Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. § 112
Claims 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the term “coarse” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, any particle size is interpreted as meeting the claimed limitation.
Claim 20 is rejection by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §102
Claims 1 – 6, 13, 17 – 18, and 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Connor (US 3,679,397)
Regarding claims 1 and 18, O’Connor teaches a method of leaching comprising bacteria [Title]. O’Connor teaches that the leaching process is performed on low-grade sulfide ore [Claim 7], meeting the claimed limitation of leaching an ore containing a metal sulfide. O’Connor teaches that “[t]he process of the present invention may be used in the leaching for recovery of a wide variety of metals, including copper, zinc, nickel, cobalt, uranium, vanadium, molybdenum as well as a wide variety of other 80 metals.” [Col 2, line 56 – 60]
O’Connor teaches a particular leaching solution that forms an acidic sulfuric/sulfate solution and that also contains thiourea and ferrous sulfate [Example VIII], meeting the claimed limitation of a reagent having a thiocarbonyl group and thiourea of claim 18.
O’Connor does not expressly state that the presence of thiourea results in an increased metal ion extraction rate relative to an acidic sulfate solution that does not contain the reagent. However, “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999)” (MPEP 2112 I) and “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” MPEP (2112.01 II).
As such, given that thiourea is an exemplary thiocarbonyl functional group-containing reagent (and also claimed in claim 18) there is a reasonable expectation that O’Connor inherently possesses the claimed property.
Regarding claims 2 – 6, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor teaches that the example has 0.5 g of thiourea added to 1000 mL of water [Example VIII]. The molar mass of thiourea is 76.12 g/mol and as such, the millimole content is ~6.57 ((0.5 g/76.12 g/mol)*1000). As such, the molarity is ~6.57 mM [Example VIII], which anticipates the ranges of claims 2 – 6.
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962))
Regarding claims 13 and 17, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor expressly recognizes that copper and nickel can be recovered [Col 2, line 57 – 58], meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 21 – 22, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor teaches that bacteria is present and that the bacteria oxidizes ferrous iron [Col 2, line 60 – 67]. O’Connor also states that the metallic constituents of the ore are oxidized by bacterium activity [col 2, line 45 – 50]. Wherein ferrous iron has an oxidation state of (+2) and ferric iron has a higher oxidation state of (+3). As such, there is a reasonably expectation to an ordinarily skilled artisan that the bacteria present in the solution would oxidize the ferrous iron and produce ferric iron, at least in part, thereby meeting the claimed limitation of ferric iron ions being present which oxidize metal sulfide (claim 21) and that they are at least partially generated by a bacterium (claim 22).
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 7 – 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connor (US 3,679,397)
Regarding claims 7 – 12, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor teaches that thiourea can be provided in an amount of 0.001 – 10 g/liter of water [Claims 3 – 4]. The molar mass of thiourea is 76.12 g/mol. As such, the molarity content ranges from 0.013 ((0.001/76.12) *1000) to 131.37 mM ((10/76.12) *1000), which overlaps with the claimed ranges of 7 – 12.
“In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”, absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.05 I). "The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range." In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05 III A).
Regarding claim 16, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor expressly states that “[t]he process of the present invention may be used in the leaching for recovery of a wide variety of metals, including copper, zinc, nickel, cobalt, uranium, vanadium, molybdenum as well as a wide variety of other 80 metals.”. While cadmium is not expressly taught, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have extracted cadmium as one of the metals using the process of O’Connor with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results because cadmium is a recognized metal element and O’Connor states that the variety of metals can be captured/recovered using the process. Moreover, zinc (which is a metal element in the same Periodic Table Group as cadmium) is expressly recognized as being capable of recovery further indicating that a person with ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 14 – 15, 19 – 20, and 23 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connor (US 3,679,397), as applied to claim 1, Schlesinger (“Extractive Metallurgy of Copper”, 2011)
Regarding claim 14 – 15, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor teaches that sulfide ores can be used as the material and copper can be retrieved [Col 2, line 55 – 59; Col 4, line 70 – 75], but O’Connor does not expressly teach using chalcopyrite or an atomic ratio of copper to sulfur in the metal sulfide of the ore .
Schlesinger teaches information related to the extraction of copper, in particular via hydrometallurgical routes [Title]. Schlesinger teaches that the leaching of copper sulfide using an oxidizing agent such as ferric iron and acid (sulfuric acid) to retrieve copper [Page 3]. Schlesinger teaches that chalcopyrite is a primary sulfide ore for mining/retrieving copper and that the atomic ratio is 1:2, which meets the limitation of claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of O’Connor and used chalcopyrite as the copper sulfide ore, as disclosed by Schlesinger. Schlesinger’s teachings include recovering copper via leaching of sulfide minerals and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings pertinent to the method of O’Connor (which notes recovering metals from sulfide ores, including copper). Moreover, given Schlesinger states that chalcopyrite is a primary sulfide mineral in the recovery of copper and that O’Connor expressly recognizes copper as a metal that can be recovered and that sulfide ore can be used as the starting material, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using chalcopyrite as the starting sulfide ore.
Regarding claim 19 – 20, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor does not teach that the ore is provided as particles and/or agglomerated particles.
Schlesinger teaches information related to the extraction of copper, in particular via hydrometallurgical routes [Title]. Schlesinger teaches that copper leaching using sulfuric acid can be performed via heap leaching and others [page 16]. Schlesinger states that percolation leaching is common and that heap leaching in particular accounts for the majority of the copper recovered via hydrometallurgy [page 6]. Schlesinger states that permeability of the ore for these processes is achieved by blasting and crushing the ore material and then agglomerating fine material to further improve permeability [page 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of O’Connor and performed blasting/crushing on the ore followed by agglomeration to improve permeability, as taught by Schlesinger. Schlesinger’s teachings are directed to recovering copper using leaching (including sulfide minerals) and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings pertinent to the method of O’Connor (which notes recovering metals from sulfide ores, including copper). Moreover, given that O’Connor expressly recognizes that copper is a metal that can be recovered and sulfide ore can be used as the starting material, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Lastly, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to perform blasting/crushing on the ore followed by agglomeration because Schlesinger teaches that it improves permeability of ore material.
Regarding claims 23 – 24, O’Connor teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. O’Connor does not expressly teach that following leaching, solvent extraction and/or electrowinning is used to extract the metal.
Schlesinger teaches information related to the extraction of copper, in particular via hydrometallurgical routes [Title]. Schlesinger teaches that modern flowsheets for copper extraction have three essential steps which are leaching followed by solvent extraction and then electrowinning [Page 1], meeting the claimed limitation of claims 23 – 24.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of O’Connor and used solvent extraction and electrowinning to recover the copper in the pregnant leach solution, as disclosed by Schlesinger. Schlesinger is directed to recovering copper from a leach solution and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered the teachings pertinent to the method of O’Connor (which teaches recovering metals including copper via leaching). Moreover, given that Schlesinger teaches that solvent extraction and electrowinning are standard procedures in the recovery of copper and that O’Connor expressly recognizes that copper is a metal that can be recovered, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success and would have been motivated to combine/apply the method steps.
Claims 25 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connor (US 3,679,397) in view of Dixon (US2012/0067174)
Regarding claim 25, O’Connor teaches a method of leaching comprising bacteria [Title]. O’Connor teaches that the leaching process is performed on low-grade sulfide ore [Claim 7], meeting the claimed limitation of leaching an ore containing a metal sulfide. O’Connor teaches that “[t]he process of the present invention may be used in the leaching for recovery of a wide variety of metals, including copper, zinc, nickel, cobalt, uranium, vanadium, molybdenum as well as a wide variety of other 80 metals.” [Col 2, line 56 – 60].
O’Connor teaches that the leaching solution can contain thiourea as part of the lixiviant, wherein thiourea contains a thiocarbonyl functional group, but does not teach or suggest using thioacetamide.
Dixon teaches a method of recovering metal (in particular nickel) [Title] from a source material [0010] which can be a sulfide ore [0067]. The ore can be subjected to leaching and treated with a sulfur-containing reductant which facilitates leaching of nickel by accelerating corrosion of the source material (i.e. sulfide ore) [0054]. Dixon expressly states that thiourea can be used [0056] and that as an alternative to this, thioacetamide can be selected [0056], meeting the claimed limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of O’Connor and substituted thiourea with thioacetamide, as taught by Dixon to achieve predictable results. Both O’Connor and Dixon include teachings of recovering metal from sulfide ore and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered Dixon pertinent. Moreover, both O’Connor and Dixon teach that thiourea can be included in the leaching solution and Dixon acknowledges that thioacetamide can be used instead of thiourea. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting thiourea with thioacetamide.
O’Connor nor Dixon expressly state that the presence of thiourea or thioacetamide results in increased metal ion extraction rate relative to an acidic sulfate solution that does not contain the reagent. However, “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999)” (MPEP 2112 I) and “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” MPEP (2112.01 II). As such, there is a reasonable expectation that thioacetamide would result in an increased recovery rate as claimed.
Regarding claims 26 and 28, O’Connor in view of Dixon teaches the invention as applied in claim 25. O’Connor expressly recognizes that copper and nickel can be recovered [Col 2, line 57 – 58], meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 27, O’Connor in view of Dixon teaches the invention as applied in claim 25. O’Connor expressly states that “[t]he process of the present invention may be used in the leaching for recovery of a wide variety of metals, including copper, zinc, nickel, cobalt, uranium, vanadium, molybdenum as well as a wide variety of other 80 metals.”. While cadmium is not expressly taught, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have extracted cadmium as one of the metals using the process of O’Connor with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results because cadmium is a recognized metal element and O’Connor states that the variety of metals can be captured/recovered using the process. Moreover, zinc (which is a metal element in the same Periodic Table Group as cadmium) is expressly recognized as being capable of recovery, further indicating that a person with ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 37 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connor (US 3,679,397) in view of Little (US 4,645,535)
Regarding claim 37, O’Connor teaches a method of leaching comprising bacteria [Title]. O’Connor teaches that the leaching process is performed on low-grade sulfide ore [Claim 7], meeting the claimed limitation of leaching an ore containing a metal sulfide. O’Connor teaches that “[t]he process of the present invention may be used in the leaching for recovery of a wide variety of metals, including copper, zinc, nickel, cobalt, uranium, vanadium, molybdenum as well as a wide variety of other 80 metals.” [Col 2, line 56 – 60].
O’Connor teaches that the leaching solution can contain thiourea as part of the lixiviant, wherein thiourea contains a thiocarbonyl functional group, but does not teach or suggest using thiosemicarbazide.
Little teaches a method of recovering metal (in particular precious metals) from ores [Title] which can be a sulfide ore [Col 3, line 15 – 19]. The ore can be subjected to leaching with a lixiviant solution including sulfuric acid [Col 3, line 29 – 32]. Little expressly states that thiourea can be used [Col 3, line 20 – 28] and that alternative to this, thiourea derivatives including thiosemicarbazide can be selected [Col 3, line 20 – 28], meeting the claimed limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have taken the method of O’Connor and substituted thiourea with thiosemicarbazide, as taught by Little to achieve predictable results. Both O’Connor and Little include teachings of recovering metal from sulfide ore and as such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have considered Little pertinent to the process of O’Connor. Moreover, both O’Connor and Little teach that thiourea can be included in the leaching solution and Little acknowledges that thiosemicarbazide can be used as an alternative to thiourea. As such, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting thiourea with thiosemicarbazide.
O’Connor nor Little expressly state that the presence of thiourea or thiosemicarbazide results in increased metal ion extraction rate relative to an acidic sulfate solution that does not contain the reagent. However, “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999)” (MPEP 2112 I) and “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” MPEP (2112.01 II). As such, there is a reasonable expectation that thiosemicarbazide would result in an increased recovery rate as claimed.
Regarding claims 26 and 28, O’Connor in view of Little teaches the invention as applied in claim 25. O’Connor expressly recognizes that copper and nickel can be recovered [Col 2, line 57 – 58], meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 27, O’Connor in view of Little teaches the invention as applied in claim 25. O’Connor expressly states that “[t]he process of the present invention may be used in the leaching for recovery of a wide variety of metals, including copper, zinc, nickel, cobalt, uranium, vanadium, molybdenum as well as a wide variety of other 80 metals.”. While cadmium is not expressly taught, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have extracted cadmium as one of the metals using the process of O’Connor with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving predictable results because cadmium is a recognized metal element and O’Connor states that the variety of metals can be captured/recovered using the process. Moreover, zinc (which is a metal element in the same Periodic Table Group as cadmium) is expressly recognized as being capable of recovery, further indicating that a person with ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 1 – 17 and 19 – 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 38 of U.S. Patent No. 10,865,460. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recovering base metal from an ore with metal sulfide using thioacetamide (TCA), which contains a thiocarbonyl functions group, with leaches metal into an acidic solution which can be ferrous sulfate. The metals can be cadmium, nickel, or copper from various sulfidic ores and the molarity of the reagent can be controlled to overlapping amounts.
Claims 1 – 17, 19 – 24, and 29 – 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 38 of U.S. Patent No. 10,870,903. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recovering base metal from an ore with metal sulfide using sodium dimethyldithiocarbamate (SDDC), which contains a thiocarbonyl functions group, with leaches metal into an acidic solution which can be ferrous sulfate. The metals can be cadmium, nickel, or copper from various sulfidic ores and the molarity of the reagent can be controlled to overlapping amounts.
Claims 1 – 17, 19 – 24, and 37 – 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 38 of U.S. Patent No. 10,876,187. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recovering base metal from an ore with metal sulfide using thiosemicarbazide (TSCA), which contains a thiocarbonyl functions group, with leaches metal into an acidic solution which can be ferrous sulfate. The metals can be cadmium, nickel, or copper from various sulfidic ores and the molarity of the reagent can be controlled to overlapping amounts.
Claims 1 – 17, 19 – 24, and 33 – 36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 38 of U.S. Patent No. 10,876,186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recovering base metal from an ore with metal sulfide using ethylene trithiocarbonate (ETC), which contains a thiocarbonyl functions group, with leaches metal into an acidic solution which can be ferrous sulfate. The metals can be cadmium, nickel, or copper from various sulfidic ores and the molarity of the reagent can be controlled to overlapping amounts.
Claims 1 – 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 40 of U.S. Patent No. 10,954,583. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recovering base metal from an ore with metal sulfide using a thiocarbonyl functional group reagent which can be ethylene trithiocarbonate (ETC), thiosemicarbazide (TSCA), dimethyldithiocarbamate, and thioacetamide (TCA), which contains a thiocarbonyl functions group, with leaches metal into an acidic solution which can be ferrous sulfate. The metals can be cadmium, nickel, or copper from various sulfidic ores and the molarity of the reagent can be controlled to overlapping amounts.
Claims 1 – 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 71 of U.S. Patent No. 11,859,263. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recovering base metal from an ore with metal sulfide using a thiocarbonyl functional group reagent which can be ethylene trithiocarbonate (ETC), thiosemicarbazide (TSCA), sodium dimethyldithiocarbamate (SDDC), and thioacetamide (TCA), which contains a thiocarbonyl functions group, with leaches metal into an acidic solution which can be ferrous sulfate. The metals can be cadmium, nickel, or copper from various sulfidic ores and the molarity of the reagent can be controlled to overlapping amounts.
Claims 1 – 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,884,993. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recovering base metal from an ore with metal sulfide using a thiocarbonyl functional group reagent which can be ethylene trithiocarbonate (ETC), thiosemicarbazide (TSCA), sodium dimethyldithiocarbamate (SDDC), and thioacetamide (TCA), which contains a thiocarbonyl functions group, with leaches metal into an acidic solution which can be ferrous sulfate. The metals can be cadmium, nickel, or copper from various sulfidic ores and the molarity of the reagent can be controlled to overlapping amounts.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US2007/0266827 – recovering precious metal using thiourea or thiosemicarbazide
US 4,816,235 – thiourea leaching of precious metal with activated carbon capture afterwards
US 4,342,591 – recovering metal from ore (in particular gold and silver) by sulfurous leaching with a description that iron and copper should be removed first to reduce usage of thiourea.
CA1236308 – recovering precious metal using thiourea
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738