DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 33-40, Figs. 7-8 in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 21-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, claims 33-40 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33, 36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Houser (5865801).
Regarding claim 33 and 38, Houser discloses a system (abstract and Fig. 17) for controlling catastrophic bleeding from vessels (the system in Fig. 17 is fully capable of performing this intended use), the system comprising: an endovascular device comprising: a stent graft 256 (Fig. 17 and col. 9, lin. 5-15); a first balloon 250 coupled to the stent graft; and a second balloon 252 coupled to the stent graft (the stent is coupled to balloon 252 which is coupled to balloon 250 and therefore the stent is coupled to both balloons); at least one sensor 82 coupled to the stent graft (sensors 82, 116, 118, 120 and 122 are coupled to the stent graft via the balloon; Figs. 6/10 and col. 5, lin. 54-55/col. 7, lin. 2-6), the at least one sensor being configured to measure at least one patient parameter (col. 7, lin. 62-67 and col. 8, lin. 1-3 disclose the sensors measure patient’s vessel obstruction hardness); and a control unit coupleable to the endovascular device and configured for delivering inflation media to at least one of the first and second balloons based on one or more signals generated by the at least one sensor (based on the obstruction hardness detection by the sensors, overinflation can be avoided by varying inflation pressure using the control unit 132 and fluid supply 76; Fig. 11 and col. 7, lin. 14-18).
Regarding claim 36, Houser discloses wherein the control unit 132 (Fig. 11) is configured to perform operations comprising (the control unit 132 is fully capable of performing this intended use): repeatedly controlling inflation or deflation of at least one of the first and second balloons (col. 9, lin. 9-14 disclose the balloons can be inflated and deflated as needed); following each inflation or deflation of the at least one of the first and second balloons, receiving, from at least one sensor coupled to the stent graft, a respective set of signals indicating at least one patient parameter; and based on the sets of signals generated by the at least one sensor, determining a preferred balloon inflation configuration for the endovascular device; and controlling inflation or deflation of the first balloon and the second balloon based on the determined preferred balloon inflation configuration (col. 7, lin. 62-67 and col. 8, lin. 1-3 disclose the inflation of the balloons can be varied to prevent overinflation based on the sensors sensing the obstruction hardness).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34-35 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houser (5865801) in view of Schwammenthal et al. (2017/0100527) “Shwammenthal”.
Houser discloses the claimed invention of claims 33 and 38; except for wherein the at least one sensor comprises: a first sensor located distally of the second balloon; and a second sensor located proximally of the second balloon and wherein the at least one patient parameter comprises at least one of blood pressure, blood flow rate, 02 concentration, CO2 concentration, temperature, pH, or heart rate. However, Schwammenthal teaches a similar endovascular system (abstract and Fig. 1B) comprising at least one sensor comprises: a first sensor 56 located distally of a balloon 80; and a second sensor 58 located proximally of a balloon (as shown in Fig. 5A) and wherein the at least one patient parameter comprises at least one of blood pressure, blood flow rate, 02 concentration, CO2 concentration, temperature, pH, or heart rate (par. 0215 discloses the sensors 56/58 measure blood pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endovascular system in Houser to include at least one sensor comprises: a first sensor located distally of the second balloon; and a second sensor located proximally of the second balloon and wherein the at least one patient parameter comprises at least one of blood pressure, blood flow rate, 02 concentration, CO2 concentration, temperature, pH, or heart rate, as taught and suggested by Schwammenthal, for accurately detecting blood pressure at the implantation site.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houser (5865801) in view of Anderson et al. (6148825) “Anderson”.
Houser discloses the claimed invention of claims 33 and 36; except for the endovascular device further comprises a third balloon coupled to the stent graft; and based on the sets of signals generated by the at least one sensor, the control unit is configured to control at least one of: inflating the first balloon, inflating the second balloon, inflating the third balloon, deflating the first balloon, deflating the second balloon, or deflating the third balloon. However, Anderson teaches a similar endovascular system (abstract and Fig. 1) comprising a third balloon coupled to the stent graft (Fig. 1 discloses a third balloon 3 coupled to the shunt; col. 3, lin. 18-19). The combination of the sensors and control unit in Houser and the third balloon in Anderson is fully capable of performing the intended use of based on the sets of signals generated by the at least one sensor, the control unit is configured to control at least one of: inflating the first balloon, inflating the second balloon, inflating the third balloon, deflating the first balloon, deflating the second balloon, or deflating the third balloon (col. 3, lin. 24-25 disclose the balloons in Anderson can be inflated and deflated and col. 7, lin. 62-67 and col. 8, lin. 1-3 disclose the inflation of the balloons can be varied to prevent overinflation based on the sensors sensing the obstruction hardness).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endovascular system in Houser to include a third balloon coupled to the stent graft; and based on the sets of signals generated by the at least one sensor, the control unit is configured to control at least one of: inflating the first balloon, inflating the second balloon, inflating the third balloon, deflating the first balloon, deflating the second balloon, or deflating the third balloon, as taught and suggested by Anderson, for accurately expanding the implantation site to provide sufficient blood flow.
Conclusion
/YASHITA SHARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774