DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20-21 are pending.
Claims 9 and 19 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, (see Amendment, Page 12, last partial paragraph that ends in Page 13) with respect to the 103 rejection of the claims, are directed to that Bacon does not teach or suggest, at least, “receiving an editing operation by a user on plant information, and determining plant change information according to the editing operation, the editing operation comprising at least one of: an information adding operation, an image recognition operation, a smart phone recognition operation, or information deletion operation,” as recited in amended claim 1
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Bacon teaches “receiving an editing operation by a user on plant information, and determining plant change information according to the editing operation, the editing operation comprising at least one of: an information adding operation, an image recognition operation, a smart phone recognition operation, or information deletion operation.” (Bacon: [0080] “According to one embodiment, for example the system includes a wall-mounted unit with a separate 7-inch human machine interface (HMI) or touchscreen 510 that may be powered by a 120-240 VAC DC power supply. The HMI 510 will be used to manipulate, deploy, and monitor the environmental conditions.”) (Bacon: [0108] “The user will then select whether to use the system's Learning Mode (“Learning Mode” page), described above. It is recommended for users NOT to skip learning mode. After Learning Mode is completed OR users have skipped it, the user will have option to “Start A New Grow”. Users will then go through the process of starting a new grow. Upon entering all applicable information and Clicking save, the controller will initiate the grow cycle for the selected plant.”) The user entering the new grow information reads on “receiving an editing operation by a user on plant information”. The entered data being the new grow information reads on “determining plant change information”. User entering information using the human machine interface reads on “an information adding operation”.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon (US 2024/0107959 A1) (“Bacon”), in view of HUANG (CN 107959605 A) (“Huang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bacon teaches:
A humidity control method, comprising: (Bacon: [0048] “Once initiated, the controller 14 will begin to increase the light, e.g., starting at 10%, and will seek to maintain a certain temperature (e.g. 70 degrees Fahrenheit), with a certain humidity (e.g., 55% humidity), a certain water temperature (e.g., 70 Fahrenheit), and a certain pH level (e.g., 5.9) in the reservoir 2 without adding any growth specific nutrients. For example, the controller will adjust the light to 10% and the light will stay at this wattage (65 watts) for 2.4 hours. The Temperature and humidity setpoint the controller 14 will try to maintain at each stage is 70 degrees Fahrenheit with 55% humidity.”) (Bacon: [0112] “When implemented in software, the functions may be stored as one or more instructions or code on a non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable storage medium. The steps of a method or algorithm disclosed herein may be embodied. in a processor-executable software module, which may reside on a computer-readable or processor-readable storage medium. …”)
receiving an editing operation by a user on plant information, and determining plant change information according to the editing operation, the editing operation comprising at least one of: an information adding operation, an image recognition operation, a smart phone recognition operation or information deletion operation; (Bacon: [0080] “According to one embodiment, for example the system includes a wall-mounted unit with a separate 7-inch human machine interface (HMI) or touchscreen 510 that may be powered by a 120-240 VAC DC power supply. The HMI 510 will be used to manipulate, deploy, and monitor the environmental conditions.”) (Bacon: [0108] “The user will then select whether to use the system's Learning Mode (“Learning Mode” page), described above. It is recommended for users NOT to skip learning mode. After Learning Mode is completed OR users have skipped it, the user will have option to “Start A New Grow”. Users will then go through the process of starting a new grow. Upon entering all applicable information and Clicking save, the controller will initiate the grow cycle for the selected plant.”) [User entering a new grow information reads on “receiving an editing operation by a user on plant information”. The entered data being the new grow information reads on “determining plant change information”. User entering information using the human machine interface reads on “an information adding operation”.]
obtaining room information associated with the plant change information; (Bacon: [0103] “Next, the user enters the number of lights they have (fixtures) and the wattage of the light (Lighting-Fixture Settings page). The default may be set to (1) 650 Watt Light.”) (Bacon: [0104] “Next, the user designates each pump, enter in the N:P:K settings for each nutrient they are using, and save (Hydroponics-Pump Settings page). The default settings may be as follows: Pump 1: pH Down: Pump 2: pH UP; Pump 3: Rooting Hormone; Pump 4: Vegetative Cycle Nutrient; Pump 5: Flowering Cycle Nutrient.”) (Bacon: [0105] “Next, the user sets the NPK ratios for each of the nutrients and sets the NPK setting for the reservoir, which should be the VEGETATIVE state nutrient to start (Hydroponics-NPK Settings page).”) (Bacon: [0106] “Next, the user sets the temperature of the water for the controller to maintain and if they are using a chiller or not (Hydroponics->Water Temperature page).”) (Bacon: [0107] “The user sets the parameters of the humidifier or dehumidifier, if used (Settings-Humidity page).”) [The information entered by the user for the growth space, such as the information regarding the lights, pumps, reservoir, temperature and humidifier or dehumidifier, read on “obtaining room information …”.]
obtaining target plant information associated with the target humidifier, and determining plant suitable humidity information based on the target plant information; (Bacon: [0107] as discussed above) (Bacon: [0043] “The server may be configured to only update the files as completed grow plans are received, though it may also update more or less frequently as new data becomes available. The server will, be configured to update the grow programs information based on the sensor data received from the other completed alike grow programs, e.g., same plant name and species, such as tomato, heirloom. The system can be designed to determine and share a recommended grow plan. For example, if User A grows 12 tomatoes, and User B grows ten tomatoes, and the only determined difference was that User A had a different NPK ratio than User B, then the controller may update the Grow Plan for tomatoes with User A's nutrients NPK Ratio as the preferred NPK ratio because it results in a 20% higher yield only by changing the NPK ratio of the reservoir 2 during the specific growth cycles, e.g., used a different manufacturers nutrients.”) (Bacon: [0044] “One present system is configured to build a genetic blueprint for each hydroponically grown plant, which enables the controller to track and trend data to enhance the efficiency and viability of the Growth Plan. For example, the sensor information received allows the system to compare the yields and viability of grows performed with the system, comparing different nutrients, conditions, etc. Based on this information and the yield information entered by users, the system is configured to develop recommended Grow Plans, which may vary over time based on the input.”) (Bacon: [0060] “Regarding optimizing the growth of the plants in the system, the system (e.g., controller) will rim a grow plan which is optimized for the growth of a specific plant. For example, certain strains of tomatoes may grow better in different conditions (e.g. higher humidity or lower heat). FIG. 7 illustrates one example grow plan according to one embodiment of this disclosure.”) [The humidifier for the space reads on “the target humidifier”. The humidity setting by user and/or by the growth plan reads on “the target plant information associated with the target humidifier” and “plant suitable humidity information”]
based on the plant suitable humidity information, determining a target humidity value; and (Bacon: FIG. 7) [The humidity setpoint at a stage of the tomato plant reads on “determining a target humidity value”.]
based on the target humidity value, controlling operation of the target humidifier. (Bacon: [0086] “The controller 514 is configured to receive data from the humidity sensor and control the de-humidifier/humidifier (DEHUM/HUM) relay.”) (Bacon: [0059] “Accordingly, the system can fully automate the grow experience, e.g.,. lights 3, hydro, nutrients, air temp, etc. For each grow, a grow program based on a growth model (discussed below) will be provided as to what setpoints are to be maintained from start to finish. These are the basics of the “Grow Plans” or “Grow Programs”. This grow program is uploaded to the controller from the server at the beginning of the grow. That way, if the system loses the network connection, the controller will still be able to run the program from start to finish.”)
Bacon does not expressly teach: determining a humidifier associated with the room information as a target humidifier.
Huang teaches:
determining a humidifier associated with the room information as a target humidifier. (Huang: Page 3, lines 18-22 “Preferably, the method further includes:The smart machine is intelligent humidifier;It is described to judge whether the smart machine needs opening to specifically include:Obtain the humidity information in the room residing for the mobile terminal;According to the humidity information, judge whether the intelligent humidifier needs to open.”) (Huang: Page 4 bottom 9 lines and Page 5 top 2 lines “One embodiment of the invention, wireless router according to the distance of the mobile terminal and the wireless router, with And the direction with the wireless router, calculate the positional information of the mobile terminal. Server pre-sets institute beyond the clouds The cartographic information in room is stated, and stores the cartographic information in the room. User can set the cartographic information in room, such as can be with According to the layout in room, corresponding room number is set, is arranged in correspondence with the body of a map or chart information in each room. Wireless router obtains The positional information of the mobile terminal is taken, the positional information of the mobile terminal is sent to cloud server. Cloud server By the positional information compared with the room cartographic information set, the room letter residing for the mobile terminal is judged Breath. According to the positional information of the room cartographic information of user setting and the mobile terminal, it can be determined that at the mobile terminal In in which room. Preferably, it is described to search whether the room has the smart machine for treating work to specifically include : The correspondence of the smart machine and the room cartographic information is pre-set, according to the room residing for the mobile terminal Between information, search whether the room has the smart machine for treating work.”) [The user set cartographpic information in room reads on “the room information”. The determining that the room has the intelligent humidifier based on the search reads on “determining a humidifier … as a target humidifier”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bacon and Huang before them, to modify the control system that controls settings of the humidifier in the room, to incorporate determining or identifying a humidifier that is available in the room.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for controlling the humidification in the room when a humidifier is identified or available in the room. (Huang: Page 3, lines 18-22)
Regarding independent claim 11:
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding independent claim 20:
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon, in view of Huang, further in view of CHENG (US 2021/0329862 A1) (“Cheng”).
Regarding claim 2, Bacon and Huang teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Bacon further teaches:
wherein: the target plant information at least includes a plant name; and (Bacon: [0043] as discussed above)
determining the plant suitable humidity information based on the target plant information includes … a database to determine the plant suitable humidity information based on the plant name. (Bacon: [0042] “The information from the PID loop and from the ultimate harvest may then be used to update the growth models in the system. More specifically, from the grow plans and the PID information, the information can continually be updated upon completion of each grow so that the controllers are updating the efficiency of the grow plans on the database. Meaning, with each growth, the controller should update the database/update with the aggregated data, which further improves the grow model. When the grow is completed (e.g., the plant is harvested), the user can enter in yield information and store their file wherever they want. That information, including harvest total, will update to the system because the grow information has been hatching updates to the database (e.g. data stored on server) every night (or in real time or other intervals). Upon completion, the database can then look at the file, and actively update the grow plan in accordance with the newly received data, based on the total grows data.”)
Bacon and Huang do not expressly teach: determining the plant suitable humidity information based on the target plant information includes searching a database to determine the plant suitable humidity information based on the plant name.
Cheng teaches:
determining the plant suitable humidity information based on the target plant information includes searching a database to determine the plant suitable humidity information based on the plant name. (Cheng: [0042] “The cultivation suggestion generator in the intelligent cultivation apparatus is an expert system, the expert system is configured for generating a targeted cultivation suggestion based at least on a flowers cultivation database and the flowers cultivation status information, wherein the flowers cultivation database serves as a plants cultivation database. The flowers cultivation database may include common data on flowers cultivation, for example, it may include a flowers growth cycle, a suitable temperature, a suitable humidity, a suitable light intensity, a suitable soil parameter, a required nutrient component, a watering parameter and a fertilizing parameter etc., which data may be stored in a storage device of the local intelligent cultivation apparatus, or downloaded from a cloud server to the intelligent cultivation apparatus after the intelligent cultivation apparatus completes the initialization setting.”) (Cheng: [0052] “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the process of adjusting the calculating parameter may be, for example, in an initial stage of cultivation, the cultivation suggestion generator searches in the flowers cultivation database for cultivation data of the flowers according to the input flowers information, and uses the data as initial calculating parameters for generating the cultivation suggestion, for example, including growth characteristics of the flowers, the parameters such as ambient light intensity, temperature, humidity, soil type suitable for growth of the flowers, watering and fertilizing thresholds. The cultivation suggestion generator generates a cultivation suggestion based on the initial calculating parameters, and the controller controls water storage of the water reservoir and controls fertilization of the fertilizer applicator according to the generated cultivation suggestion.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bacon, Huang and Cheng before them, to modify the hydroculture control system that maintains grow plans or grow programs for various plant species, to incorporate searching a database of target plant species information to obtain corresponding target temperature and humidity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for obtaining the target temperature and humidity setpoints for a specific plant species that can be searched in a database. (Cheng: [0004])
Regarding claim 12, Bacon and Huang teach all the claimed features of claim 11.
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 2 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon, in view of Huang, further in view of DONG et al. (CN 114440391 A) (“Dong”).
Regarding claim 8, Bacon and Huang teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Bacon and Huang do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 8.
Dong teaches:
wherein controlling the operation of the target humidifier based on the target humidity value further comprises: based on the target humidity value, outputting a humidity control instruction to the target humidifier, wherein the humidity control instruction is used to instruct the target humidifier to stop humidification when an external humidity exceeds the target humidity value by at least a first set threshold, and (Dong: Page 6, third paragraph “For example, when the outdoor environment temperature is greater than or equal to the target set temperature and the outdoor environment humidity is greater than or equal to the target set humidity, the outdoor environment temperature and humidity are considered to meet the target set temperature, and at this time, the purpose of increasing the indoor environment humidity can be achieved only by introducing outdoor air into the room without starting the rotating wheel humidifying device.”) [Greater than or equal to …, means the exceeding the target set temperature by zero or more which reads on “a first set threshold”.]
the humidity control instruction is used to instruct the target humidifier to turn on humidification when the external humidity falls below the target humidity value by at least a second set threshold. (Dong: Page 6, fourth paragraph “When the outdoor environment temperature is less than the target set temperature and the outdoor environment humidity is less than the target set humidity, the outdoor environment temperature is considered not to meet the target set temperature and the outdoor environment humidity does not meet the target set humidity, at the moment, the rotary wheel humidifying device is controlled to start, humidifying indoor air is started through the rotary wheel humidifying device, so that the indoor environment humidity is continuously increased, until the indoor environment humidity reaches the target set humidity, humidification is stopped, and when the air conditioner receives a shutdown control instruction, the air conditioner is controlled to enter a sterilization drying mode, the air conditioner is controlled to enter the sterilization drying mode, the problem of bacterial breeding caused by the fact that the rotary wheel humidifying device is in a humid environment after humidification is completed can be avoided.”) [Less than …, means less by more than zero of the target set temperature which reads on “a second set threshold”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bacon, Huang and Dong before them, to modify the hydroculture control system that maintains grow plans or grow programs for controlling humidity levels for various plant species, to incorporate considering outdoor humidity level for the indoor humidity level control.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for controlling the indoor humidity level based on target humidity setpoint and external humidity to manage the problem of bacterial breeding caused by undesirable humidity levels. (Dong: Page 6, fourth paragraph)
Regarding claim 18, Bacon and Huang teach all the claimed features of claim 11.
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 8 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon, in view of Huang, further in view of Roberts (US 10,986,789 B1) (“Roberts”).
Regarding claim 21, Bacon and Huang teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Bacon and Huang do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 21.
Roberts teaches:
wherein the plant change information includes at least one of: newly added plant information, newly recognized plant information, or deleted plant information. (Roberts: Column 8, lines 40-49 “The legitimate occupant 102 may provide as an input to the user device 106 a plant type such as “tomato.” For example, the user interface 106a may prompt the legitimate occupant 102 to input a type of plant. By way of example, the legitimate occupant 102 may provide, as an input to the user device 106, the plant type “tomato” into a field 106b. In some implementations, the legitimate occupant 102 may type the word “tomato” into field 106b. Alternatively, the legitimate occupant 102 may select the word “tomato” from a drop down box of options. …”) [Selecting the plant type from a previous plant type of the selection reads on “newly added plant information”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Bacon, Huang and Roberts before them, to modify the control system that maintains grow plans or grow programs for plants with user entering information to the control system via HMI, to incorporate user selection of a plant species to be grown in the space.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for acquiring recommendation settings for the space, including best location in the space for growing the selected plant species and the best environmental condition settings for the selected plant species. (Roberts: Column 9, lines 6-33)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10 and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon corresponding rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116