Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/23/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-18 are rejected as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150012965 hereinafter Furukawa in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230105021 hereinafter Shah have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Publication No. 20150012965 hereinafter Furukawa in view of U.S. Publication No.
20230105021 hereinafter Shah, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230252355 hereinafter Tao.
As per claim 1, Furukawa discloses:
An information processing apparatus (para 0032 "In order to achieve the
above-mentioned object, an information processing device for handling privacy
information according to the present invention.") comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor
configured to execute the instructions (para 0153) to:
identify an access attribute for which different results are output from a
first policy model and a second policy model when the access attribute is input to
the first policy model and the second policy model that output (para 0092 "The
user extraction unit 106 acquires a set of user identifiers corresponding to the
service identifier that is inputted by the user from the policy storage unit 101
(B2)." Para 0093 "The user extraction unit 106 acquires from the policy storage
unit 101 a set of tuple of (service identifier and policy) corresponding to the set of
user identifiers acquired in B2 and acquires a set of tuple of (user identifier and
set of tuple of (service identifier and policy)) (B3). The user extraction unit 106
outputs the set of tuple of (service identifier and policy) corresponding to the
inputted user identifier and the set of tuple of (user identifier and set of tuple of
(service identifier and policy)) corresponding to the set of user identifiers, to the
degree of similarity computation unit 107."),
when an access attribute is input, results of determination regarding
access having the input access attribute; and calculate a degree of divergence
between a result of determination by the first policy model and a result of
determination by the second policy model by the results respectively
output from the first policy model and the second policy model when the
identified access attribute is input to the first policy model and the second policy
model (para 0094 "The degree of similarity computation unit 107 computes the
degree of similarity between the user identifiers based on the set of tuple of
(service identifier and policy) corresponding to the inputted user identifier, and
the set of tuple of (user identifier and set of tuple of (service identifier and policy))
corresponding to the set of user identifiers (B4)." Para 0095 "The degree of
similarity computation unit 107 acquires a fixed number of user identifiers that
have higher similarity, and outputs to the policy recommendation unit 104 as a
user set (B5).")
Furukawa does not disclose:
wherein the first policy model and the second policy model output
identify a plurality of the access attributes; and calculate the degree of
divergence with respect to each of the plurality of access attributes
calculating a difference of the results output from the first policy model and second policy
Shah discloses:
wherein the first policy model and the second policy model output (para
0056 "Process 500 may include defining (at 510) one or more rules based on the
expected behavior from each generated (at 508) model. In some embodiments,
ANSS 100 may define (at 510) the one or more rules with values or thresholds
that deviate from or are at the limits of the expected behavior of each model. For
instance, a first model may predict an expected request rate for a first set of
content, and ANSS 100 may define (at 510) a first rule that is violated when the
request rate for the first set of content exceeds the expected request rate.
Similarly, a second model may predict expected header values for requests
originated by a first set of UEs, and ANSS 100 may define (at 510) a second rule
that is violated when requests from the first set of UEs have header values that
deviate from the expected header values.")
identify a plurality of the access attributes and calculate the degree of
divergence with respect to each of the plurality of access attributes (para 0057
"Process 500 may include determining (at 512) a threat risk associated with each
rule. Determining (at 512) the threat risk may include classifying the type of
attack that is associated with each rule based on the parameters and/or
behaviors that define the rule. For instance, ANSS 100 may classify a first rule as
being associated with a volumetric attack when the first rule includes request rate
parameters, access time parameters, and/or other parameters that are frequently
used in identifying a volumetric attack, and may classify a second rule as being
associated with a botnet attack (e.g., SQL injection attacks) when the second
rule includes specific parameters that are required to have some static values
and other parameters that are required to have some variation. Determining
(at 512) the threat risk may further include determining the impact associated
with different violations of each rule. ANSS 100 may determine the impact by
computing a threat score based on the number of anomalous parameters that
are required to violate a rule, a defined severity associated with each anomalous
parameter, and/or different amounts or thresholds by which the anomalous
parameters violate the rule. More specifically, ANSS 100 may compute the threat
score based on an expected impact on the protected services and/or devices
when encountering an attack with a particular classification, an expected impact
caused by the anomalous parameters, and/or an expected impact caused based
on the anomalous parameters deviating from modeled expected parameter by
different amounts. For instance, anomalous behavior that violates a volumetric
attack rule by no more than 10% of the threshold set for the rule may be
indicative of a demand surge for particular content and not an actual attack, and
so ANSS 100 may determine (at 512) the risk associated with this violation to be
low (e.g., may compute a threat score of 2 in a range of 0-10 with a threat score
of 10 representing an attack that may disrupt all services). Anomalous behavior
that violates the volumetric attack rule by more than 20% of the set threshold
may be a clear indication of a Distributed Denial of Service ("DDoS") attack, and
so ANSS 100 may determine (at 512) the risk associated with this violation to be
high (e.g., may compute a threat score of 7 in the range of 0-10). Similarly,
anomalous behavior that violates a rule defined for an injection attack (e.g., a
SQL injection attack) may be indicative of a serious attack regardless of how
much the values associated with the anomalous behavior deviate from the
defined rule, and SO ANSS 100 may determine (at 512) the risk associated with
this violation to be high (e.g., may compute a threat score of 10).")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify information
processing device of Furukawa to include wherein the first policy model and the
second policy model output and identify a plurality of the access attributes; and
calculate the degree of divergence with respect to each of the plurality of access
attributes as taught by Shah.
The motivation would have been to properly understand the relationship
between policies based on an attributes.
Furukawa in view of Shah does not disclose:
calculating a difference of the results output from the first policy model and second policy
Tao discloses:
calculating a difference of the results output from the first policy model and second policy (para 0040 “FIG. 4 shows another example process to train a student model with knowledge transfer, according to some embodiments. In this example, process 400 may commence with determining a loss representing a difference between a policy of a student model and a policy of a teacher model based at least in part on a first set of one or more trajectories obtained with the policy of the student model, according to some embodiments (block 405). As described above, the loss (e.g., L.sub.distill) representing a cross-entropy of the policies of the student and teacher models may be determined according to equation (9).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify information
processing device of Furukawa to include calculating a difference of the results output from the first policy model and second policy, as taught by Tao.
The motivation would have been to properly determine the difference between policies based on an attributes.
As per claim 2, Furukawa in view of Shah and Tao discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to : The information processing apparatus according to further wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: execute statistical processing using all of the calculated degrees of divergence (Shah para 0053 "Process 500 may include modeling (at 506) different behaviors based on different combinations of AI/ML techniques and/or different data structures that are provided as inputs to the AI/ML techniques. The modeling (at 506) may include analyzing and clustering the parameters within a set of data structures according to the AI/ML technique selected for that set of data structures and/or a particular behavioral model." Para 0058 "Process 500 may include associating (at 514) one or more actions to each particular rule based on the threat risk determined for that particular rule. Since different violations of a particular rule may be associated with different threat risks, ANSS 100 may associate at least a first action when the violation of the particular rule is less than a first amount or threshold, and a second action when the violation of the particular rule is more than the first amount or threshold and less than a second amount or threshold." The motivation would have been to properly understand the relationship
between policies based on an attributes. ).
As per claim 3, Furukawa in view of Shah and Tao discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to wherein the at least
one processor is further configured to wherein, in a case where there is the first
policy model and a plurality of the second policy models, further at least one
processor configured to execute the instructions to: identify the access attribute
with respect to each of the plurality of second policy models, and calculate the
degree of divergence with respect to each of the plurality of second policy
models (Furukawa para 0080, 0101 and 0102).
As per claim 4, Furukawa in view of Shah and Tao discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to The information
processing apparatus according to wherein the first policy model is a model that
defines a security policy applied to an entire computer system of an organization,
and the second policy models are models that define security policies of
respective groups composing the organization (Furukawa para 0009 "That is, the
privacy information using terminal transmits a usage policy (i.e. service policy) to
the privacy information holding terminal." Para 0045 "That is, the privacy
information using terminal transmits a usage policy (i.e. service policy) to the
privacy information holding terminal." Para 0061 "The policy storage unit 101
stores the user identifiers that identify the privacy information holders who are
users, the service identifiers that identify the privacy information users who are
service providers and the policies that specify handling of privacy information for
each of the user identifiers and the service identifiers." para 0063" A user policy
which specifies a way of handling of privacy information."),
As per claim 5, Furukawa in view of Shah discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to The information
processing apparatus according to wherein the at least one processor is further
configured to execute the instructions to: output the degree of divergence
calculated by the divergence degree calculation unit and the access attribute
identified by the access attribute identifying unit (Shah para 0057 and 0056, The
motivation would have been to properly understand the relationship
between policies based on an attributes).
As per claim 6, Furukawa in view of Shah discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first policy model and the second policy model are machine learning models that
have learned, through machine learning, a relationship between an access
attribute and a determination regarding access that has the access attribute
(para 0045 "ANSS 100 may define (at 408) one or more rules that identify
anomalous behavior. Defining (at 408) the rules may include performing a
regression analysis to determine expected parameters and/or values for request
behavior, UE behavior, content access behavior, and/or other behaviors, and
may further include generating (at 408) the one or more rules to detect and
protect against behavior that is anomalous to and/or that deviates from the
modeled expected behaviors. For example, the modeling may identify that all or
a particular set of UEs (e.g., UEs of a particular device type, UEs with network
addressing within a particular subnet, etc.) are expected to issue no more than
50 requests per minute based on the unsupervised machine learning and
modeling." Para 0053 "Process 500 may include modeling (at 506) different
behaviors based on different combinations of AI/ML techniques and/or different
data structures that are provided as inputs to the AI/ML techniques. The
modeling (at 506) may include analyzing and clustering the parameters within a
set of data structures according to the AI/ML technique selected for that set of
data structures and/or a particular behavioral model." The motivation would
have been to properly understand the relationship between policies based
on an attributes)
As per claim 7, the implementation of the information processing apparatus
of claim 1 will execute claim the information processing method of claim 7.
The claim is analyzed with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 8, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 2.
As per claim 9, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 3.
As per claim 10, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 4.
As per claim 11, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 5.
As per claim 12, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 6.
As per claim 13, the implementation of the information processing
apparatus of claim 1 will execute claim the non-transitory computer
readable recording medium (paragraph 0154) of claim 13. The claim is
analyzed with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 14, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 2.
As per claim 15, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 3.
As per claim 16, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 4.
As per claim 17, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 5.
As per claim 18, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY S GRACIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499