DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment on 08/07/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 4-7, 9-11 and 13-20 are withdrawn from Consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 20180226312 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 2 of Kim discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a lower-layer structure including a substrate (110, [0031]);
a first chip (130) including bumps (132, [0038]) on an active surface thereof, the first chip being electrically connected to the substrate via the bumps;
an upper-layer (150, [0043]) structure including first molding material, the first molding material covering an inactive surface (upper surface of 130) of the first chip and surrounding a portion of a lateral surface of the first chip, the inactive surface of the first chip being opposite to the active surface (bottom surface of 130 at 132) of the first chip; and
a middle-layer (140, [0040]) structure including at least one interlayer, the middle-layer structure surrounding a remaining portion of the lateral surface of the first chip, the at least one interlayer including a second molding material different from the first molding material (considering 140 and 150 are different from the list of [0040] and [0043]), the middle-layer structure being between the lower-layer structure and the upper-layer structure and filling a space between the lower-layer structure and the upper-layer-structure,
wherein the upper-layer (150) structure is spaced apart from the lower-layer structure (110) by the middle-layer structure, along a direction from the lower-layer structure to the upper-layer structure.
Regarding claim 2, Figure 2 of Kim discloses that the semiconductor package as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first molding material (150, [0043]) includes a rigid material or a flexible material, and the second molding material (140) includes a flexible material ([0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Figure 2 of Kim discloses that the semiconductor package as claimed in in claim 2, wherein the second molding material (140, [0040]) covers the active surface of the first chip, and surrounds the remaining portion of the lateral surface of the first chip, the remaining portion of the lateral surface of the first chip being a portion excluding the portion of the lateral surface of the first chip (130).
Regarding claim 8, Figure 2 of Kim discloses that the semiconductor package as claimed in claim 2, wherein the upper-layer structure (150) has a first thickness, the middle-layer structure (140) has a second thickness, and a ratio of the first thickness to the second thickness is configured to control a warpage of the semiconductor package ([0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kim et al (US 20180226312 A1) in view of KIM et al (US 20210066244 A1, hereinafter as “K4”).
Regarding claim 12, Figure 2 of Kim discloses that the semiconductor package as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first molding material (150) includes the flexible material ([0043]), the first chip (130) includes a plurality of first chips (two of 130 is shown).
Kim does not explicitly teach that the semiconductor package further includes: a plurality of second chips, stacked on the plurality of first chips, respectively, wherein the plurality of first chips and the plurality of second chips respectively have sizes and stacking forms different from one another to form a complex stacking structure.
However, K4 is a pertinent art which teaches a semiconductor package having high performance and miniaturization of packages implemented using a system in package (SIP) technology in which a plurality of semiconductor chips having various functions are embedded in a single package ([0003]). Figures 1-20 of K4 teach such packages wherein a plurality of second chips, stacked on a plurality of first chips, respectively, wherein the plurality of first chips and the plurality of second chips respectively have sizes and stacking forms different from one another to form a complex stacking structure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor package of Kim with a plurality of second chips, stacked on the plurality of first chips, respectively, wherein the plurality of first chips and the plurality of second chips respectively have sizes and stacking forms different from one another to form a complex stacking structure according to the teaching of K4 in order to form a package with high performance and miniaturization of packages implemented using a system in package (SIP) technology in which a plurality of semiconductor chips having various functions are embedded in a single package ([0003] of K4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claims 1-3, 8 and 12, filed on 08/07/2026, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim (s) requires a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAJA AHMAD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813