). The partner pixel may be a segment of HTML, javascript or any other type of browser-executable code, etc. that executes once partner pixel fires, e.g., when the user accesses the advertiser webpage);
at the second entity (Fig. 2, ID Synchronization Service, 107):
storing the first ID in association with the identifier for the subscriber (Fig 2. and step 201 of Dutta teaches obtaining a device ID and social media ID (i.e., first ID) and it is stored in a cookie on the user device to retrieved later and send to the ID synchronization service (i.e., second entity) and user mapping service (i.e., third entity) (Fig. 2, ¶0031, ¶0049 of Dutta). The ID synchronization service and user mapping service of Dutta stores and maps user IDs to one another (Fig. 1B, ¶0042-¶0045 of Dutta). Further, Dutta teaches that the ID synchronization service may be capable of receiving and storing information advertisers, partners and the advertisement server system. The stored information may include an IP address used to access an advertiser's webpage, a timestamp associated with the access, a social media ID associated with the access, a partner user ID associated with the access, personal information (e.g., phone number, electronic mail address, facsimile number, physical mailing address, etc.) associated with the partner user ID, etc. (¶0031 of Dutta));
for a second instance (Fig. 1A, Device N request):
at the first entity within the service provider network (Fig. 1A, 109, ¶0036 – Dutta teaches an advertisement server system (AAS)):
receiving a second message from the subscriber device or another subscriber device of the subscriber, the second message comprising a second ID different to the first ID, the second ID being associated with the provision of content from the first content provider to the subscriber device or the other subscriber device in the second instance (Fig. 1A, ¶0036 – Dutta teaches the AAS receiving messages or requests from the Devices (A-N) where the AAS can choose an ad based on user identity (i.e., partner user id) (i.e., second ID));.
identifying the subscriber based on the received second message; determining the identifier for the subscriber based on the identification of the subscriber (¶0036 – Dutta teaches the AAS receiving messages or requests from the Devices (A-N) where the AAS can choose an ad based on user identity (i.e., first ID) (i.e., identifying subscriber)); and
transmitting the identifier for the subscriber and the second ID to the second entity (¶0031, ¶0036 – Dutta teaches the AAS receiving messages or requests from the Devices (A-N) where the AAS can choose an ad based on user identity (i.e., second ID) and communicate with the ID synchronization service (107) which may be capable of receiving and storing information from the one or more advertisers, either directly or indirectly via the one or more partners and/or the advertisement server system (109))
at the second entity (Fig. 2, ID Synchronization Service, 107):
storing the second ID in association with the identifier for the subscriber and thereby in association with the first ID (Fig 2. and step 203 of Dutta teaches obtaining a partner user ID (i.e., second ID) and it is stored in a cookie on the user device to retrieved later and send to the ID synchronization service (i.e., second entity) and user mapping service (i.e., third entity) (Fig. 2, ¶0031, ¶0049 of Dutta). The ID synchronization service and user mapping service of Dutta stores and maps user IDs to one another (Fig. 1B, ¶0042-¶0045 of Dutta). Further, Dutta teaches that the ID synchronization service may be capable of receiving and storing information advertisers, partners and the advertisement server system. The stored information may include an IP address used to access an advertiser's webpage, a timestamp associated with the access, a social media ID associated with the access, a partner user ID associated with the access, personal information (e.g., phone number, electronic mail address, facsimile number, physical mailing address, etc.) associated with the partner user ID, etc. (¶0031 of Dutta));
wherein the method further comprises, at the second entity (Fig. 2, ID Synchronization Service, 107):
providing, to a third entity associated with the first content provider, information indicating the stored association between the second ID and the first ID, thereby to allow the third entity to associate the first instance with the second instance (¶0023 - Dutta teaches “A partner user ID, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention, is a distinctive identifier, associated with a user, assigned by a partner and/or an advertising platform, e.g. a demand-side platform (DSP). A partner user ID may be assigned to a user when they navigate to particular a webpage or when they are provided with an advertisement from a particular partner.”; ¶0024 of Dutta teaches A social media ID, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention, is a distinctive identifier associated with a user, assigned by a social media network, e.g., the login name of the social media account. The social media ID may be logged by various logging services whenever the device transmits the social media ID. In one embodiment of the invention, a social media network may be, for example a combination of software and/or hardware that enables or facilitates the social interaction among people by supporting the creation, sharing and/or exchanging of information, ideas, pictures and/or videos in virtual communities and networks. The partner user ID is assigned (i.e., generated) by the partner or advertising platform and the social media ID is assigned (i.e., generated) by the social media platform and both are assigned to a user when the user obtains content (i.e., logging into a social media platform or accessing an advertiser’s website).)
wherein the first ID is generated when the subscriber device obtains the content from the first content provider in the first instance, and/or the second ID is generated when the subscriber device or the other subscriber device obtains the content from the first content provider in the second instance (¶0115 - Dutta teaches that because the social media ID associated with the partner A ID and the social media ID associated with the device ID are the same, the user mapping service (609) infers that the individual with the device ID associated with the first device (601) is the same person as the individual with the partner A ID associated with the second device (603) (i.e., association between a first and second instance). The user mapping service (609) then may create, store, and/or forward such mappings).
As to claim 3, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 2, and
wherein the first ID is generated by the first content provider and provided to the subscriber device when the subscriber device obtains the content from the first content provider in the first instance; and/or the second ID is generated by the first content provider and provided to the subscriber device or the other subscriber device when the subscriber device or the other subscriber device obtains the content from the first content provider in the second instance (¶0049 – Dutta teaches in step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained. The social media ID may be obtained by the user mapping service, for example, when a user inputs his or her social media ID to gain access to a social media platform. A cookie that includes the social media ID may be provided to the device for retrieval at a later time ... when the user launches the social media application and logs in to the social media application on the mobile device, the device ID (i.e., the unique ID of the mobile device) and the corresponding social media ID (i.e., the social media ID that the user used to login into the social media application) may be provided to the user mapping service; ¶0051 – Dutta teaches a social media ID associated with the second device is obtained from a cookie installed on the second device. The cookie may be a cookie analogous to the cookie discussed in step 201, i.e., a cookie that was generated when the user accessed the social media platform using the second device, or it may be a different mechanism for storing the social media ID; ¶0053 – Dutta teaches a mapping between the device ID and the partner user ID is created based on the matching social media IDs. The mapping, by the user mapping service may thus enable the identification of a user across multiple devices, and/or may enable the identification of multiple partner user IDs that are affiliated with a particular user. The mappings generated in step 209 may be referred to as deterministic ID bridges).
As to claim 4, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
wherein the first ID is stored as a cookie on the subscriber device by the first content provider; and/or the second ID is stored as a cookie on the subscriber device or the other subscriber device by the first content provider (¶0049 – Dutta teaches in step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained. The social media ID may be obtained by the user mapping service, for example, when a user inputs his or her social media ID to gain access to a social media platform. A cookie that includes the social media ID may be provided to the device for retrieval at a later time ... when the user launches the social media application and logs in to the social media application on the mobile device, the device ID (i.e., the unique ID of the mobile device) and the corresponding social media ID (i.e., the social media ID that the user used to login into the social media application) may be provided to the user mapping service; ¶0051 – Dutta teaches a social media ID associated with the second device is obtained from a cookie installed on the second device. The cookie may be a cookie analogous to the cookie discussed in step 201, i.e., a cookie that was generated when the user accessed the social media platform using the second device, or it may be a different mechanism for storing the social media ID; ¶0053 – Dutta teaches a mapping between the device ID and the partner user ID is created based on the matching social media IDs. The mapping, by the user mapping service may thus enable the identification of a user across multiple devices, and/or may enable the identification of multiple partner user IDs that are affiliated with a particular user. The mappings generated in step 209 may be referred to as deterministic ID bridges).
As to claim 5, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
wherein the content obtained by the subscriber device from the first content provider in the first instance includes code or a link to code that causes the subscriber device to send the first message to the first entity in the service provider network; and/or the content obtained by the subscriber device or the other subscriber device from the first content provider in the second instance includes code or a link to code that causes the subscriber device or the other subscriber device to send the second message to the first entity in the service provider network (¶0049 – Dutta teaches in step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained. The social media ID may be obtained by the user mapping service, for example, when a user inputs his or her social media ID to gain access to a social media platform. A cookie that includes the social media ID may be provided to the device for retrieval at a later time ... when the user launches the social media application and logs in to the social media application on the mobile device, the device ID (i.e., the unique ID of the mobile device) and the corresponding social media ID (i.e., the social media ID that the user used to login into the social media application) may be provided to the user mapping service; ¶0051 – Dutta teaches a social media ID associated with the second device is obtained from a cookie installed on the second device. The cookie may be a cookie analogous to the cookie discussed in step 201, i.e., a cookie that was generated when the user accessed the social media platform using the second device, or it may be a different mechanism for storing the social media ID; ¶0053 – Dutta teaches a mapping between the device ID and the partner user ID is created based on the matching social media IDs. The mapping, by the user mapping service may thus enable the identification of a user across multiple devices, and/or may enable the identification of multiple partner user IDs that are affiliated with a particular user. The mappings generated in step 209 may be referred to as deterministic ID bridges).
As to claim 8, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
wherein the second entity is external to the service provider network, and wherein:
for the first instance:
identifying the subscriber based on the first message at the first entity comprises determining a first subscriber identifier for the subscriber that identifies the subscriber within the service provider network (¶0049 – Dutta teaches that in step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained);
determining the identifier for the subscriber based on the identification of the subscriber comprises deriving, based on the first subscriber identifier, a second subscriber identifier for the subscriber that identifies the subscriber at the second entity (¶0049 – Dutta teaches social media ID may be obtained by the user mapping service, for example, when a user inputs his or her social media ID to gain access to a social media platform … a scenario in which a user installs a social media application (e.g., the Twitter application for an iPhone) on her mobile device. In this scenario, when the user launches the social media application and logs in to the social media application on the mobile device, the device ID (i.e., the unique ID of the mobile device} and the corresponding social media ID (i.e., the social media ID that the user used to login into the social media application) may be provided to the user mapping service); and
wherein the method comprises:
at the first entity, modifying the first message to include the second subscriber identifier (Fig. 6, ¶0111-¶0115 – Dutta teaches including a device and social media ID in a message); and
sending the modified first message to the second entity for the second entity to use in storing the first ID in association with the identifier for the subscriber (Fig. 6, ¶0111-¶0115 – Dutta teaches including a device and social media ID in a message that is sent to a user mapping service); and
for the second instance:
identifying the subscriber based on the second message at the first entity comprises determining the first subscriber identifier for the subscriber (¶0049 – Dutta teaches that in step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained);
determining the identifier for the subscriber based on the identification of the subscriber comprises deriving, based on the first subscriber identifier, the second subscriber identifier for the subscriber (Fig. 6, ¶0111-¶0117 – Dutta teaches including a device and social media ID in a message that is sent to a user mapping service and further, the determination of a partner user ID for a user using a device ID to partner ID mapping obtained from the user mapping service that is sent (i.e., modified message) to the partner (615)); and
wherein the method comprises: at the first entity, modifying the second message to include the second subscriber identifier (Fig. 6, ¶0111-¶0117 – Dutta teaches including a device and social media ID in a message that is sent to a user mapping service and further, the determination of a partner user ID for a user using a device ID to partner ID mapping obtained from the user mapping service that is sent (i.e., modified message) to the partner (615)); and
sending the modified second message to the second entity for the second entity to use in storing the second ID in association with the identifier for the subscriber (Fig. 6, ¶0111-¶0117 – Dutta teaches including a device and social media ID in a message that is sent to a user mapping service and further, the determination of a partner user ID for a user using a device ID to partner ID mapping obtained from the user mapping service that is sent (i.e., modified message) to the partner (615)).
As to claim 11, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
wherein the first message and the second message each include a third ID identifying the first content provider from which the content is provided (Fig. 1B, ¶0042 – Dutta shows mappings between various IDs. These mappings may be stored and updated by the user mapping service (105). The information described below may be stored in one or more data structures. Any type of data structure (e.g., arrays, linked lists, hash tables, etc.) may be used), and
wherein the method comprises:
for the first and second instance:
at the second entity, storing the third ID in association with the first ID and the second ID, respectively (Fig. 1B, ¶0042 – Dutta shows mappings between various IDs. These mappings may be stored and updated by the user mapping service (105). The information described below may be stored in one or more data structures. Any type of data structure (e.g., arrays, linked lists, hash tables, etc.) may be used.
As to claim 12, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 9, and
wherein providing the information indicating the association between the second ID and the first ID to the third entity is responsive to a determination that the first ID and the second ID are stored in association with the third ID (¶0003 – Dutta teaches enables the identification of users across multiple devices including mobile and desktop devices … this invention enables analysis of different identifiers in order to ascertain that distinct identifiers are associated with the same user; Fig. 1B, ¶0042 – Dutta shows mappings between various IDs. These mappings may be stored and updated by the user mapping service (105). The information described below may be stored in one or more data structures. Any type of data structure (e.g., arrays, linked lists, hash tables, etc.) may be used; Figs. 2-3B, ¶0046 – Dutta shows methods for identifying users across mobile and desktop devices; ¶0050 – Dutta teaches the partner pixel includes code that, when the tracking pixel fires, retrieves the partner user ID from the device used for accessing the advertiser webpage, where it may be stored, for example, in a cookie. Next, the tracking pixel may transmit the retrieved partner user ID, e.g., to the server operated by the partner. The server may archive the partner user ID and/or may forward the partner user ID to the user mapping service).
As to claim 19, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
wherein the method comprises:
at the second entity, receiving, from the third entity, the first ID and/or the second ID in association with a browsing attribute indicating an attribute of said engagement of the subscriber with the content provider in the first and/or second instance, respectively;
at the second entity, determining the identifier for the subscriber associated with the browsing attribute based on the received first ID and/or second ID and the stored association between the first ID, the second ID and the identifier for the subscriber;
at the second entity, storing the browsing attribute in association with the identifier for the subscriber; and
at the second entity, providing, to an advertising entity, segment information indicating at least the browsing attribute.
(¶0050 – Dutta teaches in Step 203, a partner user ID associated with a user accessing an advertiser webpage using a second device is obtained. In one embodiment of the invention when a user accesses an advertiser webpage, a partner pixel on the webpage may make a call to a server operated by a partner (i.e., the entity that embedded the partner pixel on the advertiser webpage). The partner pixel may be, for example, a segment of HTML, JavaScript or any other type of browser-executable code, etc. that executes once partner pixel fires, e.g., when the user accesses the advertiser webpage); and ¶0072 – Traasdahl teaches that a block 505 with the identifier module receiving multiple identifiers (e.g., device identifiers). For example, the identifier module may receive network data from multiple servers (e.g., a content server, a merchant server, a network data server, etc.) The network data may include multiple identifiers. At block 510 the identifier module may identify connections between the identifiers. For example, the identifier module may analyze the network data to determine whether devices (e.g., computing devices, applications, software, etc.) associated with two different identifiers were seen on the same network (e.g., the same residential network) or the connection can be established based on login information from partners (e.g., advertisers, publishers) ... the identifier module may merge multiple identifiers into a merged identifier and merge the connections for the multiple identifiers. For example, the identifier module may merge two identifiers together if the two identifiers are recognized as coming from the same device)
As to claim 21, similar rejection as a claim 1.
As to claim 22, similar rejection as a claim 1.
As to claim 23, Dutta discloses:
a method for associating different instances of engagement of a subscriber of a service provider network with a first content provider, the method comprising, at a third entity associated with the first content provider:
for a first instance:
recording a first ID associated with the provision of content from the first content provider to a subscriber device in a first instance (¶0049 – Dutta teaches that in step 201, a device ID and a social media ID, associated with a first device, are obtained);
for a second instance:
recording a second ID associated with the provision of content from the first content provider to the subscriber device or another subscriber device in a second instance (Fig. 2, ¶0048 – Dutta teaches a bridging identifiers, i.e. for identifying identifiers of different types that are affiliated with the same user, using a deterministic method in accordance with one or more embodiment of the invention. Fig. 2 may be executed by the user mapping service. Fig. 2 may be referred to as deterministic ID bridging; 0050 – Dutta teaches a social media ID associated with the second device is obtained from a cookie installed on the second device. The cookie may be a cookie analogous to the cookie discussed in Step 201, i.e., a cookie that was generated when the user accessed the social media platform using the second device, or it may be a different mechanism for storing the social media ID; ¶0044 – Dutta teaches mapping between the device ID (131) and the social media ID (133) may be created when a user of the device inputs social media ID (133) when accessing an application (e.g., 103A). The mapping between the social media ID (133) and the partner user ID (135) may be created, for example, in accordance with the scenario shown in Fig. 6 … the mapping between the device ID (131) and partner user ID (135) may be determined using the two aforementioned mappings).;
receiving, from a second entity, information indicating an association between the first ID and the second ID, the first ID and the second ID having been stored by the second entity in association with an identifier for the subscriber, the subscriber having been identified, by a first entity within the service provider network, based on a first message, comprising the first ID, received from a subscriber device and based on a second message, comprising the second ID, received from the subscriber device or another subscriber device, the identifier for the subscriber having been determined, by the first entity, based on the identification of the subscriber, the first ID and the identifier for the subscriber having been transmitted from the first entity to the second entity, the second ID and the identifier for the subscriber having been transmitted from the first entity to the second entity (Fig. 2, ¶0048 – Dutta teaches a bridging identifiers, i.e. for identifying identifiers of different types that are affiliated with the same user, using a deterministic method in accordance with one or more embodiment of the invention. Fig. 2 may be executed by the user mapping service. Fig. 2 may be referred to as deterministic ID bridging; 0050 – Dutta teaches a social media ID associated with the second device is obtained from a cookie installed on the second device. The cookie may be a cookie analogous to the cookie discussed in Step 201, i.e., a cookie that was generated when the user accessed the social media platform using the second device, or it may be a different mechanism for storing the social media ID; ¶0003 – Dutta teaches enables the identification of users across multiple devices including mobile and desktop devices … this invention enables analysis of different identifiers in order to ascertain that distinct identifiers are associated with the same user; Fig. 1B, ¶0042 – Dutta shows mappings between various IDs. These mappings may be stored and updated by the user mapping service (105). The information described below may be stored in one or more data structures. Any type of data structure (e.g., arrays, linked lists, hash tables, etc.) may be used; Figs. 2-3B, ¶0046 – Dutta shows methods for identifying users across mobile and desktop devices; ¶0050 – Dutta teaches the partner pixel includes code that, when the tracking pixel fires, retrieves the partner user ID from the device used for accessing the advertiser webpage, where it may be stored, for example, in a cookie. Next, the tracking pixel may transmit the retrieved partner user ID, e.g., to the server operated by the partner. The server may archive the partner user ID and/or may forward the partner user ID to the user mapping service).; and
associating the first instance with the second instance based on the received information indicating the association between the first ID and the second ID (¶0003 – Dutta teaches that embodiments of the technology enable the identification of users across multiple devices including mobile and desktop devices. More specifically, embodiments of the invention enable analysis of different identifiers in order to ascertain that distinct identifiers are associated with the game user; Fig. 2, ¶0048 – Dutta shows user of bridging identifiers, i.e. for identifying identifiers of different types that are affiliated with the same user, using a deterministic method.).
As to claim 25, similar rejection as a claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0174398 to Dutta et al. (“Dutta”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0124309 to Traasdahl et al. (“Traasdahl”).
As to claim 6, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Traasdahl discloses what Dutta does not expressly disclose.
Traasdahl discloses:
wherein the second message is received from the other subscriber device, and wherein the second ID is associated with the provision of content from the first content provider to the other subscriber device in the second instance (¶0072 – Traasdahl teaches an identifier module receiving multiple identifiers (e.g., device identifiers). The identifier module may receive network data from multiple servers (e.g., a content server, a merchant server, a network data server, etc.) The network data may include multiple identifiers. At block 510, the identifier module may identify connections between the identifiers. For example, the identifier module may analyze the network data to determine whether devices (e.g. computing devices, applications, software, etc.) associated with two different identifiers were seen on the same network (e.g., the same residential network) or the connection can be established based on login information from partners (e.g., advertisers, publishers) ... the identifier module may merge multiple identifiers into a merged identifier and merge the connections for the multiple identifiers. For example, the identifier module may merge two identifiers together if the two identifier are recognized as coming from the same device; ¶0073 – Traasdahl teaches the identifier module may receive additional network data associated with one or more or the identifiers and may adjust the weights for one or more connections ... the identifier may provide content to a device (e.g., a computing device, an application, etc.) based on one or more of the connections and/or one or more of the weights).
Dutta and Traasdahl are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to multiple IDs associated with the same device or user.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the related user ID and content association as discussed in Traasdahl with associating different instances of engagement of a subscriber of a service provider network as discussed in Dutta by adding the functionality of Traasdahl to the system/method of Dutta in order to personalize and orchestrate advertising or content to a user (Traasdahl, ¶0004).
As to claim 7, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Traasdahl discloses what Dutta does not expressly disclose.
Traasdahl discloses:
wherein the second message is received from the subscriber device, wherein the second ID is associated with the provision of content from the first content provider to the subscriber device in the second instance, and wherein the second instance is at a different time to the first instance (¶0072 – Traasdahl teaches a identifier module receiving multiple identifiers (e.g., device identifiers). The identifier module may receive network data from multiple servers (e.g., a content server, a merchant server, a network data server, etc.) The network data may include multiple identifiers. At block 510, the identifier module may identify connections between the identifiers. For example, the identifier module may analyze the network data to determine whether devices (e.g. computing devices, applications, software, etc.) associated with two different identifiers were seen on the same network (e.g., the same residential network) or the connection can be established based on login information from partners (e.g., advertisers, publishers) ... the identifier module may merge multiple identifiers into a merged identifier and merge the connections for the multiple identifiers. For example, the identifier module may merge two identifiers together if the two identifier are recognized as coming from the same device; ¶0073 – Traasdahl teaches the identifier module may receive additional network data associated with one or more or the identifiers and may adjust the weights for one or more connections ... the identifier may provide content to a device (e.g., a computing device, an application, etc.) based on one or more of the connections and/or one or more of the weights).
The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection are the same as in claim 1.
Claims 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0174398 to Dutta et al. (“Dutta”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0122697 to Liu et al. (“Liu”).
As to claim 13, Dutta discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Liu discloses what Dutta does not expressly disclose.
Liu discloses:
wherein the first message and the second message include consent information associated with the first ID and the second ID, respectively, the consent information for the first ID and the second ID indicating whether or not the subscriber consents to the use of their identification by the service provider network for the first ID and the second ID, respectively; and
wherein the method comprises:
for the first and second instance: at the second entity, storing the consent information for the first ID in association with the first ID and storing the consent information for the second ID in association with the second ID, respectively (¶0022 – Liu teaches a data store of user consents and privacy preferences 128 can include information that the user has provided regarding if and how information about the user's different devices can be used. For example, users can use one or more user preferences web pages that may be part of (or separate from) a user login service. In some implementations, users can set a preference that says, “Do not link my different devices,” or selectively identify which devices are allowed (or not allowed) to be linked. Then, before any operation is performed that may link the user's different devices, the user's consents and privacy preferences can be checked, and the linking will be performed only if allowed by the user. In some implementations, the user may specify settings that prohibit providing content based on the linking; ¶0023 – Liu teaches identifying pairs of log entries that include a same user identifier and a same service identifier put different device identifiers. The evaluation can further include determining likelihoods that two given devices are associated with a user, and that the devices are not likely to be shared devices. A linking engine 122, for example, can link two or more devices (e.g., devices 106) and associate the linked devices with a particular user).
Dutta and Liu are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to multiple IDs associated with the same device or user.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the consent information as discussed in Liu with associating different instances of engagement of a subscriber of a service provider network as discussed in Dutta by adding the functionality of Liu to the system/method of Dutta in order to how and if information about the user’s different devices can be used (Liu, ¶0022).
As to claim 14, Dutta and Liu discloses:
method according to claim 13, and
Liu discloses:
wherein providing the information indicating the association between the second ID and the first ID to the third entity is responsive to a determination, based on the stored consent information for the first ID and the second ID, that there is a valid consent for the use of the identification of the subscriber by the service provider network for the first ID and the second ID (¶0022 – Liu teaches a data store of user consents and privacy preferences 128 can include information that the user has provided regarding if and how information about the user's different devices can be used. For example, users can use one or more user preferences web pages that may be part of (or separate from) a user login service. In some implementations, users can set a preference that says, “Do not link my different devices,” or selectively identify which devices are allowed (or not allowed) to be linked. Then, before any operation is performed that may link the user's different devices, the user's consents and privacy preferences can be checked, and the linking will be performed only if allowed by the user. In some implementations, the user may specify settings that prohibit providing content based on the linking; ¶0023 – Liu teaches identifying pairs of log entries that include a same user identifier and a same service identifier put different device identifiers. The evaluation can further include determining likelihoods that two given devices are associated with a user, and that the devices are not likely to be shared devices. A linking engine 122, for example, can link two or more devices (e.g., devices 106) and associate the linked devices with a particular user).
The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection are the same as in claim 13.
As to claim 15, Dutta and Liu discloses:
method according to claim 12, and
Liu discloses what Dutta does not expressly disclose.
Liu discloses:
wherein the consent information for the first ID comprises a consent expiry for the first ID and the consent information for the second ID comprises a consent expiry for the second ID, and wherein determining that there is a valid consent for the first ID and the second ID is based on a comparison of the stored consent expiry for the first ID and the second ID with a cu