DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-14, and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matias et al (Pub. No. US 2021/0314440 A1; hereinafter Matias) in view of Way et al (Patent No.: US 10,958,784 B1; hereinafter Way)
Consider claims 1, and 8, Matias clearly shows and discloses a system, and a method of wireless communication, the method comprising: receiving, by a first user equipment (UB) operating on a wireless network, an incoming call from a remote telephone (computing device 110 may be a mobile telephone; user interface 314A as an example CSS user interface. In response to an incoming call, flow manager 226 of CSS module 220 may cause UIC 212 to present user interface 314 from which a user of computing device 210 is provided with several options for handling the incoming call, response to selecting graphical element 318A, flow manager 226 of CSS module 220 may interpret the user selection of graphical element 318A as a command to interrogate the caller before passing the incoming call to telephone module 222 ) (paragraphs: 0021 and 0107; and figs. 1-3C); without accepting the incoming call, automatically requesting, by the first UE, that the wireless network anchor the incoming call (before answering an incoming telephone call, flow manager 226 of CSS module 220 may determine, based on user input or automatically based on contextual information from context module 224 or a prediction made by a ML model of flow manager 226, that the user would prefer to screen the caller before speaking to him or her directly over the telephone connection) (paragraphs: 0108, 0120, and 0125) ;and receiving, by the first UE, a real time text (RTT) response to an audio request for call context, the RTT response having been converted, by the wireless network, from an audio response to the RTT response (speech engine module 228 may be adapted to understand and transcribe spoken voice input received in a variety of human languages. For example, speech engine module 228 may receive a spoken input in a first language (e.g., Mandarin) and transcribe the spoken input into text written in a second language (e.g., English). In this way, speech engine module 228 may enable asynchronous communication between a user of computing device 210 and a caller) (paragraphs: 0095 and fig. 3G and fig. 4); displaying or reading aloud, by the UE, the RTT response to a user (the ML model of flow manager 226 may classify the caller as a potential spam caller and cause flow manager 226 to output graphical element 316B which includes a transcription of the spoken request made over the telephone connection, by speech engine module 228, for basic information including the caller's name and purpose of the call) (paragraph 0109 and fig. 3C, label 316B); receiving, by the UE, a prompt from the user in response to displaying or reading aloud the RTT response to the user, the prompt rejecting the incoming call based on the RTT response ( in response to flagging an incoming call as possible spam, flow manager module 226 may include graphical element 318A so that a user of computing device 210, in response to reading the transcription in graphical element 316B, may select graphical element 318A to add the caller to spam list 229B and then terminate the call) (paragraphs: 0110, fig. 3C, label 318A); and transmitting, by the UE, an indication to the network that the incoming call has been rejected, the indication prompting the wireless network to terminate the incoming call without connecting the remote telephone to a voicemail of the UE (In response to a user command to reject the telephone call, CSS module 220 may reject the telephone call by hanging up after speaking to the caller “We were unable to connect your call. Goodbye.” while causing user interface 314D to include a copy of the hangup) (paragraph 0111); however, Matias does not disclose another example for without accepting the incoming call, automatically requesting, by the first UE, that the wireless network anchor the incoming call.
In the same field of endeavor, Way clearly specifically discloses another example without accepting the incoming call, automatically requesting, by the first UE, that the wireless network anchor the incoming call (col. 8, lines 28-38)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Way into teaching of Matias for the purpose of providing more example for automatically screening call before answering the call.
Consider claim 26, Matias clearly shows and discloses a method of wireless communication, the method comprising: receiving, by a first user equipment (UB) operating on a wireless network, an incoming call from a remote telephone (computing device 110 may be a mobile telephone; user interface 314A as an example CSS user interface. In response to an incoming call, flow manager 226 of CSS module 220 may cause UIC 212 to present user interface 314 from which a user of computing device 210 is provided with several options for handling the incoming call, response to selecting graphical element 318A, flow manager 226 of CSS module 220 may interpret the user selection of graphical element 318A as a command to interrogate the caller before passing the incoming call to telephone module 222 ) (paragraphs: 0021 and 0107; and figs. 1-3C); without accepting the incoming call, automatically requesting, by the first UE, that the wireless network anchor the incoming call (before answering an incoming telephone call, flow manager 226 of CSS module 220 may determine, based on user input or automatically based on contextual information from context module 224 or a prediction made by a ML model of flow manager 226, that the user would prefer to screen the caller before speaking to him or her directly over the telephone connection) (paragraphs: 0108, 0120, and 0125) ;and receiving, by the first UE, a real time text (RTT) response to an audio request for call context, the RTT response having been converted, by the wireless network, from an audio response to the RTT response (speech engine module 228 may be adapted to understand and transcribe spoken voice input received in a variety of human languages. For example, speech engine module 228 may receive a spoken input in a first language (e.g., Mandarin) and transcribe the spoken input into text written in a second language (e.g., English). In this way, speech engine module 228 may enable asynchronous communication between a user of computing device 210 and a caller) (paragraphs: 0095 and fig. 3G and fig. 4); displaying or reading aloud, by the UE, the RTT response to a user (the ML model of flow manager 226 may classify the caller as a potential spam caller and cause flow manager 226 to output graphical element 316B which includes a transcription of the spoken request made over the telephone connection, by speech engine module 228, for basic information including the caller's name and purpose of the call) (paragraph 0109 and fig. 3C, label 316B); receiving, by the UE, a prompt from the user in response to displaying or reading aloud the RTT response to the user, the prompt rejecting the incoming call based on the RTT response ( in response to flagging an incoming call as possible spam, flow manager module 226 may include graphical element 318A so that a user of computing device 210, in response to reading the transcription in graphical element 316B, may select graphical element 318A to add the caller to spam list 229B and then terminate the call) (paragraphs: 0110, fig. 3C, label 318A); and transmitting, by the UE, an indication to the network that the incoming call has been rejected, the indication prompting the wireless network to terminate the incoming call without connecting the remote telephone to a voicemail of the UE (In response to a user command to accept or reject the telephone call, CSS module 220 may terminate the audio user interface established over the telephone call. CSS module 220 may accept the telephone call by speaking to the caller “Hang on while I connect you” and passing control to telephone module 222 for enabling direct voice communication, via the telephone call, between the user and the caller) (paragraph 0111); however, Matias does not disclose another example for without accepting the incoming call, automatically requesting, by the first UE, that the wireless network anchor the incoming call.
In the same field of endeavor, Way clearly specifically discloses another example without accepting the incoming call, automatically requesting, by the first UE, that the wireless network anchor the incoming call (col. 8, lines 28-38)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Way into teaching of Matias for the purpose of providing more example for automatically screening call before answering the call.
Consider claims 5, and 12, Matias and Way clearly show the system, the one or more computer storage devices, and the method, further comprising: receiving, by a first network node of the wireless network, from the remote telephone, the incoming call; forwarding, by the first network node, to the UE, the incoming call; receiving, by a second network node of the wireless network, from the UE, the request to anchor the incoming call; anchoring the incoming call at the second network node; transmitting, to the remote telephone, an audio request for call context; receiving, by the second network node, from the remote telephone, an audio response to the audio request for call context; converting, by the second network node, the audio response to an RTT response; and transmitting, to the first UE, the RTT response (Matias: paragraphs: 0120).
Consider claims 6, and 13, Matias and Way clearly show the system, the one or more computer storage devices, and the method, wherein the second network node comprises a media resource function (MRF), and wherein transmitting the RTT response to the UE comprises transmitting the RTT response on a default bearer (automatically based on contextual information from context module 224) (Matias: paragraphs: 0095, 0108 and fig. 3B and fig. 4).
Consider claims 7, and 14, Matias and Way clearly show the system, and the method, further comprising: initiating, by the remote telephone, the incoming call to the UE; receiving, by the remote telephone, from the wireless network, an audio request for call context; and transmitting, by the remote telephone, to the wireless network, an audio response to the audio request for call context (Matias: paragraphs: 0117).
Consider claims 21 and 27, Matias and Way clearly show the method, wherein the RTT response is displayed via a graphical user interface of the UE while the incoming call remains anchored by the wireless network (Matias: paragraphs: 0110- 0111 and fig. 3C, label 316B).
Consider claims 22, and 28, Matias and Way clearly show the method, wherein the RTT response is read-aloud via a speaker of the UE while the incoming call remains anchored by the wireless network (in response to reading the transcription in graphical element 316B, may select graphical element 318A to add the caller to spam list 229B and then terminate the call) (Matias: paragraphs: 0110; and fig. 3C, label 316B).
Consider claim 23, Matias and Way clearly show the method, wherein the RTT response is received over a default bearer between the UE and the wireless network (Matias: paragraphs: 0109-0111; and fig. 3C, label 316B).
Consider claim 24, Matias and Way clearly show the method, wherein the RTT response is displayed or read aloud based on a user-configurable setting (in response to reading the transcription in graphical element 316B, may select graphical element 318A to add the caller to spam list 229B and then terminate the call) (Matias: paragraphs: 0110; and fig. 3C, label 316B).
Consider claims 25 and 29, Matias and Way clearly show the method, wherein the indication is transmitted by the UE prior to expiration of a timeout period following the RTT response being displayed or read aloud to the user (Way: col. 6, lines 1-10 and col. 20, lines 1-15).
Response to Arguments
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on June 04, 2026. Applicant cancelled claims 2-4, 9-11, and 15-20, amended claims 1, 5-8, 12-14, and added new claims 21-29. Claims 1, 5-8, 12-14, and 21-29 are now pending in the present application.
Applicant argues on the Applicant’s Response that Matias fail to teach the limitation “without accepting the incoming call, automatically requesting, by the first UE, that the wireless network anchor the incoming call; displaying or reading aloud, by the UE, the RTT response to a user; receiving, by the UE, a prompt from the user in response to displaying or reading aloud the RTT response to the user, the prompt rejecting the incoming call based on the RTT response; and transmitting, by the UE, an indication to the network that the incoming call has been rejected, the indication prompting the wireless network to terminate the incoming call without connecting the remote telephone to a voicemail of the UE"
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ arguments regarding claims 1, 8 and 26. Matias teaches that is, before answering an incoming telephone call, flow manager 226 of CSS module 220 may determine, based on user input or automatically based on contextual information from context module 224 or a prediction made by a ML model of flow manager 226, that the user would prefer to screen the caller before speaking to him or her directly over the telephone connection (paragraphs: 0108, 0113, 0120, and 0125; and fig. 3B). Matias teaches in response to a user command to accept or reject the telephone call, CSS module 220 may terminate the audio user interface established over the telephone call. CSS module 220 may accept the telephone call by speaking to the caller “Hang on while I connect you” and passing control to telephone module 222 for enabling direct voice communication, via the telephone call, between the user and the caller. CSS module 220 may reject the telephone call by hanging up after speaking to the caller “We were unable to connect your call. Goodbye.” while causing user interface 314D to include a copy of the hangup (paragraph 0110-0111)
As a result, Matias teach the above limitation as broadly claimed.
Conclusion
/AMAL S ZENATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
Anomaly
Forecast