DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 3/6/2026, claims 1- 2, 6- 8, , 11- 12, 16- 19 are amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 3/6/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claims; hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, therefore examiner has considered new reference Hellfajer et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0099329 A1), hereafter Roland.
Roland teaches wherein a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence and a cyclic prefix is added before a first repetition of the N repetitions; see [0117] and Fig. 7…may then generate cyclic prefix 702 from data symbol 704a, such as by copying a final section of symbol 704a (where the final section is equal to the cyclic prefix duration, such as between 50-100 microseconds) and appending it immediately before data symbol 704a. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit, via RF transceiver 904 and antenna system 902, cyclic prefix 702. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit data symbol 704a immediately after cyclic prefix 702 (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them) (i.e. here a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence).
Further Ronal teaches wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions; see [0117]… may then generate cyclic prefix 702 from data symbol 704a, such as by copying a final section of symbol 704a (where the final section is equal to the cyclic prefix duration, such as between 50-100 microseconds) and appending it immediately before data symbol 704a. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit, via RF transceiver 904 and antenna system 902, cyclic prefix 702. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit data symbol 704a immediately after cyclic prefix 702 (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them); further see [0118].. data symbol 704a may form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b (e.g., the final section of data symbol 704a may be the same as the final section of data symbol 704b). For example, because a cyclic prefix is normally the final section of a data symbol that is copied and appended immediately before the start of the data symbol, the final section of data symbol 704a may form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b. Digital transmitter 910 may therefore transmit data symbol 704b immediately after data symbol 704a (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them). The final section of data symbol 704a may therefore form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b (e.g., may be the same as the final section of data symbol 704a).,further see [0119].. As data symbol 704n is the last data symbol in subframe 700, data symbol 704n may not form a cyclic prefix for any other data symbols in subframe 700 (although could form a cyclic prefix for a first data symbol in a next subframe that begins immediately after data symbol 704n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended limitations, “wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions”; are not disclosed in the specification. Hence it’s a new matter situation. Dependent claims can be rejected based on a same above rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 9 and 11- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0041603 A1) in view of Hellfajer et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0099329 A1), hereafter Roland.
Regarding claim 1, Cirik teaches a method performed by a communication apparatus in a wireless communication system (see abstract wireless device as a communication apparatus; further see claim 1), the method comprising:
determining configuration information on at least one physical signal cluster (see claim 1…receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters indicating a mapping pattern that indicates a cyclical mapping of spatial domain transmission filters to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetitions; receiving a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling repetitions of a PUSCH transmission,…..); and
transmitting the at least one physical signal cluster based on the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster, wherein the physical signal cluster includes at least one physical signal block, wherein the physical signal block includes N repetitions of a sequence, and wherein the N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see claim 10; .. transmitting sequentially: a first repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the first spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the first TCI state starting from a third resource block; a second repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the first spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the first TCI state starting from a fourth resource block; a third repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the second spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the second TCI state starting from the third resource block; and a fourth repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the second spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the second TCI state starting from the fourth resource block..; further see [0218]… the wireless device may repeat transmission of the uplink signal with the two different transmitting beams. For example, the wireless device may transmit the uplink signal with a first transmitting beam, to the first TRP, in even time slots and with a second transmitting beam, to the second TRP, in odd time slots. In the implementation of the existing technologies, in the inter-slot frequency hopping, the wireless device may transmit the uplink signal with the first transmitting beam via the first frequency resource (used in the even time slots) to the first TRP and with the second transmitting beam via the second frequency resource (used in the odd time slots) to the second TRP. Accordingly, from the perspective of a specific TRP, frequency resource diversity may be reduced. For example, the wireless device may transmit the uplink signal to the first TRP only in the first frequency resource and to the second TRP only in the second frequency resource. As a result, if there is interference with the first frequency resource in an even time slot, then the first TRP may be prevented from receiving the uplink signal in that time slot. And since the second frequency resource is associated with a different beam (transmitted to a different TRP), then the first TRP will also be prevented from receiving the uplink signal in the following time slot. When the next even time slot occurs, the uplink signal may be transmitted using the first frequency resource again, and may suffer additional interference..).
But fails to state about wherein a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence and a cyclic prefix is added before a first repetition of the N repetitions, and wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions; however Roland teaches wherein a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence and a cyclic prefix is added before a first repetition of the N repetitions; see [0117] and Fig. 7…may then generate cyclic prefix 702 from data symbol 704a, such as by copying a final section of symbol 704a (where the final section is equal to the cyclic prefix duration, such as between 50-100 microseconds) and appending it immediately before data symbol 704a. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit, via RF transceiver 904 and antenna system 902, cyclic prefix 702. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit data symbol 704a immediately after cyclic prefix 702 (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them) (i.e. here a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence).
Further Ronal teaches wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions; see [0117]… may then generate cyclic prefix 702 from data symbol 704a, such as by copying a final section of symbol 704a (where the final section is equal to the cyclic prefix duration, such as between 50-100 microseconds) and appending it immediately before data symbol 704a. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit, via RF transceiver 904 and antenna system 902, cyclic prefix 702. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit data symbol 704a immediately after cyclic prefix 702 (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them); further see [0118].. data symbol 704a may form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b (e.g., the final section of data symbol 704a may be the same as the final section of data symbol 704b). For example, because a cyclic prefix is normally the final section of a data symbol that is copied and appended immediately before the start of the data symbol, the final section of data symbol 704a may form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b. Digital transmitter 910 may therefore transmit data symbol 704b immediately after data symbol 704a (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them). The final section of data symbol 704a may therefore form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b (e.g., may be the same as the final section of data symbol 704a).,further see [0119].. As data symbol 704n is the last data symbol in subframe 700, data symbol 704n may not form a cyclic prefix for any other data symbols in subframe 700 (although could form a cyclic prefix for a first data symbol in a next subframe that begins immediately after data symbol 704n).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of the invention was made to consider the teachings of B with the teachings of A to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence and a cyclic prefix is added before a first repetition of the N repetitions, and wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 1, wherein the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster includes at least one of:
information indicating that the at least one physical signal cluster is aperiodic or periodic,
information on a duration of the at least one physical signal cluster, information on a number of the at least one physical signal cluster,
information on a time interval between adjacent physical signal clusters of the at least one physical signal cluster,
information on a number of physical signal blocks in the physical signal cluster,
information on a number of repetitions of the sequence included in the physical signal block,
information on a beam used for the at least one physical signal cluster, a start time offset of transmission of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a subcarrier spacing of the physical signal block in the physical signal cluster,
a frequency-domain mapping of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a frequency hopping pattern of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a frequency hopping bandwidth of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a number of frequency hopping subbands within the frequency hopping bandwidth of the at least one physical signal cluster, or
a bandwidth of each frequency hopping subband within the frequency hopping bandwidth of the at least one physical signal cluster; Cirik see [0156].. The base station may semi-statically configure the UE with one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; a number of SRS ports; time domain behavior of an SRS resource configuration (e.g., an indication of periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS); slot, mini-slot, and/or subframe level periodicity; offset for a periodic and/or an aperiodic SRS resource; a number of OFDM symbols in an SRS resource; a starting OFDM symbol of an SRS resource; an SRS bandwidth; a frequency hopping bandwidth; a cyclic shift; and/or an SRS sequence ID; further see [0195].
Regarding claim 3, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 2, wherein the subcarrier spacing of the physical signal block is configured such that a length of a time-domain symbol occupied by the physical signal block is greater than that of other time-domain symbols of a time unit including the time-domain symbol; Cirik see claim 2 citations “OR” option.
Regarding claim 4, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 2,
wherein bands of the physical signal blocks are allocated based on the frequency hopping pattern,
wherein the frequency hopping pattern is configured such that bands of at least two of the at least one physical signal block included in the physical signal cluster do not completely overlap, and
wherein the frequency hopping pattern is configured such that there is no gap between adjacent bands of the bands allocated to the at least one physical signal block included in the physical signal cluster; Cirik see claim 2 citations “OR” option.
Regarding claim 5, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 2, wherein the frequency-domain mapping is configured such that the sequence of each physical signal block of the physical signal cluster is mapped to a subcarrier at a center of a band allocated for the physical signal block; Cirik see claim 2 citations “OR” option.
Regarding claim 6, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 1,
wherein the physical signal cluster is a downlink signal, and the configuration information further includes a first configuration that Q consecutive time-domain symbols after a last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or a last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals, where Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1, or
wherein the physical signal cluster is an uplink signal, and the configuration information further includes a second configuration that Q′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, where Q′ is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and
wherein in case that the first configuration is enabled, it is determined that the Q consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals, or
wherein in a case that the second configuration is enabled, it is determined that the Q′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals; Cirik see [0262]…. The wireless device may transmit the uplink signal in the respective consecutive set of valid symbols of each actual repetition within a time slot. In an example, the wireless device may omit an actual repetition with a single symbol. The one or more actual repetitions may comprise the actual repetition; further see [0305].
Regarding claim 7, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 1,
wherein the physical signal cluster is a downlink signal, and the configuration information further includes a third configuration that P consecutive time-domain symbols after a last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or a last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, where P is an integer greater than or equal to 1, or
wherein the physical signal cluster is an uplink signal, and the configuration information further includes a fourth configuration that P′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, where P′ is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and
wherein in case that the third configuration is enabled, the P consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channel or uplink physical signal nor for downlink physical channel or downlink physical signal, or
wherein in case that the fourth configuration is enabled, the P′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals; Cirik see [0262]…. The wireless device may transmit the uplink signal in the respective consecutive set of valid symbols of each actual repetition within a time slot. In an example, the wireless device may omit an actual repetition with a single symbol. The one or more actual repetitions may comprise the actual repetition; further see [0305].
Regarding claim 8, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 1,
wherein one or more frequency-domain resources adjacent to a band allocated to each physical signal block of the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, and wherein the determining of the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster includes receiving the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message or a combination thereof; Cirik see [0136, 0195] RRC and DCI.
Regarding claim 9, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message or a combination thereof; Cirik see [0136, 0195] RRC and DCI.
Regarding claim 11, Cirik teaches a communication apparatus in a wireless communication system, the communication apparatus comprising:
a transceiver; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver; and
memory storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, individually or collectively, cause the communication apparatus to (see abstract wireless device as a communication apparatus; further see claim 1):
determine configuration information on at least one physical signal cluster (see claim 1…receiving, by a wireless device, one or more configuration parameters indicating a mapping pattern that indicates a cyclical mapping of spatial domain transmission filters to physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetitions; receiving a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling repetitions of a PUSCH transmission,…..); and
transmit the at least one physical signal cluster based on the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster, wherein the physical signal cluster includes at least one physical signal block, wherein the physical signal block includes N repetitions of a sequence, and wherein the N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see claim 10; .. transmitting sequentially: a first repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the first spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the first TCI state starting from a third resource block; a second repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the first spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the first TCI state starting from a fourth resource block; a third repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the second spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the second TCI state starting from the third resource block; and a fourth repetition of the second PUSCH transmission using the second spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the second TCI state starting from the fourth resource block..; further see [0218]… the wireless device may repeat transmission of the uplink signal with the two different transmitting beams. For example, the wireless device may transmit the uplink signal with a first transmitting beam, to the first TRP, in even time slots and with a second transmitting beam, to the second TRP, in odd time slots. In the implementation of the existing technologies, in the inter-slot frequency hopping, the wireless device may transmit the uplink signal with the first transmitting beam via the first frequency resource (used in the even time slots) to the first TRP and with the second transmitting beam via the second frequency resource (used in the odd time slots) to the second TRP. Accordingly, from the perspective of a specific TRP, frequency resource diversity may be reduced. For example, the wireless device may transmit the uplink signal to the first TRP only in the first frequency resource and to the second TRP only in the second frequency resource. As a result, if there is interference with the first frequency resource in an even time slot, then the first TRP may be prevented from receiving the uplink signal in that time slot. And since the second frequency resource is associated with a different beam (transmitted to a different TRP), then the first TRP will also be prevented from receiving the uplink signal in the following time slot. When the next even time slot occurs, the uplink signal may be transmitted using the first frequency resource again, and may suffer additional interference..).
But fails to state about wherein a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence and a cyclic prefix is added before a first repetition of the N repetitions, and wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions; however Roland teaches wherein a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence and a cyclic prefix is added before a first repetition of the N repetitions; see [0117] and Fig. 7…may then generate cyclic prefix 702 from data symbol 704a, such as by copying a final section of symbol 704a (where the final section is equal to the cyclic prefix duration, such as between 50-100 microseconds) and appending it immediately before data symbol 704a. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit, via RF transceiver 904 and antenna system 902, cyclic prefix 702. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit data symbol 704a immediately after cyclic prefix 702 (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them) (i.e. here a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence).
Further Ronal teaches wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions; see [0117]… may then generate cyclic prefix 702 from data symbol 704a, such as by copying a final section of symbol 704a (where the final section is equal to the cyclic prefix duration, such as between 50-100 microseconds) and appending it immediately before data symbol 704a. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit, via RF transceiver 904 and antenna system 902, cyclic prefix 702. Digital transmitter 910 may then transmit data symbol 704a immediately after cyclic prefix 702 (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them); further see [0118].. data symbol 704a may form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b (e.g., the final section of data symbol 704a may be the same as the final section of data symbol 704b). For example, because a cyclic prefix is normally the final section of a data symbol that is copied and appended immediately before the start of the data symbol, the final section of data symbol 704a may form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b. Digital transmitter 910 may therefore transmit data symbol 704b immediately after data symbol 704a (e.g., without any guard period or other signaling between them). The final section of data symbol 704a may therefore form a cyclic prefix for data symbol 704b (e.g., may be the same as the final section of data symbol 704a).,further see [0119].. As data symbol 704n is the last data symbol in subframe 700, data symbol 704n may not form a cyclic prefix for any other data symbols in subframe 700 (although could form a cyclic prefix for a first data symbol in a next subframe that begins immediately after data symbol 704n).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of the invention was made to consider the teachings of B with the teachings of A to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein a cyclic prefix is not added between the N repetitions of the sequence and a cyclic prefix is added before a first repetition of the N repetitions, and wherein a previous repetition in the N repetitions serves as a cyclic prefix of a subsequent repetition in the N repetitions; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 11, wherein the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster includes at least one of:
information indicating that the at least one physical signal cluster is aperiodic or periodic,
information on a duration of the at least one physical signal cluster, information on a number of the at least one physical signal cluster,
information on a time interval between adjacent physical signal clusters of the at least one physical signal cluster,
information on a number of physical signal blocks in the physical signal cluster,
information on a number of repetitions of the sequence included in the physical signal block,
information on a beam used for the at least one physical signal cluster, a start time offset of transmission of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a subcarrier spacing of the physical signal block in the physical signal cluster,
a frequency-domain mapping of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a frequency hopping pattern of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a frequency hopping bandwidth of the at least one physical signal cluster,
a number of frequency hopping subbands within the frequency hopping bandwidth of the at least one physical signal cluster, or
a bandwidth of each frequency hopping subband within the frequency hopping bandwidth of the at least one physical signal cluster; Cirik see [0156].. The base station may semi-statically configure the UE with one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; a number of SRS ports; time domain behavior of an SRS resource configuration (e.g., an indication of periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS); slot, mini-slot, and/or subframe level periodicity; offset for a periodic and/or an aperiodic SRS resource; a number of OFDM symbols in an SRS resource; a starting OFDM symbol of an SRS resource; an SRS bandwidth; a frequency hopping bandwidth; a cyclic shift; and/or an SRS sequence ID; further see [0195].
Regarding claim 13, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 12, wherein the subcarrier spacing of the physical signal block is configured such that a length of a time-domain symbol occupied by the physical signal block is greater than that of other time-domain symbols of a time unit including the time-domain symbol; Cirik see claim 2 citations “OR” option.
Regarding claim 14, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 12,
wherein bands of the physical signal blocks are allocated based on the frequency hopping pattern,
wherein the frequency hopping pattern is configured such that bands of at least two of the at least one physical signal block included in the physical signal cluster do not completely overlap, and
wherein the frequency hopping pattern is configured such that there is no gap between adjacent bands of the bands allocated to the at least one physical signal block included in the physical signal cluster; Cirik see claim 2 citations “OR” option.
Regarding claim 15, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 12, wherein the frequency-domain mapping is configured such that the sequence of each physical signal block of the physical signal cluster is mapped to a subcarrier at a center of a band allocated for the physical signal block; Cirik see claim 2 citations “OR” option.
Regarding claim 16, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 11,
wherein the physical signal cluster is a downlink signal, and the configuration information further includes a first configuration that Q consecutive time-domain symbols after a last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or a last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals, where Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1, or
wherein the physical signal cluster is an uplink signal, and the configuration information further includes a second configuration that Q′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, where Q′ is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and
wherein in case that the first configuration is enabled, it is determined that the Q consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals, or
wherein, in case that the second configuration is enabled, it is determined that the Q′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are not available for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals; Cirik see [0262]…. The wireless device may transmit the uplink signal in the respective consecutive set of valid symbols of each actual repetition within a time slot. In an example, the wireless device may omit an actual repetition with a single symbol. The one or more actual repetitions may comprise the actual repetition; further see [0305].
Regarding claim 17, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 11,
wherein the physical signal cluster is a downlink signal, and the configuration information further includes a third configuration that P consecutive time-domain symbols after a last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or a last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, where P is an integer greater than or equal to 1, or
wherein the physical signal cluster is an uplink signal, and the configuration information further includes a fourth configuration that P′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, where P′ is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and
wherein in case that the third configuration is enabled, the P consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channel or uplink physical signal nor for downlink physical channel or downlink physical signal, or
wherein in case that the fourth configuration is enabled, the P′ consecutive time-domain symbols after the last time-domain symbol of any physical signal block or the last physical signal block in the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals; Cirik see [0262]…. The wireless device may transmit the uplink signal in the respective consecutive set of valid symbols of each actual repetition within a time slot. In an example, the wireless device may omit an actual repetition with a single symbol. The one or more actual repetitions may comprise the actual repetition; further see [0305].
Regarding claim 18, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 11,
wherein one or more frequency-domain resources adjacent to a band allocated to each physical signal block of the physical signal cluster are neither available for uplink physical channels or uplink physical signals nor for downlink physical channels or downlink physical signals, and wherein the determining of the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster includes receiving the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message or a combination thereof; Cirik see [0136, 0195] RRC and DCI.
Regarding claim 19, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the communication apparatus to:
transmit the configuration information on the at least one physical signal cluster via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI) message or a combination thereof; Cirik see [0136, 0195] RRC and DCI.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0041603 A1) in view of Hellfajer et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0099329 A1), hereafter Roland and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0147450 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 1, but Cirik fails to state about
wherein the physical signal block is generated by mapping the sequence to a plurality of subcarriers on a time-domain symbol,
wherein a difference of indexes of adjacent subcarriers of the plurality of subcarriers on the time-domain symbol to which the sequence is mapped is 2*k, where k is a non-zero integer,
wherein the at least one physical signal block is consecutive in time,
wherein the physical signal block includes the N repetitions of the sequence in at least one consecutive time-domain symbol, and
wherein a number of the at least one consecutive time-domain symbol is N; however Kim in context with [0128, 0129, 0139, 0142] teaches in [0233- 0235] regarding when the UL Tx beam selection or update periodicity (or spacing) is a value set in units of PUR occasion (or PUR periodicity), the BS may indicate the UE to select or update the UL Tx beam every N-th PUR occasion (or PUR periodicity). That is, N may be to configure the UL Tx beam selection or update periodicity (or spacing). And/or, the BS may indicate the minimum or maximum periodicity (or spacing) at which the UE shall select or update the UL Tx beam. When N is the minimum periodicity (or spacing) of the UL Tx beam selection or update of the UE, the UE may not perform the UL Tx beam selection or update operation within N periodicity (or spacing). That is, the UE may need to maintain (i.e., transmit UL using the same spatial filter) the UL Tx beam that has been previously configured (i.e., the method 1-1) or is determined at a previous selection or update time (i.e., the method 1-2). In this instance, the BS may assume and use the same spatial filter during the N periodicity (or spacing). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Cirik in view of Roland to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the physical signal block is generated by mapping the sequence to a plurality of subcarriers on a time-domain symbol,
wherein a difference of indexes of adjacent subcarriers of the plurality of subcarriers on the time-domain symbol to which the sequence is mapped is 2*k, where k is a non-zero integer,
wherein the at least one physical signal block is consecutive in time,
wherein the physical signal block includes the N repetitions of the sequence in at least one consecutive time-domain symbol, and
wherein a number of the at least one consecutive time-domain symbol is N; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 20, Cirik in view of Roland teaches as per claim 11, but Cirik fails to state about wherein the physical signal block is generated by mapping the sequence to a plurality of subcarriers on a time-domain symbol,
wherein a difference of indexes of adjacent subcarriers of the plurality of subcarriers on the time-domain symbol to which the sequence is mapped is 2*k, where k is a non-zero integer,
wherein the at least one physical signal block is consecutive in time,
wherein the physical signal block includes the N repetitions of the sequence in at least one consecutive time-domain symbol, and
wherein a number of the at least one consecutive time-domain symbol is N; however Kim in context with [0128, 0129, 0139, 0142] teaches in [0233- 0235] regarding when the UL Tx beam selection or update periodicity (or spacing) is a value set in units of PUR occasion (or PUR periodicity), the BS may indicate the UE to select or update the UL Tx beam every N-th PUR occasion (or PUR periodicity). That is, N may be to configure the UL Tx beam selection or update periodicity (or spacing). And/or, the BS may indicate the minimum or maximum periodicity (or spacing) at which the UE shall select or update the UL Tx beam. When N is the minimum periodicity (or spacing) of the UL Tx beam selection or update of the UE, the UE may not perform the UL Tx beam selection or update operation within N periodicity (or spacing). That is, the UE may need to maintain (i.e., transmit UL using the same spatial filter) the UL Tx beam that has been previously configured (i.e., the method 1-1) or is determined at a previous selection or update time (i.e., the method 1-2). In this instance, the BS may assume and use the same spatial filter during the N periodicity (or spacing). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Cirik in view of Roland to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the physical signal block is generated by mapping the sequence to a plurality of subcarriers on a time-domain symbol,
wherein a difference of indexes of adjacent subcarriers of the plurality of subcarriers on the time-domain symbol to which the sequence is mapped is 2*k, where k is a non-zero integer,
wherein the at least one physical signal block is consecutive in time,
wherein the physical signal block includes the N repetitions of the sequence in at least one consecutive time-domain symbol, and wherein a number of the at least one consecutive time-domain symbol is N; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479