CTFR 18/399,268 CTFR 90179 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is a response to an amendment filed on 02/18/2026, in which claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-12, 15-16, and 18-20 are pending and ready for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in this application and a copy has been placed of record in the file. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-12, 15-16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 5-6, 8-12, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Racape (US 2020/0120336 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Racape discloses: A video decoding method, comprising: obtaining intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks adjacent to a current block (see Racape, paragraph 46, intra modes of the above neighbors and left neighbor are analyzed) ; generating an intra prediction mode candidate list including at least two intra prediction modes (see Racape, paragraph 46, above intra mode and left intra mode) , based on occurrence frequencies of the intra prediction modes of the neighboring blocks (see Racape, paragraph 46, the most frequent mode of the above neighbor and the left neighbor is selected as the above intra mode and left intra mode) ; and generating a prediction block of the current block based on the intra prediction mode candidate list (see Racape, paragraph 41, prediction block obtained from intra prediction) . Regarding claim 2 , Racape discloses: The video decoding method of claim 1, wherein generating the intra prediction mode candidate list comprises: selecting one of the at least two intra prediction modes from intra prediction modes of top neighboring blocks adjacent to the current block (see Racape, paragraph46, the most frequent mode of the above neighbor is selected as the above intra mode) ; and selecting one of the at least two intra prediction modes from intra prediction modes of top neighboring blocks adjacent to the current block (see Racape, paragraph46, the most frequent mode of the left neighbor is selected as the left intra mode) . Regarding claim 5 , Racape discloses: The video decoding method of claim 1, Wherein intra prediction modes are classified into multiple groups based on mode numbers or directions associated with the respective intra prediction modes (see Racape, Table 2) , and wherein the intra prediction mode candidate list is generated based on a specific group to which the at least two intra prediction modes belong among the multiple groups (see Racape, paragraph 46 and Table 2) . Regarding claim 6 , Racape discloses: The video decoding method of claim 1, wherein the intra prediction mode candidate list further includes a planar mode (see Racape, Table 4) . Regarding claim 8 , Racape discloses: The video decoding method of claim 6, wherein candidates in the intra prediction mode candidate list are configured in an order of the planar mode, and intra prediction modes with a higher frequency of occurrence (see Racape, paragraph 71-74 and Table 4) . Regarding claim 9 , Racape discloses: The video decoding method of claim 1, wherein candidates in the intra prediction mode candidate list are configured in an order of intra prediction modes with a higher frequency of occurrence (see Racape, paragraph 8) . Regarding claim 10 , Racape discloses: The video decoding method of claim 9, wherein the intra prediction mode candidate list comprises: adding at least one default intra prediction mode based on the candidates in the intra prediction mode candidate list not being filled (see Racape, paragraph 57, 49, and Fig. 6, step 660) . Regarding claims 11-12, 15-16, and 18-19 , claims 11-12, 15-16, and 18-19 are drawn to a method of encoding having limitations similar to the method of decoding claimed in claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-9 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, method claims 11-12, 15-16, and 18-19 correspond to method claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-9 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above. Regarding claim 20 , claim 20 is drawn to a method having limitations similar to the method claimed in claim 1 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, method claim 20 correspond to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARYAM A NASRI whose telephone number is (571)270-7158. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00-8:00 M-T. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Ustaris can be reached at 5712727383. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARYAM A NASRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483 Application/Control Number: 18/399,268 Page 2 Art Unit: 2483 Application/Control Number: 18/399,268 Page 3 Art Unit: 2483 Application/Control Number: 18/399,268 Page 6 Art Unit: 2483