DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application #18/399,118 filed 12/28/2023. Claims 1-30 are subject to examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7, 20, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6 and 7 each recite the limitation “cause the NCR device to receive and the forward the second plurality of signals ... ,” but it is believed this should instead read “cause the NCR device to receive and forward the second plurality of signals ...”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “The apparatus of claim 18, the one or more processors ... ,” but it is believed this should instead read “The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors ...”.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “receive and forwarding the second plurality of signals ...,” but it is believed this should instead read “receive and forward the second plurality of signals”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 29 recites the limitations “means for receiving ...”, “means for forwarding ...”, and “means for taking one or more actions ... “. These limitations are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 16-18, 20, 22-26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0261065 A1, hereinafter “Fujishiro”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujishiro teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network-controlled repeater (NCR) device, comprising: one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A includes an NCR-Fwd 510A, an NCR-MT 520A ... The NCR-MT 520A includes ... a controller 523 ... The controller 523 includes at least one processor and at least one memory. The memory stores a program to be executed by the processor, see paragraphs [0072]-[0074]) and to cause the NCR device to:
receive, from a first network entity associated with a source cell, a first forwarding configuration for the source cell for configuring the NCR device to forward a first plurality of signals, received at the NCR device, to one or more user equipments (UEs) (Fujishiro: In the present embodiment, the receiver 521 of the NCR-MT 520A receives signaling (downlink signaling) used to control the NCR apparatus 500A from the gNB 200 through wireless communication, see paragraph [0076]; The NCR apparatus 500A extends the coverage of the cell of a gNB 200S by relaying radio signals between the gNB 200S and the UE, see paragraph [0114]);
receive the first plurality of signals (Fujishiro: the NCR apparatus 500A amplifies a radio signal (radio wave) received from the gNB 200, see paragraph [0063]);
forward the first plurality of signals to the one or more UEs in accordance with the first forwarding configuration for the source cell (Fujishiro: the NCR apparatus 500A ... transmits the radio signal through directional transmission, see paragraph [0063]);
receive, from the first network entity, a handover (HO) command instructing the NCR device to handover from the first network entity associated with the source cell to a second network entity associated with a target cell (Fujishiro: In step S105, the source gNB 200S transmits ... a handover command indicating handover to the target gNB 200T (target cell) to the NCR apparatus 500A ... The NCR apparatus 500A receives the handover command, see paragraph [0135]); and
take one or more actions related to forwarding signals to the one or more UEs in response to receiving the HO command (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) may also continue to control the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-Fwd 510A) during the handover according to the indication included in the handover command, see paragraph [0136]) *Examiner’s Note: NCR-MT “continuing to control” NCR-Fwd during handover constitutes “one or more actions related to forwarding signals”.
Regarding Claim 2, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the NCR device to receive a second forwarding configuration for the target cell for configuring the NCR device to forward a second plurality of signals, received at the NCR device, to the one or more UEs (Fujishiro: the gNB 200 transmits an NCR control signal for designating an operation state of the NCR apparatus 500A ... to the NCR-MT 520A ... the NCR control signal may be included in an RRC reconfiguration message, see paragraph [0085]; In step S105, the source gNB 200S transmits an RRC reconfiguration message including the information in the handover request acknowledge message, that is, a handover command indicating handover to the target gNB 200T (target cell) to the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A). The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) receives the handover command, see paragraph [0135]).
Regarding Claim 3, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the NCR device to perform, based on the HO command, a HO procedure with the second network entity associated with the target cell to handover the NCR device to the second network entity (Fujishiro: In step S106, the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) starts accessing the target gNB 200T (target cell) designated by the handover command in response to reception of the handover command in step S105, see paragraph [0136]).
Regarding Claim 4, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the NCR device to: receive, after completion of the HO procedure with the second network entity, the second plurality of signals (Fujishiro: In step S207, after the NCR apparatus 500A connects to its cell (target cell), the target gNB 200T performs communication control for the NCR apparatus 500A, see paragraph [0148] and Fig. 17 S207); and
forward the second plurality of signals in accordance with the second forwarding configuration for the target cell (Fujishiro: the target gNB 200T performs communication control for the NCR apparatus 500A based on the information included in the handover request message of step S202, see paragraph [0148]). *Examiner’s Note: the target gNB “performing communication control” on an NCR device designed to relay signals from a gNB to a UE constitutes the NCR receiving and forwarding signals from the target gNB to the UE.
Regarding Claim 6, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to receive the second forwarding configuration for the target cell in the HO command (Fujishiro: In step S104, the target gNB 200T transmits to the source gNB 200S ... a handover request acknowledge message ... In step S105, the source gNB 200S transmits an RRC reconfiguration message including the information in the handover request acknowledge message, that is, a handover command indicating handover to the target gNB 200T (target cell) to the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A), see paragraphs [0134]-[0135]); and
the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to receive and forward the second plurality of signals upon completion of the HO procedure with the second network entity (Fujishiro: : In step S207, after the NCR apparatus 500A connects to its cell (target cell), the target gNB 200T performs communication control for the NCR apparatus 500A based on the information included in the handover request message of step S202, see paragraph [0148] and Fig. 17 S207).
Regarding Claim 16, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the HO command includes a second forwarding configuration for forwarding the first plurality of signals to the one or more UEs during a HO procedure involving a handover of the NCR device to the second network entity (Fujishiro: In step S104, the target gNB 200T transmits to the source gNB 200S ... a handover request acknowledge message ... The target gNB 200T may include in the handover request acknowledge message an indication as to whether the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) also continues to operate under control of the source gNB 200S during handover ... In step S105, the source gNB 200S transmits an RRC reconfiguration message including the information in the handover request acknowledge message, that is, a handover command indicating handover to the target gNB 200T (target cell) to the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A), see paragraphs [0134]-[0135]). *Examiner’s Note: the NCR “continuing to operate under control of the source gNB” during handover constitutes forwarding the first plurality of signals during the handover procedure.
Regarding Claim 17, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the NCR device to perform the HO procedure based on the HO command (Fujishiro: In step S106, the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) starts accessing the target gNB 200T (target cell) designated by the handover command in response to reception of the handover command in step S105, see paragraph [0136]).
Regarding Claim 18, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to take the one or more actions during the HO procedure based on the second forwarding configuration (Fujishiro: In step S104, the target gNB 200T transmits to the source gNB 200S ... a handover request acknowledge message ... In step S105, the source gNB 200S transmits an RRC reconfiguration message including the information in the handover request acknowledge message ... to the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) ... The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) may also continue to control the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-Fwd 510A) during the handover according to the indication included in the handover command, see paragraphs [0134]-[0136]). *Examiner’s Note: NCR-MT “continuing to control” NCR-Fwd during handover constitutes “one or more actions related to forwarding signals”.
Regarding Claim 20, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 18, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the NCR device to receive and forward a second plurality of signals to the one or more UEs after completion of the HO procedure based on the second forwarding configuration (Fujishiro: In step S207, after the NCR apparatus 500A connects to its cell (target cell), the target gNB 200T performs communication control for the NCR apparatus 500A based on the information included in the handover request message of step S202, see paragraph [0148]). *Examiner’s Note: the target gNB “performing communication control” on an NCR device designed to relay signals from a gNB to a UE constitutes the NCR receiving and forwarding signals from the target gNB to the UE.
Regarding Claim 22, Fujishiro-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the NCR device comprises: a mobile termination (MT) logical entity for the receiving of the first forwarding configuration from the first network entity associated with the source cell (Fujishiro: In step S16, the gNB 200 transmits a configuration message including various configurations regarding the NCR apparatus 500A to the NCR-MT 520A. The NCR-MT 520A receives the configuration message, see paragraph [0107]); and
a forwarding logical entity for the forwarding of the first plurality of signals to the one or more UEs in accordance with the first forwarding configuration for the source cell (Fujishiro: In step S17, the gNB 200 (transmitter 522) transmits the control indication for designating the operation state of the NCR-Fwd 510A to the NCR-MT 520A, see paragraph [0108]).
Regarding Claims 23-26, the limitations of claims 23-26 are substantially the same as the limitations of claims 1-4, and therefore claims 23-26 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 28, the limitations of claim 28 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 6, and therefore claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 29, Fujishiro teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network-controlled repeater (NCR) device, comprising: means for receiving, from a first network entity associated with a source cell, a first forwarding configuration for the source cell for configuring the NCR device to forward a first plurality of signals, received at the NCR device, to one or more user equipments (UEs) (Fujishiro: The NCR-MT 520A includes a receiver 521 ... The receiver 521 includes an antenna and a reception device ... the receiver 521 of the NCR-MT 520A receives signaling (downlink signaling) used to control the NCR apparatus 500A from the gNB 200, see paragraphs [0074]-[0076]);
means for receiving the first plurality of signals (Fujishiro: The NCR-Fwd 510A includes the wireless unit 511A ... The wireless unit 511A includes an antenna 511a, see paragraph [0073]);
means for forwarding the first plurality of signals to the one or more UEs in accordance with the first forwarding configuration for the source cell (Fujishiro: The NCR-Fwd 510A includes the wireless unit 511A and an NCR controller 512A ... The wireless unit 511A includes ... an RF circuit 511b ... The RF circuit 511b amplifies and relays (transmits) radio signals transmitted and received by the antenna 511a ... The NCR controller 512A controls the wireless unit 511A in response to a control signal from the NCR-MT 520A, see paragraph [0073]);
means for receiving, from the first network entity, a handover (HO) command instructing the NCR device to handover from the first network entity associated with the source cell to a second network entity associated with a target cell (Fujishiro: the receiver 521 of the NCR-MT 520A receives signaling (downlink signaling) used to control the NCR apparatus 500A from the gNB 200, see paragraph [0076]; In step S105, the source gNB 200S transmits an RRC reconfiguration message including the information in the handover request acknowledge message, that is, a handover command indicating handover to the target gNB 200T (target cell) to the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A). The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) receives the handover command, see paragraph [0135]); and
means for taking one or more actions related to forwarding signals to the one or more UEs in response to receiving the HO command (Fujishiro: The controller 523 of the NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR apparatus 500A based on the signaling, see paragraph [0076]; The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) may also continue to control the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-Fwd 510A) during the handover according to the indication included in the handover command, see paragraph [0136]). *Examiner’s Note: NCR-MT “continuing to control” NCR-Fwd during handover constitutes “one or more actions related to forwarding signals”.
Regarding Claim 30, Fujishiro teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium for wireless communication at a network-controlled repeater (NCR) device, comprising: instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of the NCR device (Fujishiro: The NCR-MT 520A includes ... a controller 523. The receiver 521 performs various types of reception under control of the controller 523 ... The controller 523 includes at least one processor and at least one memory. The memory stores a program to be executed by the processor, see paragraph [0074]), cause the NCR device to:
receive, from a first network entity associated with a source cell, a first forwarding configuration for the source cell for configuring the NCR device to forward a first plurality of signals, received at the NCR device, to one or more user equipments (UEs) (Fujishiro: In the present embodiment, the receiver 521 of the NCR-MT 520A receives signaling (downlink signaling) used to control the NCR apparatus 500A from the gNB 200 through wireless communication, see paragraph [0076]; The NCR apparatus 500A extends the coverage of the cell of a gNB 200S by relaying radio signals between the gNB 200S and the UE, see paragraph [0114]);
receive the first plurality of signals (Fujishiro: the NCR apparatus 500A amplifies a radio signal (radio wave) received from the gNB 200, see paragraph [0063]);
forward the first plurality of signals to the one or more UEs in accordance with the first forwarding configuration for the source cell (Fujishiro: the NCR apparatus 500A ... transmits the radio signal through directional transmission, see paragraph [0063]);
receive, from the first network entity, a handover (HO) command instructing the NCR device to handover from the first network entity associated with the source cell to a second network entity associated with a target cell (Fujishiro: In step S105, the source gNB 200S transmits ... a handover command indicating handover to the target gNB 200T (target cell) to the NCR apparatus 500A ... The NCR apparatus 500A receives the handover command, see paragraph [0135]); and
take one or more actions related to forwarding signals to the one or more UEs in response to receiving the HO command (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) may also continue to control the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-Fwd 510A) during the handover according to the indication included in the handover command, see paragraph [0136]) *Examiner’s Note: NCR-MT “continuing to control” NCR-Fwd during handover constitutes “one or more actions related to forwarding signals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8-15, and 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0037486 A1, hereinafter “Li”) and further in view of Tenny et al. (US 2022/0191745 A1 hereinafter “Tenny”).
Regarding Claim 5, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 4.
Fujishiro does not explicitly teach, the second plurality of signals comprise: one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) received from the first network entity;
one or more SSBs received from the second network entity; and
one or more unicast data signals received from the second network entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches the second plurality of signals comprise: one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) received from the first network entity; and
one or more SSBs received from the second network entity (Li: In some examples, wireless repeater 250 may receive SSBs from both base station 205-a and base station 205-b, and may transmit these SSBs based on the configured beam pattern, see paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro to include the features as taught by Li above in order to ensure the best coverage for the UE (Li: see paragraph [0054]).
Fujishiro-Li does not explicitly teach one or more unicast data signals received from the second network entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny teaches one or more unicast data signals received from the second network entity (Tenny: Relay UE 103 helps to relay all control signaling and data traffic for remote UE 104, see paragraph [0019]; Relay UE 103 resumes forwarding after it hands over to target gNB 106, see paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro-Li to include the features as taught by Tenny above in order to achieve data coverage extension (Tenny: see paragraph [0019]).
Regarding Claim 8, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein: the first plurality of signals comprises a first set of signals received from the first network entity (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A extends the coverage of the cell of a gNB 200S by relaying radio signals between the gNB 200S and the UE, see paragraph [0114]).
Fujishiro does not explicitly teach, the first set of signals received from the first network entity comprises: one or more periodic signals received from the first network entity; and
one or more unicast data signals received from the first network entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches the first set of signals received from the first network entity comprises: one or more periodic signals received from the first network entity (Li: wireless repeater 550 may forward transmissions of SSBs that wireless repeater 550 receives from base station 505-a (e.g., to UE 515), see paragraph [0121]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Fujishiro-Li does not explicitly teach the first set of signals received from the first network entity comprises one or more unicast data signals received from the first network entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny teaches the first set of signals received from the first network entity comprises one or more unicast data signals received from the first network entity (Tenny: Relay UE 103 helps to relay all control signaling and data traffic for remote UE 104, see paragraph [0019]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Tenny is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 9, Fujishiro-Li-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 8.
Li further teaches the one or more periodic or semi-persistent signals received from the first network entity comprise at least one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) received from the first network entity (Li: wireless repeater 550 may forward transmissions of SSBs that wireless repeater 550 receives from base station 505-a (e.g., to UE 515), see paragraph [0121]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 10, Fujishiro-Li-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and the NCR device as a relay device (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A extends the coverage of the cell of a gNB 200S by relaying radio signals between the gNB 200S and the UE 100, see paragraph [0114]).
Tenny further teaches, in order to take the one or more actions, the one or more processors are configured to cause the relay device to stop the forwarding of the first set of signals, of the first plurality of signals, to the one or more UEs after receiving the HO command (Tenny: a relay UE receives a first handover command from a source base station. The relay UE offers relaying service to a remote UE and selectively stops the relaying service upon receiving the first handover command, see paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro-Li to include the features as taught by Tenny above in order to ensure synchronization of the handover operations (Tenny: see paragraph [0023]).
Regarding Claim 11, Fujishiro-Li-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 10.
Li further teaches the first plurality of signals comprises a second set of signals received from the second network entity (Li: wireless repeater 250 may receive SSBs from both base station 205-a and base station 205-b, see paragraph [0110]); and
the second set of signals received from the second network entity comprises one or more periodic or semi-persistent signals received from the second network entity (Li: wireless repeater 250 may receive SSBs from both base station 205-a and base station 205-b, see paragraph [0110]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Fujishiro teaches in order to take the one or more actions, the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to continue to forward the second set of signals, received from the second network entity, to the one or more UEs after receiving the HO command (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) may also continue to control the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-Fwd 510A) during the handover according to the indication included in the handover command, see paragraph [0136]). *Examiner’s Note: NCR-MT “continuing to control” NCR-Fwd during handover constitutes continuing to forward the first plurality of signals, which include the second set.
Regarding Claim 12, Fujishiro-Li-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 11.
Li further teaches the one or more periodic or semi-persistent signals received from the second network entity comprise at least one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) received from the second network entity (Li: wireless repeater 250 may receive SSBs from both base station 205-a and base station 205-b, see paragraph [0110]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13, Fujishiro-Li-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 10.
Tenny further teaches taking the one or more actions comprises stopping the forwarding of the one or more unicast signals, received from the first network entity, to the one or more UEs after receiving the HO command (Tenny: a relay UE receives a first handover command from a source base station. The relay UE offers relaying service to a remote UE and selectively stops the relaying service upon receiving the first handover command, see paragraph [0006]; Relay UE 103 helps to relay all control signaling and data traffic for remote UE 104, see paragraph [0019]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Tenny is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 14, Fujishiro-Li-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein, in order to take the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the NCR device to, after receiving the HO command, continue to forward the signals received from the first network entity, to the one or more UEs (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) may also continue to control the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-Fwd 510A) during the handover according to the indication included in the handover command, see paragraph [0136]). *Examiner’s Note: NCR-MT “continuing to control” NCR-Fwd during handover constitutes continuing to forward signals.
Li further teaches one or more periodic signals received from the first network entity (Li: wireless repeater 250 may receive SSBs from both base station 205-a and base station 205-b, see paragraph [0110]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 15, Fujishiro-Li-Tenny teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Li further teaches the first plurality of signals comprises a second set of signals received from the second network entity (Li: wireless repeater 250 may receive SSBs from both base station 205-a and base station 205-b, see paragraph [0110]); and
the second set of signals received from the second network entity comprises one or more periodic or semi-persistent signals received from the second network entity (Li: wireless repeater 250 may receive SSBs from both base station 205-a and base station 205-b, see paragraph [0110]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 5.
Fujishiro further teaches in order to take the one or more actions, the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to continue to forward the second set of signals, received from the second network entity, to the one or more UEs after receiving the HO command (Fujishiro: The NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-MT 520A) may also continue to control the NCR apparatus 500A (NCR-Fwd 510A) during the handover according to the indication included in the handover command, see paragraph [0136]). *Examiner’s Note: NCR-MT “continuing to control” NCR-Fwd during handover constitutes continuing to forward the first plurality of signals, which include the second set.
Regarding Claim 27, the limitations of claim 27 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 5, and claim 27 is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro in view of Sun et al. (WO 2024/012107 A1, hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding Claim 7, Fujishiro teaches the apparatus of claim 4.
Fujishiro does not explicitly teach, in order to receive the second forwarding configuration for the target cell, the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to receive a message from the second network entity, including the second forwarding configuration for the target cell, after completion of the HO procedure with the second network entity; and
the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to receive and forward the second plurality of signals after receiving the message from the second network entity including the second forwarding configuration for the target cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sun teaches the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to receive a message from the second network entity, including the second forwarding configuration for the target cell, after completion of the HO procedure with the second network entity (Sun: In a switching [handover] scenario, the target network device can ... send configuration information to the NCR after the switching is complete, see paragraph [0160]); and
the one or more processors are configured to cause the NCR device to receive and forward the second plurality of signals after receiving the message from the second network entity including the second forwarding configuration for the target cell (Sun: After the handover is completed, NCR performs radio frequency forwarding work based on the configuration information issued by the target network device, see paragraph [0160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro to include the features as taught by Sun above in order to better support NCR configuration management (Sun: see paragraph [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang et al. (US 2024/0276324 A1) teaches an NCR device performing signal forwarding between a first base station (first cell) and a terminal, receiving a command from a first base station to handover to a second base station (second cell), performing handover, and receiving a forwarding configuration from the second base station.
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416