DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 12/28/23, 03/28/23 & 08/15/24.
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is no antecedent basis for the limitations “the number”. The applicant is respectfully requested to substitute “the number” with “a number”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2022/0094162) in view of Cho (KR 20220158536 A).
Re Claims 1 and 9-10: Lee teaches demand management control method and apparatus for inducing dynamic participation of consumers in energy consumption loads management program, which includes a program type that is executed by a computing device including a computer and using an energy storage system (ESS) linked to an electric vehicle charging system (see ¶ 111-113+), the method comprising: a demand response {herein A demand response (DR) refers to a response of the demand side to a management activity of the supplier side and a demand response policy may be divided into a rate-based program and an incentive-based program} market participation step in which the computing device progresses operation of charging and discharging the ESS by establishing a strategy related to the number of electric vehicles to induce and a plan for charging and discharging the ESS in each hour in accordance with a DR (demand response) market participation time when the ESS participates in an electricity demand management market (electricity market) (see fig.# 3a-3b; ¶ 34-37+, 102-106+); an ESS charging step in which the computing device charges the ESS in preset light load hours when the ESS does not participate in the electricity demand management {herein demand management control apparatus 101 may control a peak demand} market (electricity market) (see ¶ 58-60+, 98-110+); a system standby step {herein the charging load device may be in a state connected to the energy charging supply device and a connection load or a standby load may occur accordingly} in which the computing device stands by until a predetermined discharging time when the ESS finishes being charged (see ¶ 84+); and an ESS discharging step in which the computing device establishes a discharging plan to completely discharge energy stored in the ESS during the discharging time, establishes a promotion operation plan, and progresses the promotion in accordance with the promotion operation plan (see ¶ 111-113+). Lee teaches a load reduction
Lee fails to specifically teach a preset light load hours.
Cho teaches an integrated of electric vehicle charging system that uses an ESS module with a national power supply reserve ratio management function, which includes light load (see page 4 last paragraph of translated document).
In view of Cho’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Lee a preset light load so as to promote the energy development and new energy consumption. Such modification would be beneficial by providing an operation optimization algorithm under minimal stress for the system.
Re Claim 2: Lee as modified by Cho teaches method and apparatus, wherein the plan for charging and discharging the ESS in the demand response market participation step determines the number of electric vehicle to strategically collect in a day when participating in the DR market in the side of a charge point operator and establishes an operation strategy on the basis of the number (¶ 94-97+).
Re Claim 6: Lee as modified by Cho teaches method and apparatus, wherein the promotion operation plan of the ESS discharging step is to set a stage for each hour, set intensity of the promotion in each stage, sets a price for providing the promotion, and establish a promotion strategy on the basis of the stage, the intensity, and the price {herein a rate-based demand response program has some restrictions, such as securing correct price signals and smart home appliances, to precisely apply a rate system application time to a consumption site according to wholesale market price by time zone} (see ¶ 6+, 98+).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to specifically teach wherein the plan for charging/discharging the ESS in the demand response market participation step satisfies conditions of an objective function, Max. Costtotal = CostDR + CostArbitrage, and a constraint function.
Re Claim 7: the promotion operation plan of the ESS discharging step is to set hours pertaining to a preset maximum load in a period of 09:00 12:00 as first stage hours, set hours pertaining to a preset maximum load in a period of 13:00 ~ 19:00 as second stage hours, set hours pertaining to a preset medium load after the second stage hours as third stage hours, establish the promotion operation plan with relatively low intensity for the first stage hours, and establish the promotion operation plan with relatively high intensity for the second stage hours and the third step hours. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claimed invention were not shown by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2013/0218356) teaches energy control method for energy management system.
Pratt et al. (US 8,478,452) teaches grid regulation services for energy storage devices based on grid frequency.
Seonjeong (KR 20210019259 A) teaches a system for optimizing ESS charging based on plan.
Byeon (KR 20190000038 A) teaches method of optimum power demand management using electric vehicle and apparatus thereof.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876