DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATSC 3.0 Transition and Implementation Guide v1.0 (hereinafter “Guide”), in view of Vincent et al (US PG Pub No. 2023/0082280).
Regarding claim 1, Guide teaches a method for delivery of an Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) 3.0 formatted signal via Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) satellite link for point to multi-point distribution (i.e. ATSC 3.0 overview describes the system from the input of content to the generation of the modulated signal) (Figure 2; Page: 3rd paragraph of page 5, 1st paragraphs of page 12), the method comprising:
generating ATSC 3.0 Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) Transport Stream (TS) video feed at a head end (i.e. new system requires the addition of gateways, where final signals are managed and assembled before they’re sent via the Studio to Transmitter Link (STL) to the transmitter) (Figures 2, 8; Page 7-para. 1, Page 12- Para. 1);
encapsulating the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed into a packet structure to be modulated onto a carrier location (i.e. encapsulating data for link) (Page: 6-Para. 8, page 7-Para 2, Page 18- See: ATSC Link-Layer Protocol (ALP) and Page 25-6th Paragraph);
sending the encapsulated ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed via satellite (i.e. STL may operate on any fiber, satellite or microwave connectivity) over a carrier to multiple satellite receivers at distributed locations (i.e. the emitted waveform will match what receivers will be instructed by the Preamble to receive) (Figure 8; Pages 5 and 25-2nd paragraph);
receiving the encapsulated ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed at the multiple satellite receivers at distributed locations, each of the multiple satellite receivers being associated with an ATSC 3.0 transmitter (i.e. the emitted waveform will match what receivers will be instructed by the Preamble to receive) (Figure 8; Pages 5 and 25-2nd paragraph);
un-encapsulating the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed for use by multiple ATSC 3.0 transmitters (ECC decoding and STPLP demultiplexing) (Figure 8); and
transmitting the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed to ATSC 3.0 end user devices, wherein the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed transmission includes multiple channels in a same transport stream (Figures 8, 10), and wherein one channel of the multiple channels is encoded with more error protection and less resolution for transmission to mobile devices and another channel in the multiple channels, which may have the same content is encoded with less error correction and higher resolution for fixed devices (Figures 23-See Potential configurations for Fixed/Mobile; Page 34-Para. 1st, Page 40-Paragraphs 1 and 3, Pages 44-Paragraphs 6-7).
The reference is unclear with respect to DVB packet structure and a Digital Video Broadcasting Satellite Second Generation (DVB-S2).
In similar field of endeavor, Vincent et al teaches DVB packet structure (Para. 0010) and a Digital Video Broadcasting Satellite Second Generation (DVB-S2) (Para. 0103). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of increasing number of channels allowing more content to be transmitted simultaneously.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected wherein the transmission of the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed to the ATSC 3.0 end user devices employes Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (Page. 7-Para. 4).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected wherein the transmission of the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed to the ATSC 3.0 end user devices employes ATSC 3.0 repeaters (Page 65- Last Paragraph).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected wherein the transmission of the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed to the ATSC 3.0 end user devices supports MPEG-4 encoding (Page 22- 1st Para).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Guide and Vincent, the combination teaches limitation discussed with respect to claim 1. The reference is unclear with respect to each ATSC 3.0 transmitter includes an omni-directional antenna. However, the examiner takes official notice that both concepts and advantages are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by specifically providing each ATSC 3.0 transmitter includes an omni-directional antenna before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of allowing to receive signal from all direction and eliminating manual adjustments.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected wherein at least one channel in the multiple channels is a back channel that supports a return path from an ATSC 3.0 end user device to an associated ATSC 3.0 transmitter (Page 5: Paragraphs 4, 10, Page: 37: Paragraph 5).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Guide and Vincent, the combination teaches limitations discussed with respect to claim 6. The reference is unclear with respect to the back channel employes IP encapsulation of data with a return path via 5G cellular. However, the examiner takes official notice that both concepts and advantages are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by specifically the back channel employes IP encapsulation of data with a return path via 5G cellular before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of transmitting information quickly with minimal errors.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected wherein the ATSC 3.0 end user devices include mobile devices including one or more of smartphones, laptop computers, and mobile vehicles via an OBD2 port, and wherein the ATSC 3.0 end user devices include fixed devices including one or more of televisions, desktop computers, and other fixed display devices (Pages 44-Paragraphs 6-7).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected wherein the multiple channels of the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed transmission support interactive location services, custom advertisement insertion, and localized emergency notification services (Page 5: Paragraph 10, Page 42: Personalization/Interactivity, Page 43: 5th Paragraph).
Regarding Claim 10, Guide and Vincent, the combination teaches a system for delivery of an Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) 3.0 formatted signal via Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) satellite link for point to multi-point distribution (i.e. ATSC 3.0 overview describes the system from the input of content to the generation of the modulated signal) (Figure 2; Page: 3rd paragraph of page 5, 1st paragraphs of page 12), the system comprising:
a head end video distribution platform that generates a ATSC 3.0 Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) Transport Stream (TS) video feed (i.e. new system requires the addition of gateways, where final signals are managed and assembled before they’re sent via the Studio to Transmitter Link (STL) to the transmitter) (Figures 2, 8; Page 7-para. 1, Page 12- Para. 1);
a modulator that receives the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed from the head end video distribution platform, the modulator encapsulating the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed into a Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB) packet structure on a Digital Video Broadcasting Satellite Second Generation (DVB-S2) carrier (i.e. encapsulating data for link) (Page: 6-Para. 8, page 7-Para 2-3, Page 18- See: ATSC Link-Layer Protocol (ALP), Page 25-6th Paragraph, page 49-Para.4);
a ground station High Power Amplifier that receives the encapsulated ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed in the DVB packet structure from the modulator, the ground station High Power Amplifier sending the encapsulated ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed via satellite over DVB-S2 carrier (i.e. STL may operate on any fiber, satellite or microwave connectivity) and (i.e. the emitted waveform will match what receivers will be instructed by the Preamble to receive) (Figure 8; Pages 5 and 25-2nd paragraph, Page 49-Exciter 1st paragraph and Vincent: Para. 0010, 0103);
multiple satellite receivers at distributed locations that receive the encapsulated ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed, each of the multiple satellite receivers un-encapsulating the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed received from the satellite over the DVB-S2 carrier; and multiple ATSC 3.0 transmitters, wherein each ATSC 3.0 transmitter is associated with one of the multiple satellite receivers (i.e. the emitted waveform will match what receivers will be instructed by the Preamble to receive) (Figure 8; Pages 5 and 25-2nd paragraph and Vincent: Para. 0010, 0103),
each ATSC 3.0 transmitter transmitting the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed to ATSC 3.0 end user devices, wherein the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed transmission includes multiple channels in a same transport stream (Figure 8, 10), and wherein one channel of the multiple channels is encoded with more error protection and less resolution for transmission to mobile devices and another channel in the multiple channels, which may have the same content is encoded with less error correction and higher resolution for fixed devices (Figures 23-See Potential configurations for Fixed/Mobile; Page 34-Para. 1st, Page 40-Paragraphs 1 and 3, Pages 44-Paragraphs 6-7).
Regarding Claim 19, Guide and Vincent, the combination teaches a system comprising:
a ground station High Power Amplifier that receives the encapsulated Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) 3.0 Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) Transport Stream (TS) video feed in the Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB) packet structure from the modulator (i.e. encapsulating data for link) (Page: 6-Para. 8, page 7-Para 2-3, Page 18- See: ATSC Link-Layer Protocol (ALP), Page 25-6th Paragraph, page 49-Para.4), the ground station High Power Amplifier sending the encapsulated ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed via satellite over a Digital Video Broadcasting Satellite Second Generation (DVB-S2) carrier (Figure 8; Pages 5 and 25-2nd paragraph, Page 49-Exciter 1st paragraph and Vincent: Para. 0010, 0103);
multiple satellite receivers at distributed locations that receive the encapsulated ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed, each of the multiple satellite receivers un-encapsulating the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed received from the satellite over the DVB-S2 carrier (i.e. the emitted waveform will match what receivers will be instructed by the Preamble to receive) (Figure 8; Pages 5 and 25-2nd paragraph and Vincent: Para. 0010, 0103), and
multiple ATSC 3.0 transmitters, wherein each ATSC 3.0 transmitter is associated with one of the multiple satellite receivers (i.e. the emitted waveform will match what receivers will be instructed by the Preamble to receive) (Figure 8; Pages 5 and 25-2nd paragraph and Vincent: Para. 0010, 0103), each ATSC 3.0 transmitter transmitting the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed to ATSC 3.0 end user devices, wherein the ATSC 3.0 MPEG TS video feed transmission includes multiple channels in a same transport stream (Figure 8, 10), and wherein one channel of the multiple channels is encoded with more error protection and less resolution for transmission to mobile devices and another channel in the multiple channels, which may have the same content is encoded with less error correction and higher resolution for fixed devices (Figures 23-See Potential configurations for Fixed/Mobile; Page 34-Para. 1st, Page 40-Paragraphs 1 and 3, Pages 44-Paragraphs 6-7).
Claim 20 is rejected wherein at least one channel in the multiple channels is a back channel that supports a return path from an ATSC 3.0 end user device to the associated ATSC 3.0 transmitter (Page 5: Paragraphs 4, 10, Page: 37: Paragraph 5).
Conclusion
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425